Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
32 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,714 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Prius engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Prius:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Prius Owner Comments (Page 5 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #185

Apr 082010

Prius 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated as she was pulling into a parking space, the vehicle suddenly surged forward as she was making a relatively sharp left turn into the space. The contact stated she was probably going 3-5 mph when the vehicle accelerated. She slammed on the brakes and was able to stop the vehicle before it crashed into a parked vehicle. The consumer stated she had the recall performed on the vehicle in early March. The failure mileage was approximately 2,700. Updated 05/26/10 updated 10/05/10

- Washington , DC, USA

problem #184

Apr 062010

Prius

  • 15,045 miles
Although I took my vehicle in for the recall (2010 Prius) last week, the vehicle repeated the loss of brake/surge issue this morning. I also reported to my Toyota dealer last week about abnormal, sudden braking. When applying normal pressure to the brakes, on several occasions the brakes have locked violently, sending me and my passengers against our seat belts. Toyota claimed that the recall may make that better. It has not. Thirdly, I reported last week to Toyota that the car has on occasion shaken violently and made a loud clanking noise (like a washing machine off balance) upon start up, causing me to jump out F the car for fear of it blowing up. They said they had never heard of this. My co-worker, a fellow 2010 Prius owner, reported the same issue.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #183

Mar 282010

Prius

  • 888 miles
2010 Prius still accelerates after "fix".

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #182

Mar 132010

Prius

  • 13,364 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was driving approximately 65 mph with the cruise control activated. There was pressure applied to the brake pedal with a sudden increase of acceleration up to 70 mph. The failure occurred on one occasion. The failure mileage was 13,364. The current mileage was 13,647.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #181

Mar 192010

Prius

  • 5,300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. When the contact shifted into drive gear, the vehicle suddenly accelerated in reverse. The brakes were applied but did not stop the vehicle, the contact pushed the power button which turned off the vehicle and stopped the acceleration. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where NHTSA recall# 10V039000 service brakes, air antilock control unit/module was performed on the vehicle. The contact was concerned that the defect was electrical or a defect in the computer. The approximate current and failure mileages were 5,300.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #180

Jan 152010

Prius

  • 2,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The first time she experienced sudden acceleration was on January 15, 2010. While stopped at the red light with her foot on the brake the vehicle suddenly accelerated. She put the gear in neutral and the vehicle stopped, as soon she took the gear out of neutral the vehicle accelerated again. She experienced the failure five times. She took the vehicle to the dealer February 13 2010 the dealer replaced accelerator pedal and reset the accelerator computerized system. And on March 18, 2010 she experienced the failure again while stopped at the red light the vehicle continued to accelerate. The contact stated she will take the vehicle back to the dealer. The current failure mileage was 2,000 and the current mileage was 4,200.

- Sterling Heights , MI, USA

problem #179

Mar 152010

Prius

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2010 Prius was "repaired" last month. It intermittently accelerates without my prompting after hitting a bump. This acceleration is as intense as the car seems to allow, as if the pedal were to the floor or worse, and persists for at least one second and has not subsided since the ABS actuator ECU was updated in the recall appointment. This acceleration is terrifying as it can't be anticipated as it does not happen every time I hit a bump, and can't be suppressed by the braking system. I have on several occasions been safely coasting to a stop with the brakes on and experienced this problem. In a few cases this acceleration almost caused me to hit the car in front of me at stop lights. I never did experience the symptoms described by Toyota relating to the delayed braking problem, but I fear this problem as much or more.

- Watervliet, NY, USA

problem #178

Dec 222009

Prius

  • miles
My 2010 Prius was delivered on December 17, I took it on two long road trips and used my cruise control on both trips. On both trips with cruise control on there was a surge of acceleration. Nothing stuck and when I applied the brakes the cruise control cut off and the car slowed. I have experienced this one other time and again it was interstate driving with cruise control on.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #177

Mar 182010

(reported on)

Prius

  • miles
S10 appropriate handling re 2010 Toyota Prius safety complaints. The consumer stated the cruise control does not immediately cancel, controlling the throttle under light braking. This allowed the vehicle to accelerate up a hill while the consumer was simultaneously applying the brakes. The brake lights did not come on under light braking and the brakes did not work when braking over rough surfaces such as railroad tracks.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #176

Mar 172010

Prius

  • 4,220 miles
I have been having two issues with the 2010 Prius since I bought it on 29th Dec 2009. 1. unable to stop and sudden acceleration when hitting rough /uneven road condition and trying to stop and control the vehicle. 2. unable to stop some times when drive at city speed limit and going between slow and stop and slow and fast and slow kind of driving, sometime when pressing brake, instead of decelerating it start to accelerate and takes longer to stop. I have already been to Toyota dealership 3 times over this issue. First time they fixed brake issue. Second time it was recall that they told will fix the problem I am having. 3rd time they said they can reproduce the problem. But I know I feel the issue sometime. And I can not just leave the car with them for days to investigate and I can change my driving pattern or behavior either for this car.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #175

Mar 172010

Prius

  • 6,905 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My make: Toyota model: Prius year: 2010 complaint number: 10311958 summary: My 2010 Prius completed its "recall" service yesterday. Today, the car lost power and died while I was driving on to the freeway. I was able to pull over to the side of the freeway and turned it on and off several times until it started. When I called the dealer which is located in thousand oaks, California, I was told by the consumer complaint person that the dealer would not fix the problem unless I was able to recreate the problem with a technician in the car.

- Hidden Hills, CA, USA

problem #174

Feb 202010

Prius

  • 6,600 miles
Sudden acceleration or surge while going over a pothole or bump.

- Hidden Hills, CA, USA

problem #173

Jan 012010

Prius

  • 3,000 miles
Contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact stated he took his vehicle in recently for the recall repair and the failure continues to happen, and it is worse than it was before the repair was done. The contact stated when the road is wet he lightly depresses the brake and it feels as if his vehicle accelerates instead of stopping. The failure happens when driving approximately 20mph. The contact called the dealer and he left a message. The failure mileage was 3,000 and the current is a 5,200. Updated 11/16/10.

- Wadsworth, IL, USA

problem #172

Jan 012010

Prius

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. He stated when driving over uneven road surfaces or speed bumps in the road the vehicle would momentarily lose braking power. Also, when depressing the brake pedal over any type of uneven road surface the vehicle would surge momentarily. The dealer was contacted and informed the contact that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. The failure persisted and the dealer was contacted a second time where the contact was informed that they were aware of the issue, however did not have an explanation or a remedy for the failure. The failure persisted and the dealership was contacted a third time where the contact was advised there was an open recall on the vehicle NHTSA recall number: 10V039000:service brakes, air:antilock:control unit/module) and to bring the vehicle in to perform the recall service. After recall repairs were performed on the vehicle, the contact experienced the exact same failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000 and the current is 7600.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #171

Mar 052010

Prius

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While driving approximately 20 mph and approaching a traffic light, he placed his foot on the brake pedal. The vehicle then abnormally accelerated as he traveled over a pot hole. Upon contacting the dealer, he was advised that he would have to wait until he received recall notification from the manufacturer before making any repairs to the vehicle. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000 and the current was 4,200.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #170

Mar 012010

Prius

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph, proceeding to make a turn. The brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle surged forward with a loud noise. The contact was able to slow the vehicle down. The contact will not drive the vehicle due to the potential safety hazard. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The vehicle was not repaired for the malfunction. The failure mileage was 6,000. The current mileage was 10,000.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #169

Nov 012009

Prius

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. While driving 10 mph over railroad tracks, with her foot off of the accelerator pedal, she noticed that the vehicle suddenly began to accelerate without driver intent. She immediately depressed the brake pedal and the vehicle momentarily decreased in speed, however the vehicle soon began to accelerate again. She then put the vehicle in neutral and shut the engine off. She was able to stop the vehicle and within a few minutes, restarted the engine. The vehicle began to function normal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was test driven. The dealer found nothing wrong with the vehicle and could not duplicate the failure. The contact stated that she had experienced the unintended acceleration over 12 times. There were no repairs made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 4,000 and the current mileage was 8,352.

- Olympia , WA, USA

problem #168

Mar 032010

Prius

  • 2,500 miles
When braking, all of a sudden the car lurches for a second or so, as if on ice. This happened 3 times in different circumstances, once not related to a pothole. Toyota dealer in avon ct applied the correction to the software, and the next week (last week) the same thing happened again, when I hit a wide, but not deep pothole while braking, just before stopping at the end of a highway exit ramp. In this situation, it was fortunate that no car was in front of me at the light. Additionally I had a problem with sudden acceleration a couple times when driving at slow speed.

- New Hartford, CT, USA

problem #167

Feb 062010

Prius

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Prius. The contact was driving approximately between 50-55 mph on a snow covered road surface, while braking the vehicle suddenly surged forward unexpectedly. The driver was unable to control the vehicle and crashed into a ditch. There were no injuries. A police report was filed for the incident and the vehicle was able to resume normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for the front end damage. The manufacturer was notified and requested that the vehicle not be repaired until a engineer inspected it. The vehicle has not been repaired at this time. The current and failure mileages were 11,000.

- Buffton, IN, USA

problem #166

Aug 012009

Prius

  • 450 miles
My 2010 Prius has had these problems, which are not being addressed by Toyota. 1)gas pedal stopped working at all on two occasions going 20-30 miles an hour. Had to pull over, turn car off, restart it. Then it worked. Hasn't happened again. 2)cruise control is very difficult to stop with brake. This is consistent. I have stopped using the cruise control because it has almost caused me to rear end another vehicle on several occasions.

- Gunnison, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?