Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.7

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,854 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Jun 232006

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My story is this: At about 3000 miles I was driving home and about halfway there (we live about 5 miles out of town), I took a rock chip. I promptly turned right around, went back to town, while the glass shop was still open, and had the chip repaired. I parked it in the garage and that very night it cracked about 8". it was in the fall as I remember, so it was not a particular hot nor cold day or night. It seemed to me at the time (and still does) that the windshield may actually be "stressed" somehow, putting additional pressure on it, in ways it was not designed to be. At present, the crack is holding steady (I fixed that too).

- Oregon City, OR, USA

problem #25

Mar 012007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 810 miles
New Toyota Fj cruiser 02-06-07 and first windshield damaged occurred before 03-06-07 while driving to work on weekday morning on outer loop of 495 near rt. 214. About size of pencil eraser with clear patch installed over to keep clean. Every time vehicle is washed, cleaned, etc. More scratches, nicks, wear and tear is appearing on windshield. Windshield will never last as long as vehicle. Bad, cheap laminate" ? ? something?????"

- Pomfret, MD, USA

problem #24

Jan 122007

FJ Cruiser

  • miles
Windshield cracks way to easy. Assume it's the angle it's at. I never even heard anything hit my windshield and believe it to be a stress crack, but the dealer disagrees.

- Chaska, MN, USA

problem #23

Oct 152006

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Windshield cracked replaced, now 2nd one cracked.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #22

Feb 222007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 22,322 miles
I have had my fj since April 23, 2006. The windshield issue took a little bit longer to cross my path than it seems others. I was riding along the expressway when I heard a small size pebble hit the windshield. Didn't think that much of it because it wasn't very loud. Well I was mistaken. Less than 2 hours later it had spread to a crack of 6 inches. I couldn't even get it repaired. Than I looked at the forum and saw all the other complaints. I don't want to replace because I feel there should be recall or subsequent reimbursement. I did hear of a company called clearplex where they can strengthen the windshield by adding a clear thing plastic protective coating. Don't get me wrong I love my fj, but this is not right. They did the right thing with the tire recall and that was probably 750 per car, replacing all 5 tires plus labor. I trust they will do the right thing.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Feb 202007

FJ Cruiser 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles
2007 Toyota Fj cruiser. Large crack in middle of the windshield from a rock. Other cracks arise from just small tiny debris striking the windshield. Glass needs to be scratch and dent resistant. Replacement windshields costs around 1400 dollars. This is because the installation involves removing a top molding piece that breaks easily and the unique cut of the glass. If you replace the windshield, the insurance company could refuse to insure you after multiple incidents like this blatant defect. It's a safety issue of getting the cracks fixed, compromises windshield integrity. Also once you replace the windshield it is replaced with factory oem glass. Which can crack again! this is just from city driving not even long distance driving!

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #20

Mar 142007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Small pebble hits windshield and crack is one foot long.. this happen with 800 miles on the odometer. There is now 2300 miles on the vehicle. The cost is $1500 to replace. If you would like more information check threads on fjcruiserforum.com. Many threads with people having a lot of issues with fj windshield. Thanks for any help!

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #19

Mar 202007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Rock chip cracked windshield on Toyota Fj cruiser. A month later a second crack not connected to the first began to form. This second crack was not due to any rock chips. The first crack extended from side to side across the windshield, the second formed at a diagonal angle from drivers side to near top of the windshield.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #18

Mar 152007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,250 miles
Toyota Fj cruiser windshield. Multiple deep chips. Glass can not withstand minor stone impact.

- Waterford, VA, USA

problem #17

Apr 252007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
The windshield on my 2007 Toyota Fj cruiser has a lot of pits in it. This vehicle only has 7,000 miles on it and I think the pitting is excessive.

- Pascoag, RI, USA

problem #16

Apr 242007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a major issue with the windshield glass on the 2007 Toyota Fj cruiser. I have had my vehicle since November and already I have a crack clear across my windshield, 4 chips and pits everywhere. The way Toyota designed the glass to the design of the vehicle leaves you vulnerable. It's a serious design flaw, because your windshield is almost at a 90 degree angle to the roadway and any tiny stone will create a bad situation. To add to the problem the glass appears to be extremely too thin. I have never had this type of problem with any other vehicle. Toyota needs to be held accountable for this flaw, not the consumer. Especially since a replacement windshield costs a mere $1500 dollars a pop. Please help!

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #15

Jan 172007

FJ Cruiser 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • 8,000 miles
I was driving at a safe speed and distance from other cars, when out of nowhere a rock came at my windshield and put a large crack in it. The windshield of my Toyota 2007 fj seems to be inappropriately weak. I have driven other vehicles with a vertical windshield and have not had this problem, especially only having the vehicle less than a year. It has since happened again, but this incident I am describing is the first time it happened.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #14

Dec 162006

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Frequently breaking windshield on the 2007 Toyota Fj cruiser.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #13

Apr 232007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Fj cruiser. On 4/21/07 while driving at 65 mph a rock hit the windshield. The rock caused a small indentation on the lower center of the windshield. On 4/23/07 while driving about 45 mph a rock hit the windshield and left a small indentation on the top left side of the windshield. On 4/24/07, while the vehicle was parked the windshield had a large crack between the indentations. The weather was not a factor. Updated 05/21/07.

- Tehachapi, CA, USA

problem #12

Apr 232007

FJ Cruiser 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 970 miles
My newly purchased Fj cruiser has a defective windshield. I had a chip repaired a few weeks ago, and now I have a crack in my windshield not associated with the previous chip. As of yesterday afternoon, I didn't have a crack while I was cleaning out the inside of my car. Last night when I got into my fj, I noticed a crack that starts 3' to the left of the driver side wiper and arches to the middle of the wiper.

- Granby, CO, USA

problem #11

Sep 052006

FJ Cruiser 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
Windshield breakage.

- Garfield, NJ, USA

problem #10

Feb 142007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,700 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Fj cruiser. I frequent a forum called fjcruiserforums.com. We have tons of problems with windshields on the Fj cruiser. Cracks are a common occurrence with these windshields. I owned a Jeep Wrangler for 4 years. I had one time that I received a crack to the windshield. So, the angle of the window on the fj is not the problem. It must be a cheaper grade of glass. A lot of people on the website listed above have had to replace their window several times. I fortunately only had one crack as of yet. But, I am sure there will be more. The cracks develop into a splintering effect which requires the windshield to be replaced. So, insurance pays and premiums increase over cheap glass.

- Coeburn, VA, USA

problem #9

Apr 042007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,900 miles
Windshield crack under the right passenger side windshield wiper while driving on the interstate in Michigan. Small rock stroke and window chipped and spattered. Windshield chipped and cracked way too easily.

- Wolverine Lake, MI, USA

problem #8

Apr 102007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Cracked windshield on Fj cruiser I am on windshield number 2 and this one is also cracked at 1200 dollars for replacement.

- Bakersfiield, CA, USA

problem #7

Feb 272007

FJ Cruiser 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,800 miles
Driving on loop 250 in town following a other cars, clear day, dry road windshield was hit by small rocks kicked up by other cars.. one hit top of windshield which has crack the glass down and over towards the passenger side about 5-8 inches..the other is on the drivers line of sight.. dime size ding no crack.

- Midland, TX, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?