Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
48 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 2
Average Mileage:
4,570 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 6 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #638

Feb 152010


  • 7,500 miles


I was going down a hill (approx 20mph) in my subdivision (North on harter farms rd) when I saw a car pulling out onto the road from his yard. I applied the brakes hard for about 100yds before attempting to turn into palimino dr to avoid a collision. I did not make the turn and hit a stop sign and then the guard rail at approx 5mph. There was about 1-2" of snow on the road and I had driven up the same hill from a stop without slipping a tire just 15 min prior. I never felt any pulsation from the ABS during the attempt to stop. Afterwards when I got home I attempted to stop hard (to test the brakes) on level ground and again never felt the pulsation from the ABS system. There was braking but I felt it was greatly reduced. I have not returned the car to Toyota for their recall yet. If you wish to examine the car you May. I am sure you can duplicate the results.

- High Ridge, MO, USA

problem #637

Mar 192010


  • 1,805 miles
2010 Prius repeatedly exhibited the braking defect at issue in recent recall (sudden lurch forward upon encountering bump while braking to stop)--recall service performed 5 weeks ago. Although the sudden lurching stopped (until today) after the recall service, the braking behavior then had a consistently odd feeling requiring increased pressure to fully stop (though no more sudden lurching forward when encountering bump). Then today the old lurch forward suddenly recurred when encountering bump while slowing to a stop. Dealership contacted and says they have no further remedy beyond recent computer adjustment performed as part of February, 2010 recall--basically totally disinterested.

- Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA

problem #636

Mar 062010


  • 1,000 miles
The Prius purchased 1/3/10. On 3/6/10 the vehicle would not stop and hit another car. The vehicle was towed to North hollywood Toyota. The brakes failed to operate causing the Prius to hit another car. This all occurred within the county of los angeles, California. The vehicle can be examined for this defect.

- Studio City, CA, USA

problem #635

Mar 182010

(reported on)


  • miles


S10 appropriate handling re 2010 Toyota Prius safety complaints. The consumer stated the cruise control does not immediately cancel, controlling the throttle under light braking. This allowed the vehicle to accelerate up a hill while the consumer was simultaneously applying the brakes. The brake lights did not come on under light braking and the brakes did not work when braking over rough surfaces such as railroad tracks.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #634

Mar 172010


  • 4,650 miles
I previously filed a complaint about my 2010 Prius regarding braking failure over uneven road surfaces, case #[xxx]. I took my car in to our local Toyota dealer yesterday to have the issue taken care of (I also received a recall notice about the problem) I got my car back and today I experienced the same problem again while braking and going over a bump in the road. I want your Agency to be aware that the Toyota fix may not be working. I will be contacting the dealership and Toyota about this safety issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Beverly Hills, CA, USA

problem #633

Jan 012010


  • 2,000 miles
When standing still, the brake pedal can be pushed to the floor, extremely spongy feel. Toyota says this is normal. When the brakes fail due to software error ( recall notice was received today finally ) I can also easily push the pedal to the floor. I do not like this feeling hopefully the recall will take care of this. Visibility is terrible due to the roof supports, are pedestrian accidents up, we can not see, to return to the right lane after passing.

- Matawan, NJ, USA

problem #632

Sep 302009


  • 1,899 miles


I have a 2010 Toyota Prius - it has 6,000 miles on it. Two times the brakes have failed to engage when I have stepped on the brake pedal. It takes appx. 2 to 3 seconds before the brakes engage.

- Ashburnham, MA, USA

problem #631

Mar 102010


  • miles
I recently got a recall on my 2010 Prius but still having a problem with brakes. I went to check on the problems today (Saturday, March 13, 2010), however, they said the lead mechanic was not there and could not help me with discussing problems. They wanted me to set up an appointment again during the weekdays (which will be a more problematic for me since I work full time and they don't offer "rental" service either). I have a great fear of driving this car again on the road where there could be lots of unexpected accidents. I generally don't understand that there was nobody who could take a look at my vehicle and give me some advice when there are lots of customers who are looking to get some help during the weekend. My brake still slips and I loose my control over my brakes when I go over pot holes or slowing down and making turns. Again, the "recall" service did not give me any solutions. I discussed about this problem again with sales representative at Toyota dealership and asked them possible options to return my car or getting a new one since it's been quite long days ever since I started complaining about the same problems, and they said no to everything. I am not sure how I can drive this "unsecured" car anymore.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #630

Jan 012010


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. He stated when driving over uneven road surfaces or speed bumps in the road the vehicle would momentarily lose braking power. Also, when depressing the brake pedal over any type of uneven road surface the vehicle would surge momentarily. The dealer was contacted and informed the contact that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure persisted and the dealer was contacted a second time where the contact was informed that they were aware of the issue, however did not have an explanation or a remedy for the failure. The failure persisted and the dealership was contacted a third time where the contact was advised there was an open recall on the vehicle NHTSA recall number: 10V039000:service brakes, air:antilock:control unit/module) and to bring the vehicle in to perform the recall service. After recall repairs were performed on the vehicle, the contact experienced the exact same failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000 and the current is 7600.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #629

Mar 112010


  • 4,500 miles
2010 Prius brake ECU update did not solve problem. This is an update to a prior complaint, reference # 10300235. The brakes failed under the same circumstances and exhibited the same behavior as in the previous complaint. The dealer, huntington Toyota, allegedly updated the ECU on 2/24/2010. The car loses braking ability briefly while slowing down (below 10 mph) and passing over a rough road surface or pothole. The sensation is one of the car surging forward. This has happened several time since the upgrade, the latest occurrence being 3/11/2010.

- Centerport, NY, USA

problem #628

Feb 242010


  • 25,000 miles


We have a 2006 Toyota Prius. Ever since we bought it, we've been experiencing a problem which was pooh-poohed by the dealer, but now we thought it best to report it. This problem manifests itself when the brake is applied and we drive over an uneven surface or a very common irregularity in the when driving out of our driveway, which involves a small elevation grade change between the driveway and the street. The braking action changes suddenly, and the car seems to loose braking momentarily. We experience this as a lurch. This is unexpected, and we've never had a car which did this in our 40 years of driving experience.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #627

Feb 012010


  • 50 miles
I have a 2010 Prius. My car was surging before braking on bumpy terrain. I brought the car in for repair to the dealer, as per the recall. The problem is still present. I still feel a surge while braking over bumps. I contacted the service department of Toyota and was told there was nothing they could do to fix the problem and suggested I call Toyota headquarters in California. I have attempted three times to report my complaint and on each occasion waited on the phone over a half hour with no answer.

- Chappaqua, NY, USA

problem #626

Mar 102010


  • 2,010 miles
Today I drove the car to see what would happen if the car was accelerating and I wanted to stop it other than putting on the brakes and hitting the park button. I was trying to reproduce the conditions which have resulted in numerous accidents and more than one life. While slightly accelerating I first tried to stop the car by pressing the power button. This did nothing. I then pressed the brake pedal on the left side which is your hand brake, hard until the brake light came on and the alarm sounded. In spite of this the car kept going! the only way I could stop the car was by stopping the car with the foot brake and then pressing the park button.

- Princeton, NJ, USA

problem #625

Mar 102010


  • 1,800 miles
2010 Prius -already had the brake software fix -continues to accelerate slightly when it goes over potholes with the brake pedal depressed - usually low speed.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #624

Mar 022010


  • 11,000 miles
I had a braking issue, the car would not brake after hitting several potholes and going into an intersection. This is post recall. The recall was performed by Toyota three weeks ago. This is the third incident for this vehicle with identical symptoms. After coasting for 10 feet or so, the vehicle did apply the brakes.

- Brownstown, PA, USA

problem #623

Feb 092010


  • miles
My 2010 Prius brakes failed momentarily twice while going over ruts in the road; I was able to keep control of the car and the brakes resumed working right afterwards.

- La, CA, USA

problem #622

Mar 092010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 5,100 miles
I have filed a complaint here before about my 2010 Toyota Prius, where the brakes were supposedly fixed last week by Toyota following the recall. However, just today the braking problem, when hitting bumps in the road, seems to not have been fixed at all. Driving in the DC area, where there are a lot of potholes around, it is easy to test whether the brakes are fixed or not. While driving along the road today, nearing my house, I hit a pothole, and just as it had been happening before, the brakes seemed to completely let go and the car lurched forward for a split second until the brakes seemed to regain power and I was able to press down on them again. Prior to that incident, and not 10 minutes earlier, I hit a small pothole while braking lightly and the brakes gave out just slightly. It's an unmistakable feeling, having experienced it numerous times before Toyota finally decided to recall the 2010 Prius. Updated IVOQ 07/08/10.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #621

Mar 062010


  • 513 miles
My 2010 Prius had the brake software updated before I purchased it. I have owned the car for 12 days. During that time I have experienced a braking problem on 3 instances. In each case I was slowing down at a constant rate of deceleration when I hit a pothole or other rough surface. For a split second the rate of deceleration was interrupted. In other words it felt like I had let up on the brake which I did not do. On the third incident my wife was a passenger in the car and also noticed that for a split second it felt like I eased off the brake. I took my car to the Toyota dealer to make sure the software had been updated. They confirmed that it had and make a note of my experience. I have read about the problem with the brakes on the hybrid Ford Fusion and the problem with my car may be the same. That is that the road bump prompts the computer to momentarily interrupt the regenerative braking and thus make it feel like the brakes failed.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #620

Mar 052010


  • 1,700 miles
2010 Prius 3 times I have the brakes grab and locked several times in a row when I have been applying very slow pressure. Twice while backing out from parking space and once while going forward slowly in my driveway. They then began acting normally. I am concerned that this could happen in traffic causing an accident. I can't find a place at Toyota to report. I was in an accident with 2002 Toyota Prius with unexplained acceleration in October 2009-already reported.

- Dundee, OR, USA

problem #619

Mar 052010


  • 3,600 miles
A safety recall procedure performed recently on the 2010 Prius to fix the lurching brakes has not been working out. I had it done recently, and this is past the recall. In more than 3 occasions recently I almost hit the car in front of me while going over a manhole stopping over for a signal going as low as 25mph. The car jumped forward despite my normal braking to get it to stop, forcing me to brake hard coming to a forced stop. I am afraid someday I may not be so lucky !! wish, Toyota put more thought into their solutions than rushing into the market with sub std. Procedures & cars !!

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?