Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
20 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
3,694 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 9 of 26)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #342

Sep 142009


  • 500 miles


At low speed (less than 15 mph) on dry, smooth pavement, the brakes on my 2010 Prius occasionally fail to engage for approximately 2 seconds. This has occurred less than once a month since August 2009, or approximately 4 times.

- Cos Cob, CT, USA

problem #341

Dec 102009


  • 3,000 miles
2010 Toyota Prius hybrid brake problem: Purchased new in October, 2009, my Prius has experienced momentary brake failure while stopping under certain conditions. Specifically, when I hit a bump while braking sometimes it feels like the brakes momentarily release and the car launches forward. This has happened 6 to 10 times since I purchsed the car. I alerted the dealer (bernardi Toyota in framingahm, MA) about 3 - 4 weeks ago, and they were not aware of the problem. No solution has been offered yet.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #340

Nov 302009


  • 1,500 miles
2010 Toyota Prius accident- we had noticed the braking problems but it was not an issue until we were involved in accident where the brake did not stop the car. And in light of the current event, it is best to complaint about about.

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #339

Jan 012010


  • 100 miles


Multiple incidents of acceleration while braking when going over bumps.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #338

Jul 012009


  • 250 miles
While slowing down (foot on the brake) for a light or road bump, the car suddenly accelerates until I press harder on the brake. This has occurred about 10 times since I purchased the car summer of 2009. No accident but almost rear-ended the car in front of me several times. Brought to Toyota and told nothing was wrong and I wasn't used to the ABS system. This can't explain the sudden acceleration and near miss accidents.

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #337

Oct 312009


  • miles
Since purchase in October 2009, I have experienced occasional problems with the brakes on my 2010 Toyota Prius. Sporadically, when I apply the brakes to slow down going down a slight incline or stopping at lights or intersection, I feel a momentary lag before the brakes actually function. The lag is noticeable and similar to feeling airborne or slipping causing me to frantically push down harder on the brake pedal than usual. This has recurred perhaps 10 different times I also had one incident when the brake seemed to lock when the gear was in reverse and I was beginning to back out of a parking space. Please note the date of incident and mph is only an estimate.

- Andover, MA, USA

problem #336

Nov 122009


  • 1,000 miles


I have a 2010 Prius and have had trouble with brakes since I bought it. Dealer has been contacted three times and letter to Toyota with no response. The brakes are not right and I am afraid I will be in an accident.

- Corsicana, TX, USA

problem #335

Dec 092009


  • 1,200 miles
Prius 2010--pause in braking while approaching stop sign. Road conditions were snowy and uneven road surface. Braking paused for several seconds, enough so that I would have collided if there had been car ahead at stop sign. Happened again about 1 week later in the exact same spot.

- Schererville, IN, USA

problem #334

Feb 012010


  • miles
4 instances of failure of the brakes to stop the car 1st time in June 2009 at a stop sign - had to push brake very hard to get car to stop 2nt time in Aug 2009 again approaching a stop sign brake would not engage until pushed very hard 3rd time Sept 2009 same situation last incident 2.1.10 same situation. Road had some snow on it.

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #333

Oct 102009


  • 4,500 miles
While applying the brakes to slow down to go around a curve that also goes downhill, my 2010 Toyota Prius seems to speed up for a few seconds in the midst of the turn. I can't tell if this is the braking system failing or the accelerator kicking in. It's not centrifugal force, because there is a clear surge forward. This happens pretty regularly, as this is a maneuver that I make regularly on my way home. I put in an arbitrary date below, because it has happened many times. I notice this happening at other times too, but I don't have a consistent record of when and where it happens.

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #332

Feb 052010


  • 5,000 miles


I own a 2010 Toyota Prius and frequently (~1 X week) experience a braking problem as being reported by the media. If, while I am braking, the car goes over a bump, pot-hole, or wavy pavement, the car feels like it isn't braking, as if the wheel is off the ground or sliding on ice. It only occurs while the car is being bumped, so usually it is only lasts a matter of a few feet. I hope this helps you identify the problem and determine a course of action.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #331

Jan 202010


  • 800 miles
I bought a 2010 Toyota Prius in the end of December 2009. Since then I have experienced the momentarily brake loss when driving over the uneven surface. It only have happened 2-3 times but it makes me worry about the safety of my family and myself.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #330

Feb 052010


  • 3,800 miles
Temporary brake failure when braking over potholes or braking in a turn

- Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #329

Feb 052010


  • 25,000 miles
My 2010 Prius stops braking or accelerates when hitting a pothole or bump causing the car to stop later than anticipated. Almost hit a person in the cross walk.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #328

Dec 102009


  • 1,000 miles
1) while driving my new 2010 Toyota Prius straight ahead at approximately 10-15 mph on a dry, sunny day, I hit the brakes hard to stop at a red light. The car skidded loudly enough that several bystanders looked at me. This was clearly a failure of the anti-lock braking system. I recently brought the vehicle to my Toyota dealer (Toyota santa cruz), which inspected the brakes and declared them to be fine. This problem has not recurred, though I have not had to apply the brakes in such a strong manner since that one incident. 2) on two separate occasions, while driving the same Prius at very slow speeds (perhaps 5 mph) shortly after starting the car, my wife gently applied the brakes; the vehicle jerked almost to a stop. In other words, a gentle application of the brake pedal led to a very rapid, jerky, stop as if she had slammed on the brakes.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #327

Feb 062010


  • 5,002 miles
While braking, right front wheel hit a small pothole and brakes disengaged for a split second. Updated 9/29/11

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #326

Nov 182009


  • 10,000 miles
We purchased our 2010 Toyota Prius in June of 2009. I have noticed that when I accidentaly hit potholes and try to apply the brakes at the same time it feels like the brakes do not hold. I do not have a set date when I first noticed this, some time in late fall on a rainy night. I thought I was just imagining this until recently when I heard others were experiencing the same thing.I love this little car, but now I am afraid to take it do I find out the results of your investigation?

- Lacey , WA, USA

problem #325

Dec 142009


  • 9,000 miles
I was driving my 2010 Prius approximately 20 mph on an icy road. Because it was icy, I started braking very early before coming to a stop sign. There was no response from the brakes at all. I blew through the stop sign out onto a 40 mph road. I was only able to avoid a collision by steering away from cars. I applied the brakes the entire time, which was several seconds and the brakes never engaged. The next time I used the brakes, they worked. Initially I thought that the reason the car did not slow down was because it did not have any traction due to the icy conditions. But after thinking about it, I did have traction because I was able to steer quite well and suddenly change directions without any slipping at all. This did not make sense to me until I read about the braking problems. My husband has experienced the car lurching forward when applying the brakes on a slippery or uneven surface many times. He applies the brake and the car lurches forward before the brakes engage.

- Woodinville, WA, USA

problem #324

Feb 022010


  • 2,595 miles
Occassional very brief loss of braking when going over uneven pavement, speed bumps or traffic calming devices at a slow speed. No injuries or collisions as a result. Have not contacted dealer yet but am awaiting potential recall notice.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #323

Feb 052010


  • 230 miles
I own a 2010 Toyota Prius. When I approach a pothole or rough patch in the road and apply the brakes as I am driving over it, the brakes slip and the car lurches forward. This has occurred six times since I purchased the vehicle in September of 2009. I took the car to Toyota of santa monica on February 5,2010. They ran a diagnostic test and concluded that nothing was faulty within the braking system. This is the same day every news organization in the world was reporting that Toyota admitted there is a software problem in the ABS braking system and was repaired on 2010 Prius models built from January 2010.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?