Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,435 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Corolla engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments

problem #14

Sep 212015


  • 28,085 miles


I drive quite a bit and normally know my vehicles pretty good. I have recently obtained this 2011 Toyota Corolla S and it is in great condition overall. I made a trip 2 days after getting the vehicle and immediately noticed a hesitation between 55-65 mph. The first time it was approximately 11am in the morning at 78F. Driving on a flat well maintained black top road the vehicle does in fact have a constant hesitation that drops approximately 1000-2000 rpms with a noticeable feel in the vehicle. Immediately (3-4 sec) after the hesitation the vehicle recovers back to the original RPM. As long as staying in this speed range (55-65 mph) the vehicle has the hesitation repeatedly. The second issue that I have noticed on the same vehicle is the actual deceleration when removing my foot from accelerator. When traveling on the same road and time as stated above the vehicle seems to really coast right along or so it seems. When saying this, I removed my foot from accelerator and the vehicle rolls right along as if I am still pushing the accelerator at which time I must apply the brake more significantly than letting it just coast. I would like to know how this is effecting my gas mileage, is it going to cause undue strain on the drivetrain, is this going to be a problematic issue that Toyota is going to continue to ignore?

- Clarksvillle, TN, USA

problem #13

Feb 192015

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
On 2/19/15 at around 9:27 pm my car was hit by a pickup truck in downtown bellevue, here is what happened 1. I approached the intersection to take a left from bellevue way ne to enter ne 7th St which takes into the Lincoln square cinema parking lot 2. I saw the red signal (exclusive left arrow) and waited for the light to turn green to take left. My car was first in line waiting on red 3. once the left arrow turned green I started turning left and half way into the roadway a pickup truck (driving at around 45-50 mph) hit my car on the front passenger side (side collision) 4. with that impact my car was dragged about 15 feet and hit another car, that was standstill and waiting to turn right from ne 7thst to bellevue way ne) the impact to my car was so intense police officer filed a case and interviewed witnesses at the scene and concluded it was other guy (pickup truck) mistake. However, I am surprised why air bags didn't deploy? mine is fairly new car, only 3 year old with 33K milage. I brought it brand new in December 2011 I am taking this serious because, fortunately my wife is not in the car when accident happened. However, me and my wife usually go everywhere together, and I can't even imagine what might have happened if she was sitting in the front passenger sear. So I want to file a case against the car company for selling me a defective car.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #12

Dec 212011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 9,845 miles
When I take my foot off the accelerator, it feels like I have the cruise control. The car decelerate very slowly for anywhere between.5 to 1 mile then the RPM drops suddenly as it should when you first take your foot of the pedal. The other related problem is that if I'm just trying to maintain a constant speed anywhere between 50 and 60 miles/hr it feels like the engine stalls for a very brief moment then shortly after comes back to the original RPM. When I drive car down hill try to apply break to maintain the speed of the car acceleration increases suddenly 3 to 4 thousand RPM and after 3 to 4 seconds cars come to normal engine RPM both problems describe above are easily reproducible and my local Toyota dealer said its normal. Its very scary to drive this car and since 3 years I was complaining to local dealer and get same answer every time its normal. Please do some thing about this.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #11

Apr 042012


  • 1,500 miles


I purchased this car as a new vehicle. Ever since I have had it there has always been an acceleration issue to where it does not slow down for several seconds after releasing your foot from the gas. It accelerates often to where you have to apply the brakes firmly to where the anti lock then kicks in. During servicing it has been brought to the attention of the dealership but they have continued to say that there is not an issue. I have had other family members operate my vehicle to verify that this issue is in fact an issue and they experienced the same situation. This is very dangerous and will end up costing someone their life due to the manufacturers dragging their feet on addressing the issue.

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #10

Apr 192014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
On April 19th, 2014, at about 1:30 pm, myself and my wife left our friend's home in los altos hills, ca. As we left the driveway at about 5 mph on baker ln, the car went into a sudden, uncontrollable acceleration mode, reaching speeds 50 - 60 mph. Within about 1000 - 1500 ft we approached a the intersection of baker ln and purissima rd., all the while desperately trying to press the brake, applying hand brake and shifting to neutral. Against this sudden burst of acceleration, the car went off the road at that intersection, and fell into a ditch and stopped by a tree trunk. Both of us were injured with multiple internal/ external fractures, but we were conscious; my wife in the passenger seat had more grievous injuries, including an open wound of broken bone in ankle and severe spinal cord injuries, and was screaming with pain. Once I collected myself, I called 911 and the fd/ paramedics responded and we were hauled from the ditch by cutting open the car doors. We were transported to stanford medical center in palo alto, after which we were shifted to our hmo, after about 10 days in icu. I am now discharged and rehabilitating/ getting physical therapy at home, while my wife is still at a rehab center, over 10 weeks after the accident. At the time of the accident, the weather, visibility and road conditions were excellent; both of us had our seat belts firmly in place; no cell phone was being used; I had my foot on the brake and off the accelerator all the time; air bags deployed as expected. Since both of us were critically injured, we could not initiate/ pursue any legal action against Toyota and surrendered the vehicle (which was totaled) to my insurer, farmers. We strongly feel that Toyota is fully responsible for the defective acceleration system and causing serious bodily injury and mental trauma for both of us. We should be compensated by Toyota.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 022014

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle sudden acceleration. The consumer stated when he removed his foot from the accelerator, the engine would sometimes continue running at the same RPM, not decreasing and coasting as he would expect. As time progressed, the issue became more frequent and the decrease in RPM sometimes came 30 seconds after pressure was lifted from the accelerator pedal.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #8

May 122011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 4,700 miles


Well the accident hasn't happened yet, but it could be right around the corner if the dealership doesn't fix this. When I let off the gas at speeds between 40-60 mph. It seems as thought the cruise is on. The car does not decelerate normally. If there is a slight slope down it even picks up speed, I have to slam the break really heard to slow down the car its really scary when I go down hill. It's still getting fuel even though you don't have your foot on the pedal. It can take a few min or several miles before it kicks off the gas and acts normally. I buy this car brand new in April 2011 since then every time I went for service I told the dealership about the problem I got reply its normal if this is normal then what is abnormal. Right now on my car I have 34000 miles. So please make it as recall and fix the problem as soon as possible.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #7

Nov 042013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 35,740 miles
Vehicle fails to start. Found codes P0606 (ECM/PCM processor error) and P0303 (random misfire) on obd 2 computer. Vehicle towed to Toyota dealership where they cleaned spark plugs and cylinders due to engine flooding. Upon return of vehicle drove it home were it sputtered on the drive (afraid vehicle would shut down during drive). Ran obd 2 tester on it again and found a Toyota code P1604 ECM error. Returned to dealership were they did test on fuel samples and had the car for a couple of days. Computer was deemed faulty and replaced by Toyota. Toyota replaced original computer under manufactures warranty. Have had the car for two days after new computer and 5 new codes are on under readiness codes. P0606 (ECM/PCM processor error), P0303 (random misfire), P0171 (system too lean bank 1), P0172 (system too rich (bank 1), and P0125 (insufficient collanbd temp for closed loop fuel control). Car continues to idle and rev uncontrollably while driving. Concerned vehicle may shut off while driving and or not start.

- Valley Lee, MD, USA

problem #6

Oct 122011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I bought a used 2011 Toyota Corolla from beaver Toyota in Santa Fe, New Mexico in September 2012. From the beginning I noticed a slight hesitation while driving. It felt like all of a sudden the car would slow down for just a couple of seconds, like a delay of some kind. I took it to the dealer and they felt nothing. It kept happening and I took it back and they drove and felt nothing. Finally, I was driving back from church in the daytime, thank god, and it just stalled like someone has just unplugged it (and its not electric) and all the engine lights came on and I made it to the emergency lane scared to death. I called aaa and they said let it sit for few minutes and try again and it started right up. He suggested I drive to a service station but it was Sunday and no one was open. I went into the dealer later that week and they didn't feel anything, no hesitation at all. I kept feeling it and my roommate drove it once thought she felt something. Took to back again and sat 5 hours while they ran diagnostics and said it showed nothing. They did replace a bolt I noticed the head had broken off on the license plate...just mentioned in passing & that was $110 because the service rep said they had to drill thru the back plate to remove and put in new one! I would have never agreed to that. I looked on line and found an independent Toyota authorized repair shop that had great reviews and went there. Toy automan. They took me in at my appt time, one hour later the nice owner came out and handed me a release from Toyota dated September 6, 2011 that stated 2011 Corollas may exhibit a "monetary RPM decrease above 40 mph and/or reduced engine braking". I'm so tired of going into this dealer and getting nowhere. They had to know about this notice from Toyota and I must be naive realizing that a Toyota service dept. Would put a customer in danger for money. Help!

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #5

Jan 222013


  • 11,000 miles
it occurred in our parking at 11.30pm, 24 hrs after the last time we drove. we didn't install anything in the car. the car had mirrors that fold and immobilizer (installed by Toyota here in israel) the glasses exploded to the outside (according to the fireman) the fire started near or at the battery (according to the fireman) the fire moved from the front part, to the passengers part (according to the fireman).

- Rishon Lezion, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 012012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles


2011 Toyota Corolla: Have had car aligned 2 times due to excessive pulling to the right, therefore tires have worn unevenly and now need to be replaced at 17,000 miles. The edges of the tires wore out before 11,000 miles. I addressed the issue to the dealership, who at first told me I had to pay for the alignment; then I was told it would be aligned under warranty. It had to be aligned a scond time due to continuous pulling to the right. The dealership says I have to pay for tires out-of-pocket, even though I think Toyota should at least pro-rate a new set of tires. Second issue is the engine running rough and unevenly. It idles rough, and since I paid to have the injectors cleaned, it gets worse gas mileage than ever. I now have the car in the dealership shop again to fix the idle. They just called and said the Y had to replace and reset the engine control module. I expected the car to perform better and tires to last more than a year, as I purchased the car Dec. 2012.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #3

Aug 292011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
Approx. A week after this vehicle was purchased it was involved in a crash on 08/29/2011. This vehicle was crashed due to an higher than usual rev which delays the time for a vehicle to come to a stop. The rev on this vehicle does not decline sometimes when releasing the accelerator. The vehicle came with Toyota car so I have went to the Toyota dealership many times to have a multi point inspection and they said everything was perfectly fine. They were unable to "duplicate" the issue. Feeling like there is nothing I could do I gave up and just continued to drive it with extra caution and make payments on my lease till the term was over. About a year later at 11,000 on my recent service visit the Toyota mechanic told me I needed new brakes. He stated that this was unusual at this mileage and brakes should be fine, but on my car the brakes were completely gone. Now I have about 12,800 miles, and the engine revving is starting to interfere with my ability to control the speed of my vehicle. The excessive engine rev is the culprit that causes my brakes being used heavily. After I release the accelerator the car continues to accelerate and the brake has to work extra hard to stop the car. I have contacted South East Toyota finance and they just empathized with my situation. When I went to the dealership the mechanic took three hours to look at the car and referred me to a sales representative who tried to sell me a new 2013 Toyota Corolla to resolve the issue. I refused to buy a new car and left the dealership. I am not an mechanic but I suspect it has something to do with the computer that controlling the speed, which is causing my speed to not decrease. This causes the brakes to take an extra load and causes first and second gear to conflict at times. This issue is getting worse as times goes by.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #2

Jul 122011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated the vehicle failed to decelerate after releasing the accelerator pedal. The contact mentioned that he had to engage the brakes in order for the vehicle to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the wiring harness and speed sensors needed to be replaced. The remedy failed to repair the problem. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who sent an engineer to inspect the vehicle. The engineer was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the ignition failed. The failure mileage was 16 and the current mileage was 17,000. Updated 01/02/2013 updated1/9/2013

- Duncannon, PA, USA

problem #1

Mar 012011


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, the passenger noticed a burning smell as black smoke began to emit from the hood, followed by flames. The fire department was called and extinguished the fire. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The dealer was notified and stated that while the vehicle was under warranty the fire was not their problem and referred the contact to the manufacturer. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 13,000. The VIN was not available.

- Jordan, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?