Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,886 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota RAV4 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Jul 252016

RAV4

  • 104,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall, was notified by Toyota. I called local dealership who said they did not have the parts to fix. Told I was put on a list to be called when parts came in. Was called by Toyota to ask if the repair had been made, I told them no and they hung up on me. Still waiting on call.

- Pinson, AL, USA

problem #38

Sep 032016

RAV4

  • miles
Takata recall recieved notice - for the past 8 months the dealership has refused to call and set appointment. Called corporate corproate gave me case number 5 months later nothing. When I call they say to wait. Totally unacceptable if the car is a threat to my life replace the bag already!

- Laguna Beach, CA, USA

problem #37

Aug 012016

RAV4

  • miles
2004 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to dealership poor communication to schedule airbag recall repair appointments and to order driver side airbag replacement parts.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #36

Jul 022015

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Miami Garden, FL, USA

problem #35

May 242016

RAV4

  • miles
Takata recall called dealership for the 2nd time about replacement parts under recall, only to be told once again they are out of replacement parts and to call back in a few weeks. I called a couple months ago and was told the same thing. Now I'm hearing they are adding more cars to the recall and I fear I may never get mine replaced.

- Hickory, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

May 132015

RAV4

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 05/26/16

- Sandifield, MA, USA

problem #33

Apr 072016

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received my first notice from Toyota last year, 6-8 month ago, to give notice for a recall on my front driver airbag inflator. I contacted my local Toyota dealer in grapevine and after explaining the situation, I was told they would order the part and contact me when it was in. 6 to 8 month have gone by and another reminder from Toyota, torrance, ca about the same issue was sent to me. Following I called my grapevine dealership and they said the part was in. I needed to check my schedule and I called they back 2 days later to set up an appointment. Then, I was informed that my part was never ordered in the first place and that they did not have any airbag inflators on stock. I have now made an appointment with Toyota of lewisville to resolve this issue even though Toyota of grapevine is only a mile from my house.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #32

Apr 042016

RAV4

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #31

Oct 122015

RAV4

  • miles
Takata recall since October 2015, I have been told repeatedly by beechmont Toyota in cincinnati, Ohio that they do not have the repair part in stock. They keep telling me they will order it, but it never seems to come in. I am growing concerned, as the airbag in the car now may be dangerous, and could cause injury or death to my wife and myself. I am tired of waiting for the dealer to get this part, and I want to know what the problem is, before something terrible happens.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #30

Jul 202015

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available and only stated that they had received a limited supply of parts. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- East Brady, PA, USA

problem #29

Jan 012015

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact received the recall notification in January of 2015. However, the dealer continued to advise that the manufacturer was not providing the part. The failure had not been experienced. The VIN was not available.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #28

Oct 102015

RAV4

  • miles
In early October 2015 after receiving front driver airbag inflator recall called my dealer autonation Toyota winter park, fl and tried to make appointment to replace airbag. They indicated that they had not gotten the parts as of yet but would call me back when they received same. On December 5, 2015 called them again and was told that they have not gotten the replacement airbags but would call me when same was received. They did not know when they would be receiving the airbag replacement. This is unacceptable on a recall. What can I do?

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #27

Dec 012015

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
"takata recall" I'm trying to make an appointment to get this fixed but, I'm having trouble having a dealership call me back after leaving messages. Would you please let me know which Toyota dealership is willing to do this? I live in New Jersey and my zipcode is 08501. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Allentown, NJ, USA

problem #26

Nov 302015

RAV4

  • miles
Takata recall we have received the remedy notice. None of the dealers in our area have the necessary parts to perform the remedy. Further that the parts have been back ordered for months. Toyota's letter says this is a serious safety issue. If Toyota took this situation seriously, or if it affected their bottom line, they would see to it that they had the parts ready to be installed. If anyone is injured in my car because of failure to correct the issue, I will hold Toyota and NHTSA responsible.

- West Hills, CA, USA

problem #25

May 132015

RAV4

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags) but the parts were a limited supply. The dealer was unable to provide a reasonable time frame for when the part would become available in order to service the vehicle. The manufacturer was also unable to provide a reasonable time frame for the recall part to become available. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Andover, KS, USA

problem #24

Nov 242015

RAV4

  • 0 miles
Received recall notice from Toyota. As a result made a appointment with local Toyota dealer at which time asked if all parts to accomplish during this visit and the answer was yes. Took the car in at appointed time and was told the repair could not be accomplished at this time.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #23

May 132015

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #22

Oct 262015

RAV4

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Toyota rav 4. while driving at 45 mph, the contact veered into the right lane. As a result, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle and the air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained bruises that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed from the crash scene and was deemed destroyed. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #21

May 132015

RAV4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available for the repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was associated with the recall since May 13, 2006. Part distribution disconnect. Updated 02/12/16 updated 02/17/16.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #20

Jun 122015

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V284000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Seattle, WA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?