Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
106,804 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Jun 102011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles


Toyota Highlander hybrid inverter failure.

- California, CA, USA

problem #19

May 012011

Highlander Hybrid

  • 166,000 miles
I purchased a 206 Toyota highlander SUV hybrid in Dec 2005 1st generation. My car has 166K miles. The SUV stop running without any warning on the highway as I proceeded on a Sunday morning going to volunteer for the avon breast cancer walk, 1 May 11. I conduct regular maintenance checks on my vehicle. I was quite surprise to learn that the part cost over $9K to replace not including labor. The part to replace is called inverter assembly. I contacted hq's Toyota to ask for some assistance with the replacement of this part. I was refused helped. I proceeded to conduct research and found this website: A class action lawsuit against Toyota for this same make, model and year as mines. See website: I was quite surprise to see this is a common problem with this part once you reached over 100K and Toyota was not providing a recall for this defective part since it used the same technology as the prius which experienced the same problem but was recalled. I seek help with obtaining Toyota to pay for part. Here are other websites concerning this issue: Thanks for your assistance in advance. Have a marvelous day! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- La Plata, MD, USA

problem #18

May 302011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 40,573 miles
While driving my 2006 hylander hybrid @ 55 mph, at night, there was a loud pop / thud and lurch, then total loss of power and the dash board lit up like a christmas tree. I barely made it to the shoulder of the road without getting getting hit from behind several times as vehicles steered around me. Honking their horns and flashing their lights at me. As I crawled to the side of the road @ 10:30 at night. I feel lucky to be alive. Vehicle has just over 40,000 mile on it and has had all required maintenance. Turned out to be the hybrid inverter failed. This is a non sevicable part.

- Newport Richey, FL, USA

problem #17

May 182011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles


On May 18, 2011, my 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid stalled with a loud pop and no power while pulling out at a busy intersection. The car was on a hill and I had to let it "coast" in neutral backward down the hill to turn into a less busy street. It would not start nor would the engine run. I had to tow it to the Toyota dealership where all my service has been performed on the scheduled basis. It took over a week to diagnose the problem as an inverter failure with an estimated repair at approximately $9000. The car is less than 5 years old with 160,000 miles but in excellent shape. Upon research, I noted that there are issues with the 2006 model Highlander hybrid inverter system that may warrant investigation/recall.

- Morristown, NJ, USA

problem #16

May 282011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid had problems with the power inverter similar to those reported by others where, without any warning and while driving the car, there was a loud sound and the car would no longer move forward nor backwards although the engine was on. The vehicle dash turned on warning lights with "check vsc hybrid system" there was no previous warning of this problem, even though I had taken the car to regular maintenance in the dealer a month or two ago. No-one was hurt but the complete sudden lack of propulsion could potentially have led to serious accident. I was forced to tow the car to the dealer and had to get a rental car to continue on my regular day to day activities. After investigation I was informed that the power inverter needed to be replaced at a cost of over 7,000 for parts, plus extra costs for labor. This seems unreasonably high. I recommend this is investigated and Toyota be asked to: 1. initiate a recall for this part. This is an extremely dangerous problem. Don't wait until someone is injured or dies. 2. offer free replacement of this part to all Toyota owners who have had this problem, including part, labor, towing and any rental car costs associated with the down time caused for this. 3. issue reimbursements for any customer who have had to suffer through this problem and paid for it from their own money. 4. extend the warranty on the hybrid related problems to at least 150,000 miles across all states - as it currently is by law in California. 5. offer a free and comprehensive evaluation of all hybrid systems components for everyone with a Highlander hybrid that is over or near 100,000 miles, and replace any components that are close to failure. 6. train your service professionals to look for potential hybrid system failures as part of any regular maintenance schedule. This is a serious issue and I don't think Toyota is handling it in a fair and reasonable way. Updated 06/09/11

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #15

May 242011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 179,000 miles
The power inverter on my 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid failed at on a high speed us highway causing my car to shut down at that high speed. The road in question did not have a shoulder and the loss of control could have been catastrophic.

- Wiggins, MS, USA

problem #14

May 242011

Highlander Hybrid

  • 116,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact stated while driving approximately 65-70 mph the vehicle lost power. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and the inverter failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who decided to pay for the repairs. The vehicle identification number was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 116,000.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #13

May 202011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 51,456 miles
My 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid had sudden inverter failure while trying to accelerate out of a toll plaza. After paying toll, I pressed down on the accelerator pedal and began to move forward. After just a couple moments of acceleration, there was a loud pop from the engine compartment and I lost all drive power to the wheels. There was a faint burnt rubber smell. The dash board flashed multiple warning lights including "check vsc system" and something like "check hybrid system." I was lucky to be able to coast to the side of the toll plaza. The gasoline engine remained running and the car had electrical power and airconditioning. It would not, however, move in either forward or reverse. This sudden loss of power could have been disastrous if I was pulling on to a busy street or entering an intersection. The car was towed to the nearest Toyota dealership for repair.

- Potomac, MD, USA

problem #12

May 082011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
We were driving our 2006 Toyota highlander 5-8-11 with 67K miles at approx 35 -40 mph, we were forced to brake to conform with traffic conditions. We accelerated from 10 - 15 mph upon acceleration we heard a large pop, as I pressed the accelerator again I noticed the engine was revving up with no forward movement of the vehicle. I immediately pulled to the side of the road. As we pulled to the side of the road we had two messages appear on the dash board "check hybrid system " & "check vsc system". we consulted our owners manual and found out that the vehicle needed to be serviced by a Toyota dealer and that there was nothing we could do. The vehicle was towed to a local Toyota dealership for service.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #11

May 112011

Highlander Hybrid

  • 108,000 miles
My wife and I are owners of a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid and experienced the stall with no restart issue yesterday. I had noticed for 6mths - 1 year that on more than gentle acceleration the vehicle may pause (lose power) for 1-2 seconds before continuing. During this pause, a warning would be displayed along with alarm sound reporting "water temp" even though the water temp gauge is still holding in middle of range without moving. I had hoped that subsequent servicing would address until it would occur again at a later time. It occurred regularly enough to be a concern, but as the car proceeded a sec or two later the urgency was lost. In retrospect if it was known that this was a sign of possible significant future entire engine power loss, my concern to have this reported and addressed would have been higher. Yesterday after displaying the same message and sound, the vehicle lost complete power and engine warning light came on, along with other warnings messages. We had barely any power (very slow walking pace at best) to move from stop to the side of the road. Engine appeared to still be active to some degree when pushing accelerator but extremely minimal power provided to wheels. Vehicle had to be towed to local dealership. Report from Toyota dealership that inverter failed and needs to be replaced for $7000+ and labor, etc. Vehicle has approx 108,000 miles.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #10

Feb 182011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 236,000 miles


Engine lost power and shut down while driving. Needed to be towed to dealer. Dealer determined failure in inverter. Estimate over $9000.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #9

Apr 292011

Highlander Hybrid

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact was driving 70 mph when the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle and the vehicle was towed to dealer. The dealer performed a diagnostic test and the test results concluded that the inverter had malfunctioned. The contact referenced NHTSA action number: PE11005 ( hybrid propulsion system: Inverter) for an investigation for the failure but there were no recalls. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 222011

Highlander Hybrid

  • 110,252 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph when the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that several various warning lights began to illuminate on the dashboard, including the check engine and brake lights. The vehicle rolled to a stop before being towed to an authorized dealer. The contact was advised that the vehicle would need a new inverter. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 110,252.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #7

Jan 192011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 68,791 miles
My 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid was running normally with 68,791 miles on it. When I started the car on 1/19/2011 and shifted into drive, I heard a pop, the dash lit up with many error messages, the car ran roughly, and when I press the gas pedal I began to roll down the hill is was parked on backwards. The car felt like it was in neutral, but the brakes were functional. I placed the car into park and called the Toyota dealership. The car was towed at my expense to the dealer. Toyota informed me that the inverter had failed, the air box was cracked, power steering link was under recall, the induction system was clogged, and the brakes needed replacement. Please keep in mind that this vehicle was at the same dealership a few weeks earlier (12/31/2010) for a brake inspection, oil change, and 68,000 mile service. Toyota replaced the inverter with another 2006 inverter stating that there was nothing wrong with the design of the original inverter. The work was done under the warranty. The car has be running normally since the repair.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #6

Jun 242010

Highlander Hybrid

  • 140,000 miles
While driving my 2006 Toyota Highlander hybrid on the interstate highway I lost all power and the engine shut off I had to cost the vehicle across three lanes of high speed traffic to get to the side of the road while almost getting hit by a passenger bus. All power was gone and vehicle would not start. Had vehicle towed to a dealer. Was informed the power inverter system had over heated and fried. Just the parts for a new inverter were quoted at $9,000.

- Carthage, NY, USA

problem #5

Mar 052011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 54,000 miles
While driving my 2006 Highlander hybrid in seabrook Texas on March 5, after accelerating to approximately 40 miles per hour. The car lost all power and the power steering went out. The car then had to be towed to dealership. It looks like there is an investigation open into this issue. NHTSA # PE11005.

- Seabrook, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 082011

Highlander Hybrid

  • 39,800 miles
In January 2011, we were reversing out of a parking stall when our 2006 Toyota highland hybrid shut down. We could not restart the car at all. Several lights on the dashboard lit up, such as "check engine" and "check vsc system." We had the car towed to the dealer's repair place. After three weeks, it was diagnosed that our inverter had failed and would need to be replaced.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #3

Jan 272011

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Hybrid inverters on 2006 Toyota highlanders are failing, vehicle all of the sudden stops and lights on the instrument panel will go on. You try to restart the vehicle and its useless. Inverters are failing and the cost of the part itself is over $7000 plus the cost of labor. Inverters are covered under warranty up to 100,000 miles. My highlander has 107,000. I am no longer under warranty and I don't have the money to get it repaired. I think that Toyota is well aware of this problem in 2006 highlanders and should do something to get the problem fixed before there is a tragedy on the roads.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 172009

Highlander Hybrid 6-cyl

  • 40,258 miles
Getting on freeway on ramp heard "bang" and car went dead. No brakes, steering or any function. Managed to pull off and call tow truck. Toyota said the "inverter" blew and all electrical function was lost. They replaced the inverter and said they never saw this before. Car has been ok since.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 072010

Highlander Hybrid

  • miles
2006 Toyota highlander. Consumer states design flaw in vehicle the consumer stated as he was trying to make turn, he applied the accelerator with force when suddenly a pop and a shudder came from the vehicle, and then the dashboard lights illuminated and the vehicle began to coast. The consumer was able to pull off to the side of the road safely. Attempts to get the vehicle going again were unsuccessful and ultimately the vehicle was towed to the dealer. A day later, the dealer stated the hybrid inverter had blown and that no replacement parts were available in the region. The repairs were eventually made under warranty a week later.

- Hales Corners, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?