Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 14 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #87

Aug 152009

Corolla

  • 15 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Corolla has had a steering problem since its purchase. In 50 years of driving in over 25 new vehicles, it is the worst. It will not track properly at interstate speeds. It wanders randomly to the left or right. Not alignment and not wind caused. You must make small corrections every second or two to maintain a straight line. Passing other vehicles at highway speed is risky. This problem was first noticed on I-95 the day I took the car home. My wife did not notice it when she drives under 50mph; but is very evident at 65-75mph. It is very tiring to drive the car since you must remain totally focused with a firm grip on the steering wheel at all times since you must respond to the car's random veers to one or the other side. I have never had any vehicle do this before. I can see where an accident would be very possible at highway speeds when passing or traveling with other vehicles to your left or right. This is a problem that must be corrected, along with the accelerator problem. I had planned to complain to my Toyota dealer in orangeburg, South Carolina when I took my Corolla in for the accelerator recall. I am very disappointed as I have owned Toyota before and, until this month, was planning to buy a 2011 Toyota truck. The steering problem is real and needs to be investigated and corrected.

- Santee, SC, USA

problem #86

Nov 152009

Corolla

  • 500 miles
Soon after purchasing, I noticed the car pulling to the right. Steering was not as good as my old car. Backing up from my garage is wobbly instead of straight back. After seeing others with similar complaints, I thought I should report my experience with my 2010 Corolla purchased Oct. 2, 2009.

- Windom, MN, USA

problem #85

Feb 102010

Corolla

  • 50 miles
Toyota Corolla 2010 steering problems car won't stay in the lane at highway speeds.... veers off to the left or right....

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #84

Jan 232010

Corolla

  • 9,032 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a brand new 2010 Corolla at Toyota city, mamaroneck, NY on 8/31/09. I felt vibration in the steering mechanism, a strange feeling in the brakes, heard a noise in steering wheel, and a strange feeling in the way the car rode immediately when turning and brought the car back to the dealership on 10/5/09. I did not bring it back right away due to time constraints, and I felt maybe I needed to get used to the car. I had a 2003 Corolla before, and this car felt completely different in its ride. Not as tight a ride. On 10/5/09 the car was in the shop all day and they found it had warped rotors and needed new brakes. They told me the car's brakes maybe had gotten wet sitting in the rain, which caused the problem. I felt that was very odd on a brand new car, and with its predelivery inspecting this was missed. They covered the repair. I drove the car again and brought it back on 10/19/09. There was still the same problem, with a vibration in the steering wheel. This time they balanced the tires. Again, not clear why they did not do this before. I still heard a noise in the steering wheel and felt the car did not have a tight driving feel. They told me to live with the steering wheel problem. It was how the power assist system worked in the steering wheel. The steering feels completely different from my 2003 Toyota Corolla. I have felt the brakes do not respond well, and pulsate on engagement, and I feel the car still moves forward, when trying to stop. On 1/23/10 I hit a deer. I live in an area where there a lot of deer and for 18 years have been able to stop and never hit one. Not sure what went wrong here. On 2/5/10, green tree Toyota in danbury, ct test drove my car for the brakes. Said they were fine. I feel I do not have control of this vehicle like I did with other Toyota and feel there is something very wrong with the brakes and steering.

- Pawling, NY, USA

problem #83

Jan 152010

Corolla

  • 860 miles
Car requires excessive steering corrections at highway speed. I have driven many cars in my life. This brand new 2010 Corolla wanders left and right while driving at highway speed. I have to hold the steering wheel very very tight and be continuously correcting the steering. Dealer services says this is normal but there is nothing normal about this!

- Temple City, CA, USA

problem #82

Jan 142010

Corolla

  • 3,000 miles
Difficulty controlling and steering car at 60 mph going across bridge. There was some wind but not strong enough in my opinion that should have cause me to be so aware of the drifting.

- St Petersburg , FL, USA

problem #81

Oct 122009

Corolla

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I bought it in October my 2010 Toyota Corolla base model has been extremely difficult to keep on the road I go over fifty and it feels like a big wind in constantly trying to push me off the road, I pay alot of money for this car and I don't trust it at all, when I stop or attempt to it makes a loud almost ABS type sound very often and the brakes are extremely touchy and I feel this car is just a unsafe device what's next these cars are junk and poorly made.

- Cherry Point, NC, USA

problem #80

Feb 062010

Corolla

  • 5,100 miles
I rented a 2010 Toyota Corolla in ft. Lauderdale, fl. Car had about 5,000 miles. While driving on I-95, the car swerved to the left. Steering was difficult to control. However, the problem did not repeat itself on the return trip later that day.

- North Haven, CT, USA

problem #79

Feb 142010

Corolla

  • 622 miles
I own a 2010 Toyota Corolla and when I drive on the highway over 60 mph.. the steering feels funny...it's hard to stay in my lane...the car seems to drift...

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #78

Dec 042009

Corolla

  • 2 miles
For Corolla 2010 as you make turns, it makes a strange noise, for a brand new car that is very unusual.

- Sunnyside, NY, USA

problem #77

Nov 282009

Corolla

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Corolla wanders in the lane traveling at highway speeds. Constantly making corrections to stay in the lane. Also the truck lid has a problem staying up, have had the pedal recall done, but don't think that well solve the problem.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #76

Feb 172010

Corolla

  • miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Corolla and at highway speeds the car "drifts", at lower speeds it does not occur. This issue is very much a concern as at expressway speeds it seems the steering is very loose, effecting the stability and control of the vehicle.

- Redondo Beach , CA, USA

problem #75

Aug 022009

Corolla

  • 200 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla...steering troubles.........picked up the car July 2 2009....found the car hard to keep in lane when on highway.....need to always correct the steering...in other words...you have to constantly move steering wheel lrlrlr..when on highway..........took it back to Toyota in Aug 2009....they looked at it and said all was fine.......I told them I would monitor it for 6 months.......trouble still exist 6 months later.........I have an appointment at Toyota on sat 02-27-2010........will insist on something being done to make steering normal.......I have heard reports on radio the past few weeks...and....decided to fill out this form....I have been a loyal and exclusive Toyota driver since 1985.

- Nesconset, NY, USA

problem #74

Jan 202010

Corolla

  • 100 miles
1. within 2 weeks of leasing a 2010 Corolla, I noticed the car moving to the right or left. Seems to want to pull. 2. it has occurred on several occasions sine the lease date of 1/16. Thankfully, no consequences. 3. technician test drove and did not find problem. Suggested to drive together and it was noted. Informed to schedule another visit for wheel alignment.

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #73

Oct 222009

Corolla

  • miles
I bought a 2010 Toyota Corolla S on Oct. 22, 2009. At bitterroot motors in missoula, Montana. The day after I bought the car I drove it to ovando, Montana, North of missoula, on a tryout road trip. I noticed that it was flighty on the road and seemed to waver without reason (no wind, no semi trucks, wind shear, rain, etc). Being a new car to me, I passed it off as the nature of a lighter and smaller vehicle than what I was accustomed to driving (my other vehicle is a 2004 Ford F150). Since that time, I have continually experienced this with no external explanation (ie: Weather, road conditions, etc). This problem seems to happen at speeds of 50 mph and over and it is a consistent issue. I commute regularly between stevensville, mt., and missoula, mt., for work (28 miles one way), and I often find that the car will drift left or right when I am at a steady speed. This is in addition to the fact that my vehicle is on the list of recalls for the recent accelerator issue. I need to add here that the second day after buying the car, I was getting fuel and as I turned from the pump to re-enter the car, "pop!!" and the driver side window totally shattered. I immediately called the dealer at bitterroot motors and drove it to their service dept to get it fixed. They replaced the window under warranty, and told me they suspected it was a preexisting stress fracture in the glass that finally gave. I bought this car based on safety ratings, consumer reports ratings, and to get better gas mileage on my necessary trips to and from work. It isn't hard to understand the stress of this situation, not to mention economic hardship. I paid for the car outright ($18,075) and it physically sickens me to think that such serious issues exist. I haven't even owned it 5 months! at this point I am fearful of even driving the car. If the world worked in good ways, Toyota would replace this vehicle completely, and preferably with something other than another Toyota.

- Stevensville, MT, USA

problem #72

Dec 082009

Corolla

  • 40 miles
I purchased a new 2010 Toyota Corolla from autoway Toyota in saint petersburg for my wife on 12/06/09. We were stressed out after hours of haggling and high pressure from the salesmen. The next day when I drove the car more (with only 40 miles on it) I noticed that the steering was hard to handle. It wandered. I found that I have to keep 2 hands on the wheel and eyes wide as it is unpredictable. In around 6 or 7 days I was back at autoway trying for hours to get them to take it back and sell me a Camry for more money!! the Corolla had only 85 miles on it. But they said it had been titled, so they wanted to buy it back for a $3000+ loss to us, and then make money on the sale of another vehicle (which is the ways of the car dealer). We are stuck. So, if asked, I would testify in court that the steering in this car could cause an accident. The odds are much higher with this steering system, that someone could be hurt or killed. A car with only 40 miles on it and you notice a problem like this? imagine when it has 100,000 miles and worn tires! I have always loved Toyota, until this. It makes me sick every time I drive it, and make the payment! I told my family, friends, and autoway 2 months before todays news about the steering problem broke!! any way I can help with this problem(especially if they(autoway/ and Toyota) will take the car back, I will! call me to testify..

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #71

Nov 072009

Corolla

  • 18 miles
I purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla S on 11-7-2009. On the test drive I complained to the salesman that the steering felt strange. It seemed to have a center spot and then any left or right turn would cause a minor pull either direction as if the steering turned on. The salesman said it was the electric steering on all the new cars. That was a slow speed test drive. After the purchase I got on the interstate and was shocked to feel the steering feel as if I were going around a semi tractor trailer rig and being pushed around by the wind, but yet I was not near a vehicle. It seemed like loose steering or tire squirm. When I got back from my trip I took it to the local Toyota service center and asked if there is an adjustment on the power steering or if there is an issue with the tires. To both questions my service advisor said no. On another trip on the interstate, it all of a sudden started acting like it was going to fish tail swinging back and forth, like I was ridding on balloon tires, or without sidewalls. I quickly slowed down. In cross winds or going around a semi it is worse. At my 5,000 service, I asked if there are any steering or tire issues, and my advisor still said no, but part of the service was to rotate the tires, and this has seemed to lessen the squirm. I now have 7,000 miles on my 2010 Toyota Corolla S.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #70

Jan 252010

Corolla

  • 500 miles
I recently purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The car has a very loose steering system. When you are driving at speeds under 45 mph the steering is very unresponsive and extremely light to turn. At highway speeds the car will move around the lane without moving the steering wheel. The car seems to pull from side to side similar to the alignment being out of line, but it goes both ways in an almost jerky motion. At first I thought this may have been changes in the road conditions, but the car will do it on completely smooth and flat pavement. No corrective actions have been taken.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #69

Oct 052009

Corolla

  • 500 miles
Vehicle hard to handle at speeds over 60 mph. Will not go straight, car wonders from side to side.

- Longview, TX, USA

problem #68

Jan 012010

Corolla

  • 20 miles
My 2010 Toyota Corolla le seems to wander randomly left or right. It is difficult to travel in a straight line without frequent adjustment to the steering column. It feels like I am driving on a windy day and the car is being tossed around. Actually, any wind at all only makes the matter much worse. Almost feels like the rear end of the car has a slight fishtailing. This is all most noticeable at 45 mph and above. Local service dept. Could not look at it for three weeks. I will not let my 17 year old daughter drive this car. I have had this car for only six weeks and would surely give it back if I could. Disappointed that I did not get a response to my emails sent to Toyota.

- Hubert, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?