Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,227 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Corolla steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Corolla:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Corolla Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Nov 222016

Corolla

  • 92,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. When the vehicle was started, the electrical power steering failed and the steering wheel would lock up. The steering wheel could not turn left or right. After twenty minutes, the vehicle was restarted and returned to normal. The electric power steering warning indicator illuminated and made a beeping sound. Additionally, the ABS and traction warning indicators illuminated intermittently and without warning. The contact also stated that the radio would turn off when changing the stations and the defrost lighting would not illuminate when activated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 92,000.

- Greene, ME, USA

problem #36

Oct 062016

Corolla

  • miles
Car was steering on its own and also the speed was being controlled along with electrical issues.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #35

Mar 012016

Corolla

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. While driving at various speeds, the steering wheel locked without warning. The steering wheel also continued turning after the turn was complete. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was working up to specifications. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 56,000.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #34

Mar 132016

Corolla

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle new and it has been this way since I purchased it new but it seems has become worse. I encounter difficulty steering at high speeds. Steering is extreme sensitive with the slightest movement causes great change in the direction of the vehicle. I am concerned that the car overreacts to small steering inputs or required too much effort to keep in a lane on the highway. I feel it is unsafe. I find the car wandering and constant corrections on the highway or at higher speeds (25+). my daughter just started driving (she is 16) and it is way too sensitive for her. She feels the same way and my wife that has drove the car too. I know that there is a tsb-0140-10 on NHTSA #10034944 on steering for the 2009-2010 but I feel my car has the same issues. Maybe my car has the parts from earlier models (2009-2010). I have checked my tires air pressure and also tire wear. All is normal. Please help. I want my daughter to have this Corolla but I feel at its current detective steering it is not safe.

- Bardstown, KY, USA

problem #33

Mar 012016

Corolla

  • miles
Not sure why I was not contacted about all of these recalls. I have owned this vehicle since Dec. 2012

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #32

Mar 262015

Corolla

  • miles
Just purchased this car at fremont Toyota. Then I noticed the steering seems to wanders. I have to correct it all the time. But I thought this is normal since it is a compact car or it could be windy. But there are times when it does okay. Just tonight, I noticed my car steering wheel is not straight and I'm afraid it could be a steering computer problem which the 2009 to 2010 Corollas had. I also heard a clunking noise when I turn the steering on both right and left, which is the same problem the 2009 to 2010 had. How I wish they will extend the tsb or recall to 2012 since I have read some articles that even the 2012 Corolla owners are complaining about the same thing. Tomorrow I will take this car to the dealer and see what is wrong. This is a big safety issue.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #31

Nov 092014

Corolla

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving at about 20-25 mph when I felt the steering wheel get out of control I tried to steer it in the right direction but it just steered to the right and at the moment the steering wheel locked up and I couldn't control the car causing me to run into a side walk and almost hitting a pole also the accident caused my whole wheel and suspension to completely break also the cv drive shaft came off no one was hurt but I am really concerned that if this had happened on a highway road there could have been casualties and I want a response from Toyota and help because this is very unfortunate.

- Laredo, TX, USA

problem #30

Jul 092014

Corolla

  • 42,000 miles
Im the first owner to this 2011 Toyota Corolla le thought it would be nice to own seeming how I got it with 6 miles lets start when ever I get on the interstate an lets say im going 50 or better like 70 in speed the car jerks an it shakes an it steers to the right I am now at 45,000 miles I have had the car almost up to 3years now the brake caliber makes offul sounds when coming down a hill never had a car that does this now I'm paying thousands of dollars for a car that is to great or safe this car is dangerous my brakes are up to date my maintenance is up to date this car makes me unhappy now I see theirs a recall wow the dealership isn't gonna give me a new car like in my dreams I guess lol I asked Toyota why do my brakes sound like that they say O thats how Toyota brakes sound an they aren't gonna fix the problem.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #29

Oct 032011

Corolla

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that the steering was rough and unstable when traveling at 35 mph or higher. The contact also stated that the vehicle shook violently and the contact had to apply force to turn the steering wheel. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 500.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #28

Mar 092013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 19,165 miles
When driving on the freeway or highway at a higher rate of speed the car will drift to the right or left. When I correct the steering it then will over corrects and send me out of my lane. So I now have to drive with a firm grip on the my steering wheel which does not stop the issue but helps me to make constant little corrects at all times. Driving has never been so annoying and frustrating and terrifying all at the same time. I fear for my safety as well as my 3 year old son's safety. The NHTSA did an investigation into the steering of the 2009-2010 Corollas for this same issue and could have saved us all this hassle the first go around. Maybe after a few more people die and they hit a certain quota they will do something about defective cars that are literally steering themselves. I have taken my 2011 Corolla into the service department 4 times for this same issue and they just tell me that it's the wind and the road causing my steering issues. Yet when I take to an outside service center just to verify the steering issue, their techs have no problem noticing what I'm talking about. Back in 2010 the CEO of Toyota stated he would fix the issue free of charge for any customer stating they had a problem. Of course this was with foregoing the recall. So now that thousands of people claim to have issues, they are being turned away at service centers. And when they try to sue to sell back their car, Toyota finds a way out of that too. Steering issues are being found in Corolla from 2009 to 2013. It's time something is done!!!

- Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #27

Jul 302013

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 20,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a Toyota Corolla S - 2011 from a very large and reputable Massachusetts Toyota dealership on 7/28/2013. I picked up the car at 8:50 pm on 8/30/2013. Much to my surprise and fear, upon gaining speed on the highway during my 50 minute trip home, I felt I had no control of the car. I noticed the steering wheel was not at all centered, facing to the right. The wheel moved about, from left to right, very loosely and on its own. The effect of my holding onto the wheel did little to control the wheels movements. This terrified me and completly stressed and fatigued me during my ride. I felt I had to constantly remain sharp and alert, waiting for the need to correct the next jerking movement from the wheel. Upon arriving home, I spent the entire evening researching this matter in detail, via the internet. I found numerous forums/discussion groups regarding complaints about this same problem. I also found a Toyota (official) "technical service bulletin" (tsb) that detailed this same problem with the 2009 and 2010 Corolla's. the tsb was dated 2010, however, various forums discussed the Corolla 2011 having the exact same eps system (and therefore, the exact same problem). I contacted the dealership within hours and was told to bring my Corolla back to the dealership's service dept. Tomorrow (8/1/2013) so that the car can be looked at and repaired. I am hoping the matter is resolved to a point where I can have any confidence driving this car. I understand your Agency recently fined Toyota millions of dollars for a history of failing to report and address safety concerns appropriately. I am more likely going to ask for a full refund given this information and frightening experience.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #26

Oct 122011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I bought a used 2011 Toyota Corolla from beaver Toyota in Santa Fe, New Mexico in September 2012. From the beginning I noticed a slight hesitation while driving. It felt like all of a sudden the car would slow down for just a couple of seconds, like a delay of some kind. I took it to the dealer and they felt nothing. It kept happening and I took it back and they drove and felt nothing. Finally, I was driving back from church in the daytime, thank god, and it just stalled like someone has just unplugged it (and its not electric) and all the engine lights came on and I made it to the emergency lane scared to death. I called aaa and they said let it sit for few minutes and try again and it started right up. He suggested I drive to a service station but it was Sunday and no one was open. I went into the dealer later that week and they didn't feel anything, no hesitation at all. I kept feeling it and my roommate drove it once thought she felt something. Took to back again and sat 5 hours while they ran diagnostics and said it showed nothing. They did replace a bolt I noticed the head had broken off on the license plate...just mentioned in passing & that was $110 because the service rep said they had to drill thru the back plate to remove and put in new one! I would have never agreed to that. I looked on line and found an independent Toyota authorized repair shop that had great reviews and went there. Toy automan. They took me in at my appt time, one hour later the nice owner came out and handed me a release from Toyota dated September 6, 2011 that stated 2011 Corollas may exhibit a "monetary RPM decrease above 40 mph and/or reduced engine braking". I'm so tired of going into this dealer and getting nowhere. They had to know about this notice from Toyota and I must be naive realizing that a Toyota service dept. Would put a customer in danger for money. Help!

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #25

Oct 082011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 12 miles
Since new, car wanders/drifts at speeds of over 65mph. Difficult to track straight in highway lane. Feels similar to driving in high crosswinds even when there are none. In the presence of large trucks or crosswinds it can feel very dangerous. Dealer does the standard "no problem found" and acts generous to not charge for the diagnosis. This is pretty obviously an issue in the electronic power steering software. Feels like it might be responding to a couple of different sensor inputs and having some difficulty deciding what to do. Perhaps it only occurs with certain combinations of input sensors? this would be the only justification for not having a full on recall. Meanwhile, very dangerous at high speeds for those of us that do have it! for reference, I drove an otherwise identical 2013 Corolla rental car recently in co. At 75mph+ the car was totally stable. This points back to this being a model year issue and/or a part combination issue as mentioned above.

- Rohnert Park, CA, USA

problem #24

Mar 312013

Corolla

  • 12,000 miles
I have a 2011 Corolla le which has 12K miles on it. Till 12K everything was fine and I loved this car very much. While returning from a road trip (550 miles one way) I started noticing loosing control on the steering and the vehicle started wandering all over the lane. I thought it was due to the high winds on that day. But I got tired frequently due to this and had to take many breaks. Then I tried to reach some Toyota dealer on the way but they had no service due to easter Sunday. Somehow I managed to reach back to my home. It was really a dangerous drive especially when huge trucks were passing by. I took the vehicle to the dealer on the next day. They took the car and told me that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. I couldn't agree to them. I took the car and again noticed the problem on high ways. After a week I took the car again to the same dealer and they told me that they verified the car with different set of drivers and couldn't find anything wrong with the steering. I called up Toyota and registered a complaint. But they said without report from the dealer they can't do anything. I took the vehicle to another dealer. They also repeated the same as no problem with the car. Now I am not sure what should I do to get this problem solved. I really feel that something to do with the steering and I am loosing control. Steering feels much lighter and looser than before and I feel it is dangerous especially on highways.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #23

Sep 012012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 11,000 miles
2011 Toyota Corolla: Have had car aligned 2 times due to excessive pulling to the right, therefore tires have worn unevenly and now need to be replaced at 17,000 miles. The edges of the tires wore out before 11,000 miles. I addressed the issue to the dealership, who at first told me I had to pay for the alignment; then I was told it would be aligned under warranty. It had to be aligned a scond time due to continuous pulling to the right. The dealership says I have to pay for tires out-of-pocket, even though I think Toyota should at least pro-rate a new set of tires. Second issue is the engine running rough and unevenly. It idles rough, and since I paid to have the injectors cleaned, it gets worse gas mileage than ever. I now have the car in the dealership shop again to fix the idle. They just called and said the Y had to replace and reset the engine control module. I expected the car to perform better and tires to last more than a year, as I purchased the car Dec. 2012.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #22

Aug 192011

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
I am writing to report an electric power steering safety defect with my 2011 Toyota Corolla le. I purchased the car new and noticed, during my first trip on the interstate highway, it was difficult to maintain center lane because the vehicle would drift from side to side and the faster the vehicle speed the more pronounced the drift became. Road smoothness did not seem to make any difference. I assumed that since this is my first vehicle with electric power steering it must just take me some getting accustomed to driving it. Having driven it for 18 months, in varied weather and road conditions, I am now convinced it is a safety defect as it causes me much fatigue to drive it at highway speeds for more than approximately 45 minutes due to constant steering inputs required just to keep the vehicle in the lane. On 3 December 2012 I presented the vehicle to my Toyota dealer for warranty repair and was denied for the following reason "test drove vehicle. High winds and poor street conditions seem to have more affect on smaller vehicles than larger heavier ones. Checked alignment in spec and tire pressures are good as well." The test drive was less than 10 miles in duration.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 052012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Corolla. The contact stated that while driving, the tire pressure monitoring system warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the contact was advised that air needed to be added to the tires. The contact added air to the tires however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 1/24/13 the consumer stated the steering also had a defect. Steering was difficult and the transmission shifted abruptly. Updated 2/6/2013

- Kingsville, MO, USA

problem #20

Sep 152012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
9/15/12 complete vehicle failure due to power steering axle and seals failure during 45 mph test mode by a sheriff's deputy...vehicle inoperable had to be towed...extremely dangerous and life threatening for future Toyota Corolla owners in any emergency situation...call [xxx](sarasota sheriff's driving school program...ask for [xxx] for more details and officer [xxx]testimony.) information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Osprey, FL, USA

problem #19

Jul 292011

Corolla

  • 7,000 miles
The car is wandering sideways and you have to really control and Focus on keeping the wheel straight to stay on lane. The best way to describe it is like you are always driving on windy weather with severe wind gusts. This happens on highway, with a speed of 60 mph or higher. The assistant service manager said it could be the wheel alignment but after they aligned it and checked it, the problem remains. I live in an area where we get significant amount of snow during winter and I am afraid of my safety because of this problem.

- Spring Valley, WI, USA

problem #18

Jun 232012

Corolla 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I recently took a trip from the South to the mid West. The roads are much straighter and the speed limit is higher. I had been noticing that the car drifts back and forth on the highway but hadn't paid it much attention until we went North. While doing 70-75mph down the highways that are straight forever the car was incredibly hard to keep straight. When I got home it was due for regular service and I addressed my concern with the steering. They "did" an alignment at the dealership, after I picked up my car and took it on the highway 24 hrs later I noticed my steering wheel was not straight. The "T" Toyota symbol on the wheel had to be slanted to the left in order for the car to drive straight. If you held the wheel straight the car was driving off the side of the road to the right! the drifting side to side was worse than ever!!!!! I have since taken my Corolla to the same dealership about 5 times now (although they haven't properly recorded that in the computer, they show its only been about 3), taken the lead service tech and the customer service rep for a ride in my car and they completely agreed with me that the steering wheel was off, noticeably! they held my car for a week and replaced the "steering computer" and said that should fix the problem. They drove it after it was "fixed" and returned the car to me. I then drove it down the highway about 30 min later and it is still freaking crooked!!!!!! Toyota Corp and the people at the dealership are making me feel like I'm crazy and that its normal! this is not normal! it was not crooked before I took it in and it is not fixed!! there is a lemon law in this state! this is my first brand new car and first Toyota and this is the worst experience I have ever had with a car and will not buy one again! unbelievable!

- Huntersville, NC, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?