Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 6 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #247

Dec 142009

Corolla

  • 5,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cars alignment is out of whack. While driving the car will turn on it own to the right or left reported it to Toyota and they said we cant do anything.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #246

Jun 262010

Corolla

  • 20 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that whenever he drove the vehicle over 60 mph, the steering wheel became loose and difficult to control. He constantly had to correct the steering wheel to keep it straight. He called the dealer and scheduled an appointment to have the vehicle inspected. He had not spoken with the manufacturer when the complaint was filed. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was approximately 300. The failure mileage was approximately 20.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #245

Jul 012010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 25 miles
I just bought a brand new 2010 Toyota Corolla 6/28/10. It has serious steering wandering problems. I took it to the dealer today(7/1/10, and they confirmed but did not fix the problem. When I got home, I looked it up on the web and see that there have been numerous complaints about this problem. What can I do?

- Gilmanton Iw, NH, USA

problem #244

May 232010

Corolla

  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated when driving at approximately 55 mph, the steering wheel would not stay balanced in a straight line. The vehicle would veer in either direction. The contact stated the failure was worse when driving in snow or windy weather conditions. The dealer advised the vehicle was operating as designed. The failure persisted. The dealer test drove and was able to duplicate the failure. An investigator was sent on behalf of the manufacturer to further inspect the failure. The investigator performed a visual inspection and advised there were no failures. In addition, the contact stated the brakes would feel spongy and would often fall farther into the floorboard than normal. The contact would have to apply steady, repeated pressure in order for them to work properly. The dealer advised there were no failures within the brake system. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 500 and the current mileage was approximately 2,100.

- East Troy , WI, USA

problem #243

Jul 202009

Corolla

  • 285 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated while driving at 60 mph, the steering became very hard and difficult to turn. He would have to pull on the steering wheel when the failure occurred to keep the vehicle centered in its lane. The steering wheel would not re-center itself when making a turn during the failure. The dealer advised they were unable to repair the vehicle because the steering box was electronic. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 285 and the current mileage was 3,270.

- Thornton, IL, USA

problem #242

Jun 082010

Corolla

  • 300 miles
I have a brand new Corolla 2010 I bought this may of 2010. If I drive on the freeway, I have to continuously control the way the car moves. It will not go straight in the lane. The car will wander and its like the wind is hitting my car. I'm returning it this week, but I really hope this will get fixed soon.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #241

Mar 012010

Corolla

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The ODI started an investigation in Feb. About the steering on '09 and '10 Corollas. At that time there were 168 complaints and 6 crashes. Now there are over 500 complaints and 34 crashes involving these vehicles, and no updates. Somebody please actually read this and let us unfortunate Toyota owners know what is going on! the matrix was also listed in the investigation, but there are no steering complaints for those model years listed. I own a 2010 Corolla and have filed a complaint, been to the dealer several times, and called ODI and got no help from anyone. These cars have a serious problem with drifting all over the road (as 99% of the complaints say one way or another) and I would like to know what to do. I hope other people who have filed complaints keep checking up on them. Thanks in advance for listening!!!!

- Sparta, WI, USA

problem #240

Aug 312009

Corolla

  • 1 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla steering problem. Car wanders on highway hard to hold in lane due to electric power steering.

- Barberton, OH, USA

problem #239

Aug 192009

Corolla

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that his vehicle has been experiencing recurring brake and steering failures. Repeated pressure would have to be applied to the brake pedal in order to stop the vehicle. The contact also stated that while driving at unknown highway speeds, the vehicle would drift from left to right. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the failure was not duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 200 and the current mileage was 7,020.

- Walton, NY, USA

problem #238

Apr 012010

Corolla

  • 42 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The vehicle has been taken to the selling dealer twice and an additional dealer once. I took it in for what I deem as unsafe steering. The vehicle wanders even when holding the wheel locked straight with both hands. The dealers checked alignment and said its the nature of the electronic steering. My wife wont drive the car for fear of how it feels.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #237

Mar 092010

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle pulls, you have to continually correct the steering to stay in the lane. More noticeable the faster the speed. A long drive makes my knuckles turn white and my shoulders hurt. At first I thought it was the wind, but the more I drive it the more noticeable it is.

- Yalaha, FL, USA

problem #236

Oct 212009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,715 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle steering would become hard to turn and increasingly difficult to maneuver. The vehicle would also independently pull in both directions. The dealer was contacted and advised they were aware of the failure in the 2010 model Corolla vehicles and that the manufacturer was currently working on a remedy to address the failure. The vehicle had been taken to the dealer four times due to the contact's concerns regarding failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 3,715 and the current mileage was 12,150. Updated 07/19/10. Updated 10/12/10 the consumer stated an updated steering computer was installed in the vehicle, which has made a big difference. Updated 10/19/10

- Conrad, MT, USA

problem #235

May 212010

Corolla

  • 1,400 miles
Purchased a new 2010 Corolla. Driving home from work last week, I had two service lights on (my car has 1400 miles on it). The steering in the car seemed "loose" as I drove home, but when I went to turn on my street, the steering wheel did not turn and the ABS failed. I hit a curb on the opposite side of the road damaging a strut and an alloy wheel. My local dealer, lakeland Toyota, told me it was not their problem but that I needed to figure out how to pay for the repairs. They told me that they had no idea why those two warning lights were on. I am currently trying to work with Toyota corporate to get this resolved in a manner that I will feel safe driving the car. Kind of hard to do when they refuse to accept that there is a problem.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #234

Mar 012010

Corolla

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the vehicle would drift to the left and right. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. However, the failure continues to recur. The failure mileage was 0. the current mileage was approximately 1,400.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #233

Mar 152010

Corolla

  • 200 miles
I recently purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla xle. I have noticed at highway speeds the vehicle is impossible to steer normally. Apparently the electric power steering is oversensitive or something because you cannot keep the car going straight with normal steering input. If a highway patrol officer were to follow this car for any distance, he would think the driver was impaired. I have owned Toyota vehicles for 20 years and have been very satisfied, but this is unacceptable and potentially dangerous.

- Wellton, AZ, USA

problem #232

Apr 042010

Corolla

  • miles
Toyota Corolla 2010 steering unstable to drive specially freeway driving. Every time you drive it feels like it want to go left or right. Went to back to dealership and try if they can fix the problem. They said nothings wrong with the car it is just a light car. I told them I used to drive a small Toyota yaris and it is much more stable to drive than the Corolla I just bought. Please do help me! the car is brand new. I'm starting to loose my trust with Toyota.

- Suisun, CA, USA

problem #231

May 222010

Corolla

  • 7 miles
I just bought a 2010 Toyota Corolla less than 30 days ago. I believe the steering is either going to cause an accident or at least cause us to get a ticket from drifting in and out of our lane of traffic. I am 32 years old and have bought and drove tons of vehicles so I am not an inexperienced driver. I own a 1988 Toyota pickup that is easier to keep in a straight line than this car. Before I was ready to purchase the car I did some research and saw some complaints about how hard it was to keep them driving in a straight line. I thought it was just people jumping on the Toyota recall bandwagon trying to get something for nothing. I also figured it would be a perfect time to buy a Toyota and get a deal because of the problems they are having. When I mentioned the problem to the dealer while test driving the car he said " I haven't heard anything. It probably will just take some getting used to." It has been a month and their is something wrong with the electric power steering. It is very very difficult to keep in a straight line. It is almost so sensitive that just putting your hands wheel will cause a slight change in direction. The only way to keep the car in a straight line down a straight road is to take your hands off the wheel. If it is windy the vehicle seems to correct for directional changes that are not happening. It drifts horribly bad during even small winds. I know it is not just my driving habits. We just moved from palmer Alaska and routinely drove a 1990 Ford escort, and the 1988 Toyota pickup in winds over 50 miles an hour with effects less than those in the 2010 Corolla.

- Lackland Afb, TX, USA

problem #230

May 102010

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles
High speed steering is very sensitive. Making it very difficult to drive on the highway at 60 mph. Oversteering is common. The car changes lanes with just 1/2" of movement on the steering wheel.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #229

May 222010

Corolla

  • 200 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) [xxx] May 21, 2010 heritage Toyota shelburne rd. Dear heritage Toyota, I am returning the Toyota Corolla I purchased from you less than 30 days ago. I expect a full refund as provided by state and federal statutes. I find it unsafe to drive. The vehicle does not track straight. It too readily redirects itself from a straight path, drifting alternately from to right or left. My driving time is spent intensely concentrating on correcting the right and left adjustment the vehicle has made on its own. It feels like I am driving on rails that I do not have control over or that I am driving on the crest of a severely crowned road and that I must constantly redirect the vehicle back uphill to the top pf the crown.. the steering does not have a sweet neutral spot; it is as if the vehicle is always trying to turn and it my job to correct its turning. This happens on all roads and at all speeds. It happens both when I am holding onto the steering wheel and concentrating on correcting, and also when I relax my grip from the wheel and let the car ¿track¿ on its own. There is no time I am not working to keep the car on the road. In addition to the typical/usual task (the joy of driving) of steering to keep the car on the road, I am forced to also steer to compensate for the random turns the vehicle makes on it own. I thought the steering would ¿wear-in¿ but I think it is getting worse. The last straw happened yesterday (while I was out of town), when my wife drove it for the first time, she called me to ask me, ¿what I had done to the steering, because she had difficulty keeping the car on the road.¿ note: I drove my old car on this trip to boston because the 2010 Corolla is too tiring and thus unsafe to drive long distance. [xxx]

- So. Burlington , VT, USA

problem #228

Apr 162010

Corolla

  • miles
2010 Toyota Corolla steering unstable to drive.

- Suisun, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?