Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
28 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
24 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,741 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Oct 012010

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. We just received the recall info and were determined to be in zone B because the vehicle was registered in ct. However, the vehicle was purchased in Florida in 2013, where it originated. My daughter was in school in Florida so the car was there until she graduated in may of 2016. We moved to North Carolina, renting since April 2016 and now owning since June 2016. All this is to say that the car, since it's origination has resided 95% of the time in Florida and virtually not at all in ct. We feel the vehicle should be placed into zone a, due to it having been mostly in fl and now in nc and especially since my daughter and her friends use the car for the majority of the time.

- Southport, NC, USA

problem #50

Mar 102016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #49

May 232016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall.the contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #48

Jul 052016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problem is with the passenger side airbags produced by takata. We were notified about this several months ago. A few days ago I received a letter from Toyota telling me that Toyota is preparing a remedy for these airbags and what I needed to do was not operate the vehicle with an occupant in the front passenger seat. I called Toyota up and was told that they do not have a remedy yet, and they have no idea when they will have a remedy. Their solution to this airbag problem is to put all passengers in the back seat. We have a family of five so I can not do that. Their solution of not having people in the passenger seat is not acceptable to me and should not be to anyone. I have a family car and would like to use it with my family. I can not do that. Thank you.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #47

May 202016

Corolla

  • 72,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owned a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 30 mph and attempting to merge onto the expressway, a semi truck struck the rear driver side of the contact's vehicle. As a result, the contact's vehicle crashed into the ditch. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and a tow yard. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Mobile, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #46

Jul 112016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Lakewood, FL, USA

problem #45

Jul 052016

Corolla

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact noticed online a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 09/12/16

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #44

May 262016

Corolla

  • 90,000 miles
I had an accident in my car on Thursday, May 26, 2016. I was on highway 530 and it began to rain really hard so I decided to get off in the next exit which was exit 34 and before I could reach the exit my car hydroplane and I ended up hitting two trees before my car came to a stop. My rate of speed was 65 mph and my airbags did not deploy and to top it off my car is totaled.

- Redfield, AR, USA

problem #43

Dec 112015

Corolla

  • miles
I brought my Corolla 2010 to auto nation Toyota tempe last December 11, 2015 for the recall of airbags lights illumination. Before I brought it to auto nation, airbags lights remain illuminated after traveling long distances. After the repair on December 11, 2015 there will be time that the airbag lights remain illuminated after starting the engine traveling short distances. I called the service advisor about the problem, and he told me that they have done what is to be done, and told me to bring back the car to them and if the problem is not related to what they have done, I might be charged with diagnostic for $193. I am worried that they might say that it has a different problem not related to the recall. My only concern is why would the problem with airbag lights remain illuminated after they have repair it?

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #42

Dec 112015

Corolla

  • 50,000 miles
Last December 11,2015 I brought my Corolla 2010 at auto nation Toyota tempe for air bag recall as the air bag lights is always illuminated. I waited for more than 3 hours for them to fix it. When its done, I drive the car home but after a day the airbag lights remain illuminated. I waited if it will disappear after a few days, but up to this day, the illumination of air bag lights is still on. It was fixed with no charge to me, but what about now that nothing has been fixed.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #41

Apr 092014

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the seats were aftermarket and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V689000 (visibility) and 14V168000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issues. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Ephrata, PA, USA

problem #40

Dec 272015

Corolla

  • 143,000 miles
12/27/2015 I was in a accident. I T-boned a drunk driver because he ran a stop sign. My air bags never deployed. This could have been a very bad situation. He has no insurance. My husband and I bought this car because of the safety and we were never safe at all. We were in motion on a highway going straight. Sheriff's office and insurance adjuster were very shocked that the air bags never deployed.

- Nettleton, MS, USA

problem #39

Dec 152015

Corolla

  • 71,189 miles
Driver side airbag light on need new ECU for airbag.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #38

Nov 062015

Corolla

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While switching into the right lane at approximately 70 mph in rainy weather, the vehicle jerked to the right and hydroplaned. As a result, the contact crashed into the median. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained body pain and headaches that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an impound lot. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- 903-227-3695, TX, USA

problem #37

Oct 052015

Corolla

  • 120,000 miles
As I was driving down the road one day my airbag light came on, took the car to the dealership and was told that the spiral spring is defective in my car. I was also told that there was a recall on this part from Toyota, but for some reason my VIN # was not included.

- Rustburg, VA, USA

problem #36

Aug 132012

Corolla

  • 30,000 miles
There was a sudden acceleration in my Toyota Corolla 2010 and hit a tree, I was driving 15 miles per hour at that time. When complained to Toyota they investigated about 15 days ago but no conclusion was provided from Toyota. I was injured but recovered already. Please ask them why they are not providing any conclusion to me..

- Germantown , MD, USA

problem #35

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The brake pedal was depressed, but failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into the garage. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed, but the body damage was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Paso Robles, CA, USA

problem #34

Jul 202015

Corolla

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V168000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #33

Jul 182015

Corolla

  • 69,960 miles
Air bag passenger light turns on by itself even after passenger properly secured the seat belt by the seat. Had to turn the car on and off several times.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #32

Jun 162015

Corolla

  • 46,281 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While entering the garage, the vehicle accelerated without warning and pulled to the side. As a result, the contact crashed into the side of the garage. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 46,281.

- Paso Robles, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?