Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 3 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #225

Jan 032010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I first reported this to Toyota prior to the initial 2010 recall, the car was less than 1 month old and I have reported it on numerous occasions via the Toyota website. On the few occasions I lent the car to friends they have had the same experience. Description: When traveling at relatively slow speeds and an unexpected bump comes up and the brakes are engaged early, once going over the bump the car losses brake power for a few seconds and jolts forward. It is very disconcerting B/C in those split seconds if one is not prepared the car hurls forward and could if all odds are against me, the car could kill someone if they are walking in front of the car. I reported it to my dealer, my dealer's inspector went out on test drive with me, we were able to recreate the incident when he was driving as there are a few spots in my neighborhood that it happens every time. He put the computer on the car but it did not read there was a problem. He called the national technical office, who eventually came out, I left the car at the dealership. They recreated the problem and according to the local technician they put a camera in the wheel to film the situation. I was later told by my local technician that it was determined that there was not a problem with the car and that the situation is normal where the tire catches an uneven surface and goes into overdrive. I have had dreams that I would kill someone in this car. Noone is allowed to use this car for the same reason. I fear for my life and the life of anyone walking in front of me on a street I do not know. It happens almost every 2 weeks. It is scary! please help! this is the first new car I bought in 25 years and I am unable to get rid of it B/C I had to pay so much for it. When I inquired what my options were, Toyota said none, that there is no problem with the car.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #224

Feb 232011

Prius

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the adaptive cruise control feature would unexpectedly malfunction and force the brakes to engage. The contact stated that if the vehicle traveling in front of him were to turn to the left or right, his brakes would suddenly engage. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where the contact was informed that the vehicle was operating to specifications. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Dix Hills, NY, USA

problem #223

Jul 252011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 29,980 miles
2010 Toyota Prius, with 29000 miles. Pulling into a parking lot at a very slow speed, applied brakes to stop car, but it did not stop it, it started jerking forward, until it stopped when it struck a fence, injuries occured as a result, seat belt did not old back driver, and driver wipped forward and back striking steering wheel. Vehicle was towed to toyotta dealer. Still wating for Toyota Corp to advise of error that occured, data from cmputer has been downloaded by a private firm and delivered to Toyota. 8/9/11 accident occured on 7/25/11 at 14:30.

- Dartmouth, MA, USA

problem #222

Aug 062011

Prius

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that as the engine was started, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and caused the contact to crash into a parked vehicle. No one was injured. The police were called and a report was filed. The insurance company was called and had the vehicle towed. There was extensive damage to the vehicle but the contact was awaiting an assessment of the damages from the insurance company. The manufacturer had not yet been contacted. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Tyty, GA, USA

problem #221

Jul 302011

Prius

  • 18,250 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While driving approximately 71 mph with the cruise control activated the vehicle began to accelerate and decelerate on its own. The cruise control light illuminated and began to flash on the instrument panel erratically. The vehicle had a dynamic radar cruise control feature which recognized when there was a vehicle in close proximity and was also illuminated; however, there was not a vehicle within close proximity. The contact depressed the brake pedal but the vehicle would not stop until the cruise control was manually deactivated. The contact had not used the cruise control feature since the failure occurred. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 18,250. Updated 09/28/11 updated 2/21/12

- Moorhead, MN, USA

problem #220

Apr 182011

Prius

  • 43,000 miles
I travel quite a bit these days and on my way home from coachella music festival, my brakes gave out. I mean to say, pushing the pedal all the way down, no resistance, no slowing, a completely limp pedal....until I repeatedly stomped on it and the car locked and skidded to a stop, feet away from the car in front of me. The brakes returned intermittently, so I took the right hand lane at 40mph and tested the brakes regularly until I got to my dealership. Scariest thing ive ever experienced. Ive had the car since August 09' and currently have 43K miles on it. I know thats a lot, and its unfortunately outside of my warranty now, but I wanted to log it here, as soon as I could. It started one day before the freeway incident, whenever I would depress the pedal, a loud high pitched squeak would come out. I didnt think much of it outside of "better get that looked at" but didnt notice any brake failure. The next morning, I turned on the car and every dashboard light came on and a fast consistant beeping went on for about 5 minutes, during which time the brake pedal had zero resistance. I sat there with a serious wtf look on my face, when out of nowhere, the dash lights went away, as did the beeping, and the car drove as normal with full regular brake pressure (besides the squeak). I received a call back from the dealership. They say it's going to be $3K for a master cylinder replacement and that Toyota corporate wouldn't aid in the cost, despite my hybrid warranty still covering the hybrid ECU (the master cylinder unit includes the ECU). [xxx] (my dealership service manager) said herself that it was not my fault and that the part is not repairable, "it either works, or it does not. It must be replaced". this could have been catastrophic, had I been any closer to the car in front of me. The failure of one part (which failed through no fault of the customer) rendering the brakes nearly useless is too scary not to report here. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ca, CA, USA

problem #219

Jan 062010

Prius

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2010 Toyota Prius. While driving approximately 5 mph the contact applied pressure to the brake pedal but the brakes did not respond. The vehicle lunged forward and crashed into another vehicle. The vehicle was towed to dealer where the vehicle was repaired. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to her head and a torn meniscus to her knee. The treatment for her related injuries had been on-going since the crash occurred. The contact no longer owns the vehicle. The dealer assumed ownership of the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- Dearborn, MI, USA

problem #218

Mar 012011

Prius 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
2010 Prius 4 dr hatchback the speed control on my Prius uses radar to speed up and slow down. If I come up on a car doing 45 mph and I'm at 55, the vehicle slows down. When I turn to the other traffic lane, and the lane is clear the car accelerates rapidly. On a number of occasions I have braked to disengage the cruise control, I fell like I don't have control of the car. The fix: Adjust the computer so speed acceleration is slower. I think it is a crash hazard.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #217

Jan 032011

Prius

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that as she was attempting to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and she crashed into a fence. No one was injured yet the front bumper was damaged. The police were contacted but a report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where a special research team was sent to inspect the vehicle failure. After the inspection, they informed the contact that they were unable to locate a failure within the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Ojai, CA, USA

problem #216

Mar 082010

Prius

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated while attempting to park 10 mph with the brakes depressed, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle as it crashed into a store and struck a pedestrian. The pedestrian sustained injuries to the right knee, arm, and hip. A police report was filed and available. The vehicle was towed to a local body shop but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not yet contacted. The failure and current mileage was unavailable.

- Beaverton , OR, USA

problem #215

Jan 142011

Prius

  • 5,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the contact abruptly applied the brakes in an attempt to avoid crashing into a vehicle ahead of her yet the brakes did not respond. Instead, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and the contact crashed into the preceding vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer whom performed a diagnosed that was unable to locate a failure code. The failure mileage was 5,800 and the current mileage was 58,030.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #214

Dec 142010

Prius 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,382 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contac was attempting to brake to a complete stop when the vehicle abnormally accelerated without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic test but was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but did not provide any further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was approximately 2,382. Updated 03/02/11 updated 07/22/11

- Glen Mills, PA, USA

problem #213

Dec 012010

Prius 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota Prius. Consumer states unintended acceleration the consumer stated his wife drove over what is called a slight depression in a parking space, that his wife turned into. When his wife made the turn, the vehicle lunged forward and hit another vehicle causing significant damage to the other vehicle and minimal damage to the Prius. The consumer also stated when he hit a bump in the road, the vehicle unexpectedly lunged forward. The consumer stated the vehicle was serviced due to a recall. However, it seemed as though the problem has not been resolved.

- Malba, NY, USA

problem #212

Nov 272010

Prius

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While stopped at a traffic light, the vehicle was hit from the rear by another vehicle. After the vehicle was hit, it accelerated to a high speed. The contact engaged the brakes but the vehicle continued to accelerate; the contact attempted to turn off the ignition but that did not stop the vehicle. The vehicle changed directions and crossed over a grassy area and crossed over three lanes of traffic and crashed into a concrete median. The contact stated that all the lights failed. The two passengers were injured. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were unknown.

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #211

Oct 232009

Prius

  • 3,400 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into and through a garage; the air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained a bruised heart, broken sternum and two broken ribs. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance outside of taking a complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 3,400.

- Highland , NC, USA

problem #210

Nov 162010

Prius

  • 1,500 miles
My wife was driving our new 2010 Prius home on 16 Nov 2010. As she was turning the car into our driveway at approx 5:30 pm the vehicle lunched forward at great speed on its own. We have a long driveway, it took her about 30 to 40 feet the get the vehicle stopped. While pressing on the brakes the drive tires kept spinning and left rubber marks in the driveway. Bought the vehicle from rick hendrick Toyota in Sept 2010 in fayetteville, nc.

- Raeford, NC, USA

problem #209

Sep 272010

Prius

  • miles
2010 Toyota Prius. Consumer states sudden unintended acceleration the consumer stated the vehicle suddenly accelerated from 35 mph to 45 mph. He was able to stop the vehicle by applying the brakes.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #208

Aug 222010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
We were backing down our driveway in our 2009 Toyota Prius. As we approached the street our car suddenly made a loud whining noise and started accelerating backwards. Before we could do anything, we backed into the car parked across from our driveway. After we collected ourselves, we decided to move the car out of the street into our driveway. The sudden acceleration happened again, but this time my husband reached over and hit the park button and we stopped before we hit anything. I have driven our other two cars down our long driveway since, and we only use the accelerator to start the car moving. After that, we are braking all the way down the drive. The acceleration occurred near the street where we pause to check on the traffic. Now that I have checked myself with our other cars, I am sure I did not have my foot on the accelerator pedal at the bottom of the drive, as I brake all the way down. Our Prius is over at the dealer, and we have filed a complaint with Toyota. We are afraid of the car. We did have the car fixed at the recall.

- Webster Groves, MO, USA

problem #207

Aug 272010

Prius

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While driving at less than 5 mph, the contact was coming to a stop to park her vehicle when the vehicle accelerated on its own. The brakes were applied where they did not engage. The vehicle crashed into a brick wall and there were front end damages and no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a Toyota collision shop. There have been no diagnostic test to indicate why the vehicle accelerated on its own. The failure and current mileage was 6000.

- Tuscan , AZ, USA

problem #206

Aug 012010

Prius 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was braking from 2 mph when the vehicle independently accelerated. The contact applied the brakes and the brake pedal fell farther into the floorboard than normal. The vehicle went over a curb, sidewalk and over a grassy area before crashing into another vehicle. The front end of the vehicle was severely damaged. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a an authorized dealer where the contact was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 13,000. Updated 11/23/10 updated 11/23/10

- Kentwood, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?