Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,694 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 8 of 26)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #362

Jul 302009

Prius

  • 1,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Toyota Prius lurches forward when I brake going over a bump, pothole or manhole and sometimes slippery surfaces. It is brief. We reported it to the dealer at around 5000 miles. They thought it was the anti-lock brakes but I have driven a car with ani-lock brakes for over ten years and this feels different. I bought the car in June 2009.

- Jenkintown, PA, USA

problem #361

Jan 102010

Prius

  • 2,000 miles
I have a problem with my Toyota Prius 2010 braking system. Brake fails sometimes on stop signs. The brake control is lost for a few seconds at that time. I feel like the control is lost. The vehicle moves forward and stop. I spoke with my neighborhood dealer who informed me that Toyota is working on this issue and nothing can be done until a recall is issued for this problem.

- Garden City Park, NY, USA

problem #360

Aug 282009

Prius

  • 200 miles
Momentary lack of brakes during uneven road surface. Situation has happened approximately five times. During braking, either uneven surface or on a dirt road, the car feels like it loses all braking for approximately 1-2 seconds. I first though it was the ABS kicking in, but there is no pulsing just a loss of braking. Does not happen all the time. I noticed condition within the first week of use. Dealer said that it was the ABS and nothing to worry about

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #359

Jan 142010

Prius

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes seem to fail when braking over a depression in the road or when braking on icy patches of the road. This has happened at least five times in December, 2009 and January/February 2010. Prius

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #358

Jan 162010

Prius

  • miles
Loss of braking power (weak braking) when rolling over bumps, pot holes and even cracks in the pavement.

- Eden Prairie, MN, USA

problem #357

Dec 182009

Prius

  • 4,500 miles
When reversing, brakes occasionally grab causing occupants to jerk forward.

- Kalaheo, HI, USA

problem #356

Feb 072010

Prius

  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2010 Toyota Prius which I purchased in August 2009. When I drive down a bumpy hill near my home, the brakes temporarily fail to hold if I am braking while going over the bumps themselves. It feels like the car it taking off after each bump. I believe I am experiencing the same problem as other Prius owners are. Thank you for you attention to this matter.

- Hastings On Hudson, NY, USA

problem #355

Dec 142009

Prius

  • miles
I purchased a 2010 Prius on July 23, 2009. I took it to the dealer December 14, 2009 with the following complaint: Rear brakes will lock up and slide when turning corners, they will also lock up when backing slowly. The first time they did that I thought I had hit something. The dealer kept the car overnight. The technician said he could not duplicate the action and the shop mgr. Spoke with Toyota technician and was told there were no known concerns at that time. Since then I have called several times about the problem but no one would take me serious.

- Waco, TX, USA

problem #354

Feb 042010

Prius

  • 1,323 miles
We bought a 2010 Prius III at the end of December 2009. We have noticed a braking problem as follows: With brake pedal pressed, going over a bump, the car will lunge forward 1 to 2 feet, even though the brake is pressed and car moving very slowly. This has happened about 6 or 7 times, most recently 2/4/10. We are careful to stop with significant room before a car ahead at stop lights and intersections but cannot foresee all situations. We have a teenage driver and it is therefore especially important this be fixed. We have reported it to the dealer.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #353

Feb 062010

Prius

  • 2,500 miles
This is the second time my car has hit a pothole in the road and the brakes stopped working. The first time I thought it was just me, but the second time I realized it was really happening and scary. I was headed southbound on rowena blvd in los angeles, was starting my deceleration when I hit this pot hole on the right side of the road. For about 2 seconds my car stopped decelerating and I could feel no power on the brake pads, then suddenly the brake power returned.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #352

Jul 072009

Prius

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since purchasing my 2010 Toyota Prius, I have had serious issues and safety concerns with the braking system. When you brake and hit a bump or pothole or large dip, the brake cut out and the car is not controllable until a few moments later. I reported this to the dealer and was assured it was performing as intended and normal for an anti-lock system. Having used anti-lock brakes for nearly 20 years, I know this to not be the case and stated this. I now understand this problem is widespread. My most recent email to Toyota is attached: Date: February 7, 2010 11:46:13 am est dear I received your email address this morning and felt I should forward on my earlier emails (regarding braking problems with my 2010 Prius) to colonial Toyota directly to you - please find them below. I understand that late Friday Toyota corporation advised dealers that corporate would announce a fix early this week. I honestly would have preferred to have learned this from colonial, than from the NY times. As I expressed during my sales experience and troubles with cash for clunker program - I understand there are certain things as a dealer that you are not in control of, but I expect and would appreciate clear and timely communication. Moreover, given the seriousness of this as a safety concern, I am concerned that the service department did not at least offering to help look into my braking issue when I verbally reported it during service. Instead, I was assured it was normal for anti-lock brakes and my clear statement that it was something I had never encountered before, despite owning anti-lock equipped cars for the past 19 years was dismissed. I would like to reiterate my request below regarding bringing my vehicle in immediately to fix the issue (and related damage) as soon as you able to and providing a loaner at Toyota's expense. I look forward to hearing from you as soon as possible.

- Westport, CT, USA

problem #351

Nov 212009

Prius

  • 75 miles
Faulty brakes on 2010 Prius. I noticed within a week or so after purchase in November, 2009 that when going over a bump or pothole in the road and I used the brake pedal, there was a delay wherein the car seemed to accelerate over the problem in the road, nearly leading me to collision with another vehicle or pedestrian. Since November it's been a constant, frightening problem.

- West Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #350

Aug 012009

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
Experienced brake "slippage" on 2010 Prius. "slippage" or quick temporary feeling that brake gave way occurred while descending a small hill with bumpy pavement. Occurred about 6 times without incident. Occurred also more recently once on icy pavement.

- Highland Park , IL, USA

problem #349

Jan 222010

Prius

  • 3,805 miles
Driving at very slow speed...braking at stop sign behind another car; needed to hit the brakes--not quite "slam on the brakes" --as I realized I was closer to car in front of me than I'd thought. Car in front of me pulled away at the same time (fortunately) as my car lurched forward; I didn't feel it was going to stop; when I then proceeded car made horrible noises...sounded I thought bottom was going to fall out. Have experienced the same "not going to stop" feeling a second time since. What followed? called dealership immediately; they suggested I come in for brake check, which I did following day. Told it was going to cost $125; we discussed likelihood that problem probably wouldn't happen for the mechanic, I decided against spending money for brake check up when service dept. Told me it was "just the way Prius' ABS brakes work." When I asked about the news reports I'd heard about this braking problem they didn't know anything about it, pointed to absence of info on Toyota's website for service departments and said media often blows things out of proportion. Called Toyota Corp and case manager that returned call to me had no information about media reports I referred to.

- Larkspur , CA, USA

problem #348

Feb 062010

Prius

  • 14 miles
When applying the brakes over a bumpy or metallic surface, there is a uncomfortable delay until the brakes "kick in". this has been going on for some time.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #347

Jan 152010

Prius

  • 5,200 miles
We have twice experienced a brake cut-out, where we are coming to a stop sign with foot on brake and hit a bump/pot hole and the car lurches ahead as though we have temporarily removed our foot from the brake even though we haven't.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #346

Nov 012009

Prius

  • 20 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Prius and I noticed a problem with the breaks. When I am slowing down, with my foot on the breaks, and hit an uneven road, the car loses the breaks and surges forward.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #345

Dec 292009

Prius

  • 4,000 miles
I own a 2010 Prius that I purchased in August, which has between 4 and 5 thousand miles on it. The brakes have been squealing for about a month, intermittently but fairly often (some days are better than others). Also, the traction control system light ("slippery" warning) sometimes beeps/flashes even when I am sitting still on dry level pavement, especially if I depress the brakes all the way to the floor. I have not yet experienced any life or property loss as a result and am providing this information on a purely fyi basis as you try to figure out issues with 2010 Prius brakes. (the issues as I understand them do not seem to exceed the normal risks of driving, so I don't plan to do anything except mention it at the 5K checkup, unless I hear otherwise in the news.)

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #344

Dec 152009

Prius

  • 7,000 miles
Coming out of a parking lot downhill... hit a bump... brakes failed and almost sideswiped by oncoming traffic. Hit the brakes a second time and car stopped just in time to avoid a collision. This is the only time we have had this happen... brakes have worked ok rest of time. Nothing done yet to correct the "bump" defect at slow speeds.

- Foresthill, CA, USA

problem #343

Oct 012009

Prius

  • 85 miles
My Prius 2010 3rd generation model's brakes seem to go out when braking over uneven road. This has happened more than 10 times starting from the first week I got the car. Especially going over potholes, the car lurches forward several feet. I called the dealer service department and they said there was nothing that could be done to remedy the brakes. I was told to call back if there was a re-call issued.

- Pacific Palisades, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?