Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
24,126 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Corolla brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #11

Aug 012016


  • miles


The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. While driving 15 mph, the brakes malfunctioned. The contact noticed that the brakes were loose and that it took longer than usual to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Clarkston, GA, USA

problem #10

Oct 022014


  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while at a stop light and after depressing the accelerator pedal, the brakes erroneously activated and abruptly stopped the vehicle. The failure also occurred while driving in reverse. A loud noise was present when the failure occurred. No additional information was available. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Del Ray Beach, FL, USA

problem #9

Sep 202014


  • 52,000 miles
I was approaching a four way stop at the appropriate speed limit of 35mph before the impact. As I was getting closer, I went ahead and decelerated. I've had problems with the brakes in the past. As I got closer to the stop sign, in a blink of an eye, I was being dragged by a large Chevy heavy duty truck across the intersection. The airbags did not deploy either. The impact completely dismantled my front end. After the paramedics and fire fighters arrive, I was rushed to the er for reported back and neck injuries. I was looked over and was discharged barely being able to walk. The car was towed to a repair shop quite a distance away from my home. My insurance said the shop could be trusted. I asked over 20 people and each person said that the damage from this car has to result in being totaled. The mechanic said otherwise. He began working on the car without my consent and demanded; threatened my insurance company to pay him $4,000 for a few days of work and $7,000 later on. This was after I had already spoken with my insurance to file this car as being totaled. The mechanic threatened for money saying he had already started on the car when he never even touched it after 3 weeks. I used to trust Toyota vehicles, but after this accident I'm never buying another Toyota again. The emergency response team said it was a miracle that I was alive. My complaint is the airbags and brakes failed to do their job.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 052011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles


I bought a brand new Toyota Corolla 2011 right off the lot and the caliper began seizing. The car would thrust to the left while braking at high speeds. The caliper was replaced by Toyota under warranty, however the problem has began recurring intermittently now at 60,000 miles.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 292012


  • 5,000 miles
The first accident was in June 29 2012, while I was driving 10 miles an hour (for transit) the car in front of me stopped and I try to stop as well but my car didn't stop (increase its speed) and I crashed in the back of the car (I remain surprised, did not know what had happened). The second accident happened on December the 28th of 2012, around 2:00 pm, I was in my way to New Jersey, 2 miles away from the Washington bridge; there was a truck in front of me and I was not moving and pushing the brakes but all of a sudden my vehicle started going forward so I used the hand brake trying to stop it; but my car still crash the other car on the back. I bought this car zero miles from your dealer (hudson Toyota) and I am very upset and disappointed! this shouldn't happen to me if the car would be in perfect conditions!!, I am always worry driving it, I don¿T know when this will happen again!! I take the car to Toyota's December 29, 2012, revised it and said it did not find anything, was his reply in March 28 of 2013. Now I am in trouble because I used to pay $700 every six months for my car insurance and now they raise it to $ $1,300 every six months. -en espanol en junio 29 2012 estaba manejando hacia casa habia transito E iba a 10 millas de velocidad, de un momento a otro el auto acelero Y choque al auto delente mio, no ntendi que habia pasado, quede sorprendido, tuve que usar mi seguro. El segundo accidente ocurrio en diciembre 28 del 2012 como a las 2pm, estabamos en transito pero todos los autos estabamos detenidos, nadie avanzaba Y de un momento a otro mi auto comenzo a acelerarse Y SE estrello contra un trairler aun asi presionando el freno Y asu vez usando el freno de mano, Toyota lo reviso al dia siguiente Y dijo que no encontro nada Y envio una carta en marzo 28 del 2013. No ES justo que este pagando el seguro Y ellos no asuman su responsibilidad.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #6

Mar 282014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 34,500 miles
I came to an intersection and stopped, then took my foot off the brake before noticing that the light was still red. The other vehicle was roughly 30 feet away when I pushed on the brakes. I should have easily been able to stop. Brakes did not engage and I had been pushing them so hard and for so long that I fractured my ankle. There were not even skid marks at the accident scene. My car had front end frame damage from the accident (totaled), and the airbags never deployed. Additionally, in the past I had noticed the rpms rising for no reason while car was idling, and the acceleration issue, where the vehicle seemed to "hang? between speeds of about 35 and 40 and 60 and 65mph. The rpms I only noticed once-so I did not report it, and the ?hanging? was my own ignorance (I haven?T had a 4 cylinder in a long time and this was my first?and probably last"Toyota). I also had prior braking concerns-- ABS only made a noise (did not vibrate against pedal--again, my ignorance of how this vehicle was supposed to respond) and it was a very icy winter, so I assumed that I had been trying to stop on ice. The brakes behaved fine if I physically pumped them, but sudden stops could not be made.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #5

Jun 082013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Master cylinder failed. Brake pedal would sink to the floor. Brakes had to be pumped in order to stop the car.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 122011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I bought a used 2011 Toyota Corolla from beaver Toyota in Santa Fe, New Mexico in September 2012. From the beginning I noticed a slight hesitation while driving. It felt like all of a sudden the car would slow down for just a couple of seconds, like a delay of some kind. I took it to the dealer and they felt nothing. It kept happening and I took it back and they drove and felt nothing. Finally, I was driving back from church in the daytime, thank god, and it just stalled like someone has just unplugged it (and its not electric) and all the engine lights came on and I made it to the emergency lane scared to death. I called aaa and they said let it sit for few minutes and try again and it started right up. He suggested I drive to a service station but it was Sunday and no one was open. I went into the dealer later that week and they didn't feel anything, no hesitation at all. I kept feeling it and my roommate drove it once thought she felt something. Took to back again and sat 5 hours while they ran diagnostics and said it showed nothing. They did replace a bolt I noticed the head had broken off on the license plate...just mentioned in passing & that was $110 because the service rep said they had to drill thru the back plate to remove and put in new one! I would have never agreed to that. I looked on line and found an independent Toyota authorized repair shop that had great reviews and went there. Toy automan. They took me in at my appt time, one hour later the nice owner came out and handed me a release from Toyota dated September 6, 2011 that stated 2011 Corollas may exhibit a "monetary RPM decrease above 40 mph and/or reduced engine braking". I'm so tired of going into this dealer and getting nowhere. They had to know about this notice from Toyota and I must be naive realizing that a Toyota service dept. Would put a customer in danger for money. Help!

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #3

Aug 292011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
Approx. A week after this vehicle was purchased it was involved in a crash on 08/29/2011. This vehicle was crashed due to an higher than usual rev which delays the time for a vehicle to come to a stop. The rev on this vehicle does not decline sometimes when releasing the accelerator. The vehicle came with Toyota car so I have went to the Toyota dealership many times to have a multi point inspection and they said everything was perfectly fine. They were unable to "duplicate" the issue. Feeling like there is nothing I could do I gave up and just continued to drive it with extra caution and make payments on my lease till the term was over. About a year later at 11,000 on my recent service visit the Toyota mechanic told me I needed new brakes. He stated that this was unusual at this mileage and brakes should be fine, but on my car the brakes were completely gone. Now I have about 12,800 miles, and the engine revving is starting to interfere with my ability to control the speed of my vehicle. The excessive engine rev is the culprit that causes my brakes being used heavily. After I release the accelerator the car continues to accelerate and the brake has to work extra hard to stop the car. I have contacted South East Toyota finance and they just empathized with my situation. When I went to the dealership the mechanic took three hours to look at the car and referred me to a sales representative who tried to sell me a new 2013 Toyota Corolla to resolve the issue. I refused to buy a new car and left the dealership. I am not an mechanic but I suspect it has something to do with the computer that controlling the speed, which is causing my speed to not decrease. This causes the brakes to take an extra load and causes first and second gear to conflict at times. This issue is getting worse as times goes by.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #2

Oct 132012


  • 41,689 miles
The contact rented a 2010 Toyota Corolla from enterprise rental. The contact stated while driving 55 mph and moving to the next lane, there was a puddle of water as she depress the brake the vehicle started spinning around causing her to crash into the retainer wall. The driver side front was badly damaged and all the air bags in the vehicle deployed. No injuries were reported and the police was not notified. The vehicle was towed back to the rental vehicle shop. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 41,689.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #1

Oct 132011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
I am currently finding out in a check out of my vehicle brakes /alignment by an different source mechanically since Oct. 13, 2011, [xxx]. that the corrections to my faulty/defect brakes at purchase contributed to my having of an front/rear alignments problems now. My vehicle sit up month to month, in my distrust of the faulty/defect brakes repair work. Certainly, cannot have of an front/rear alignment from sitting up month to month. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Baton Rouge , LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?