Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
21 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 3
Average Mileage:
53,803 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Prius seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Sep 032016

Prius

  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter was driving with a passenger in the front, on a town street and a vehicle pulled out in front of her. The impact was on her front bumper and hood pushing the side quarter panels back. The other vehicle was an older Pontiac grand pris, their airbags deployed. No airbags deployed on the Toyota Prius.why did the airbags not deploy?

- Meyersdale, PA, USA

problem #23

Jun 272016

Prius

  • 131,500 miles
I was impacted directly from the side, while in motion on a city street heading straight. I slightly swerved to the right. The other driver ran a stop sign from a cross street. The impact was hard enough to total the vehicle, and to bounce my head against the driver's side window, push me into a curb on the opposite side and cross traffic. The damage was at the majority toward the rear door, but impacted the center of the car and driver door enough where it was pushed an 1-inch and the driver door could not be opened. Firefighters at the scene were concerned that the curtain airbags did not deploy. I am also concerned. I would like to know if this is a defect that could involve other cars and other people in an accident.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #22

Jan 042016

Prius

  • 30,442 miles
Passenger side airbag light shows off when passenger is riding in passenger seat. Precision Toyota told me the weight limit is 80 pounds to turn on the airbag. My wife is between 90 and 95 pounds and sometimes the airbag will say on and other times it will say off. I had a 2015 Prius V for the last week and it has the same problem with the passenger airbag not turning on when my wife is present. This is a safety issue, because if something was to happen, then the passenger will be dead because the airbag did not work. When I went to pick up the car, one of the manager told me the airbag will not be active until the passenger is 150 pounds or more. Two people in the same dealership gave me different number for when the airbag will actually work and save the passengers life. I believe this is a design problem that has been around since 2008 and is still the same in the 2015 Prius V model that I had this past week. Please review and let me know what I can do to help you to get Toyota to fix this design problem with the passenger side airbag not being turned on when somebody is in the passenger seat. Thanks glen broderick, email: Reidbroderick@gmail.com cell phone 520-471-0708. Every time we drive around town, passenger airbag will be on sometimes and off other times. This is always happening when the vehicle is in motion on city streets and highways. This has been happening for years. Toyota wanted $ $129 to test. They did test and said that it is working per design. This design needs to be changed.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #21

Oct 232015

Prius

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hit - T-boned. Drivers side - front quarter pannel -knocked out- car totaled- four air bags in front- not one went off- want to know why "??" car was in motion......updated12/07/15

- Coloma, CA, USA

problem #20

Jan 012015

Prius

  • miles
Letter from senator nelson on behalf of constituent re 2008 Toyota Prius airbags. The consumer stated no one was able to tell her, if the vehicle was manufactured with takata air bags.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Jan 172015

Prius 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
2008 Toyota Prius pulled into the path of a pick up truck and was struck in the driver's door. Side air bags did not deploy.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #18

Oct 172014

Prius

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Prius. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle was involved in a head on crash and the air bags failed to deploy. It was unknown if any injuries were sustained or if a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

problem #17

Jul 172014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
This car was in an accident and the airbags did not deploy. The airbags did not deploy at all. The car was totaled.......updated 08/14/14

- Meadow Vista, CA, USA

problem #16

Jun 102014

Prius

  • 80,000 miles
My husband was T-boned on the drivers side of our 2008 Toyota Prius by a SUV going approximately 40 mph and not one air bag deployed. Thankfully the impact was near the front driver tire instead of directly on the door. The drivers side door was impacted and my husband had to wait for the fire department to pry open the door so he could get out of the vehicle. We bought this car brand new and it has never been in accident before...updated 12/09/15

- Oak Harbor, WA, USA

problem #15

Mar 312012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 55,960 miles
On 09/01/10, we took our 2008 Prius in because there were two times the car didn't stop when we used the brakes. I told the service manager, the car was accelerating on its own. It was scary and I feared an accident. After they worked on the car, I was told that it was the floor mats that interfered with the accelerator pedal. It didn't make sense to me because I had to put my foot under the pedal to raise it up since it was stuck. I was angry they completely ignored the fact the car was accelerating on its own and acted as though the problem was handled. On 03/31/12, w. manchester/hindry, before 2:00 P.M., it had drizzled, I stopped at a light, drove ahead and at a fork in the road I tapped my brakes to slow down on a curve. Instead, the car kept accelerating. I stepped on the brakes but the car did not respond. The car kept gaining speed! I was at least 3 car lengths behind other car, plenty of time to stop but the car accelerated no matter how hard I stepped on the brakes. It was terrifying! I realized I was going to crash and there was nothing I could do to prevent it. I rear ended the Mercedes, the airbags failed to deploy. I had 2 boxes of books in the trunk that hit the back of my seat and knocked down the rear seats from the impact. The car was towed. Damages: $5,988.79. Medical: $25,000. Next month, a cracked pump was discovered at firewall, due to the accident. The black box showed impact was at 35 mph, (35-27) mph, 0.02 sec. Injuries: Concussion, whiplash, back spasms, double-crush injury, ptsd, depression, migraines. I couldn't drive or start physical therapy for 4 mos., until 07/27/12. My therapist worked alot to relax my muscles, I had traction, bought a traction device $400. And 6 mos. Of chiropractic for muscle spasms. 12/08/12, I had a nerve-test, it was abnormal for a double-crush injury. Prescribed xanax for ptsd, anxiety.

- Lake View Terrace, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 312012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 55,960 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 09/01/10, we took our 2008 Prius in because there were two times the car didn't stop when we used the brakes. I told the service manager, the car was accelerating on its own. It was scary and I feared an accident. After they worked on the car, I was told that it was the floor mats that interfered with the accelerator pedal. It didn't make sense to me because I had to put my foot under the pedal to raise it up since it was stuck. I was angry they completely ignored the fact the car was accelerating on its own and acted as though the problem was handled. On 03/31/12, w. manchester/hindry, before 2:00 P.M., it had drizzled, I stopped at a light, drove ahead and at a fork in the road I tapped my brakes to slow down on a curve. Instead, the car kept accelerating. I stepped on the brakes but the car did not respond. The car kept gaining speed! I was at least 3 car lengths behind other car, plenty of time to stop but the car accelerated no matter how hard I stepped on the brakes. It was terrifying! I realized I was going to crash and there was nothing I could do to prevent it. I rear ended the Mercedes, the airbags failed to deploy. I had 2 boxes of books in the trunk that hit the back of my seat and knocked down the rear seats from the impact. The car was towed. Damages: $5,988.79. Medical: $25,000. Next month, a cracked pump was discovered at firewall, due to the accident. The black box showed impact was at 35 mph, (35-27) mph, 0.02 sec. Injuries: Concussion, whiplash, back spasms, double-crush injury, ptsd, depression, migraines. I couldn't drive or start physical therapy for 4 mos., until 07/27/12. My therapist worked alot to relax my muscles, I had traction, bought a traction device $400. And 6 mos. Of chiropractic for muscle spasms. 12/08/12, I had a nerve-test, it was abnormal for a double-crush injury. Prescribed xanax for ptsd, anxiety.

- Lake View Terrace , CA, USA

problem #13

Jan 142014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 187,411 miles
My brother was killed in a car wreck on 1/14/2014 as you can see from the article of what happened. Not one airbag went off during this wreck. There is video and pictures of the severity of the wreck. 54-year-old [xxx] was killed in a three-vehicle accident on I-75 Tuesday morning, January 14, 2014. [xxx] I-75 accident.according to Georgia state patrol, traffic was stopped in the northbound lanes of I-75, near exit 64, for an earlier accident. [xxx], of orlando, was either slowing or stopped in his Toyota Prius in the inside lane when a GMC Envoy crashed into the back of [xxx] Prius, forcing it into a stopped semi-truck in the middle lane. Tragically, [xxx] perished from his injuries. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Peyton, CO, USA

problem #12

Dec 012011

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Toyota Prius. Consumer writes in regards to air bags never deployed in accident. The consumer stated there was no need to keep sending recall letters, because the vehicle was totaled in an accident in December 2011. The consumer stated he struck the center guardrail, during a winter storm.

- Orleans, VT, USA

problem #11

Nov 012012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Passenger air bag light in instrument panel remains off even when an adult is in passenger seat, thus negating the deployment of air bag when other sensors might activate it. Nor does an un-buckled seat belt sensor activate the warning buzzer. Fyi similar problem. żą Toyota is recalling 11,153 of its 2012-13 Scion iq models because the passenger air bag may malfunction. In its report to the Agency, Toyota said the problem was because of a cable under the passenger seat that is part of the system that determines if a person is sitting in the seat and the air bag should be turned on. The report said the cable could be damaged by moving the seat fore and aft. That could either cause the air bag not to deploy in a crash or to deploy without being in a crash.

- Freeport, ME, USA

problem #10

Feb 262012

Prius

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling- letter to the secretary from re expressing concerns regarding Toyota safety problems note: Unable to view flash drive the consumer stated he was sitting at a red light when a 1997 Chevrolet Tahoe rear ended him. The Chevrolet destroyed the rear of the vehicle, slamming the right front of the vehicle into the shoulder concrete wall, pitching the vehicle up into the air on its right front roof and fender, sliding down 10-15 feet landing on its right side, coming to a stop between 70 to 80 feet from the stop line where he was hit. None of the air bags deployed and the seat belt tensioner did not keep his head from the hitting the roof. The consumer had a deep laceration on the top of his head, and a herinated disc in his neck.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #9

Jun 042012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
Driving on the freeway at 68 mph when the car in front of me suddenly slammed on their brakes. I also slammed on the brakes but was not able to stop and rear ended the other car. My hood was crumpled, and the front end was pushed in. Radiator fluid was leaking. The car was not drivable and had to be towed. The air bags never deployed.

- Mayfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #8

Apr 062012

Prius

  • miles
My husband hit a Jeep who went through his red light. We T-boned him, our air bags "did not" deploy. We were going 40 which is the posted speed. My husband hit the brakes but there was no way we could get stopped. We did get checked at the hospital. Thankfully we had minor bruises, but our 2008 Toyota Prius was totaled. The car took the impact well, seat belts kept us safe, as well our grandson's car seat but, the air bags didn't work.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #7

Apr 062012

Prius

  • miles
Cpsc# I1240212A. 2008 Toyota Prius. Consumer stated she and her husband were in a car accident. They had the green light and a vehicle ran through his red light. Her husband wasn't able to stop, and T-boned the other vehicle, and the air bags did not deploy. Their vehicle was totaled.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #6

Nov 162011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Pulling away from a stop sign, in the middle of the intersection, my 2008 Prius was T-boned by a 1994 van (traveling 35mph according to the driver). The van struck the center of the passenger door, crushing the door and door frame. The rear door is also damaged an unable to be opened. The rear seat passenger broke the window with her head and required staples, front passenger arm was smashed by the door, driver has whiplash. None of the airbags in the car deployed. The van's two front airbags deployed.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #5

Jan 112011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
In 2008, I bought the new Prius 2008. On January 11, 2008 I am driving with speed 35 mph and head-on crash it by a car from opposite direction with speed 40mph head on collision on 2/3 of the car from a driver side were damage, the engine split and an half. The car were total loss..but the airbag did not deploy. Call Toyota experience (1-800-331-4331) but they do not want to take any actions. I hit the steering wheel hard chip 2 of my teeth, loosing 4 and suffered neck, back, shoulder, and knee, cut and bruises.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?