Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
14 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
20 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,618 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Corolla seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #99

Nov 172016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contacted Toyota regarding takata recall. Advised that that there is no timetable for remedy

- Artesia, CA, USA

problem #98

Nov 012016

Corolla

  • miles
Recalled in may and still no fix available.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #97

May 232016

Corolla

  • miles
Tamara recall

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #96

May 252016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Wailuku, HI, USA

problem #95

May 232016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall it has been over 6 months and I am unable to use my car to Transport my family in. It has been a burden taking two separate vehicles to every location because no one can sit in the front passenger seat and am afraid to just use the car and someone get hurt. With the holidays coming up I have no way to to see family or drive them around. At this point I want a functioning vehicle and there is no time frame as to when this issue is going to be resolved. All the dealership can do is offer me a loaner for a couple days. I have use this car everyday but no one can ride in it with me. Please help!!

- The Colony, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #94

Nov 012016

Corolla 4-cyl

  • miles
2011 Toyota Corolla. Consumer writes in regards to remedy not available for the airbag recall problems.

- Wright City, MO, USA

problem #93

May 232016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). However, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Griffin, GA, USA

problem #92

Jun 012016

Corolla

  • 75,000 miles
Takata recall. I am complaining about the slowness of Toyota to repair the passenger air bag on my Corolla 2011. I have received one undated "interim notice" from tomorrow. As the recall was issued May 23, 2016, I am guessing the notice was sent out in may or June. The notice recommends owners not allow anyone to sit in the front passenger seat. This is a great inconvenience. A staff member at my local dealership, sterling mccall, told me a few months ago that Toyota would take about 8 months to begin repairs on the recalled vehicles. This is too long a wait. They look to be stalling to minimize their own financial loss. When a car is recalled, the manufacturer must act swiftly, even at a loss, to ensure the safety of drivers and passengers.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #91

Nov 042016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #90

Nov 042016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall airbag recall 05/23/2016, it is now 11/04/16 and there is no remedy. I have been unable to fully enjoy the use of my vehicle.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #89

Jun 232016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #88

Nov 032016

Corolla

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated and the alert system was malfunctioning. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #87

Nov 012016

Corolla

  • miles
"takata recall" to my knowledge Toyota has yet to remedy this recall since giving notice in may of this year. This is an inconvenience, going on six months now, and I am restricted from carrying a passenger in my front seat. I need my front seat passenger space and cannot continue having to make alternate arrangements to fit my family in a car.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #86

Jun 212016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Garrochales, PR, USA

problem #85

Jul 162016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #84

Oct 292016

Corolla

  • miles
Toyota has failed to provide a remedy for this manufacturer defect in a reasonable time. The warning for the recall has been out since May 2016 and every day that passes means a higher chance of a potentially life threatening occurrence. They state that this airbag is in the front passenger seat, and if deployed metal fragments could be released. They make no mention of the imminent danger this also puts the driver in. A metal fragment could fly out and strike/kill the driver and any other passengers in the vehicle. Not just the front passenger where the defective bag is located. A metal fragment could easily fly and strike the driver, hit numerous major arteries and veins in the neck and cause them to bleed to death. This hazard is life threatening and I don't feel that it's being treated as if it is, I do not feel safe in my car nor do I feel safe having any passengers in my car. Toyota is extremely irresponsible for letting this hazard go unchecked since May 2016, I don't understand how and why airbags haven't been replaced much sooner. I want to feel safe in my car again, and feel that the gravity of this hazard has really not been considered. This is neglect, and Toyota drivers have been at risk for months-this needs to be fixed as soon as possible

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #83

Jun 012016

Corolla

  • 0 miles
Takata recall. We received the recall notice in early June 2016. We waited for a resolution until September 2016, but heard nothing. I called Toyota experience ctr 9/6/16 and was directed to my dealer, arlington Toyota. I called the dealer on 9/6/16, 9/8/16 & 9/16/16. I finally spoke with a service advisor on 9/16. We set up a long term rental to be picked up early October. On the date of pick-up we had to evacuate D/T hurricane matthew. Now, the earliest date for pick-up is 11/1. my 16 year old son drives that car. I am not comfortable with him driving it. I don't feel he is safe. Even if only the passenger airbag deployed while he was driving, this could still cause him to lose concentration, crash, or worse. Why is this taking so long? my child's safety is at stake. And once we get the rental, he will not be able to drive it because of his age. This is unacceptable and is taking a ridiculous amount of time. Please help!

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #82

Jun 032016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Jasper, AL, USA

problem #81

May 012016

Corolla

  • miles
We received a recall notice in May 2016 and it's now October 2016 and we still have not received a remedy. I understand the vehicles in the hottest climate areas are being repaired first. We live in Texas and still have no remedy! my daughter is in college driving around with a defective airbag! if I could afford to pay for a rental car, I would but I can't! she has no other choice but to drive the vehicle. She doesn't let anyone sit in the front passenger seat, however I'm afraid if she gets in an accident the airbag could still go off. When is this remedy going to be available?? I pray nothing happens to my daughter in the meantime!!

- Fulshear, TX, USA

problem #80

May 022016

Corolla

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cypress, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?