Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,947 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Prius miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Jun 062016

Prius

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car will not start, I have replaced the battery, it is not a battery issue. If you slam the car door, or hood of car, the car may start. The horn will work, witch indicates it is not the battery. May sometimes start with a jump start. This usually is while the car is not in motion.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #27

Aug 232015

Prius

  • 35,000 miles
1. summer, 2011, @ 35,000 mi car was parked @ bottom of my steep driveway, a few feet back from a rr tie pinned to ground by 3 rebar in front of car to block wheels. I intended to back up driveway, with gear in reverse, but when I released brake, car catapulted forward with such force that it bent rebar @ right angles, lifted rr tie up in the air & over on one edge, & the car jumped up on top of it, where it stuck. I saw that the gear shift had slipped out of (reverse) gear into neutral. Called aaa road service to lift car off. No other damage. 2. May 21, 2015, @ 50,000 mi. Backing up my 82' long steep driveway, I was too close to tree on right 3/4 of the way up, so I turned the wheels slightly left to back arc away from it, but still too close. I intended to return to bottom of driveway to start over & adjust angle of car as done 100S of times. With brake still depressed, I shifted gear from reverse to drive. As I lifted brake, before my foot could move towards the accelerator, suddenly car shot off like a rocket down steep slope to left, through 2 wood fences, over driveway next door, into swimming pool full of water - which slowed car to a stop & sank with me in it. Gear shift had slipped out of (drive) gear into neutral. Called 911. Car totalled. Miraculously no other damage to anyone aside from my traumatic experience. Note: Gear shift was the tiny knob on dashboard type, to move with finger tips in very small radius. I never had the problem on that steep drive w any other cars. I can refer you to photo of car in swimming pool in local news paper; it identifies address so not included here. I see in research online that other owners from at least 2004 to 2008 complained to you about this same gear slippage into neutral problem. Why weren't we warned? ( I was obliged to give today's date as the date of incidence by the site).

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

problem #26

Jul 192015

Prius

  • 120,000 miles
Car started skidding on the road, couldn't take control because car started to speed up and then rammed into the concrete barrier, spun around and ended up facing oncoming traffic. Luckily, there wasn't any car right behind me and I managed to push open the driver's side door although it wouldn't open completely and opened just enough for me to squeeze through and ran out of the car. At no time did the airbag open up at all. I was lucky that I sustained no major injury except for a badly knocking my left knee on the dash. My question to Toyota would be why the airbad didn't open! what if another car had hit mine and I wouldn't have been protected by the airbag!

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #25

Mar 282014

Prius

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We were driving just North of coos bay, Oregon when a big truck with the license plate number [xxx] carrying a trailer with the license plate [xxx] clipped the back driver's side of our car while we were forced to change lanes because of the lane ending. I had my blinker on for a long time and we were ahead of him until he sped up and clipped us. He then sped up and cut us off and drove away very quickly. It was raining and we were on the 101 in Oregon and he was going at least 80 mph because we were going around 65 and he was pulling away fast. Since it was a single lane highway we stayed behind him long enough to give him a chance to pull over, but the second he got the chance, he changed lanes and cut others off in order to get away. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #24

Aug 312013

Prius

  • 105,000 miles
The car was initially swerving (as if in a bad wheel alignment). Then it took a sharp right turn and jumped off of the freeway. Despite my attempts to control it and keep it on freeway, due to the speed and momentum, it drove off the slope to the right of the road, rolled over and eventually landed right side up. Initially I thought it could be a blown up tire.. but that did not seem to be the case.

- Los Altos, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Oct 122011

Prius

  • 135,000 miles
Since about the fall of last year or so, we've been noticing that the headlights have been going off intermittently. The right went out and then came back on. Then another time the left went out and came back on. I've read about this occurring on many other Prius' and that there was a class action suit? anyway, I need to figure out how to get this fixed as it is a serious safety issue.

- Pflugerville, TX, USA

problem #22

Jun 012005

Prius 4-cyl

  • 85 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Prius exhibits removal of electrical and engine power to the front wheels during acceleration when turning sharply right or left on a slippery surface. This occurs as soon as one of the front wheel slips. Ordinarily this is only a minor aggravation, and easing on the throttle usually restores power but in icing conditions it's dangerous. There are conditions where I could not move the car when crossing a small berm of snow (3 inches high where one wheel had significantly less traction than the other. I had to be pushed over it. It appears to be a software issue, but my local Toyota dealer claims they never heard of it.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #21

Aug 012011

Prius

  • 85,000 miles
On 7/31/11 I noticed my cruise control would not set. The light came on indicating the cruise was on, but I could not get the speed to hold. The next day, the cruise control worked. Midday on 8/1/11 while parked, I shifted to the D position, but the light indicated I was in N. I shifted back and forth between R and D several times, but the light indicated N. I took my foot off the brake and the car moved backward. The light indicated N and the knob was in the D position. It did this several times. I turned the car off and back on and everything worked like it is supposed to. On 8/1/11 at approximately 10:30 P.M. I was driving home on a narrow, two-lane rural highway. On a blind curve, both of my headlights went out. I could not see anything. I tried cycling my headlights off and on and nothing happened. I applied my brakes and stopped. I opened my door to see where I was in the roadway and determined I was on the fog line on the opposite side of the road and there was a hillside less than 5' from me. I was able to drive to the shoulder on the right side of the road by using the light from my door. I was extremely lucky no cars passed by while my lights were out. I could have been killed or caused a catastrophe. I turned the car off and back on and both headlights came back on. A motorist stopped to assist. I was able to follow him to a store where a friend met me and I followed him home. During the drive home one of my headlights kept turning off. Both did not go off together again. I took the car to the dealer on 8/3/11 and was told I need a new auxiliary battery and two new headlights. Cost is going to be around $700. I read about a class action suit regarding 2006-2009 Prius' headlights and that Toyota knows there is a problem with them. I believe there should be a recall because of my harrowing experience and those of many others.

- Burney, CA, USA

problem #20

Apr 012011

Prius

  • miles
Generally speaking, thousands of Prius owners complain about their radio reception to Toyota to no avail (I have written the CEO 2-3 times already and had phone conversations with customer service as well as an exchange of emails) only to be told to contact the dealership - which has no way of assisting with this problem). Poking around on the internet, it seems to be a "grounding" problem - which has now been fixed I understand in subsequent models. This points to the fact they knew it was a problem. I contend it is a safety issue if you are not able to hear your radio in case of emergency - especially in a rural area such as ours (olympic peninsula) where hearing emergency warnings while driving could be considered life and death in certain circumstances. As you will see in this website, there are plenty of people who would be interested in a class action lawsuit: www.soultek.com/blog/2005/11/Toyota-Prius-hybrid-car-radio-problems.html for more info.

- Sequim, WA, USA

problem #19

Apr 012011

Prius

  • miles
Generally speaking, thousands of Prius owners complain about their radio reception to Toyota to no avail (I have written the CEO 2-3 times already and had phone conversations with customer service as well as an exchange of emails) only to be told to contact the dealership - which has no way of assisting with this problem). Poking around on the internet, it seems to be a "grounding" problem - which has now been fixed I understand in subsequent models. This points to the fact they knew it was a problem. I contend it is a safety issue if you are not able to hear your radio in case of emergency - especially in a rural area such as ours (olympic peninsula) where hearing emergency warnings while driving could be considered life and death in certain circumstances. As you will see in this website, there are plenty of people who would be interested in a class action lawsuit: www.soultek.com/blog/2005/11/Toyota-Prius-hybrid-car-radio-problems.html for more info.

- Sequim, WA, USA

problem #18

Apr 012011

Prius

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Generally speaking, thousands of Prius owners complain about their radio reception to Toyota to no avail (I have written the CEO 2-3 times already and had phone conversations with customer service as well as an exchange of emails) only to be told to contact the dealership - which has no way of assisting with this problem). Poking around on the internet, it seems to be a "grounding" problem - which has now been fixed I understand in subsequent models. This points to the fact they knew it was a problem. I contend it is a safety issue if you are not able to hear your radio in case of emergency - especially in a rural area such as ours (olympic peninsula) where hearing emergency warnings while driving could be considered life and death in certain circumstances. As you will see in this website, there are plenty of people who would be interested in a class action lawsuit: www.soultek.com/blog/2005/11/Toyota-Prius-hybrid-car-radio-problems.html for more info.

- Sequim, WA, USA

problem #17

Jul 262010

Prius

  • miles
We received a recall notice for our Toyota Prius. I wrote them a letter asking them to acknowledge that they were going to do only the mechanical modifications they described and not any work with the computer or electronics. Their response was to assign a subordinate to call me back and simply read my letter back to me. I want the courtesy of a written reply to the points I made in my letter before we leave our car in their hands. The California dept. Of Consumer Affairs bureau of automotive repair put me on hold for 20 minutes and then told me to contact you. The car is registered in my wife's name. Updated 01/31/11

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #16

Mar 232010

Prius

  • 76,600 miles
My 2005 Toyota Prius arbitrarily lost braking ability as I approached a ramp to enter another highway. Many lights went on including the red triangle with an exclamation point. I used the emergency brake to stop the car. I have been told that the skid control unit is broken and needs to be replaced. I will need to replace this part at a cost of $2200. Is this unit a safety threat?

- New Hartford, NY, USA

problem #15

Mar 292010

Prius

  • miles
2005 Toyota Prius. Consumer writes to express discontent regarding the dealership and the handling of recall repairs.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #14

Mar 242010

Prius

  • 242,000 miles
My 2005 Toyota Prius has a problem when I hit a bump when I am applying the brakes. The brakes momentarly stop funtioning. I never thought much about it thinking I hit a slick spot. I was talking to anothr 2005 Prius owner today who told me he had this problem, and that it is a know problem with the newer Prius. I just wanted you to know it is happening with the 2005 model as well.

- Pollock Pines, CA, USA

problem #13

Feb 132010

Prius

  • 41,727 miles
Continuation to incident# 10310144, the problem showed up at the dealer's service bay. The service technical people saw that but still wanted a separate diagnostic fee of $57 to tell me the real issue. I am sure they would have seen this before.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #12

Feb 082010

Prius

  • 25,000 miles
Car seizing up in 2005 Prius when I go over large bumps in the road-- have experienced this problem continuously over past 2 1/2 years since I bought the car in May 2007 with 19,000 miles. I have seen reports that this problem has been reported in the 2010 Prius and a very large recall is about to happen, but I just want you to be aware that I have experience the same problem in my 2005.

- Manhattan Beach , CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 192009

Prius

  • 86,000 miles
During a drive on US224 in Ohio, my husband was driving my 2005 Toyota on cruise control. After passing a vehicle, he attempted to slow down by braking but the car was still trying to accelerate. It took four iterations of pushing on the brake to finally make the car slow down. We were able to pull off of the highway and stop. During the incident, we could feel the pull of acceleration even when he was depressing the brake. If he let off of the brake the car would begin accelerating again. We did have an aftermarket floor mat on the driver side, however it is a very heavy, thick mat that does not move. We are 100% convinced that the floor mat was not on top of the accelerator pedal during this incident (as proven by the car finally slowing down and stopping with out the floor mat being adjusted).

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #10

Jul 182005

Prius

  • miles
We have a 2005 Toyota Prius. We have experienced the braking problem that has been noted with the 2010 models - the brakes seem to pause, especially when stopping on rough or slippery pavement. We had not reported this earlier, because we didn't know if this was just an illusion resulting from the hybrid system. Now that the recall is in full effect, we believe that this is the same defect that is being reported. This has been a consistent item since we bought the car in 2005. At this time, we have done nothing to correct the issue.

- Thiensville, WI, USA

problem #9

Jan 012010

Prius

  • miles
Wanted to let you know the problem with braking on rough pavement is not limited to the 2010 Prius. We have suffered with this problem on our 2005 Prius since the beginning

- Herndon, VA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?