Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
49 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 2
Average Mileage:
4,680 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 5 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #659

May 312010

Prius

  • 9,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Toyota Prius continues to experience the momentary loss of braking power even after the recall fix was applied back in March. I experience the same loss of braking power as I did in the past when going over bumps, pot holes and the like, especially when hitting the brake on a decline. I brought my car back to the dealership and a field tech specialist was unable to reproduce the problem - but I have experienced it a half dozen times since the recall and have notified Toyota's hq - they have not responded. I continue to feel as if pedestrian, other driver, and my own safety are at risk with this continued brake issue that Toyota cannot seem to fix.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #658

May 272010

Prius

  • 9,000 miles
All brake rotors had a crack perpendicular to the rotation.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #657

Sep 252009

Prius

  • miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Prius purchased in July 2009. During ownership I experienced when there was a crease, hole or bump in the road when braking - it accelerating and lunges. I avoided situations like that and when the recall came, I took it to butler Toyota (also had the floor mat hooks installed prior), on April 5, 2010. They supposedly fixed it. About a week later, I came upon a manhole cover in a road while braking and making a turn so going slow, and the same thing happened. The next day I purposely went through it to "test" and it did the same thing but lunge into the other lane. I was scared and called butler Toyota. They told me to call national Toyota to report. They contact butler and I went back in May 21, they did not repair it and "shrugged" their shoulders saying it's the ABS. They offered to have a field tech person come drive my car. I called national again and they seem to be "mediating" this with butler. I found a report from consumeraffairs.com that this very similar issue was occurring back in 2008 and they called it "traction control". no one from Toyota has told me this. I want it fixed or a different car. I have a teenage with a permit and if he was driving this and it occurred, he would probably run into someone because it takes you by surprise. I do fear him driving it due to his inexperience and I frankly am concerned and am very cautious as a result.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #656

May 162010

Prius

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake failure occurred when vehicle was coming off freeway exit ramp at approximately 40 mph on uneven, curvy road. While approaching intersection from several hundred feet away, brakes failed to engage for about a second; also felt the vehicle "lurch" forward in that lapse of time. Repeated pressure on the brakes finally brought car to stop but not in time to prevent collision with incoming pickup truck on straightaway traffic. Police arrived at scene but did not file report because nobody was injured. Body shop estimated damage on front bumper at $1500. Vehicle was brought in to dealer on 05/18/2010 for inspection. Service manager said ECU brake recall had been conducted on said vehicle in February 2010 at different dealership. Currently still awaiting on conclusive report from Toyota engineers. Car only has 1000 miles on odometer. Brake failure has been experienced some ten times in the 2 months of owning this vehicle, usually during higher speeds over uneven road. Came close to accidents on three instances, not including this actual one. This is a serious safety defect that could result in fatalities. Please investigate!

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #655

May 192010

Prius

  • 500 miles
As noted in NHTSA investigation PE10006. I entered an incident date of 5/19/2010, but this happens consistently with my 2010 Toyota Prius (purchased Oct. 2009). It is as described in the investigation summary; a momentary lapse in braking while traveling over uneven or rough surfaces. I had the software update performed last week and interestingly, it seems to have gotten worse since then. It's very disconcerting and alarming. Fortunately, it's never happened when there is a car in front of me (as on the exit ramp of a freeway or prior to a stoplight), but if it does, I have no doubt that it will result in a crash, for which I will no doubt be wrongly blamed and cited. I'm to the point that I would prefer that my wife not drive the car and am considering what action I can take with Toyota --- returning the car, some kind of financial compensation etc. When I had the software update performed, I noted the problem to the dealership and made them write it on the service order to document it. This complaint is also to document the problem. I should note that we own a 1996 4runner and a 2003 highlander (my parents own a 2010 Prius and 2010 Camry as well), so it's not like I have something against Toyota. Also, I travel a lot for my job (80%+) and over the last 6 months have probably driven at least 20 different makes and models of cars. This has never happened in any car I have owned or rented.

- Hudson, OH, USA

problem #654

May 192010

Prius

  • 1,100 miles
Regenerative braking - loss of braking, when slowing over rough road surface approximately 5-9mph. Brakes "go away", resulting in further pedal application to avoid striking vehicle ahead. Incident occurs sporadically, however has occurred at least 8 times in the two months we've owned vehicle.

- Cedar Falls,, IA, USA

problem #653

May 192010

Prius

  • 400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Two issues within 5 minutes (will file two reports). First issue occurred while backing out of level parking space. Brakes grabbed on and off as if I were pressing brakes firmly, releasing, then pressing firmly again, even though I was lightly holding the brakes as I was reversing. Second issue occurred a few minutes later while braking on a descent, going approximately 35-40 mph. My front left tire went over a manhole cover which caused a mild bump, which resulted in a momentary release of the brakes. Car was purchased new last week (May 13, 2010), has approximately 400 miles, and has no recalls outstanding.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #652

May 192010

Prius

  • 400 miles
Two issues within 5 minutes (will file two reports). First issue occurred while backing out of level parking space. Brakes grabbed on and off as if I were pressing brakes firmly, releasing, then pressing firmly again, even though I was lightly holding the brakes as I was reversing. Second issue occurred a few minutes later while braking on a descent, going approximately 35-40 mph. My front left tire went over a manhole cover which caused a mild bump, which resulted in a momentary release of the brakes. Car was purchased new last week (May 13, 2010), has approximately 400 miles, and has no recalls outstanding.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #651

Mar 242010

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Prius, and have noticed that while braking on uneven pavement, the car lurches forward. The jack safro dealership said to bring it in, as there was a recall. Since they worked on it, I see no change. I called the dealership and told them there was no difference, and they took it for a test drive. The mechanic said he didn't experience any problem. They said they would note the problem, but there was nothing else they could do. I have to be very careful when approaching a stop sign or light on uneven pavement. I fear rear ending someone. Or worse hitting a pedestrian.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #650

May 172010

Prius

  • miles
2010 Toyota Prius. Consumer states vehicle did not seem to stop immediately when he hit a bump.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #649

May 092010

Prius

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on bowman road in West little rock, I was braking as I approached the intersection at markham. The car suddenly felt like it was surging forward and not braking at all as I drove over a man-hole cover. This was especially pronounced as I was going downhill and turning to the right at the yield sign. My wife noticed it from the passenger seat as well. We momentarily felt as if we would not stop and end up in the path of oncoming traffic. This happened after this vehicle has already been recalled for this same problem. Unfortunately, the software upgrade did not fix this dangerous problem.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #648

Feb 192010

Prius

  • 9,950 miles
I have a 2010 Toyota Prius with braking problems, which have continued to occur even after I took it to my Toyota dealer for the recall repair on February 12, 2010. Three times since then the brakes did not engage for about three seconds, when I was trying to stop, on a dry surface that was slightly uneven. This was not the sudden rapid pumping of ABS brakes which I would recognize from years of use with ABS equipped cars. The dealer saw no problem when I brought it back to them last week. I am worried it will cause an accident.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #647

Feb 132010

Prius

  • 7,000 miles
2/13, the day after my car was "fixed" under the recall, my brakes failed. I was on the way to the airport, and the brakes failed. When I returned home from my trip, I brought it in to Toyota kearny mesa in san diego, who found nothing wrong. My brakes failed again a week ago. I was driving on a smooth road, slowing down for a light, when suddenly the car speeded up and I went straight though the red light. No cars were nearby, so I did not crash and no one was hurt. Again, Toyota found nothing wrong. They tell me that they can't fix it unless they can "replicate" the problem. They want me to return the loaner car tomorrow morning and drive home with my Prius and I'm scared.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #646

Apr 212010

Prius

  • 4,500 miles
Toyota 2010 Prius brake recall patch was only partly effective. In the winter the car could loose braking for 6 to 8 feet after hitting a rough spot, pot hole etc. Now it skips maybe 2 to 3 feet. The dealer and Toyota factory people tell me it's normal anti-lock brake action. I say I have driven many cars with anti-lock brakes and they to not loose brake action, they pulse the brakes. The Toyota factory people tell me the car is still braking even if it feels like it isn't. I do not agree with that for a second. The dealer wants to test drive the car to determine condition. However it only happens maybe once a week and not at every bump or jolt of the suspension. I feel Toyota does not have a proper fix and is not working on one. They are trying to talk us Prius owners into accepting this flaw as normal for the car.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #645

Apr 212010

Prius

  • miles
I received delivery of my newly purchased 2010 Prius on 10/17/09. The brakes locked up on several occasions during Nov and Dec 2009, on rough roads and during slippery conditions. I had the brakes checked 1/2/10 by the Toyota dealer; they were unable to duplicate the conditions. On approximately 2/4/10, the brakes failed during an ice storm and the car ended up on someone's front lawn. There were no injuries or property damage, thus the incident was not reported. Following this incident, I took the car to the Toyota dealer for inspection and received a loaner car. While the dealer had my car, Toyota issued a recall for the Prius' brakes. The brakes on my Prius were reprogrammed 2/9/10. Since then I have had four instances where the brakes locked up, the latest of which was 4/21/10. The car is currently at the Toyota dealer being inspected. The car was purchased at colonial Toyota in milford and all subsequent service has been performed by that dealer.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #644

Apr 072010

Prius

  • 5,600 miles
The vehicle was parked and was started. The vehicle was put into reverse and the car then just lurched for a moment. I jammed on the brakes and the brake pedal became very hard and came all the way to the top. I held the brake and then just shut the car off. Upon restart the vehicle was ok. It did not replicate the problem again. This is the 4th or 5th time this has happened and it is always the same. The car is parked and I have to put it in reverse.

- Seekonk, MA, USA

problem #643

Apr 062010

Prius

  • 8,000 miles
I have the 2010 Prius and had the brake recall work performed on my vehicle. It didn't work. When I go down a hill and hit a speed bump even at 5 miles an hour while braking the car doesn't brake for a few seconds. I move 5-10 feet uncontrolled. If there are cars backed up at the stop I would hit them.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #642

Apr 012010

Prius

  • miles
2010 Toyota Prius. Consumer states brake problems. The consumer stated it appeared as if the software patch for the 2010 Prius was not enough as he has experienced one more occurrence since getting the patch on March 1, 2010. Prior to the software patch, the consumer experienced brake stuttering may be 10 times. The consumer stated he read where the switch from regenerative to mechanical braking occurred at about 9 mph he noticed that the brake stuttering seemed to occur closer to 20 mph. It would not just occur when hitting a small pothole, but sometimes with just steady braking on smooth surfaces. On a smooth surface, the feeling would be a bit of a jerk. He would decelerate with pressure against the seat belt and his hands on the steering wheel, then there would be 1/4 of a second where there was no pressure because the brakes were not working, then he would jerk forward as the brakes began to work again, there was a somewhat different sensation when hitting a small pothole. The most recent momentary brake failure occurred while stopping for a red light. The consumer stated he slowed down to 20 mph when he felt a different type of stuttering than previously. It may have been a double stuttering, but it seemed harder.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #641

Aug 012009

Prius

  • miles
2010 Toyota Prius. Consumer states rear brakes released or slipped and vehicle sped up. The consumer stated within the first month of driving, she drove over an uneven, perhaps potholed area in the road and it seemed as if the vehicle's rear brakes released or slipped, and the vehicle sped up. The vehicle then seemed to correct itself and drove smoothly ahead with proper braking.

- Cherry Hills Village, CO, USA

problem #640

Mar 152010

Prius

  • 6,400 miles
We own a 2010 Prius, [xxx]. it is one of the vehicles that was subject to the ABS actuator ECU update safety recall notice. I took the car in early this month and had the update installed. The problem described, regarding light pedal pressure and the car not braking correctly occasionally seems to fit well with what I experienced. In the middle of braking, trying to make full use of the regeneration feature, the car sometimes stopped braking momentarily. I experienced that this was more likely to happen on a bumpy road. In the 6 months or so I drove the car, prior to the update, I experienced this problem roughly 12 times. I am sad to report however that in the two weeks since the car was updated, I have already experienced two additional events after the update that seem exactly like what I experienced before the update. I took the car back to my dealer (prestige Toyota, in ramsey, NJ) and someone there tested it and was convinced that the update was installed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Allendale, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?