Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,775 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Prius windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Prius Owner Comments

problem #6

Sep 022013


  • miles


2004 & 2010 Toyota Prius. Consumer writes in regards to rear view visibility and braking issues in both vehicles.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #5

Nov 242011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 41,520 miles
The multi function display registered the error code: Check connection of air conditioner. A diagnostic test at pappas Toyota on 12/2/11 showed a defective mfd. A new replacement would cost $4300. A refurbished one was to be located but a call was not received as to this having happened. Toyota was aware of this possibility at least by 1/10/2005 when a service bulletin was issued. Since the defect in the part was known to Toyota and involves a safety issue a request for warranty replacement was made. This request was denied. On 12/23/11, after having been told a week would be needed to find the part, I E-mailed pappas and asked that one be located. I made an appt. At that time to have it installed on 1/3/12. I had not received any information by 1/2/12 so I called again and learned the part was to be ordered on 1/2/12 as Toyota was closed for the holiday period. The mfd activates the front and rear defrosters. This is critical as the inability to do so is a safety issue in Missouri with snow and ice being a possibility. On 1/4/12 a message was received from the dealership, the essence of which was: Those displays are on back order status at this time; the mfd holds the memory for the mileage odometer so when it is ordered the vehicle can not be driven so that the actual odometer mileage remains the same; and until I hear from you I have placed your order on hold; there are currently two orders ahead of yours and they will be filled first; they are not able to give us a timetable when they will be released; and once they are available it will take approximately 7-10 business days to receive. Toyota is not making the necessary part available; expecting the consumer to be deprived of use of the Prius for an undetermined period of time; and of bearing the cost of the defective part. The consumer stated the problem has been resolved. Updated IVOQ 03/09/12

- St. Charles, MO, USA

problem #4

Jan 202011


  • miles
The driver's side hid headlight, intermittently, unpredictably and inexplicably shuts off. It will occasionally return to service on its own, but usually requires a cycling of the light's power switch before full function is restored. After which, the length of time before the light shuts off again varies from a few seconds to not at all. After researching this issue, it seems to be a rather systemic problem with the 2004-2009 Prius. Obviously, the situation this condition creates is unsafe at best, can place me personally in an unexpected illegal position - and (should both lights go out together, as some have reported) could quite possibly be life threatening. For the safety of the driving public, I would strongly urge NHTSA to investigate this issue. Toyota must take responsibility for their design flaw, and engineer a resolution to this problem.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #3

Jan 152008


  • 90,000 miles


Multifunction touch screen display (mfd) malfunction disables the windshield defogger. One must wipe the windshield by hand. If the windshield fogs while driving on a narrow and winding road or busy highway, the driver and passengers are at high risk. There is a website that shows what the problem is and how to fix it ( a multi-pin connector has a faulty pin. The soldering cracks over time resulting in a loose connection. Toyota does not provide an affordable solution. They offer to remove the two computer units from behind the mfd and replace them for approximately $3,000, rather than simply re-soldering the connector pin. I cannot afford to repair this, and Toyota has not offered any viable solutions. This affects all early type 2 priuses.

- Grass Valley, CA, USA

problem #2

Feb 052010


  • 71,132 miles
2004 Toyota Prius cost $449 (includes labor) to replace passenger side head light.

- Arlington, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Dec 302007


  • miles
The multi-function display (mfd) failed. (cross reference nhsta complaint #10173892). This is a known design defect (cross reference analysis on web: and Toyota issued a technical service bulletin (either el-002-04 or el-002-05 - conflicting info on this) on Jan 10, 2005. When the mfd fails, one cannot control the amount of airflow to the windshield (defroster). This presented me with visibility problems during the morning commute. As such, I consider it a safety issue. Toyota has been aware of this for 3 years, given the date of their tsb. The root cause appears to be an undersized solder pad on one of the electronic cards of the mfd. This results in a cracking of the solder joint. Because my problem was intermittent, coming and going on a frequent basis, I presume it was a micro crack. This does not help when the windshield is fogging over. All of the various error messages that were displayed on the mfd were consistent with the information on the above referenced web url's. the problem is with the release F of the electronic card assembly and was corrected with release G. there are pictorial comparisons between the two releases on one of the web url's. given that this has an impact on visibility during the winter months, I am shocked that Toyota chose to sit on this problem. The supplier of this part to Toyota is fujitsu.

- Vienna, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?