Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 16 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Feb 052010


  • 1,200 miles


I own a 2010 Toyota Corolla, which my 19 year old daughter drives, which is involved in the gas pedal recall. She also describes an steering problem -- difficulty keeping the car from veering, has to hold steering wheel tight to keep it straight, describes it like car is sliding on ice. When I asked our Toyota dealer service dept advisor about it he said to check the tire inflation. I now see that this is a complaint from others. I am concerned that this car is not safe for her to drive! she drives it to and from college on interstate 95 and says this problem occurs at all speeds, especially 45 and over.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #46

Nov 272009


  • 9 miles
Toyota of kingsport 2525 East stone drive kingsport, tn 37660 on November 27, 2009, I purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla, from a 3rd party for my ex-wife of gate city, Virginia. During the test drive, the 3rd party and I discussed the accelerator problem that was being reported in the news and on many internet websites. He assured me that there was not a problem. He also told me that the Corolla had never in its entire history been the subject of a recall. I later found out this to be untrue. There is also a problem with the steering on this car. It wanders at higher speeds and will not hold a straight line. This is a serious and dangerous defect, especially for a 60-year old woman. You cannot take your eye off the road even for a split second or you may find yourself in the next lane or running off the road. This is highly unacceptable. According to the news, this steering defect has been reported to Toyota on many occasions. My ex wife is on disability. She had major heart surgery in February, 2009. She had two heart valves replaced, two heart artery by-passes and had to have a graft on her heart aorta. She has many other disabilities to deal with. This was her first new car in 13 years. She previously drove a Toyota tercel for 13 years - a good car. Together, we have owned a Camry, tercel, Tundra, Tacoma and now this Corolla. But I can assure you that this will be the last Toyota I will ever buy. Toyota has know about these defects but still continued to sell them to the public. The word that comes to mind is fraud. I am at a loss as what to do. I am also on disability and cannot afford to replace this car for her and I worry each day that she has to drive this car. Please respond in writing how you plan to address this situation. As each day passes, the chance of her being involved in an accident grows greater. You will receive a copy of this letter by certified mail.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #45

Feb 052008


  • miles
I also have a new 2010 Corolla bought in lexington ky three weeks ago. 3 days before the recall on the acceleration pedals were announced. I have yet to hear from the dealer about fixing the issue. Although today I wanted to report a steering issue with the car. It does indeed have difficulty staying in a lane of traffic. The car will veer to the left or right of the lane unexpectedly and without warning. It is similar to a gust of wind pushing the car even if no wind is blowing. I had taken it to the dealership for testing and the service guy told me it's just how the steering is made in these autos. It is a way for the powerful control you have going around curves and turns in the road impacts the straight highway driving. I have run off the road on my passenger side already. You do have to drive as if you are always on ice or water, gripping both hands on the wheel at all times; while praying the car will stop!!!

- Salvisa, KY, USA

problem #44

Aug 102009


  • 5 miles


I would like to report a technical problem with Toyota Corolla le 2010, purchased on August 10, 2009 at a dealership: World Toyota, 5800 peachtree industrial blvd, atlanta, ga, 30341, usa. The technical problem relates to electric power steering system which compromises stability of the car during driving. Namely, the car does not follow its track and spontaneously steers left or right. As a result of this constant pulling, the driver needs to firmly hold the steering wheel, but even then, it is impossible to control the car to keep it perfectly in track. The car feels even more unstable and pulls from side to side even more prominently when driving in full traffic on highway at a speed higher than 40 mph, such as atlanta, ga, where I live. I first noticed the problem when test driving the vehicle on August 10, 2009, but a sales representative at world Toyota suggested that this was due to the electric steering and told me I needed to get used to it. Despite this problem, I still decided to buy the car. Because the car's instability on the road did not improve with time, I had this problem reviewed by Toyota service technicians at the world Toyota dealership during my 1000 mile maintenance check on September 18, 2009 and 5000 mile check on January 09, 2010. During 1000 mile maintenance check, I was suggested to drive the car until 5000 miles to see whether I would get used to it. During 5000 mile maintenance, I was given to test drive another Toyota Corolla le 2010 with a newer manufacture date and this car was more stable and held much better on the road. Toyota service technician tested my car as well and acknowledged the problem, however, did not know how to fix it. The alignment was checked on both dates, September 18, 2009 and January 09, 2010, with no identification of possible causes to pulling. At this point, Toyota dealership is not doing anything to fix the problem.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #43

Oct 312009


  • 11 miles
I purchased a 201 Toyota Corolla "S" and immediately after driving it off the lot, noticed that the steering wanders. I feel like this is a safety problem, because the car constantly wants to wander into the other lane of traffic. There has not been an accident yet, but I really feel that there will be!

- Macungie, PA, USA

problem #42

Jan 122010


  • 7,500 miles
My 2010 Toyota Corolla drifted from lane while driving. I was able to get back into the correct lane, but it drifted back out of lane and I had to reduce speed to properly correct the situation and avoid side-swiping a vehicle. This has happened a couple of times as I drive to work on a major highway.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #41

Jan 242010


  • 6,865 miles


I was making a routine turn and lost control of steering. It only happened the one time, police report said car rolled two or three times, total loss to car and injury to driver. I don't remember exactly the cause other than I lost control. Can't say any of the recalls did or did not cause the accident. My primary complaint is that I paid for front and side airbags, and none deployed on a car that rolled two or three times. Why am I paying for equipment that is not effective" if a car rolls over at minimum the side airbags should have deployed. I would also think this would trigger the other air bags. With all the recalls how would we know if any of these contributed to the crash? I understand the rollover rating applies to the stability of the car, but rating the safety in a rollover accident should also be rated. Why don't air bags deploy automatically when car hits sides or the roof" we paid for safety and reliability of the Toyota, but it appears that the extra money is wasted.

- Ridgecrest, CA, USA

problem #40

Jan 252010


  • miles
Steering drift at highways speeds 50 mph + happens off and on as I'm driving down the highway, I hold the steering wheel straight and it will start to merge either left or right, it happens on straight roads and curvy roads.

- Maricopa, AZ, USA

problem #39

Dec 162009


  • 5 miles
I purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla in December. During the test drive I commented that the steering felt funny, but the dealer and I chalked it up to the road conditions. I continue to observe that the car is weaving back and forth especially on the freeway. If I hadn't seen the news story about this issue, I probably would have just assumed that the steering was "touchy" for lack of a better word. Now that I know that this is a real safety issue, coupled with the gas pedal issue, I will be contacting the dealer.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #38

Oct 052009


  • 200 miles
2010 Corolla le. This car can not be driven in a strait line on the highway ! it seems to constantly drift to the left and then to the right. Car has 2000 miles on it now but this problem has been a problem since day one.

- Potter, NE, USA

problem #37

Oct 012009


  • 0 miles


Steering on 2010 Toyota Corolla is vague, resulting in difficulty in maintaining lane when driving over 45 mph. Constant correction is required. Suggest looking at differences between this vehicle and 2009 Pontiac vibe (which we also own, and is built on same platform) which does not exhibit same degree of driving difficulty.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #36

Jan 262010


  • 12,500 miles
My new Toyota Corolla 2010 - when driving on the highway (60+ mph), the vehicle will all of a sudden start to wander back and forth in the lane, for a few hundred yards. Then as quickly as it started, it stops. The wandering has almost created 4 collisions so far. This needs to be looked at before someone gets seriously hurt, as these problems are happening at hi speeds on the highways.

- Barrie, Ontario Canada, 00, USA

problem #35

Jan 222010


  • 7,289 miles
I have a 2010 Corolla and until I spoke to another owner I thought this problem may have been me. It seems to me the steering is jumpy or hard to hold a line. I can be driving down the road in what I would call a straight line and the car will sometime jump to the right or left but yet I never moved the wheel. My wife actually thought at one time I was swerving on purpose.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #34

Jan 152010


  • 2,000 miles
We have a new 2010 Toyota Corolla with about 9,000 miles on it. The steering on this car is "strange" making it unsafe-- it is difficult to keep it in a steady/smooth line when driving on the highway at 55 mph or greater -- you need to make constant minute corrective movements to the steering wheel. At times it seems to drift on it's own left and right - like it's being blown around by a gust of wind - but the wind isn't blowing!

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #33

Dec 122009


  • 5,000 miles
My daughter was driving her new Corolla (2010) home from college in December 2009. When she got home she was extremely upset and told me that she had encountered a steering problem with the car on her way home -- she couldn't keep the car centered on the highway as the car kept moving to the left and right. About two weeks later (December 2009) I was driving the car at about 65 mph down the highway and could not keep the car on center. It felt like I was caught in a terrible crosswind, moving me from left to right as I tried to stay on center. I ended up having to keep both hands on the steering wheel just to maintain control of the car. It was the same problem my daughter had experienced. In my 30 years of driving I have never had an experience like that before. It does not appear to be a problem at lower speeds just highway speeds and, to date, this problem has only happened those two times.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #32

Jan 012010


  • 200 miles
The steering in my 2010 Toyota Corolla "S" is hard to control and, I feel unsafe, at highway speeds. The car wanders all over the road, requiring constant correction. However, often minor corrections fail to have any effect, and major corrections result in overcorrection, often making the car leave the lane. Toyota claims this is just the nature of its "electric" steering. I disagree. I no longer drive my car (brand new, mind you... fewer than 2,000 miles) on the highway. The problem isn't present at city speeds.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #31

Feb 092010


  • 1,850 miles
The electric power steering in my 2010 Toyota Corolla is very erratic and unstable at speeds of 40 mph and above. It becomes much worse when the wind is blowing. I have had a Toyota dealer inspect the vehicle and they claimed that they found nothing wrong. I leased the vehicle in December 2009 and the problem has never gone away. Yesterday, I reported the problem to the Toyota customer experience center. They told me to check the tire air pressure (which I do at least monthly), check the shocks absorbers (which I can not do), and then have another Toyota dealer inspect the car again.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #30

Jan 082010


  • 100 miles
I bought a new 2010 Toyota Corolla S and realized that I can't control the steering at speeds over 50mph. This problem was noted, to my salesman, the same day I purchased the car. My whole family, including myself, made a living selling cars. I've driven in many different cars and know when something isn't right. The Corolla's steering is dangerous and unsafe to be on the road. The dealership service manager even noted that there is a steering issue, but Toyota doesn't have a fix. I talked to a representative at Toyota's corporate office, but he told me they can't help until their is a problem. When I drive on the express way the car's steering is unpredictable, unsafe, and defective. I'm forced to drive this car because it's my only means of transportation.

- Estero, FL, USA

problem #29

Feb 092010


  • miles
I recently purchased a 2010 Corolla on February 3, 2010. I was driving down the road tonight from work and my car started drifting to the left. It was extremely hard for me to stay in the proper lane. It appears if the car was drifting by itself, and I was on the verge of losing control. By researching how to report this problem I noticed there were many complaints on this same situation. Toyota is putting may lives into danger, this issue needs to be investigated immediately. What are my options regarding this issue" is returning/exchanging this car a possibility at this time due to the fact I have only owned this vehicle a week" I feel very unsafe driving this vehicle. My family is in extreme risk, I would like someone to call me immediately regarding this situation.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #28

Feb 092010


  • 20 miles
Bought my new 2010 Corolla S on Dec. 28th, 2009; noticed how the steering was odd, but thought it was my imagination. It seems to drift on it's own left and right - like it's being blown around by a gust of wind - but the wind isn't blowing! this happens every time I drive the car. Each time it does this veering maneuver I look at the surrounding trees to see if they are being blown too - but they are not. I have just over 1,000 miles on this vehicle and I feel like I've been scammed by Toyota. This is my first official complaint and I will call the dealership tomorrow.

- Jasper, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?