Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 7 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #227

May 032010

Corolla

  • 9,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Basically, the car loses all its balance when you hit about 50mph on highway. Steering becomes vague. The car drifts left or right, as if a really strong wind hits the sides. Instead of getting heavier, steering becomes so light, you can't keep the car in the lane. In two recent occasions, I almost hit the cars which were driving next to me, in their lanes.

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #226

Aug 152009

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles
I purchased a 2010 Corolla in August 2009. I did not test drive the car on the highway but rather in the neighborhood of the dealership. Once I started driving the car on the highway, I noticed that the steering seemed too loose. When I took it to the dealership for 5000 mile check and complained about it, I was told that the steering mechanism was fine. I continued to experience difficultly driving the car in speeds greater than 50 - 55 miles per hour. I don't know how else to describe it but it feels like I have little control over the car. I definitely have to use two hands to control the car and a sneeze or changing a radio station causes the car to drift or swerve into another lane. The car doesn't feel tight to the road, it feels like it is hyrdoplaning. Driving in a stiff wind is challenging. On the 10,000 mile check up, I complained again and was told that my complaint had been noted. I question the safety of the car.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #225

May 032010

Corolla

  • 4,000 miles
On 05/03/2010 after my daughter graduation from the university of Florida we were driving Toyota Corolla 2010 from gainesville fl to ft. Lauderdale fl. We were keeping speed of the vehicle around posted legal limit of 70 mph and experienced some difficulties to keep the vehicle straight within the limits of the lane boundaries.this car is suppose to be driven by my daughter who only now is starting to drive on the highways and I am very concerned about safety of the car. We never experienced anything like this during all our previous driving experiences with other cars. We actually look at the internet and found that it is seems not our unique experience and may be related to the design or manufacturing defects in the new electric power steering device on the Toyota Corolla latest model. Please take a look at the problem before it is too late for some Toyota Corolla owners.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #224

May 012010

Corolla

  • 9,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Toyota Corolla le - wandering of vehicle while traveling at highway speeds. Alignment is also off.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #223

Sep 032009

Corolla

  • 100 miles
I purchased my Toyota Corolla le 2010 in August 2009. We found the steering wheel was not aligned properly and the vehicle sometimes skipped/shifted on freeway. We reported this to Toyota before their massive recall. We took it to sterling mccall Toyota in houston several times and they insisted there was no alignment problem, even a third-party mechanics inspected the vehicle and identified there was alignment problem. The steering wheel has to be placed slanted to the left side in order for the vehicle to go straight. It was so obvious that anyone you can notice it. The car dealer and the Toyota us headquarter told us there was nothing they could do. This has be a security concern and we have been trying to resolve the issue with Toyota but has failed to. I urge NHTSA to investigate this matter to ensure consumer safety.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #222

May 062010

Corolla

  • miles
Just purchased new 2010 Toyota Corolla 4 days ago and I'm having steering difficulty at speeds of 60+ mph. The car is very difficult to keep centered in the lane and it constantly sways left and right. Steering correction is needed every few seconds to prevent unintended lane changes. It feels as if the car is being bounced around by strong winds, but no wind is present. The car feels out of control at highway speeds and I am very concerned as to its safety.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #221

Apr 202010

Corolla

  • 400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I'm also making a followup to my original complaint #10302584. These Corolla's have a serious built in problem! you (ODI) started an investigation in Feb. Stating 168 complaints on the steering in 09 and 10 Corollas, there are now almost 500!!! 95% of them say the same thing! car wanders, feels like it's windy when it's not, car steers on its own, wanders both left and right, feels like it',hydroplaning, constant correction needed, feels like I don't have control, and on and on and on. Why don't you have Toyota send a questionnaire out to Corolla owners and ask them how their car drives on the highway? I saw a friend driving one almost identical to mine today and asked him how his handled on the road and he described the same feeling. I suggested he tell the dealer and also file a report on this site. The dealer says Toyota is investigating but nothing is happening yet. Couldn't ODI speed this up a little. I took mine in at 400 miles and they said nothing was wrong and offered me 14000 trade in against a used Camry (I paid 17800) now, at 7000 miles they offer 12500 I'm bleeding bad and don't know what to do. Please help me and other Corolla owners. Thanks for listening to my rant.

- Sparta, WI, USA

problem #220

May 042010

(reported on)

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator tester on behalf of constituent re Toyota (direct response to billings office) the consumer stated the vehicle would drift out of the lane he was driving in. The vehicle pulled to the left or right at times. During inclement weather, the vehicle was very difficult to steer. At low speeds the vehicle steered fine, but it was highway speeds where there was a problem. The dealer patched a tire and rotated them, but the steering problem continued. Another dealer discovered one of the tires had 5 psi more than the other tires, they also made some adjustments to the rear end. The consumer was then advised to put weight in the trunk and to get snow tires. After the work was completed it seemed a little better, but the vehicle still wandered into the next lane. The consumer went back to the first dealer and was told the steering issue was a design problem and there was nothing they could do.

- Conrad, MT, USA

problem #219

Jan 152010

Corolla

  • 27 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the vehicle would sometimes shake and surge forward. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership but no repairs were performed at the time of the complaint; the problem was still ongoing. The failure mileage was 27. The current mileage was approximately 7,400.

- Windsor Mill, MD, USA

problem #218

Apr 252010

Corolla

  • 1 miles
I just took my brand new 2010 Corolla on the highway for the first time last weekend. It was as if wind was blowing the car back and forth. If you left the wheel in one place, the car would still veer as if you were slightly turning the wheel one way or the other (constant correction required). Also, on the trip back I had a full car with 5 normal sized individuals. The car veering was much worse. It was as if the tires were very low also. Just a feeling of not having control over the car.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #217

Mar 102010

Corolla

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my Corolla, even I do not hit the gas pedal, the RPM stays around 2000 and sometimes it started to stuck around 3000 RPM for 15 to 30 seconds than goes to normal. I had difficulty to slow down in busy traffic, because even I hit the brakes it does not cut the gas so the engine still tries to run and the car still tends to go, so I am not able to slow down or it takes time to slow down. I am driving my Toyota in the 5th gear and around 3000 RPM. When I need a sudden stop, I let go the gas pedal and hit the brake. The etcs commands high idle even I hit the breaks; the pistons are still working (the engine is still running in gear) with 3000 RPM so I am not able to slow down or stop. This is a serious safety problem. How come ECM would command for high idle from time to time" how can I stop the car or slow down in need while ECM is commanding high idle? it is impossible to have a proper control on the car when ECM commands high idle. Who can give me guarantee that it would not get stuck in higher idles" (because it used to stuck around 2000 RPM and right now it also started sticking around 3000 RPM). When I get close to a curb or to an exit I stop hitting the gas pedal assuming the car will get slow but since it sticks at high rpms the car does not get slower when it is in the gear.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #216

Aug 312009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the steering was difficult. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the vehicle was re-aligned but the failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealership and the contact was informed that there was no problem with the vehicle and that it would take time to get used to driving it. The failure mileage was 0. the current mileage was approximately 2,400. Updated 6/17/10 the consumer stated the vehicle would drift from side to side. Updated 07/15/10.

- Menlo, IA, USA

problem #215

Apr 222010

Corolla

  • miles
I purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla S 4/22/10.on the 70 mile drive home, I noticed that the car wandered alot as if it were being buffeted by wind. At times the car would even cross the center line into oncoming cars. This is a very dangerous problem with this steering. My 2009 didn't have this issue. If any policeman were following me, they would probably assume I was drunk.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #214

Mar 272010

Corolla

  • 800 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Corolla. I am scared to drive it on the highway. The steering is very sensitive and I cannot keep it on the road if over 65 mph. It feels like your are hydroplaning, the wind is blowing you all over the road. My boyfriend followed me home and said it look like I was doing dwi on I-95. If the wind blows just a little bit, you are all over the road. This is very dangerous, I have taken it back to the dealer 3 times. The first time the salesman explained it was electrical steering and I will get use to it. The second time was with the technician who wouldn't go with me on the I-95 and twice the alignment. The 3rd time 2 days later and that is when they couldn't help me and said they logged it with Toyota. I am very mad and upset. I feel I purchased my car in good faith and now I am stuck with a car costing $353 amonth for the next 5 years, that is a chore to drive on the highway. This is my 3rd Toyota in 20 years. I am very upset because I didn't drive any other vehicle before purchasing this vehicle because I trusted Toyota. I have logged a complaint with office of Consumer Affairs under the lemon law and with the manufacture. I feel I have been betrayed by Toyota B/C they were aware of the problem and lied to me the first 2 times. My name is [xxx], I can be contacted at [xxx] and my email address is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Midway, GA, USA

problem #213

Apr 192010

Corolla

  • 10 miles
I am a new owner of a 2010 Toyota Corolla. I am experiencing steering problems on the expressway where the car wants to drift from side to side and requires constant correction by the driver to maintain proper control. This is an ongoing occurrence and not due to any particular road conditions. I contacted my local dealership where I purchased the car and they said that they have not had any other similar complaints even though researching the internet I found that others were experiencing the same problem. It also stated that there were less than 100 complaints, so I wanted to make sure that I reported mine.

- Union, KY, USA

problem #212

Apr 072010

Corolla

  • 115 miles
I leased a 2010 Toyota Corolla le on 4-2-2010. The first time driving on the highway was very scary. I could not keep the car going straight. It felt like a strong crosswind constantly blowing the car around. I have an appointment at the dealer on 4-19-10.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #211

Mar 062010

Corolla

  • 6 miles
On March 6, 2010 I purchased a new 2010 Toyota Corolla. I drove home approx. 50 highway miles and immediately noticed that the steering seemed very different. The slightest movement of the steering wheel resulted in the car wandering right to left. I was aware that the car had eps but in no way aware that there had been problems reported similar to the one that I was experiencing. Perhaps rather than a slight movement of the steering wheel, some issue caused the need to continuously steer the vehicle. In any event I thought that the eps was just something that one had to get accustomed to. However, now that I am aware that I am not alone in having this experience, I felt that I should complete this report. Driving long distances on the highway is not a pleasure in this vehicle. That is about it, thanks for your time.

- Blue Eye, MO, USA

problem #210

Apr 132010

Corolla

  • 1,000 miles
Purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla le at the end of December 2009...in addition to the floor mat recall (official recall notice, for same, finally received from Toyota Corp. In today's mail) & the unintended acceleration problem (already had part retrofitted to gas pedal; even though Toyota never sent a recall notice)...an ongoing problem still exists with the automatic steering: When driving at a high rate of speed, having to "wrestle" with the steering wheel in order to keep the car within the lane; constant movement / veering of vehicle because of unusual / unacceptable steering wheel vibration. Stressful driving due to having to grip the wheel which is in constant motion; fearful of losing control of the automobile while traveling at 65+ mph in highway traffic. Have contacted dealership, on 2 separate occasions thus far, to find out if they can rectify this issue. Being told that Toyota headquarters has not sent a repair recommendation to their dealers & the service depts, currently, do not know how to repair the problem. I'm fully aware that Toyota issued a press release stating that they are "investigating" this problem; unfortunately, just not fast enough. Requesting that NHTSA require a deadline date for Toyota to come up with a "fix" for the automatic steering problem(s) evident in this model vehicle & a recall be issued for same. It is an extremely hazardous condition & could cause catastrophic accidents, if it hasn't already.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #209

Dec 262009

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 5 miles
Bought a 2010 Corolla on 12/26/09 with Goodyear Eagle ls 2 tires. Upon driving home my steering was weaving left to right felt as though I was driving on ice and/or hydroplaning. Toyota regional rep came from corporate, looked at the steering 2 wks ago. Steering improved until driving in rain on 4/4/10 the steering became loose and the car was weaving left to right and I was once again hydroplaning at 65 mph Goodyear man said when traction is lost to the road, the vehicle will hydroplane. (these tires are dangerous) the consumer stated it was very difficult to control the steering. The vehicle would wander into the next lane. The consumer also stated the vehicle did not always stop in time when the brakes were applied. The consumer was told the vehicle was equipped with ABS and they were much better and safer. Updated IVOQ 03/10/11

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #208

Apr 072010

Corolla

  • 150 miles
I bought a Toyota Corolla 2010 le on 04/03/2010, and when I drove it on the freeway first time, I was shocked/scared the way was steering/handling. I almost had two accidents with it because of the steering issue. When I drove it on the freeway I saw that the car is loosing balance (the back car shakes), I found stability problems (as if I drive in strong winds), and big steering problems (as I learn to drive a tricky bicycle). To get and maintain an almost control on the car direction I have to Focus my actions as my Corolla has only two wheels like a bike. I almost act as an equilibrate for a rope dancing. The experience of driving my Corolla showed that I have limited control over it, and most control I lost when I had to use sudden brakes at high speed - it was like on the ice. Back jumps and I stir in same direction; back jumps again in the other direction and I change the steering in the other direction too, and so on. These events occur almost every time I drove with speed around 60 miles/hour on the freeways that are not straight. The consequence is that I am afraid to drive my new car because I am not able to control it, and I risk an accident. I went to Toyota dealer, they said that they know the situation from other customers too, but nothing they can do about it. Please investigate this issues until is not too late, and people make accidents and injure. Thank you.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?