Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,572 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 4 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #120

Jul 012013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles


This is related to report receipt date: Feb 09, 2010 (I bought the car used in may, 2013). NHTSA campaign number: 10V039000 component(s): Service brakes, air - this happens all the time when the conditions are right. I complained to Toyota at the time that this car should have been in the recall list - it does exactly as described in this campaign description...the brakes release when braking over bumps or slippery surfaces. The first time I took it in, they said they could find nothing wrong, and they were 'working as designed'. I called Toyota today after reading more about this recall, and they told me I would have to take to service and give them a ride to show them how it happens. I don't understand why this car wasn't included in the recall. Any suggestions or assistance" are you still getting complaints about this"

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #119

Sep 052011

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles
This is a chronic problem with the car: When it hits rough terrain, the brakes do not react properly. There is a hesitation between the time the brake pedal is hit and the time the car slows. (there was an earlier repair/recall for this issue, and the initial problem -- also brake-related -- was helped; but this hesitation problem -- only on gravel or rough terrain -- resulted.) it will cause an accident eventually.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #118

Jul 012014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I continue having this issue when braking over a bump or braking while turning. The car speeds up instead of slowing down when pressing the brakes. This is very dangerous issue and an cause an accident. I talked to Toyota who advice me to take it to the dealer. Dealer finds no trouble. I have reported this many times to my dealer and Toyota with nothing really done.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #117

Oct 152014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 40,590 miles


I continue to have a problem with braking when going over a bumpy surface. This has happened numerous times. Most recently, while driving over a bump in the road, I applied the brakes and the car lunged forward. Luckily, there was enough distance between my car and the car in front of me (which had also applied the brakes). I am afraid this will cause a serious accident someday. This has also happened at stop signs. I have complained to the dealership a few times and they act as if they donżżT know what I am talking about, which is ludicrous. I even mentioned the ECU recall/fix regarding the braking system and told them that my vehicle had the fix applied and they told me that the fix was not to address the problem I am describing. They insist that no one else has complained about it. I told them that I assume that they have been directed to tell customers that they know nothing about it. I see so many complaints regarding this issue and I don't understand why nothing is being done about it.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #116

Oct 142014


  • 148,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while driving down a hill at approximately 20 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the brakes failed to respond without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who diagnosed that the brake booster pump leaked nitrogen into the master cylinder brake booster assembly that caused the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign: 13V235000 (service brakes). The approximate failure mileage was 148,000.

- New Milford , CT, USA

problem #115

Dec 222010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
I purchased this car in 2010 after the 2010 brake malfunction recall. I was told the recall software update had been performed to my car. Despite that recall, my car continues to have the following problem on a consistent basis. Whenever braking at slow speeds, if I go over a bump or pothole while braking, the brakes disengage, the car lurches forward, and I have to slam on the brakes to get the car to slow down/stop. My understanding is that this problem was supposed to have been fixed by the prior recall.

- Somerville, MA, USA

problem #114

Sep 022013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles


Braking power is not consistent. Car is hard to stop. Need to push the pedal really hard to stop at speed. This started to get worst after the recall.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #113

Sep 022014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
Master brake cylinder and booster, $4700 repair.

- San Benito , TX, USA

problem #112

Sep 122014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
Even after having my vehicle repaired under the recall for the ABS braking issue in 2010, I continue to have braking problems when braking on uneven roads. 9/12/14 was my most recent incident when I came to a stop on a dirt road at an intersection and my vehicle lunged forward when I went over a hole in the road while braking. I was not going fast, maybe 15 mph, and there were no vehicles in front of me, but it could have resulted in a crash if there had been another vehicle in front of me at the intersection. Again, my vehicle has been serviced under the previous recall, but I continue to experience braking problems related to the ABS. Please re-open this investigation and issue another recall on this problem.

- Belleville, MI, USA

problem #111

Sep 032014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 64,900 miles
Upon braking if on a bumpy road or happen to hit a pothole the brakes feel like they are disengaged for a few seconds.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #110

Jul 162014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 91,965 miles


I would like to file this claim as the same incident described below happen two times in less than two years. This is a big safety issue which could have been fatal. -- first event occurred on 8/17/2012 (odometer 55899). Brake totally failed on a freeway and almost lost my life that day. Towed to the dealer and they replaced 1) break cylinder assembly pn#47050-47060, 2)gasket, break boost pn#44785-02060 & 3) break fluid. When asked to the dealer what the reason for the failure was, we were told that they do not know the cause and failed part was sent to the manufacturer for investigation. We requested to tell us the findings from the manufacturer but never heard back and soon after this incident Toyota had a recall for breaks. -- the second incident occurred on 7/16/2014 (odometer 91965) and same brake failure occurred again as described above.this time dealer replaced 1) break cylinder assembly pn#47050-47140, 2) gasket, brake boost pn#44785-02060 & 3) break fluid. Please note that the second time the brake cylinder assembly pn# is different. We asked the dealer again what was the reason for failure of the same part again but did not get a clear answer from them. We wrote several emails to the dealer but no response yet as of today (8/19/14). I am a very unhappy customer. What will Toyota do if this happens again" soon our warranty will expire and if this happens again which is a Toyota's existing problem, how it will be covered" -- hope to hear soon from Toyota.

- Dublin, CA, USA

problem #109

Aug 082014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 50,260 miles
Vehicle continued forward with no braking for 2 seconds after applying the brakes. Vehicle did not stop in time to avoid striking the vehicle in front. Front bumper was dented and punctured by striking the trailer hitch on the car ahead. No damage to other car. Brake booster was replaced last year under recall for same problem. Repair has done nothing to correct the problem. The same problem has occured intermittently before and after the "fix". brakes momentarily fail to activate every so often, with no particular pattern or frequency. Dealer was notified, and stated that unless we can duplicate the problem for them, they cannot provide any repair or assistance. Becoming uneasy about using the car. Will probably trade it in for something different, which is not what we really want. Would like to get it fixed, as we like the car. Not trying to be difficult, but felt that it should be reported.

- Hallowell, ME, USA

problem #108

Aug 182010


  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that when he applied the brakes while driving 30 mph he heard a harsh abnormal sound. The noise was heard one thousand times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the brake boosters needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #107

Apr 132011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While driving 40 mph over a bump in the road, the vehicle lost braking capability for a few seconds. The failure occurred each time the vehicle was driven over a bump or pothole. The dealer adjusted the brakes, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 09/02/14

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #106

Sep 052013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Exiting from the highway, I slowed while I approached a stop sign. As the Prius went over a bump, deceleration was interrupted. The Prius momentarily seemed to lurch forward; but within a short time braking resumed. This is disturbing car behavior. If there was a car directly in front of me, I would have hit it.

- Northampton, MA, USA

problem #105

Jun 152014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I brought my 2010 Prius into the Toyota marin (California) dealer in January 2014 in response to their recall related to problems with stepping on the brake and having the Prius accelerate rather than stop. The corrective software was presumably installed. Fast forward to father's day, June 15, 2014. I am parking my Prius for a father's day brunch. I'm going about two miles per hour into a parking space. I put my foot on the brake. The car accelerates. I mentally double check that I have my foot on the brake. I do. Out of control, the car jumps the curb and smashes right into a tree. My wife asks if my foot is on the brake. I triple check. It still is--I haven't moved it. A week later I feel the trauma of constantly visualizing the possibility of having tried to stop at a cross walk and killing a family on the way to their father's day brunch. --it took three days of constant calling and dysfunctional extensions to connect with a Prius case manager. Then she informed me it would take me more than a month to have my car inspected and get an assessment. If I rented a car there would be no assurance it would be covered. --this problem happened after I responded to the recall. How can I trust a car that is automatically crashing after that precise problem has allegedly been addressed? --I just received (July 19, 2014) a letter from Toyota sales saying the car's brakes and accelerator were tested and "all is fine." However, in my and others' similar experiences the surge happens only occasionally. We bought the car used, have gone about 20,000 miles with it, and never had the problem. So a test even for a year at a time is irrelevant. --my "ask": since others share this experience and it could result in death, I want Toyota to sell this car for parts and recall the 2010 Prius until a solution can be found. I am shocked at Prius' irresponsibility.

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

problem #104

Jan 212010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Back in 2010, we noticed that, when braking, the car would lurch forward. This happened several times at random. At that time, we took the car in to fix the problem. Victory Toyota in canton, Michigan, told us that there was nothing wrong; their diagnosis and computers showed that no errors had occurred. We drove it for a short time, and it continued to have the issue. We took it back in to the dealership, they again said that there was nothing wrong. They said that they took it for a test drive, and nothing happened. We were made to think that the issue was in our heads, so we took the car back and tried to deal with the issue, even though it continued over the years. Finally, this year, we nearly got into two separate accidents as a direct result of this sudden lurching forward. I took the car back into the service department of victory Toyota, and was told bluntly that there was never a recall for this issue, that, unless I could recreate the problem with a technician in the car, I was making things up. That is what lead to this complaint. I did some research and found that the car had indeed been recalled for this brake issue with recall id # 68066. So they lied about the recall history for my car. Also, recreating something that happens at random during a finite time period, such as a test drive, is improbable, and to make servicing the car contingent on that test drive is ludicrous. I am hoping that, by lodging this complaint something will get done before my wife, me, or/and someone else is/are killed because of this issue.

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #103

Jun 012012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
When braking at a slow speed the car will suddenly stop braking, with brakes still being applied, whenever a rough surface is encountered, for example bumps or potholes. This loss of braking happens everytime a rough surface is encountered during braking and is easy to replicate.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #102

Dec 172009

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2010 Prius, when the brakes are applied, the brake pedal is even with the accelerator pedal. I find this a dangerous situation. If I were to apply the brakes suddenly, my foot could possibly hit the accelerator pedal and the brake pedal at the same time possibly causing an accident! I complained to the Toyota dealer, and was told the brake pedal is lower on the Prius then conventional vehicles.I was always taught that the brake pedal should never be at the same height or below the accelerator pedal for safety reasons. Toyota appears to ignore this safety issue. Haven't auto mfg. Learned anything with GM ignition problem" when is the government going to do something about these auto design defects? are they always going to wait for people to get into accidents and possibly get killed before they act"

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #101

May 222014


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated while driving in reverse approximately 2 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle failed to stop. The vehicle crashed into a pedestrian and also an occupied parked vehicle. The contact did not sustain an injury however, the pedestrian suffered unknown injuries. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed that the battery amperage was defective. The vehicle remained at the dealer for further investigation related to the braking issue. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Simi Valley , CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?