Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 4 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #287

Jun 202009

Corolla

  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when driving between 50-60 mph, the steering would become uncontrollable and the contact was unable to maintain the vehicle in a straight direction. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not inspected. The current mileage was 12,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 10.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #286

Jan 062011

Corolla

  • 96 miles
1. this car can not be driven in a straight line on the highway even when you hold steering without moving. It seems vehicle slowly, consistently drifts mostly to the left and to the right. One needs to pay so much attention on steering while driving. This problem has been there since day one (8 miles) and I requested to fix before I sign the paper work but not has been taken care other than car wash. This issue still exists even after performing alignment during our first service visit as I thought it was an alignment issue. We believe it is a very serious issue than sticky pedal and pose a potential risk for Corolla owners if we can not control steering. It has potential road hazard as the vehicle wanders both left and right especially with heavy traffic and feels like car wheels are not under control. We are positive that these steering/suspension issues were also raised on other 2010 Corollas by a number of owners. Toyota and dealers must be fully aware of these concerns but failed to declare up front. During our second visit they told us about ts 1040 and replaced steering control computer board. Seems wandering issue is gone for now. But tires are problem as I am having concern from the beginning. 2. I feel humming mild vibration/resonance in steering wheel when we cross 50-60 mph. It feels like tires are vibrating the steering wheel. Replacing computer controller did not fix mild vibration of steering. 3. tires: As I had doubt about tires this could be tires problem but Toyota service team is not willing to accept the fact. Once you cross 62 mph you can clearly feel the tire vibration mainly in a steering wheel and also on the vehicle. Road force balancing has been done but there is no improvement. I am not sure it is engine related or tires. I have been insisting on replacing another set of better balanced tires or different make of tires.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #285

Jan 062011

Corolla

  • 96 miles
1. this car can not be driven in a straight line on the highway even when you hold steering without moving. It seems vehicle slowly, consistently drifts mostly to the left and to the right. One needs to pay so much attention on steering while driving. This problem has been there since day one (8 miles) and I requested to fix before I sign the paper work but not has been taken care other than car wash. This issue still exists even after performing alignment during our first service visit as I thought it was an alignment issue. We believe it is a very serious issue than sticky pedal and pose a potential risk for Corolla owners if we can not control steering. It has potential road hazard as the vehicle wanders both left and right especially with heavy traffic and feels like car wheels are not under control. We are positive that these steering/suspension issues were also raised on other 2010 Corollas by a number of owners. Toyota and dealers must be fully aware of these concerns but failed to declare up front. During our second visit they told us about ts 1040 and replaced steering control computer board. Seems wandering issue is gone for now. But tires are problem as I am having concern from the beginning. 2. I feel humming mild vibration/resonance in steering wheel when we cross 50-60 mph. It feels like tires are vibrating the steering wheel. Replacing computer controller did not fix mild vibration of steering. 3. tires: As I had doubt about tires this could be tires problem but Toyota service team is not willing to accept the fact. Once you cross 62 mph you can clearly feel the tire vibration mainly in a steering wheel and also on the vehicle. Road force balancing has been done but there is no improvement. I am not sure it is engine related or tires. I have been insisting on replacing another set of better balanced tires or different make of tires.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #284

Sep 012010

Corolla

  • 1 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stearing. Vears to left and right can't controll @ speeds of 50mph plus

- Enfield , ME, USA

problem #283

Dec 122009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 12 miles
Original filing: ODI#10317281 on Dec 12, 2009 as... "at speeds over 50 mph the steering wheel seems to "lock" into a position and resists being moved to either side until excessive force is applied, several pounds of force I would say, then the steering wheel jumps to a new position and the car takes off to that side, requiring another hard pull on the steering wheel to try to go back toward center. I had to fight this car for three hours each way on the highway, and the slightest inattention was likely to result in the car heading for one edge or the other of the lane, since it seems to periodically just "drift" off path for no apparent reason-- no change in road slope or geometry, but the car would start moving toward one side of the other. (tire pressures were checked before the trip)........ resolution: After 19 months of avoiding using the car for highway driving, we took the 2010 Corolla S to dealer where it was purchased, with 7600 miles on it on March 17, 2011 and requested them to check for service bulletins related to the continuing problems with steering control (or lack of it!) and they replaced the steering ECU under Toyota service bulletin 0140-10R1 with a new ECU (Toyota part #89650-12C20 ) this work was done under warranty, no charges. No other changes to tire pressure or alignment were done, but the results are amazing! the car actually handles and responds to the steering wheel like you would expect, and is easy to steer accurately within the lane at speeds up to 70mph (local speed limit) and does not require constant fighting with the steering wheel to try to correct vehicle direction. Much much better! I wish that we had found out about this service bulletin last year, since it was issued by Toyota back in Aug. 2010, but it seems they don't advise anyone of this tsb, and only perform this replacement if the owner makes a specific complaint, after the Aug.2010 date. Thanks to ODI for your help.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #282

Mar 012011

Corolla

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the vehicle moved from side to side while driving making it hard to stay in the lane while driving approximately 50 to 60 mph. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 22,000.

- Cincinnati , OH, USA

problem #281

Jan 102011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 778 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle began to abnormally veer from left to right. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told that the failure was caused by the electronic control module, which the dealer recommended replacing. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure persisted. The failure mileage was 778 and the current mileage was 1,300. Updated 03/24/11 updated 05/02/11

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #280

Jan 102011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Purchased 2010 with 35K miles. Test drove car but did not notice steering issue until I drove it a lot. The steering control force changes with speed. Steering will not stay straight and pulls to left depending on speed the pull may be worse to the left. Took to dealer twice and ntb for alignment but is according to repair shops the alignment is in specs and the tires are good. If it turned to the right I would be bad but better because now it turns towards oncoming cars right now and poses a danger to myself and family.

- Lawrenceburg , KY, USA

problem #279

Jan 222011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Extremely light steering at speeds over 50 miles per hour. Virtually no road feel. Sensation is similar to "driving" a video game. All control needs to be through vision as there is virtually no feeling of resistance in the steering wheel making the car very difficult to control on curves or when buffeted by winds produced by large trucks passing by. Very tiring to drive. Feels especially unsafe at night as in the dark there is less visual input regarding the upcoming road and with such minimal road feel through the steering wheel driving feels unsafe. This is a new car with less than 2,000 miles. Replacement of the steering computer by the dealer did not sufficiently correct the problem.

- Edina, MN, USA

problem #278

Jan 012010

Corolla

  • 125 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving approximately 60 mph the vehicle became extremely difficult to control. The contact stated that while driving at faster speeds the steering wheel becomes stiff. The dealer was contacted and stated that the steering wheel would loosen up as the contact continued to drive since it was a new vehicle. The failure continued to occur. The approximate failure mileage was 125.

- Sanrafael, CA, USA

problem #277

Nov 202010

Corolla

  • 12 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. 2010 Toyota Corolla S was purchased from a Toyota dealer with 8 miles. Right after going off the lot, and onto the freeway, car was unstable. Even if you hold the steering wheel straight, the car wants to jump left and right randomly. Basically it is unstable. 2. car is unstable and requires more than normal concentration and more effort to drive straight, as car does not track straight. 3. vehicle was brought to dealer with approximately 185 miles. Test drove with technician, who said it veers slightly right. Alignment was done. The front was off by a bit and corrected. But rear of car was out of spec with regards to left and right toe. Basically both rear wheels facing towards the left. Toyota dealer said they are unable to repair this problem. I bring in a Toyota technical service bulletin that addresses on-center steering feel. The document requires alignment done, then power-steering ECU replaced. My ECU is then replaced at the dealership, but alignment in rear is not adjusted, since the dealer said it is not adjustable. They give me back the car with the new ECU even if rear toe is off along with total rear camber. They also say that total rear toe is correct at.38 deg, but even if left and right rear toe is off, as long as total rear toe is good, car is within Toyota specifications and tolerances. I do not agree with the statement. If left and right toes are off, then car is not aligned. Right rear toe is out of spec by.15 degrees while left rear toe is off by -.09 degrees. I take the car and drive it for 1 day and a half, and the car veers right on the freeway. If it hits a bump on a turn, it usually makes the car want to jump right. Basically proving that the rear toe is out of specifications.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #276

Oct 292010

Corolla

  • 1,400 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving 65 mph, the steering wheel was difficult to control; the contact had to grip it with both hands. At lower speeds of 20 mph, the contact had a little more control. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that they would have to order the parts for replacement (replacement parts unknown). The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 1,400.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #275

Nov 202010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 12 miles
1. 2010 Toyota Corolla S was purchased from a Toyota dealer with 8 miles. Right after going off the lot, and onto the freeway, car was unstable. Even if you hold the steering wheel straight, the car wants to jump left and right randomly. Basically it is unstable. 2. car is unstable and requires more than normal concentration and more effort to drive straight, as car does not track straight. 3. vehicle was brought to dealer with approximately 185 miles. Test drove with technician, who said it veers slightly right. Alignment was done. The front was off by a bit and corrected. But rear of car was out of spec with regards to left and right toe. Basically both rear wheels facing towards the left. Toyota dealer said they are unable to repair this problem. I bring in a Toyota technical service bulletin that addresses on-center steering feel. The document requires alignment done, then power-steering ECU replaced. My ECU is then replaced at the dealership, but alignment in rear is not adjusted, since the dealer said it is not adjustable. They give me back the car with the new ECU even if rear toe is off along with total rear camber. They also say that total rear toe is correct at.38 deg, but even if left and right rear toe is off, as long as total rear toe is good, car is within Toyota specifications and tolerances. I do not agree with the statement. If left and right toes are off, then car is not aligned. Right rear toe is out of spec by.15 degrees while left rear toe is off by -.09 degrees. I take the car and drive it for 1 day and a half, and the car veers right on the freeway. If it hits a bump on a turn, it usually makes the car want to jump right. Basically proving that the rear toe is out of specifications.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #274

Nov 032009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that when trying to decelerate, the vehicle continued accelerating. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. 01/25/11 the consumer also stated the vehicle was difficult to steer.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #273

Nov 132010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 43,500 miles
My 2010 Toyota Corolla steering is difficult to control. The car wanders around the road. I thought it was the alignment. Despite an alignment service, the steering is still very difficult and exhausting. The wandering, corrective steering measures that have to be taken and constant vigilance when driving are exhausting. It is a difficult car to drive, particularly in heavy traffic with narrow roads and at the higher cruising speeds. This has been going on since I purchased the car from the showroom.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #272

Nov 092010

Corolla

  • 5,886 miles
I have a Toyota Corolla 2010, I had it since June 2010, . I went through a major car accident on hw 1 ca @ 8:45 am on Tuesday which was a sunny, clear, not foggy nor rainy day (weather condition was perfect),I was driving on 63 mph (normal speed is 65) on the fast left lane and suddenly I felt that the left front tire is veering the car into a different direction acting as if it below up (but it didn't) and my car is veering to the left, my steering wheel is locked and is not responding at all when trying to change the car directionto the right. There was no way to drive the car in a straight line. The steering wheel failed completely to respond to any attempt to turn it to the right in an attempt to gain control over the car and attempting to drive it in straight line. Brakes as well were not responding. All attempts to stop the car or turn it to the right to avoid bumping the rails and keep it straight in the lane failed. I completely lost control over the car & it started fishtailing in the front. The car didn't stop until it bumped into the guarding rail, at this moment the car just stopped and it took the car more than 20 feed to automatically stop by it self. I failed to stop it.at this moment the car corrected its direction &went in straight line direction scrubbing against the rail completely damaging the entire left side of the car before it stall. Then all the dash board lights and car sounds went on and the car stalled. The car was not in a drivable condition so I had to tow it away. I have a witness who described my accident saying that my car kept swerving to the left & was ambiguously uncontrolled, he was the one that took care of me after the car bumped the rail. This accident is a life threatening accident not only for me but also for others on the hw. I was lucky it happened on my way home after I dropped off my son to school, the two car seats I had in the car were damaged, the car damage was estimated by $10,000. I suffer from a severe pain.

- Marina, CA, USA

problem #271

Nov 042010

Corolla

  • 0 miles
I bought this vehicle a little over a week ago, and have had immense problems steering it. Once I hit 35-40 miles per hour, it becomes incredibly stiff and difficult to steer. Highway miles are the most difficult, and it takes an incredible amount of effort to keep it straight. I have had incredible pain in both shoulders since buying this car, a problem I have never had before driving any other car. For whatever reason, stabilizing this vehicle is incredible difficult, and in my opinion, is extremely unsafe to drive as a result. Due to the pain in both of my shoulders, and my safety concerns while driving it, I will undoubtedly be selling this car as soon as possible.

- Sharon, MA, USA

problem #270

Nov 052010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla le - wandering, floating effect steering. On roads that slope to right of vehicle, occasionally vehicle will pull left sharply into incoming traffic. Requires constant steering correction. When driving on a country road in the rain, car would pull sharply to the left when driving under low older power lines. Dealer mechanic test drive described "floating" wandering steering. Alignment showed rear axle could not be aligned. Tire inflation correct. Dealer said that no repairs are available at this time. Took vehicle to dealer three times asking for repairs. 7400 miles on vehicle.

- Pearsall, TX, USA

problem #269

Oct 142010

Corolla

  • 135 miles
Bought a new 2010 Toyota Corolla S. drove it on the highway. The steering is horrible. The car will veer to the right, then with a small correct, will pull to the left. You get it going straight then it will pull one way or the other all by itself. Kind of like it is really windy, but today was a calm day. This is going to cause an accident. From what I have been reading, a lot of other people have complained. What are you waiting for" someone to die"

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #268

Jun 012009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Bought brand new 2010 Toyota Corolla in May 2009. When driving on freeway feels like car will change lane automatically. Also feels like driving car in the windy condition. When you leave the steering wheel, I think car is suppose to go straight, but car pulls either on right or left side.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?