10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,900 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 6 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #88

Apr 102014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Applying brakes, either gradually or with force, while front left or front right tire travels over a pothole or sunken manhole cover results in temporary (< 1 second) complete loss of braking power. Brake pedal is depressed through the entire duration of the incident. Loss of braking power results in driver applying brake with more force. When brakes resume power, the increased force results in a sudden drop in speed. This incident increases the risk of a rear end collision either to a vehicle in front or from a vehicle behind the Prius.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #87

Apr 162011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 1,200 miles
When applying light to moderate braking in preparation to make a right turn, I went over some bumpy pavement and the car seemed to lurch forward. It was probably a loss of braking rather than actual acceleration, but it was very disconcerting and I'm lucky it didn't cause an accident. I now have over 49,000 miles on the car and this has happened on quite a few occasions. I know there was a recall on some 2010 Prius vehicles for this problem but my car was not recalled. My dealer says there is no "software fix" for this problem. I find it unacceptable that Toyota doesn't have a solution for this as it is a real safety issue. It's just pure luck that I haven't been involved in an accident with possible injuries or worse. I intend to pursue this again when I bring the car in for the 50,000 mile service and inverter recall, but I'm not very hopeful. Maybe if more owners lodge a complaint on this site, Toyota will be forced to correct this issue.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #86

Mar 152014

Prius

  • miles
As I was approaching a red light I applied the brakes and then shortly after hit a pot hole and the car lunged forward as if accelerating on it's own. Fortunately there wasn't another vehicle in front of me as I would have most definitely rear-ended it. I almost shot into the intersection and most certainly shot past the normal stopping spot for waiting at a red light. Scary incident to say the least.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #85

Mar 012011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes on vehicle occasionally momentarily disengages when I hit a bump, particularly on a slipper surface, while braking at low or moderate braking. This has happened multiple times. It is very obvious when this happens. Recently it happened with my wife in the car, I was braking moderately, the brakes fully disengaged for about a second, when they did I increased pressure on the brake pedal and the car severely lurched when the brakes re-engaged. The 2010 Prius had a recall for this, but mine is late in the model year and was not subject to that recall. Toyota usa and the dealer, of course, says there is not a problem and that they cannot do anything about it.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #84

Mar 212014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I came to a red light and was braking and as it almost came to a complete stop it jerked forward. Thankfully there wasn't a car in front of me otherwise I would of hit it. I'm taking it in soon. I don't drive it everyday and when I do it's less than a mile.

- Kettering, OH, USA

problem #83

Feb 042013

Prius

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that when braking to a stop, abrupt force had to be applied to the brakes in order for the vehicle to respond. The vehicle would slide abnormally and there was a decrease in braking distance. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number:13V235000 (service brakes) and was serviced however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was made aware of the brake failure numerous times. The vehicle was not fully repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 10000.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #82

Feb 132010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 4,614 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Please let me state that I am extremely happy with the dealership that I bought the car from. All services from oil changes to repairs have done by this dealer only. But ever since I purchased this vehicle, I have been constantly complaining about a strange braking issue. When I am traveling 25 mph or above and hit any kind of imperfection in the road ( ie. Railroad track, dip, pothole, manhole cover etc.) my brakes disengage for a split second. I will still have my foot on the brake and go over imperfection and for a brief second the car surges forward rapidly and then the brake engages again. I have complained about this more than 3 times. All three times the dealer says that they can not repeat this issue. I now have 70,000 miles on the car and this is still happening. Although I am the primary user of this vehicle, my wife refuses to drive the car calling it unsafe. Today 3.25.2014 I have dropped off the car at the dealer for a recall and I have mentioned the problem again, my service adviser is now telling me that this recall (software update for motor generator ECU and power management ECU) should take care of the problem.) he explained that they are updating the software brake stop technology. The above recall letter explains the condition that is being remedied and does not translated to the conditions that I am complaining about. Please help me with this serious issue.

- Whippany, NJ, USA

problem #81

Sep 012010

Prius

  • 100 miles
Since we have had the 2010 Prius, when we drive it over a bump or rough road, usually at a low speed, and apply the brake simultaneously, the car seems to accelerate briefly. I told my Toyota dealer about it the first time we brought it in for service, but they said they'd never heard of something like this. I try to avoid braking when I go over bumps, but I worry that one day I will his something of someone on the other side. The weird acceleration can be felt by the passenger too.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #80

May 172011

Prius

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph on a bumpy road, he depressed the brake pedal but the vehicle lunged forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection but they could not determine the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000....updated 02-03-15

- Merrillville, IN, USA

problem #79

Feb 242014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 58,706 miles
On Monday February 24th 2014 my 2010 Toyota Prius, hybrid inverter failed while I was driving and my car suddenly stopped on the road. I looked on the instrument panel and the check hybrid system was illuminated. The car would not start. I decided to call a toll truck company to take me to the nearest Toyota dealer. Once I arrived the service advisor informed me, the 2010 Toyota Prius has two active safety recalls. I was never notified. The two safety recalls are the hybrid inverter & brake booster pump assembly. Today is Thursday February 27th 2014 and the Toyota dealer has failed to repair and return my car. The Toyota dealer stated this is a safety recall, they need permission from Toyota headquarters to approve parts. I pleaded with the Toyota dealer to provide me with a vehicle, while I wait, they refused.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #78

Feb 072014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When my husband was driving out of the parking lot in charlotte on Friday 02/07, all 3 lights - brake, ABS, skid control lights all went up. When he stepped on the brake, he didn't feel anything. Luckily he was just getting out of the parking lot, so he was driving slowly. When he stepped all the way down on the brake, it had this loud metal rattling noise, and he was able to stop. We towed the car to town and country Toyota on Saturday, the assistant service manager said he's never seen it before, and the error code shown during diagnosis is a code they've never seen. The message asked them to contact Toyota technical service. On Monday 02/10, the dealer called and told us that it will cost over $4500 to fix it. We bought the car in Feb 2011 as brand new car, so it's just 3 years old. I then contacted Toyota customer service, and requested that Toyota covers the repair. I was told that there is no recall program related to this problem, and that if I run into the same situation again, or other people run into the same issue, then Toyota might consider a recall, and would refund me for the repair. This is a very dangerous situation that I hope I'll never run into it again ever! it just seems Toyota is very cold and indifferent to people's safety.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #77

Feb 122014

Prius 4-cyl

  • 86,400 miles
The ABS/brake/stability lights are "on" Prius dash. The brake lost pressure and mushy. The brake must be pumped a few times to get pressure and to stop the car. Either this is ABS accumulator(just found out there is a recall while getting dealer appointment) failure or brake master cylinder failure. There is no fluid leak visible outside or indicator light but the fluid is almost empty in the reservoir. I don't have dealer diagnosis at this point yet. I'm not sure if the accident I have on 1/27/2014 that I've rear-ended another vehicle while traveling about 30-35mph and tried to stop but the car did not stop and bumped into the car in front. Fortunately, there is injury or major damages. At that time I didn't think of it that the brake may have issue or not but thinking back the brake didn't have enough bite to stop even though the car is traveling slow enough and there is ample distance. As far as I remember I do not feel the ABS kicking in either. Hopefully, I'll find out more from dealer service. Thanks.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #76

Oct 102013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
On October 10th, 2013 at 7 pm, I noticed several brake lights, ABS, and sliding sign light came on when I started my car. I thought it was some kind of electrical glitch so I turned my car off and turned it back on. The lights stayed same. My husband who sat on the passenger side looked into the manual book and told me those lights were indicated for brake system. We decided to go home to figure out what we needed to do. As soon as I started to drive, I noticed brake pedal was much lower than it usually is and also noticed brake was not working. My car kept moving even when I pressed the brake all the way. At that moment, I knew I had to take my car to dealer right away. There were no warning signs or noise for a driver to notice before the whole brake system was completely fail to perform. In January 2013, Toyota recalled many Prius in same model and same yr as mine for total break system failure. Even though my VIN number was not under their recall list, my car's brake system broke down completely to function due to same reasons Toyota recalled many Prius 2010 this year. Toyota refused to fix my car under their recall system warranty because my VIN number is not under their recall list. Toyota dealer charged me $4300 to replace the whole brake system for my car and it took 4 weeks to find the parts in North America to fix my car. It cost me another $1000 to rent a car while my Prius at Toyota dealer to find the parts to fix it. I was fortunate enough that my brake system didn't blow out on me when I was driving 75mph on freeway. I'm sure there are many other Prius 2010 have brake system failure like mine even though they were not under their recall list.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #75

Feb 032014

Prius

  • miles
The car in front of me stopped abruptly and I slammed on my brakes. I held them to the floor and the car continued at the same speed into the rear end of the car in front of me. I was at least 1 and 1/2 car lengths away when I slammed on the brakes. I have been told by state farm insurance that there was a recall on the 2010 Prius. I was told my my Toyota car dealer that my car was built in March 2010 and thus was not part of the recall. I purchased this car in 11/13. Is there a way to verify exactly which day my car was built?

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #74

Sep 172013

Prius

  • 58,000 miles
This happened more then once, all pretty much the same way. While driving approximately 30 mph, applying the brakes coming to a stop and traveling over a rough road the brakes feel like they release and the vehicle does not stop. After the vehicle passes the rough are I have to release the brakes and reapply pressure to the brake peddle for the vehicle brakes to reengage and stop the forward momentum. Last month when I took the vehicle to dealer in olympia wa, I asked them to check for any recalls and make a note of the issue. This issue has almost cause an accident.

- Dupont , WA, USA

problem #73

Nov 122013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 54,601 miles
I believe the NHTSA should investigate whether Toyota has understated the number of 2010 Prius cars with potentially faulty brake accumulator pumps. The company recalled thousands of the cars manufactured between June and October, 2009. My dealer recently told me that my 2010 Prius, manufactured in December, 2009 " just two months later ? has essentially the same problem. They informed me that this is a ?safety concern? and that the pump should be replaced ?as soon as possible, ? at a cost of over $4,000. But because my car was manufactured two months after the last cars covered in the recall, they have refused to pay for the replacement. I am very doubtful of the idea that problem affecting my car is different from the defect resulting in the recall. First, the key issue is essentially identical: Contaminated fluid that could result in a loss of braking power. Second, the car is the same model and year as those recalled, just manufactured a couple of months later. Third, this sort of repair ? the need to replace a single, very expensive component less than four years after purchase ? ought to be rare. If it"S not, this suggests a systematic difficulty.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #72

Oct 292013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 21,120 miles
Reversing into my driveway which is a slope driveway. Trying to go slow as possible. When try to stop the car with brakes the car did not stop. Causing a crashed through my garage door which was close at that time.

- Richmond Hill, NY, USA

problem #71

Oct 022013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Upon braking over a bump, pothole, wet leaves and/or any combination of the aforementioned circumstances, the Prius accelerates forward, thus creating a very unsafe driving condition. Since I originally purchased the vehicle, it has done this on numerous occasions. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle and am afraid that this braking issue may result in an accident that otherwise would have been a non-issue for any other vehicle. In my 19+ years of driving, I have never had a vehicle do this while braking. I, therefore, implore the ntsb to dutifully carry out its mission statement of protecting motorists by forcing Toyota to recall said vehicle in order to properly remedy this issue before preventable accidents occur and lives are potentially lost.

- Northport, NY, USA

problem #70

Aug 212013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in and repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 13V235000 (service brakes). After the repair was performed, the contact was driving approximately 25 mph when the brake pedal was abnormally traveled to the floor board, and the brake and ABS light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the technician stated that the brakes would have to be bled. The brakes were bled however, the failure persisted. The dealer also replaced the brake booster and master cylinder twice. The brake power stroke sensor was also replaced but none of the repairs were able to correct the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 12/24/13

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #69

Sep 032013

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Prius. Consumer writes in regards to unsatisfactory customer service at dealership. The consumer felt she was dealt with in a cavalier, disrespectful manner with no regard for her time, after making an appointment at the dealer for a recall issue. The vehicle was not ready at the time she was promised it would be.

- Mountain Home, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?