Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.0

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,248 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Highlander wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Highlander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Highlander Owner Comments

problem #4

Dec 112009

Highlander

  • 52,991 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Toyota Highlander hybrid. Driving to work in a blizzard on 12/11/09 all dash board lights went on. Dealership found that the sunroof housing failed causing $3,977.16 worth of damage. Being out of warranty the dealer agreed to pay $2,000. Toyota customer service another 1,500 and we paid $477.16. We picked up the car on 12/24/09. On 2/2/10 we returned it after noticing a burn spot on each of the plastic head light covers. The dealer found both highbeam bulbs melted, and suggested I had overused them causing the intense heat that did the damage. I am concerned it could be a result of delayed water damage showing up. Our concerns with this car(which we purchased new in Nov. Of 2005)goes back to 9/7/06 when the cruise control did not slow the car going down hills. On 2/28/07 we had brake and wiper blade issues. On 4/20/07 the blades locked during a downpour on the 5 freeway. I had to pull over in a panic. On 7/12/07 the cargo clip had to be replaced. On 9/10/07 that parking brake did not hold properly and there was a rattle from the right rear. On 11/6/07 we complained of squeaky brakes. Dealer tightened loose nuts and bolts on 4X4 assembly. On 4/1/08 the brakes were replaced @ 29,080 miles.on 10/22/08 the sound system failed and was replaced under warranty. Next week we are having the 5th set of tires put on this vehicle which has only 53,000 miles on it. The set to be replaced has only about 15,000 miles on them. They have a 60,000 mile warranty.

- Running Springs, CA, USA

problem #3

Jul 152008

Highlander

  • miles
My toyo tires have failed after only 18,000 miles of use on my Toyota Highlander.

- Westport, NY, USA

problem #2

Jun 192008

Highlander

  • miles
Second tire to have a bubble show up on the white wall side. 2 other tires had separation started and was a matter of time before the bubbles would show up.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #1

Jan 022006

Highlander

  • miles
Tranpath toyo tires on 2005 Toyota Highlander the tire came on the Highlander. The tire seemed to funcation well until about 15,000 miles. The road noise is getting to be unbearable and the traction is poor and hazarded on wet road. That could cause a bad accident. Complainted to the car service department they offered to sale us new tires with no discount. Very disappointed to the tire.

- Warrensburg, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?