Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,694 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 22 of 26)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #82

Feb 022010

Prius

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2010 Prius. I have noticed a problem with the braking in certain conditions as described: When the Prius hits a patch of uneven pavement or is taking a sharp turn while lightly braking, the Prius' brake ECU interprets that as a situation where the computer needs to step in and keep the wheels from locking up. The brakes do end up working but it is an unsettling and definitely a potential dangerous situation as there is a surge prior to the breaks actually working. The surge only lasts a second or so but it does feel like the car is actually accelerating and not braking for that brief moment.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #81

Jan 202010

Prius

  • 1,800 miles
My 2010 Prius has brakes releasing while my foot is on the brake pedal. In reverse the brakes frequently "stick" on. In this most recent incident I was changing lanes looking to make a future left turn and I was in the right lane of a 4 lane road, I was slowing down to change lanes and did not see a car in my "blind spot" where my mirrors did not show the car. Once I side swiped the Acura MDX, I made emergency maneuvers to get back to the right lane, which included swerving right and hitting the brakes after the car started moving right. At that point my vehicle seemed to move on it's own irregardless of my pedal and steering actions (I was in panic mode since I haven't had an accident in decades - except a parking lot "bump"). I wrote off the fact that I was unable to defensively drive as I have relied on for all these years since I couldn't pull out of the accident. Now however, after hearing of the similar issues on 2010 Prius I am wondering whether the vehicle played a part in the accident that I could not compensate for?

- Maryland Heights, MO, USA

problem #80

Jan 112010

Prius

  • 200 miles
When braking, the brakes seem to loose partial grip on and off. Also when braking over a pothole or uneven road the car seems to accelerate suddenly and there is a feel of loss of control. These are both very scary.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #79

Jan 312010

Prius

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am driving a 2010 Toyota Prius since August 2009. Under certain conditions the brakes seem to malfunction. I can replicate this issue on a certain road when I am coming down a slope approaching a traffic light and the vehicle (driver side front tire) hits a pothole as I am braking. The vehicle continues to go forward momentarily instead of the brakes working as they should. The date mentioned below is the most recent time I have experienced this issue. All together this has occurred approx. 10 times sinf August.

- Monroe, NY, USA

problem #78

Feb 022010

Prius

  • 5,000 miles
2010 Prius I have definitely been getting the lurching over bumps that I've heard other 2010 Prius owners complain about. Happens a lot when I drive over a manhole cover, the car seems to speed up for a brief moment. I haven't had an accident from this yet, but wanted to register my complaint with whomever else is having the same problem.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #77

Aug 242009

Prius

  • 100 miles
My 2010 Toyota Prius experiences acceleration whenever I go over a pothole and attempt to brake the car. This has happened since I purchased the vehicle in August 2009. I am reporting it now because I now know that other owners have reported the same problem and it is not a result of my inability to get used to driving a hybrid. This is a serious safety issue as I'm alarmed that I may be unable to brake suddenly if this happens in a situation that warrants me to quickly brake.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #76

Feb 032010

Prius

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While depressing the brake pedal in the 2010 Prius, the vehicle will lose all braking power if you hit a bump or pot hole in the road. I have experienced this several times while depressing the brake, approaching an intersection. When I drive over the bump in the road (and continue pressing the brake) the vehicle surges forward as if my foot had released the brake. The only way to stop the vehicle is to immediately re-engage the brake fully. I have came very close to rear ending the vehicle in front of me due to this design / mechanical flaw. I can recreate this scenario each time I cross a certain portion of the road I commute on.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #75

Oct 012009

Prius

  • 50 miles
We had picked up our brand new Toyota Prius 2010 on Sep 24th 2009. A week later, on Oct 1, I was driving in to my brother in law's driveway (maybe at 5mph) when I felt that the brake pedal did not engage. I crashed into their garage door. Since, this was a metal door, we thought we could dent it back in and repaint it. Therefore, it was not reported to insurance. Since then, I have felt a couple more times that the brake did not engage either quickly enough or hard enough. I am not a rash driver. I have not had a traffic violation in about 8 years or so. I am very worried out this. We have 2 children that are in the car a lot with me. Please advise.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #74

Nov 142009

Prius

  • 2,000 miles
Care speeds up with breaks applied when the car hits a bump. The brakes also grab when backing up. Frequency: Not often but it need to be corrected before someone gets hurt. Reported to Toyota. They have checked and found nothing wrong. There is not one date as it has happen several times over the last 7 months.

- Innsbrook, MO, USA

problem #73

Jan 012010

Prius

  • miles
Toyota-Prius hybrid-2010 braking problem. I have experience a braking problem that has not resulted in an accident. The braking problem results only when in a panic stop (when ABS is active). I think what is happening is that the brake is releasing for a second while the ABS computer is taking over control of the braking. This cause what seems to the drive as a slip. Where the drive feels the brake release and a second later the ABS kicks in and stops the car. I have felt this brake release three times in the few months I have owned the car and most times when turning right into a driveway.

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #72

Oct 012009

Prius

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Toyota Prius. I purchased a 2010 Toyota Prius series V in July 2010... I have notice that when going over a "pothole" or very rough pavement that the vehicle does somewhat speed up and have a momentary loss of braking capability. Stepping on the brake seems to alleviate the situation. Seems to intermittent and did not happen on any specific date or cause an accident.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

problem #71

Jan 202010

Prius

  • miles
2010 Prius we have had a problem with the brakes releasing when we drive over pot holes or a slick surface. This has been a reoccuring thing. It prevents us from stopping quickly or reacting to a situation. It has not resulted in an accident, but it seems like it has a strong possibility to in the near future.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #70

Feb 032010

Prius

  • 4,000 miles
I have experienced problems while braking in my 2010 Toyota Prius. The problem occurs when I am braking and the car hits a bump/pot hole. When I hit a bump the brakes seem to stop working for a second or two and the car lurches forward. For a moment or two you feel like you are losing control of the car. Luckily this has not resulted in an accident yet.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #69

Feb 032010

Prius

  • 0 miles
The regenerative braking on the 2010 Prius lose gripping when going over bumps on the road. What happens is when the car goes over bumpy ground and I am using the brakes, the brakes seem to lose grip and the deceleration is reduced. I have noticed this happening about 10 times in the 6 months that I've owned the vehicle.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #68

Jan 272010

Prius

  • 2,400 miles
I experience difficulty with the brakes of my 2010 Prius. Sometimes the breaks do not take hold when I press the brake pedal and the car seems to skip forward for a second or two before it begins to slow down and the brakes take hold. It is very unsettling but I have not had an accident. My wife will not drive the car. I reported it to the service manager at my dealer, seeger Toyota in St. Louis county, Missouri. He said he knew of no complaints like this whatsoever. Then he called me back and said Toyota was investigating a brake issue with the 2010 Prius that only occurred on rough surfaces and was not applicable to the problem I described that happens on smooth surfaces.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #67

Jan 152010

Prius

  • 7,700 miles
We purchased our 2010 Prius in August 2009. Since then, my wife has complained several times about how the brakes seem to stop working whenever she is braking and encounters a bump (like a pothole or speed bump). I've noticed it a couple of times myself.. it feels like the brakes are no longer functioning and you have to release the pedal and push it down again to re-engage the brakes. Fortunately, we haven't hit anything, yet -- but it is a recurring issue.

- Carter Lake, IA, USA

problem #66

Oct 012009

Prius

  • 3,000 miles
Experience sudden loss braking power when my Prius hit a pothole while applying the brake pedal. The car regain braking power after short period of time. This issue happened multiple times. I'm concern my car may hit other vehicle or pedestrian in the future if I would not stop the car properly.

- Oakland Gardens, NY, USA

problem #65

Oct 202009

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
On my way to work there is a rough patch of pavement where I have to slow down before a turn and a stop. If I am applying the brakes when I hit it, the car will surge forward, feeling out of control like on ice, until the car is on smooth pavement again. Fortunately there wasn't a vehicle in front of me the first time it happened, and from then on, I slow down well before the rough patch, and don't apply my brakes on the patch, or similar patches.

- Salem, MA, USA

problem #64

Feb 022009

Prius

  • miles
2010 Prius, with no modification made since purchase. When driving and coming to a stop, the brake pedal was applied to stop the car. The car hit a pothole/sharp bump 5 feet before the stop sign and the car jerked forward frighteningly while the brake was depressed. The brake pedal lost its breaking ability for 1 or 2 seconds, but became operational again after that. During the 1 or 2 seconds, I felt I lost control of the car. This defect is reproducible and has occurred 5 times since I bought the car 6 months ago. This is very scary and I think will cause an accident if not fixed.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #63

Feb 022010

Prius

  • 3,000 miles
1. I am driving on a regular road. 2. when I am braking and my car hits a bump it seems to jolt forward briefly and I need to hit the brakes harder to stop.

- Union, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?