Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
22 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,105 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Prius seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Aug 112016


  • 52,800 miles


The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Prius. While driving up a mountain at 20 mph, the contact stated that the tires lost traction and the vehicle slid off a mountain curve and crashed into a ditch. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the head and some deep tissue bruising. Medical attention was required. A police report was not filed. Due to the force of the crash, the seat belt remained buckled, but failed to restrain the contact. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The failure mileage was approximately 52,800.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #28

Aug 282014


  • 160,000 miles
"takata recall" in Aug 2014 I was involved in a head on collision where my air bags deployed. One of the injuries sustained was a fracture to my right fifth metacarpal bone caused by projectile shrapnel, most likely from the deployed air bag. The shrapnel was 2mm X 10mm, black and appeared to be plastic per the operative report by the surgeon who removed it. For such a light piece of plastic to cause this extensive a comminuted fracture, the projectile must have been traveling at a very high velocity most likely caused by the air bag's explosive force. VIN jtdkb20U973226161

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #27

Apr 102015


  • miles
I bought a used and regularly serviced 2007 Toyota Prius in September 2014 with 69,000 miles. This week of April 5th, the airbag symbol showed up on the dash along with the headlights not working properly. When I took the vehicle in to the local Toyota dealership, I was told that the steering wheel spiral coil was broken and ;that my airbag system was disabled. This happened at 85,000 miles. It cost me almost $500 to have this coil replaced. The service manager said this was simply due to normal wear and tear. I also have outside hatch rubber opener that is gooie and sticky and the hatchback door often will not open.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #26

Mar 262015

Prius 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


My car was hit at by an SUV at high speed on the passenger side while crossing an intersection (the SUV had run a red light). My car was then propelled front-first into the pole holding the street lights. None of my airbags deployed, although firefighters and police said that the sensors had been triggered. I sustained considerable contusions to my ribs, elbow, knees, and ankles. I have a torn tendon in my right ankle, and whiplash severe enough to require physical therapy. Firefighters said the crash was severe enough that if there had been a passenger, they would likely have died given the airbags did not deploy. Updated 04/13/15

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #25

Feb 012015

Prius 4-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that after becoming stuck on the railroad tracks, a train crashed into the vehicle and the front passenger side air bag failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to the owners home. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 180,000...updated 02/20/150 updated 04/06/15 updated 04/14/15

- Meadow Vista, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Jan 012015


  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that the front passenger seat air bag failed to activate when the seat was occupied. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 153,000.

- Chapel Hills, NC, USA

problem #23

Dec 082014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 248,000 miles


Passenger airbag sensor does not detect the presence of a passenger in the vehicle, regardless of weight. Passenger airbag sensor constantly reads "passenger off".

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 192014


  • 200,000 miles
My airbag did not deploy when I had an accident. What's the legal advice to file the complaint to Toyota?.....updated 12/15/15

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #21

Aug 102014


  • 133,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Toyota Prius. While driving 60 mph, the contact crashed the vehicle into a pickup truck. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and the vehicle was destroyed. The contact sustained a concussion and was hospitalized. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #20

May 152014


  • 90,352 miles
I have seen the recent recall related to many makes and models of Toyota's for the clock-springs or spiral cables in the steering wheel. This is a very important part of the car which provides the electrical connection for many components such as the steering wheel controls, horn, and air bags. I have heard of others with the same issues in their generation II Prius (2004-2009). My spiral cable has recently stopped working as well and seeing as this is a safety issue I believe Toyota should be responsible for correcting it.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #19

Jan 112014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 41,604 miles


Parking my Prius, my foot on the brake pedal, I hit a very small patch of black ice with the right front wheel. The car slanted briefly to the left--then there was a sudden surge of engine power. The car rushed over a mound of ice and snow, jumped the curb, rushed forward between a wall and a tree, narrowly missing it, and crashed into a parked Toyota truck facing outward from the curb. My Prius hit the heavy truck with enough force to knock it six feet for their North and three feet to the West. After impact, the engine continued to make a lot of noise, a sound I've never heard before in seven years of driving the car. It was attempting to surge past the truck, which I believe caused the most damage to the front left bumper of the car. I was stunned and didn't think to turn off the ignition before it quit on its own after perhaps ten seconds. The body was sheared back, strips of blue paint hanging in shreds. I crawled out the passenger side unhurt. (the air bags did not deploy.)

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #18

Feb 272013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
My vehicle was hit by a fault driver and my vehicle air bags never exploded. I have sustained injuries to my neck, wrist and back after this accident. My vehicle has gas pedal acceleration after the accident and when I put the brakes to stop or slow down the vehicle my vehicle jumps up and increases the speed. I fear that this faulty parts of brake or gas paddle could result in another serious accident. This is my very valued asset because it takes me to work and brings me back. I hope that Toyota will investigate my problem very seriously and very carefully. My injuries are very serious and long lasting and I am seeing doctors for the last 13 months. I need help very very soon. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Everett, WA, USA

problem #17

Oct 052012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 100,667 miles
At an intersection, the Prius was struck on the driver side by a 1999 Dodge Caravan. The front airbags in the Dodge deployed and the driver was not injured. The Prius' curtain and side airbags did not deploy. The Prius driver suffered head and brain injury, injuries to neck, upper torso and extremities. Information was supplied by legal representative.

- Lexington, MO, USA

problem #16

May 152013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 138,528 miles
After taking the vehicle in for a recall for a steering column issue, 3 of the buttons on the steering column fail to operate once the recall repair was complete. The dealer says it's an issue with the clockspring cable and are not willing to repair it at no cost.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #15

May 172013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
At approximately 11:20 am, I was waiting to have my car washed at a drive through car wash. A Chevrolet pickup truck had completed being washed and was stopped at the exit. The green light came on at the start of the car wash for me to proceed. I moved forward when suddenly the car lurched forward at what seemed to be top speed. I jammed my foot of the brake pedal and held it down but the car continued speeding. I eased the car into the left side wall of the car wash to slow down the momentum, but to no avail. I crashed into the back of the truck. The hood of the Prius went under the truck rear bumper. The air bags did not deploy. The Prius has been declared at total loss. The consumer stated neither the letter from Toyota nor the Bosch report indicated an examination of an electronic acceleration system. Updated 04/28/14

- Clarksville, MD, USA

problem #14

Apr 172013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while sitting at a stop sign, the vehicle was crashed into from the rear. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was transported to the hospital for treatment of a fractured clavicle. The vehicle was destroyed and towed from the scene. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. A police report was not filed. The approximate failure and current mileage was 56,000.

- Angels Camp, CA, USA

problem #13

Dec 242012


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that she shifted into park and exited the vehicle. Upon returning, the contact noticed that the vehicle independently shifted from park, rolled away and crashed into a pole while occupied with the contact's child. Upon impact, the air bags did not deploy. There were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 86,000.

- Alliance, NE, USA

problem #12

May 212010

Prius 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,923 miles
2007 Toyota Prius. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle throttle malfunction. The consumer stated the vehicle accelerated out of control and crashed into another vehicle. The consumer stated she had problems with the throttle being stuck open, prior to the accident. Also, the air bag light illuminated. The dealer found an open circuit in the spiral cable.

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 082012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 55,170 miles
The car was involved in a collision North of san antonio, Texas. The collision ended up being a total lose of the vehicle due to the frame being split, firewall bent and a broken windshield. My concern is the airbags did not deploy. The airbags not deploying with an impact of this nature could increase the likelihood of injuries. I believe a failure of safety equipment of this nature should be investigated to prevent possible future injuries or fatalities.

- Boerne, TX, USA

problem #10

Jun 272012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 33,623 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Prius. The contact stated the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the drivers seat air bag failed as a result and the air bag needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 33,623 and the current mileage was 33,724....updated 08-10-12 updated 08/14/2012

- Davidson , NC, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?