10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,900 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 5 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #108

Aug 182010

Prius

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that when he applied the brakes while driving 30 mph he heard a harsh abnormal sound. The noise was heard one thousand times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the brake boosters needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #107

Apr 132011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While driving 40 mph over a bump in the road, the vehicle lost braking capability for a few seconds. The failure occurred each time the vehicle was driven over a bump or pothole. The dealer adjusted the brakes, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 09/02/14

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #106

Sep 052013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Exiting from the highway, I slowed while I approached a stop sign. As the Prius went over a bump, deceleration was interrupted. The Prius momentarily seemed to lurch forward; but within a short time braking resumed. This is disturbing car behavior. If there was a car directly in front of me, I would have hit it.

- Northampton, MA, USA

problem #105

Jun 152014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I brought my 2010 Prius into the Toyota marin (California) dealer in January 2014 in response to their recall related to problems with stepping on the brake and having the Prius accelerate rather than stop. The corrective software was presumably installed. Fast forward to father's day, June 15, 2014. I am parking my Prius for a father's day brunch. I'm going about two miles per hour into a parking space. I put my foot on the brake. The car accelerates. I mentally double check that I have my foot on the brake. I do. Out of control, the car jumps the curb and smashes right into a tree. My wife asks if my foot is on the brake. I triple check. It still is--I haven't moved it. A week later I feel the trauma of constantly visualizing the possibility of having tried to stop at a cross walk and killing a family on the way to their father's day brunch. --it took three days of constant calling and dysfunctional extensions to connect with a Prius case manager. Then she informed me it would take me more than a month to have my car inspected and get an assessment. If I rented a car there would be no assurance it would be covered. --this problem happened after I responded to the recall. How can I trust a car that is automatically crashing after that precise problem has allegedly been addressed? --I just received (July 19, 2014) a letter from Toyota sales saying the car's brakes and accelerator were tested and "all is fine." However, in my and others' similar experiences the surge happens only occasionally. We bought the car used, have gone about 20,000 miles with it, and never had the problem. So a test even for a year at a time is irrelevant. --my "ask": since others share this experience and it could result in death, I want Toyota to sell this car for parts and recall the 2010 Prius until a solution can be found. I am shocked at Prius' irresponsibility.

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

problem #104

Jan 212010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
Back in 2010, we noticed that, when braking, the car would lurch forward. This happened several times at random. At that time, we took the car in to fix the problem. Victory Toyota in canton, Michigan, told us that there was nothing wrong; their diagnosis and computers showed that no errors had occurred. We drove it for a short time, and it continued to have the issue. We took it back in to the dealership, they again said that there was nothing wrong. They said that they took it for a test drive, and nothing happened. We were made to think that the issue was in our heads, so we took the car back and tried to deal with the issue, even though it continued over the years. Finally, this year, we nearly got into two separate accidents as a direct result of this sudden lurching forward. I took the car back into the service department of victory Toyota, and was told bluntly that there was never a recall for this issue, that, unless I could recreate the problem with a technician in the car, I was making things up. That is what lead to this complaint. I did some research and found that the car had indeed been recalled for this brake issue with recall id # 68066. So they lied about the recall history for my car. Also, recreating something that happens at random during a finite time period, such as a test drive, is improbable, and to make servicing the car contingent on that test drive is ludicrous. I am hoping that, by lodging this complaint something will get done before my wife, me, or/and someone else is/are killed because of this issue.

- Wayne, MI, USA

problem #103

Jun 012012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
When braking at a slow speed the car will suddenly stop braking, with brakes still being applied, whenever a rough surface is encountered, for example bumps or potholes. This loss of braking happens everytime a rough surface is encountered during braking and is easy to replicate.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #102

Dec 172009

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2010 Prius, when the brakes are applied, the brake pedal is even with the accelerator pedal. I find this a dangerous situation. If I were to apply the brakes suddenly, my foot could possibly hit the accelerator pedal and the brake pedal at the same time possibly causing an accident! I complained to the Toyota dealer, and was told the brake pedal is lower on the Prius then conventional vehicles.I was always taught that the brake pedal should never be at the same height or below the accelerator pedal for safety reasons. Toyota appears to ignore this safety issue. Haven't auto mfg. Learned anything with GM ignition problem" when is the government going to do something about these auto design defects? are they always going to wait for people to get into accidents and possibly get killed before they act"

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #101

May 222014

Prius

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated while driving in reverse approximately 2 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle failed to stop. The vehicle crashed into a pedestrian and also an occupied parked vehicle. The contact did not sustain an injury however, the pedestrian suffered unknown injuries. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. The technician informed that the battery amperage was defective. The vehicle remained at the dealer for further investigation related to the braking issue. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Simi Valley , CA, USA

problem #100

Aug 152013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Every time I run over a road bump at slower speeds (10-20 mph) with light tap on the brake to slow down, the car accelerates itself at the top of the bump. When I see the bump, I push the brake pedal to try to slow down but it accelerates instead at the top of the bump. I called Toyota dealer service dept and reported the incident. I am concerned for safety reasons. Thank you.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #99

Oct 162013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
I own a 2010 Toyota Prius which I bought in August 2013. On several occasions, approximately, 4-5 times a week, every time I run over a road bump or path hole at slower speeds (10-20 mph), the car accelerates itself. When I see the bump or path hole, I push the brake pedal to try to slow down but it accelerates instead. This has been happening to me since I purchase the vehicle, the most recent time this happened was today, Tuesday, June 3, 2014. Today's surge in the acceleration was more than before. I immediately called Toyota and reported the incident. I understand this has been an issue since this car was released in 2009-2010 and many other owners reported it in the past. I am concerned for safety reasons, kindly have Toyota address this issue as soon as possible. Thank you.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #98

Jan 062014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ever since acquiring this vehicle earlier this year, I have been experiencing loss of breaking for a second every time I hit a pothole and bumpy spot. It happens every other time. Upon goggling this problem, I learned that the problem was first reported to NHTSA way back in 2009. But I do not see any recalls related to this problem. Your website says you have received about 33 complains. Unless I missed something, is there any status report from Toyota or the recall that specifically addresses this problem? also, I live in the East coast, specifically in NJ. We had a brutal winter this year. In one incident, I was driving up a slightly elevated road (barely 2--5% incline) in a 25mph residential road with slightly slippery road (not really black ice per SE). I loss control and traction control lite up and started beeping. While trying to bring the car in control, my car ended up on the other side (thankfully there were no vehicles parked on the other side or any oncoming vehicles) and then shifted to the right but finally managed to bring it back in control. Other misc information: I learned about a recall earlier this year related to ECU board programming update from the news media (since I was a new owner, Toyota probably didn't have my information so never got recall notice) and I went to the dealer for update. I was hoping software update might also address pothole/loss of break problem but it has not helped.

- Carteret, NJ, USA

problem #97

Apr 172014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 102,500 miles
2010 Toyota Prius 2, depressing brake as I approach stop sign, hlt a small bump or pot hole. Car brakes release even though my foot is still on the brake. I lurch forward and have to stomp on the brakes. If there was a car in front of me or a pedestrian, I would probably would have hit them. I thought this problem was fixed in the last recall. Experiencing it everyday, I thought this problem was fixed in the last recall !!!!!!

- Rosedale , MD, USA

problem #96

May 152014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 100,800 miles
Driving down street slight down hill, depressing brake as I approach stop sign, hlt a small bump or pot hole in street. Car brakes release even though my foot is still on the brake. I lurch forward and have to stomp on the brakes. If there was a car in front of me or a pedestrian, I would probably would have hit them. I thought this problem was fixed in the last recall !!!!!!

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #95

Jan 012010

Prius

  • 2,000 miles
When braking, if a pothole or bump in the road is hit, the car seemingly jerks forward/accelerates for a split second. This happens on almost a daily basis and has been experienced by all drivers of the car.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #94

Apr 262014

Prius

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was driving 10 mph in a parking lot and made a left turn when another vehicle crashed into the front passenger door. The contact depressed her brakes immediately but the brakes failed, causing the contact to drive over a stop sign, a curb and then crashing into two apartment A/C units. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The contact was awaiting a ruling from her insurance adjuster to determine whether or not the vehicle would be deemed as destroyed. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Woodbridge , VA, USA

problem #93

Jan 082010

Prius

  • 6,000 miles
Continual braking problems with my car. At low speeds applying the brakes on a slippery or bumpy surface, there is a complete lack of braking for a very short period of time. The car seems to accelerate. This was supposedly fixed by a Toyota recall. (ssc aob) which I had performed. Still have the problem. I have complained many times to different Toyota service departments. The answer is always they cannot duplicate the problem. (this last time they told me that, and they didn't even road test it.) have complained to Toyota corporate 5/26/2010, file #[xxx]. they called me back, on 6/7/2010, still no fix yet, will contact me when a fix is available. I usually drive this car, my wife drove it today, and it happened to her. Scared her to death, does not want to drive the car anymore. Help! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Manchester, CT, USA

problem #92

Apr 182014

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles
If the vehicle hits a pot hole while slowing down, there's a sudden loss of braking power and the vehicle moves a few feet forward. The vsc light comes on at the same time. I'd noticed this a few times in the past but with the roads deteriorating after a bad winter, the pot holes are bigger and this is very prominent and scary. Going to take to the dealer for inspection. I feel it's definitely an issue with the braking system.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #91

Nov 052012

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles
ODI # 10556900 further incidents with my Prius.

- Chatham, LA, USA

problem #90

Nov 052012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 23,717 miles
When parking, my 2010 Prius accelerated forward causing it to go over a curb form damaging the front bumper. Unexpected acceleration has caused four accidents damaging my car. I have records of these repairs. The hybrid system went out 8/30/2013 and in March,2014 the back brakes fell off: No bolts, pads, caliber, fluid were in place when it was towed to robbins Toyota in texarkana, tx. The front right booster was blown out while in this shop. My vehicle there over a month for various reasons.

- Chatham, LA, USA

problem #89

Mar 102010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
This has occurred on multiple incidents. This car does not stop properly on rough roads. When hitting a pothole, bump, manhole cover, rough road while applying the brakes, instead of stopping, the car surges forwards approximately 5-10 feet as though there were no brakes. Eventually, the brakes work and the car stops. But it can be really scary. I have taken it to Toyota several times, but they cannot "replicate the incident." Basically, I think they drive it around the block and it doesn't happen. It is always worse with the summer tires vs the studded winter tires. They say it has to do with the regen brakes switching to the anti-locks, but I regularly drive rental cars with anti-locks for work in other cities, and I know what anti-locks feel like. I have never felt the "chatter" one feels when the anti-locks kick on. I do not believe the anti-locks work properly on this car. On May 3, 2012, I had to replace the right rear brake (rotor, plate, pads) due to unexpected corrosion. My car had ~17-18,000 miles on it and was only 1.5 years old! I have never had to do this on any other car. Now at 27, 000 miles, mendenhall Toyota says I need to replace the rear brakes again. I just replaced the front brake pads last week. But there is a nasty squeal that I reported to them last week and they did nothing. Either they are ripping me off or the brakes on these cars are defective and dangerous. Please do something. Toyota refuses to listen.

- Auke Bay, AK, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?