Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,547 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments

problem #19

May 082012

Prius 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While applying the brakes to stop at an intersection one of the front tires was over a manhole cover and the car skidded over it like I was braking on a patch of ice. As soon as I was past the cover the brakes engaged and stopped the car. I noticed this occurring every time I would brake on an uneven surface where there was space between one of the front tires and pavement. I had bought the same make, model and year vehicle for my son 11 months later and noticed the same problem while test driving it. When I questioned the salesman about it I was told that it was the way the ABS works and that it was normal. On 11/20/2014 while checking the airbag recall list I noticed a recall for the same problem that I was having, recall announced 2/9/2010, NHTSA ref # 10V03900 so I called Toyota customer service 1-800-331-4331 and was told that neither cars' VIN# showed in the recall so it could not be happening and I would not be covered under the recall. They referred me to a Toyota dealer who told me that the fix which was (reprogramming of ABS control unit module) would not covered in the extended warranties of either cars. I should not be financially responsible for the diagnostics and repairs of a known safety problem which had a recall. I understand that it is not the dealers' fault and they shouldn't be held financially responsible either.

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #18

Jun 132013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 37,012 miles
When braking while approaching stop sign having slowed to ~10 mph, I encountered a bumpy section of road. The brakes feel like they released for ~1 sec causing the vehicle to lurch forward before they (brakes) kicked in again. This has happened 5-10 times since I bought the car used from the Toyota dealer in 4/2013. My complaint mirrors those that resulted in the recall below but my Toyota dealer says, based on my VIN that my car was not affected. Report receipt date: Feb 09, 2010 NHTSA campaign number: 10V039000 component(s): Service brakes, air all products associated with this recall vehicle makemodelmodel year(s) ¿¢lexushs2010 ¿¢toyotaprius2010 details 17 associated documents manufacturer: Toyota motor North America, Inc. Summary: Toyota is recalling certain model year 2010 Toyota Prius and Lexus hs250H passenger vehicles. Customers have experienced inconsistent brake feel after ABS actuation during slow and steady application of the brakes on rough or slick road surfaces. Stopping distances may be increased compared with a customer's expectation for a given pedal force. Consequence: Vehicle stopping distances may increase relative to a customer's expectation increasing the risk of a crash. Remedy: Dealers will rewrite the programming of the ABS control unit free of charge. The safety recall began on March 3, 2010, and is expected to be completed in late March 2010. Owners may contact Toyota at 1-800-331-4331 and Lexus at 1-800-255-3987.

- Conklin, NY, USA

problem #17

Jul 012013

Prius 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
This is related to report receipt date: Feb 09, 2010 (I bought the car used in may, 2013). NHTSA campaign number: 10V039000 component(s): Service brakes, air - this happens all the time when the conditions are right. I complained to Toyota at the time that this car should have been in the recall list - it does exactly as described in this campaign description...the brakes release when braking over bumps or slippery surfaces. The first time I took it in, they said they could find nothing wrong, and they were 'working as designed'. I called Toyota today after reading more about this recall, and they told me I would have to take to service and give them a ride to show them how it happens. I don't understand why this car wasn't included in the recall. Any suggestions or assistance" are you still getting complaints about this"

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #16

Oct 292010

Prius

  • 13,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am an owner of a 2010 Toyota Prius that was recalled for brake problems. The automobile jolts forward for a split second when the brakes are applied and the automobile also passes over a bump or pothole. I took the automobile back to the dealer pursuant to the recall to be fixed. The dealer did not fix the problem. The problem remains even after the recall and supposed remedy. I have read that others have the same issue, and the problem has not been corrected by the recall in other chatrooms. I am sure that you are aware that the recall did not resolve the problem.

- Union City, NJ, USA

problem #15

Aug 152010

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
Same as everyone else: When braking while turning over uneven pavement, brakes seem to accelerate or loosen temporarily. So when is NHTSA going to do something about this" or are they waiting for a "significant" number of deaths first"

- Arcadia, CA, USA

problem #14

Feb 092010

Prius

  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The vehicle was repaired for the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V039000, service brakes, air antilock control unit/module. Upon receiving the vehicle he was driving approximately 30 mph when he applied the brakes while driving over a bumpy surface. Once he drove over the bumpy service the brakes stopped working. He was forced to apply pressure to the brakes in order to slow the vehicle down. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on four occasions where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 1,500 and the current mileage was 11,102. The VIN was unavailable.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #13

Apr 182010

Prius

  • 17,966 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After taking my 2010 Prius in for the recall fix on April 1, 2010, the vehicle continued to exhibit safety defects. I reported this to the dealer who reported it to corporate and arranged for a field tech to analyze the vehicle on April 13th. They said we would hear from Toyota with in two weeks I never heard back from the dealer so I called the dealer last week. Dealer had not heard back. I filed under the lemon law. Then dealer informed me yesterday 5/17 that the car was healthy and there is nothing more they can do. My car experienced the same brake failure this morning, turning into a parking lot.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #12

May 112010

Prius

  • miles
I have a 2010 Prius and I have the braking problem that was recalled for a software update. I had the software update performed and I still have a loss of braking control when I go over a bump in the road.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #11

Mar 312010

Prius

  • 11,000 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Prius and had it taken back to the dealership for the recent recall. However, I am still experiencing the same problems as before with the car. Whenever I have gone over a bump the car feels like it "jumps" forward and loses a little control.

- Canton, MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 282010

Prius

  • 888 miles
2010 Prius still accelerates after "fix".

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #9

Mar 202010

Prius

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Re: 2010 Toyota Prius iv; on February 27, 2010, I visited the Toyota santa monica service department to have the ABS software update installed. Since purchasing my vehicle in September 2009, up until the date of the software update, I experienced the inconsistent feel of the brakes usually once per week. However, since the software update, in the first week alone, the inconsistent feel occurred seven times, with the most alarming incident occurring during my morning drive to work on Friday, March 5th. I was driving on pico boulevard just past avenue of the stars, gently tapping on my brakes down the hill for a stop, when the car briefly accelerated and almost rear-ended the vehicle in front of me. Additionally, I experienced the brief acceleration twice while braking for pedestrians at crosswalks last week. Now, I am experiencing the slipping sensation with the brakes about 2 - 3 times per week. I have calling Toyota toll-free customer service nineteen times, but each time received an automated message stating that the company was experiencing high call volume and would be unable to answer my call. I sent two faxes on March 6th, asking the company to arrange a second service appointment to repair the brakes. I have yet to receive any type of response from the company. Today, on March 20th, I called Toyota santa monica to describe the problem and request a second service appointment. While driving during my lunch break today, I again had the brakes slip on me. I spoke with a service supervisor at Toyota santa monica at 500 pm today to ask for a second appointment. He decided to insult my intelligence and tell me that what I was experiencing is a normal feel of the ABS brakes. This is unacceptable! I want the car repaired. If Toyota cannot prevent this inconsistent feel and slipping sensation in my brakes, then I was my purchase contract to be completely dissolved. I will not continue to finance a lemon and have Toyota lie to me about its safety.

- Marina Del Rey, CA, USA

problem #8

Mar 032010

Prius

  • 5,100 miles
My vehicle surged forward while I applied the brake and was traveling over a small patch of rough surface. It felt like the gas pedal had been stomped, but I was only using the brakes.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #7

Nov 252009

Prius

  • 600 miles
I have been having braking failure since the first week I brought the car home. I complained about it to Toyota ardmore, where I had bought the car, and asked them to check it out. Specifically, I found it difficult to brake on wet surfaces after rain. Because I was bringing the car in the first week I took possession for another issue, I was told this would be looked into. Afterward, I was told there was no problem. But the issue of faulty braking continued. My son was driving the car and hit a pothole and found it difficult to regain control of the car. This past week with major snowfall in the philadelphia region, the car has become virtually undrivable. It hits icy patches and skids forward when we try to brake. I have two additional messages with Toyota ardmore asking them to address this problem. I have not yet heard back from the,

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #6

Oct 122009

Prius

  • 4,500 miles
2010 Toyota Prius - driving on Alabama state highway closer to nashville, tn we hit a deer. This was on Oct 12, 2009 around 8:30 am in the morning. The road was very empty and clear visibility. The deer came in from the left side of the road from the oncoming traffic and jumped into our lane. I had clear visibility of the deer and applied sudden brakes...we hit the deer and had extensive damage on the car. We never thought it might be an issue with the car...but now with so much of scrutiny going on with this new Prius, we do want to bring to the attention of your organization that from day 1 of purchasing the car the brakes are really funky. We had an SUV before and compared to that this car is very very sensitive on the brakes. If we are going in at high speed and brake suddenly it does not come to an abrupt halt and we always thought that is way these cars were. I never had a new car and never could imagine something like a break issue. So coming to the deer hit I feel now in hind sight that we had enough time and distance to avoid hiitting the animal and could not stop on time. The car took an extensive damage and we got it repaired at a Toyota dealer ship in nashville and took a rental car home. The car looks great like a new one but the brake is still the same. On low speeds if I break it feels like I have placed really hard/slammed on the brakes and on high speed the car definetly needs lot of time to stop

- Weddington, NC, USA

problem #5

Feb 062010

Prius

  • 1,360 miles
While driving eastbound on moorpark street, approaching dixie canyon avenue, I braked in preparation to make a right hand turn, and the brakes released when I hit a small pot hole. The brakes re-engaged approximately 1-2 seconds later.

- Sherman Oaks, CA, USA

problem #4

Dec 012009

Prius

  • miles
When I brake while going over a speed bump, the car lunges forward. Please note: I really am not sure of the date. I bought the car in July of 2009. This has happened to me a few times and it was such a bizarre combination (accelerating while braking) that I really didn't clue in to it as a car issue right away. When I saw press on it and discovered that it was an actual issue and not a "fluke" I called the service department of the dealer where I got the car (North hollywood Toyota). They basically refused to even discuss it, saying they'd only follow the orders of Toyota corporate. They gave me a number to call, and of course, in light of the recent issues, they are swamped. The recording indicated they were not accepting calls. So now I have a car that actually has an issue and cannot get it fixed.

- Cornell, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 022010

Prius

  • 5,100 miles
I was driving down a hill that has a slightly uneven surface and was a bit icy and when applying the brake in my Prius, my car sped up slightly when it hit the uneven surface and seemingly jumped faster before the brakes kicked in and brought my car to a stop. This has happened twice on different roads, both of the road surfaces being slightly uneven. Nothing has been done to correct this problem, when I called Toyota they told me that there was nothing they could do.

- Wakefield, RI, USA

problem #2

Nov 212009

Prius

  • 75 miles
Faulty brakes on 2010 Prius. I noticed within a week or so after purchase in November, 2009 that when going over a bump or pothole in the road and I used the brake pedal, there was a delay wherein the car seemed to accelerate over the problem in the road, nearly leading me to collision with another vehicle or pedestrian. Since November it's been a constant, frightening problem.

- West Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #1

Jan 162010

Prius

  • 1,600 miles
On several occasions my 2010 Prius has failed to stop immediately when I have applied the brake at slow speeds. This has occurred while on ice surfaces as well as clear surfaces. There is just a fraction of a second delay before the brakes take hold. Fortunately there has not yet been an accident but if I were to have had less space between me and the car ahead, there would have been a crash.

- Canajoharie, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?