Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Toyota Matrix is the mechanical twin of the Pontiac Vibe.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,543 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Matrix seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Matrix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Matrix Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #48

Jul 012015

Matrix

  • 99,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tamara recall called Toyota corporate office 12/8/15 to inquire why my local dealer is unable to get parts and local Honda dealership keeps calling me to bring in a car I no longer own and emphasized the urgency of this issue. I have not been able to Transport passengers since July. Toyota Corp told me I could have a loaner then told me I could not. Case # 1512080106. Corporate office suggested I disengage passenger side airbag. Dealership says it's illegal. Dealership showed me last printout they received stating parts should have arrived October 2015 (just a projection) I am very nervous driving this car reports state scrap metal can be projected throughout the interior of car. I don't feel Toyota Corp is responding to this defect within a reasonable time. How is it possible Honda has been handling the issue in my area for months, and Toyota won't give any indication as to when this will be resolved.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #47

Jun 192015

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/04/16

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #46

May 152015

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bayone, NJ, USA

problem #45

Dec 082015

Matrix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- North Yarmouth, ME, USA

problem #44

Sep 042015

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Evansville, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #43

Nov 302015

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #42

Nov 252015

Matrix

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Los Angelos, CA, USA

problem #41

Nov 232015

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall - I received an undated letter from Toyota explaining the recall. I believe that the letter was received in August or early September 2015. As of today, 11/23/15, I have not received a letter indicating when it will be repaired. I called Toyota at the number on the letter. They cannot tell me when the repair will happen. The car is potentially dangerous. The letter advises that the short term solution is to not let anyone sit on the passenger side. This seems to me to be an unreasonable amount of time for the repair.

- Ferguson, MO, USA

problem #40

Jul 202015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Grafton, WI, USA

problem #39

Jun 152015

Matrix

  • 81,000 miles
Takata recall. My vehicle became part of the recall in mid-June 2015. It has now been five months and I am still unable to put a passenger in the front seat of my car. I went to Toyota's website and my vehicle is not yet even on the schedule. Can I expect some compensation from Toyota and/or takata for this continuing inconvenience? I had a similar issue with the driver side airbag on my 2001 Honda Accord, and it was resolved in less than a month.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

problem #38

Nov 162015

Matrix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A recall that could take a year or more to fix is ridiculous. To have to not allow a front seat passenger to ride in the vehicle for such a length of time is unreasonable. What about those sitting in the seat behind the front passenger seat" could shards of metal pass threw it into backseat passengers in it if it deploys" limited materials in not an excuse when it comes to safety. Increase production or start paying for rental cars or replacements if it will take such an excessive amount of time.

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #37

Aug 112015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/05/16

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #36

Jun 152015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. 01/13/16

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #35

Jun 162015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Ashland, OR, USA

problem #34

Aug 012015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) was received in August of 2015. After contacting the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Selbyville, DE, USA

problem #33

Aug 032015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 1/20/16

- East Aurora, NY, USA

problem #32

Jun 162015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Corolla matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #31

Aug 312015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #30

Oct 282015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hotkinton, MA, USA

problem #29

May 152015

Matrix

  • miles
Received notice of recall several months ago. Was told by Toyota in hollywood, ca that the parts were not available and I would have to wait. I believe that Toyota and its dealer have failed to remedy the defect within a reasonable time.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?