Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Toyota Matrix is the mechanical twin of the Pontiac Vibe.

Both models were a joint GM-Toyota venture, manufactured together at a NUMMI production facility in Fremont, CA. Only the heating & A/C systems are different.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,543 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Matrix seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Matrix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Matrix Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #68

Oct 032016

Matrix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congresswoman capps on behalf of constituent re why efforts are focused on replacing the passenger side airbags first and not the driver side airbags which seems more relevant.

- Los Osos, CA, USA

problem #67

Sep 062016

Matrix

  • 85,000 miles
Takata recall I live and work in Mexico, Toyota dealer there refused to do the repair. Dealer in juarez Mexico is Toyota "innova".

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #66

Jul 272016

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received a recall notification in may of 2016 for NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mazeppa, MN, USA

problem #65

Jul 072016

Matrix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just arranged a 3rd appointment to have repairs on my Toyota Matrix for my safety recall. I have been told that there is no part to accomplish the repairs twice now. My next appt is set for the end of August and I am hoping that the part will be available! it is very difficult to comply with not having a passenger ride with me. Please order and deliver a suitable part to the owings mills Toyota service center.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #64

Jun 132016

Matrix

  • 97,000 miles
Initial recall was issued for car nearly 1 year ago today. Remedy was not available at the time. Received a notice that the part was available and replacement could be scheduled approximately 2 months ago but was informed the part had to be ordered by the dealer. Follow up call today indicates the part is still back ordered and I am unable to have the repair done. This is unacceptable when the recall notice indicates that a passenger in the car could be seriously injured or killed in the event of an accident. Toyota has not remedied the problem in a year, and is not making satisfactory progress in obtaining the part or scheduling the repair.

- Newark, DE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #63

May 132016

Matrix

  • miles
I received two recall notices on this air bag issue. The first was at least a year ago, then just last week. The notices came with warnings not to allow anyone to sit in the front passenger seat. Really? it has been over a year since the first notice. Perhaps Toyota should have suggested the car not be driven at all, that would have been the safest option in their liable eyes. The dealership has been unable to remedy the defect in a reasonable amount of time.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #62

May 012015

Matrix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall" received interim notice approx May 2015 received remidy notice May 2016 purchased car new and have contacted Toyota of invergrove heights mn. Several times about recall repair, only to be told no parts available! I am afraid of liability and or death from deployed air bags to both driver & passenger. Also paid option for additional side air bag package. When can we expect resolve and why is my life and passengers of less value than those in priority states" why are no fines to takata or the vehicle manufacturers being initiated" we owners feel as life and limb & vehicle valuation are at risk. It seems volkswagon diesel owners are receiving preferential attention and possible buy backs, while not as risk of the same exposure. Takata industries may go bankrupt or totally fail with no resolve from them or auto manufacturers. Leaving the vehicle owners open to death, injury, lawsuits and financial loss of vehicle value. Please help! please help!

- Mendota Heights, MN, USA

problem #61

Apr 192016

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall I finally received my instructions for replacing the dangerous passenger airbag on my Toyota Matrix after close to a year of waiting on their follow-up. When I reached out to my local Toyota dealership, mcgeorge Toyota in richmond va, I was told that they had to order the part and it would be 3 months before it could be fixed. I supposed free repairs are much more difficult to schedule.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #60

Mar 302016

Matrix

  • 60,000 miles
The passenger side airbag light stays on while driving even when there is no passenger in the seat and the seat is empty. Is this related in any way to the takata inflator recall? the replacement was done for the takata recall and the light still stays on at all times when the car is running.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #59

Jun 162015

Matrix

  • 70,000 miles
I just heard another passenger was killed by an air bag in a Toyota product. I was told over 6 months ago by Toyota I would be contacted for a replacement airbag. I finally got a remedy notice from Toyota to contact my dealer and see about getting it fixed. My dealer said they only can do 7 air bag replacements a week and it would be 8-9 months before they could get to my car. I contacted Toyota us headquarters and they said it should only be 2-3 weeks. (ref # 1604011854). I contacted the dealer again who reiterated it would be 8-9 months. This delay seems like a strategy on Toyota's part and not a shortage of parts. Who is neglecting their duty on this potentially fatal defect. Toyota, the dealer, or the NHTSA. This is unacceptable. People losing their lives because of a lack of government action. If they can't fix the airbag, they should provide owners with cars without the defect. Do your job. I am contacting my congressman and senators about this.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #58

Apr 042016

Matrix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After receiving the notice from Toyota, I scheduled an appointment and took my car in to have the recall fixed - taking a day off of work to do so. I then took a shuttle ride home and after seven hours of waiting I called asking about the status of my car. After another shuttle ride to the dealer I found out that they only did the inspection and did not fix the air bag. They said they would call me when the part was in to reschedule the actual repair. All I got was "sorry for the inconvenience." Questions: Why does does Toyota send out a recall notice without ensuring that the dealerships have all of the necessary parts to handle all of the recall repairs" why wouldn't the dealer inform the customer about the parts situation before they bring their car in to be fixed? how will I be compensated for the seven hours of wages that I gave up to get my car fixed? how many hours will I lose for the second repair? how many other customers are having a similar experience???"

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #57

Aug 102015

Matrix 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect....updated 04/12/16

- Jessup, MD, USA

problem #56

Mar 162016

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #55

Jan 202016

Matrix

  • 118,000 miles
Takata recall hello. On my 2006 Toyota matrix xr, my airbag light has been on for over a year. Recently I brought it into jim coleman Toyota in bethesda, and they told me that the assembly, the clockspring assembly, which is triggering the code is not covered in the recall. However, from what I am reading online including NHTSA, the clock spring is part of the assembly of the airbag and should be replaced. The cost to replace this part is over $1000, and not fixing it prevents me from selling the car. The airbag has never been deployed, and according to Toyota of bethesda, they are not responsible for replacing the assembly, per the recall, but just the airbag, which I did not think was under recall.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #54

Jan 172015

Matrix

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Townshend, VT, USA

problem #53

Jan 272016

Matrix

  • miles
Recall July 2015. Toyota did nothing said they'd be in touch, said "don't let anyone sit in the passenger seat" this is unacceptable. A man driving a Toyota was just killed when his passenger side air bag went off. I want Toyota to remove the airbag until they have a fix.

- Natick, MA, USA

problem #52

Aug 152015

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall. I received a recall letter from the manufacturer in August of 2015. It is now 1/22/16 and the problem has still not been addressed. I called Toyota customer service on 10/22/15 and they informed me that the repairs were currently in phase 2 and that California was phase 4. since then, I have had to rent a car on one occasion when I needed to accommodate 4 passengers and unless this gets fixed by mid-March, I will likely need to rent a car for 4 days for a family trip. This is now costing me money which I should not have to pay if my car was serviced in a reasonable time-frame. It's now been 5 months since receiving the recall notice and I have yet to receive a letter as to when I can get my car fixed. Frankly, this is very unacceptable and I feel that if Toyota can't make this right, then they should pay for the rental car I will need in March.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #51

Jul 222015

Matrix 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/07/16 updated 04/11/16.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #50

Dec 262015

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall I live in a very high humidity, very high salt content environment. Driving Ms. Daisy is not an acceptable solution for months on end. Is there a buyback program yet?

- Dillon Beach, CA, USA

problem #49

Jun 162015

Matrix

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Matrix. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Franconia, NH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?