Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.7

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,330 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Highlander windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Highlander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Highlander Owner Comments

problem #13

Feb 012009

Highlander

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Toyota Highlander 2005.the driv err S side sun visor will not stay up.it is a safety hazard we hole driving.Toyota, though this is a problem for many highland err own err 3rd will not fix or replace it.

- Lucerne Valley, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 252014

Highlander

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Highlander. The contact stated that the front headlight lenses were deteriorating. There was a presence of a spot that was spreading across the plastic, which may be intermittently melting. The contact indicated that the spot was increasing on the front headlight lense and could impact the contact's visibility upon the use of the low or high beams. The vehicle was taken to the authorized dealer who diagnosed that both headlight lenses needed to be replaced. The vehicle was to be repaired by an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Milford, OH, USA

problem #11

May 052014

Highlander

  • miles
There are 2 malfunctions happening on this vehicle:1) the door lock on the drivers side stop working with keyless about 4 months ago, it works if you do it manually. 2) both visors-driver's and passengers visor has gotten progressively looser, there are no adjustment screws, what makes this such a hazard, if you hit a bump and you're in speeding traffic sometimes the visor just drops down and blocks your line of sight.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #10

Nov 092011

Highlander

  • 100,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 11/9/2011, while driving on interstate 80 near auburn, ca., the rear window on my 2005 Toyota Highlander spontaneously exploded/shattered. I took it to a Toyota dealer/bodyshop where they replaced the tempered glass at my expense ($468). They claimed they had never seen anything like it. Two weeks later on 11/28/2011, while driving on interstate 80 near rocklin, ca., the right rear passenger door window spontaneously exploded/shattered sending shards of glass into the vehicle and out. The car is getting repaired at my expense ($408). Toyota claims they know nothing about this type of problem. This is a safety hazard worthy of investigation. During the second incident, a passenger would have been severely injured had they been sitting next to the exploding glass. If the window had been the driver-side window, it would have caused a serious crash. As it was, the car behind me had to take evasive measures to avoid the flying glass. The fact that there has been 2 incidents within two weeks involving 2 separate oem glass suggests a possible defect.

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 182011

Highlander

  • miles
I have a 2005 Toyota Highlander and the sun visor on the driver side keeps falling out of its place and obstructing views. I took it to the dealer and they want more than $400 to fix it. The visor falling down is dangerous and distracting. In my able opinion Toyota has to recall this defective product.

- Bowie, MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Feb 272011

Highlander 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
02/28/11, I own a 2005 Toyota Highlander and the sun visor (with lighted mirror) on the driver's side will not stay up. When I drive it causes a visibility issue. This definitely creates a dangerous driving condition on the road because part of the visibility is blocked. I cannot believe that my car is barely 6 years and I am already having issues. I have never had these kinds of problems with other vehicles.

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #7

Nov 012010

Highlander 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver's side sun visor keeps coming down creating a safety hazard while driving in heavy traffic.

- Seguin, TX, USA

problem #6

May 132009

Highlander

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Highlander. The contact stated that the rear windows had been falling off track since May 2009. The rear driver side window and rear passenger side window had been replaced three times. The dealer stated that the cause of the failure was within the mechanism that lowered and raised the windows. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000 and the current mileage was approximately 71,000.

- Upper Malboro, MD, USA

problem #5

Dec 112009

Highlander

  • 52,991 miles
2005 Toyota Highlander hybrid. Driving to work in a blizzard on 12/11/09 all dash board lights went on. Dealership found that the sunroof housing failed causing $3,977.16 worth of damage. Being out of warranty the dealer agreed to pay $2,000. Toyota customer service another 1,500 and we paid $477.16. We picked up the car on 12/24/09. On 2/2/10 we returned it after noticing a burn spot on each of the plastic head light covers. The dealer found both highbeam bulbs melted, and suggested I had overused them causing the intense heat that did the damage. I am concerned it could be a result of delayed water damage showing up. Our concerns with this car(which we purchased new in Nov. Of 2005)goes back to 9/7/06 when the cruise control did not slow the car going down hills. On 2/28/07 we had brake and wiper blade issues. On 4/20/07 the blades locked during a downpour on the 5 freeway. I had to pull over in a panic. On 7/12/07 the cargo clip had to be replaced. On 9/10/07 that parking brake did not hold properly and there was a rattle from the right rear. On 11/6/07 we complained of squeaky brakes. Dealer tightened loose nuts and bolts on 4X4 assembly. On 4/1/08 the brakes were replaced @ 29,080 miles.on 10/22/08 the sound system failed and was replaced under warranty. Next week we are having the 5th set of tires put on this vehicle which has only 53,000 miles on it. The set to be replaced has only about 15,000 miles on them. They have a 60,000 mile warranty.

- Running Springs, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 072010

Highlander

  • 75,000 miles
The driver's side sunvisor does not stay up in my 2005 Toyota Highlander. It flips down frequently blocking driver's view while driving and creates dangerous situations. I went online and discovered many many same complaints on message boards - only on driver's side. This needs to be looked into.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 152009

Highlander

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The driver's side sun visor on our 2005 Highlander is failing to hold position for the second time. The dealer replaced the visor after the first failure but has not replaced the second failing visor. The visor falls to the full down position and blocks a significant share of the driver's field of vision.

- El Dorado Hills , CA, USA

problem #2

Oct 242009

Highlander

  • 49,800 miles
Driver side visor is blocking the view of driver. The visor of my 2005 Toyota Highlander is malfunction which is result of flipping down all the time and blocking the view of driver, special during the night time or raining. This faulty is causing us of near accident situations.

- Tustin, CA, USA

problem #1

Jan 162008

Highlander

  • miles
The window control drops the window into the door and you cannot bring the window back up. This first occurred on January 2008, to my rear right window on my 2005 Toyota Highlander. I went to the dealership and they said it would cost $ $600. That was ridiculously overpriced, so I found a way to lift the window, and then I disconnected the power window controls to that window. Without fail, the same thing happened to the rear left window of our car in January 2009. I have been all over the internet and found that it is a common occurrence with Highlanders and Camry, but there is no recall from Toyota for this common problem.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?