Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,155 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 8 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #207

Apr 092010


  • miles


Steering complaint. I just purchased a used 2010 Toyota Corolla for my 60 mile daily freeway commute. The steering is very concerning to me as it seems like I have to struggle to keep the vehicle straight. It's almost as if it's floating and being blown in the wind, except there's no wind actually blowing outside. This is very noticeable (and concerning) due to my long commute.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #206

Nov 282009


  • 100 miles
When driving at speed over 50 mph my car pulls to the right making it dangerous to control. I feel like for that time its pulling I have no control over my vehicle and if driving in left lane of 2 lane highway or road that I may end up causing an accident with vehicles driving in right lane beside me.

- Winston Salem , NC, USA

problem #205

Feb 202010

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving at speeds of 75 mph, the contact turned the steering wheel and it became increasingly tight without warning. He had to manually return the steering wheel to the center position. The failure became increasingly worse over time and the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The contact was informed by the dealer that there was not a remedy for the failure. There were no repairs made to the vehicle. The failure persisted. The failure mileage was 100 and the current mileage was 2,800. Updated 05/25/10 the consumer stated he encountered a dip in the road that caused his vehicle to jerk violently to the left causing the tires to squeal. Updated 05/27/10.

- Thomasville, NC, USA

problem #204

Feb 062010


  • 2,500 miles


I have 2010 Toyota Corolla (VIN# [xxx] ) purchased on Oct 31 2009 from sansoneautomall, NJ. There is a problem with the steering column initially which started with some unique sound, then from Feb 2010 I was seriously facing steering freeze (will get harden) only 15-20% of steering moves when in 0' speed, for this I have visited my dealer service center 3 times but there is no use. Only with lot of disappointment and arguments saying "what is the reason to buy a brand new car to get problems" I was requesting to solve my problem. They simply said, there is nothing we can do if you have no other mean to commute its upto you and if you want you call Toyota head quarters for this. I even spent lot of time in calling main Toyota nr but simply I get voice message that "there is huge volume of call waiting please wait". I really wonder when I/anyone buy a car from dealer and if they cannot receive me assist me properly "where from I get the justice"??"". recently I found two more new problems they are: In a slope road car picks-up acceleration and maintains speed as if it is cruised and once I apply break after a while the speed comes to normal position other prob- fuel indicator stuck up to full level indi' even the fuel is low. With this I'm day by day getting depressed as I spent quite lot of savings (money) on the car to avoid any hassles buying a used car, but unfortunately its a disaster to me. I request to provide me needed solution to fix my depressing situation. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #203

Jan 122010


  • 0 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla, with defective seat and steering apparatus. I have expressed my concern with the manufacture and the dealership with no resolution.

- Pine Bluff, AR, USA

problem #202

Jan 032010


  • 30 miles
Steering "wanders" slightly most of the time, responding to road surface, wind, passing trucks and other vehicles. It feels like I do not have complete control over where my car goes -- that there is no direct control over the steering by the steering wheel. This requires 100% attention to the car's direction because, if I look away even for a moment, the car drifts on its own. This is a dangerous situation. I owned and drove an earlier model Toyota Corolla (2004) until I bought this car; in the 2004 model, the steering was precise and the car held the road beautifully. The earlier car held the line I established. Not so the new one -- it has been changed, and the change leaves the car in control, not the driver. I feel like I go "wiggling" down the road, not driving down the road. Note: I am struggling to find the right words to describe this problem because I do not understand the problem and because it is so different from my earlier Toyota Corolla. Has Toyota redesigned the steering system? if so, they messed it up! I hope this helps them get it fixed. This problem occurs all the time!!!!

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #201

Aug 282009


  • 5,400 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. The contact was driving at approximately 60 mph when the contact felt the vehicle pulling. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership but the contact could not find the cause for failure. Subsequent visits to the dealership still provided no reason for the failure. The problem still occurred when the contact drove over 50 mph. She stated that she could not control the vehicles steering. The dealer told her that the pulling sensation was normal as the vehicle was gripping the road. The failure mileage was approximately 5,400. The current mileage was approximately 7,600. The VIN was unavailable.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #200

Mar 252010


  • 20 miles
I traded in my 2009 Corolla le and purchased a 2010 Corolla le two weeks ago. While driving this car at highway speeds, I am having a very difficult time keeping the car from wandering. It feels very much like I am driving in a strong cross wind although this occurs during all wind conditions. This car is exactly like the car I traded in except that my old car didn't have this steering issue. The dealer said that they are waiting to hear from Toyota about a fix and that they were certain that they couldn't fix my problem at this time. I was told to inquire again when I bring my car in for it's 5,000 mile oil change. Hopefully I'll still be alive to complain at that time.

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #199

Mar 312010


  • 300 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla le. Steering issues as noted by others - going straight/staying in lane, pulls to either left or right and wanders, floats, feels like a wind gust hitting the car etc. At various speeds although it is more noticeable at speeds above 40mph. This causes an unstable feeling and need for driver to correct. Car was purchased on 3/31 and I have not taken it back to the dealer at this time. Making arrangements to do so. Car has less than 400 miles. Have experienced this from the time of purchase.

- Saratoga, CA, USA

problem #198

Mar 242010


  • 3,437 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla le. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 10V023000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal). The very next day, the vehicle drove over a curb without driver intent. On a separate occasion, while driving at an approximate speed of 45 mph, the steering wheel uncontrollably began veering from left to right without driver assistance. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer could not duplicate the failure. The dealer stated that there were no repairs available to correct the failure. The owner stated that he would not drive the vehicle over 1700 miles. The approximate current and failure mileages were 3,437.

- Bonita Springs, FL, USA

problem #197

Mar 312010


  • 9,800 miles


Steering concern with 2010 Toyota Corolla; complaint consists primarily with the points; experienced of being buffeted via a strong wind would be an accurate description. Often correcting movement of the car, as if alignment is non-existent. Dry steering noise & vibration on turning at speed of 10, 30, 40 max mph.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #196

Mar 312010


  • 23,000 miles
Our 2010 Toyota Corolla wanders all over the road like you are driving in a heavy cross wind. The dealer says it is the road but we drive approx. 3000 miles a month on a lot of different roads and is the same.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #195

Mar 222010


  • 3,000 miles
My 2010 Toyota Corolla pulls like the alignment is off but on both sides regardless of road grade. Gale Toyota of enfield, ct were I bought the car first said it just needed to be broken in, then when they were fixing the acceleration recall I told them it's still there they said that's normal, finally they did the alignment and said its fine. Still had the same issue with no improvement. As I rite this, lynch Toyota of manchester actually test drove it and confirmed that the car is almost un-drivable at highway speeds. Two hands are needed at all times over 40mph. I will see what they come up with when I return to pick the car up today. This problem is ongoing and constant regardless of the date of indecent entered.

- Vernon , CT, USA

problem #194

Feb 172010


  • 700 miles
While driving at 35-40mph around a curve, I has pressed on the brake pedel to reduce speed an the vehicle failed to respond, but accelerated in speed while steering became inpossible to control, it was if the vehiicle was controlling it self. I had been drove into an through a ditch an out, hitting a mailbox, concrete lined driveway exiting the first ditch an entering another also hittng a street sign as well as a mile marker sign, my seat belt failed to lock which lead my head to repeatedly hit the top of vehicles windshield as well as the steering wheel. Futhermore the airbag failed to deploy. I suffer from sever headaches, my vision in lt eye although inproved has greatly decreased, as well as memory.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #193

Dec 152009


  • 5,750 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla - the car has poor steering. It drifts all over the highway. Requires constant correction like I am driving in heavy winds. I brought it into a Toyota dealer and they claim there is nothing wrong with it. They say I need to get used to elctronic assisted steering. I have been driving it for four months now, and I cannot "get used to it".

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #192

Mar 292010


  • 0 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla - when you go highway speeds it steers itself. I almost hit a bus today. Its had this steering issue since the purchase date. I've taken the vehicle to get serviced at the vero beach, fl Toyota dealer twice but the problem persists.

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #191

Dec 202009


  • 4 miles
2010 Toyota Corolla le which suddenly veers left or right at high speeds (45mph or greater). While holding the steering wheel perfectly straight, the car will wander left or right causing the driver to correct the steering and pay excessive attention to simply keeping the car in its own lane. This occurs all the time when driving above 45mph. No accident has taken place, but I fear for myself and my family members who drive the vehicle. As a result, we have driven the car sparingly or only for local destinations which do not require taking a highway. I have taken the car to a dealership where the service advisor admitted that the steering is "too sensitive" causing the vehicle to "wander" and that while there is "no fix for it yet [he] hopes for a fix soon." Regardless of these statements, he wrote on my service papers that the vehicle "road tested normal characteristic." A month later, I called the service advisor again to complain about the problem still persisting. I requested to bring in the car for an additional review of the problem. He denied my request by stating that "there's no point in bringing in the car until a fix is issued." I then brought the vehicle to another dealership, which was not helpful at all. They outright denied my claim that there was a problem and stated on my service paperwork that the "vehicle drives normal" and that they "cannot duplicate the customer concern." No fix has been done and the vehicle sits in the garage virtually untouched (less than 800 miles) when it was bought over 3 months ago.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #190

Mar 272010


  • miles
While driving my 2010 Toyota Corolla at highway speeds, the car drifts unpredictably and suddenly, with no apparent cause. I have noticed this as an issue since soon after purchasing it in July 2009. As a result of these steering issues, I have often come frighteningly close to cars in the lanes on either side of me, and I am afraid that this will actually cause a high speed accident at some point in the future.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #189

Mar 232010


  • 500 miles
We purchased a 2010 Toyota Corolla. We did not notice the power steering problem right away. After driving it for about a week the power steering would start floating when the wheel would be straight. It is very dangerous because if you do not hold the steering wheel tight the vehicle floats into other lanes and onto the shoulder. I have taken it twice to the dealership now just to be told that the vehicle is within their requirements and that there is no problem with the steering. They refuse to admit that something may be wrong and state that the Corolla now has electronic power steering which is why it feels that way. No car should steer you off the roadway when it is driving straight. This is not normal and Toyota is refusing to acknowledge the problem. No one has been injured yet and no accidents have happened because you have to constantly keep correcting the wheel when the vehicle is moving.

- Oswego, IL, USA

problem #188

Dec 152009


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Corolla. While driving at least 55 mph, the steering wheel would not remain in a straight position. Occasionally, the steering wheel would pull to the left or right direction without driver intent. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, no repairs have been made. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 3,000.

- Rocky Point, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?