Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,045 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota RAV4 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments

problem #14

Apr 102014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 122,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened to me three times and to my wife once. As we begin to accelerate, either from a stop or as we are accelerating, we have a pause in acceleration. If feels like we are not pushing on the gas but that is not it. Once the gas pedal is released and we re-accelerate, the car moves forward normally. It has been very scary when someone is approaching and the gas does not move us forward. This has not happened in reverse.

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #13

Mar 082014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
While driving home after grocery shopping, about a 4-mile drive, the vvt-I oil hose "exploded" (the word used by the Toyota sunnyvale, ca), causing smokes to come out of the car's engine compartment. Immediately, the kids were pulled out the vehicle and placed in a safe location. We are very concerned about the safety of the 2006 Toyota Rav4's oil line. What would have happened if the family was traveling farther away from home?! there is a "limited service campaign" in 2010 that only covers certain VIN of 2006-2009 Toyota Rav4. Although, my vehicle does not fall under the lsc, my vehicle is experiencing the same design defect. March 01, 2010 Toyota announced phase three of a limited service campaign (lsc) on certain 2007 -? 2009 model year avalon and Rav4 vehicles with a 2gr-fe (V6) engine... for phase three, there are approximately... 89,000 Rav4 V6 (2007-2009 model year) vehicles involved in the United States. Last year, Toyota also announced phases one and two of this lsc on... Rav4 V6 (2006 model year)... Toyota needs to take better responsibility for this defect and recall all Rav4 V6 with similar design defect.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #12

Nov 132012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 73,050 miles
Oil pressure warning lit up at approximately 73,050 miles. Diagnosis is that the oil consumption is faster than normal. Servicer topped off oil and returned to servicer after driving $1200 miles. I was told everything is fine. Then it happened again at approximately 81,950 miles. Servicer again tops off with oil and returned after driving another $1200 miles. This time the servicer stated that they need to tear the car apart the before pinpointing the exact problem. Approximate cost to do this is maybe $3,000. Extended warranty expired at $75,000 miles.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #11

Sep 292010

RAV4

  • 51,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When trying accelerate my Toyota 2006 rav 4, at any speed car will hesitate for second and suddenly accelerate to much faster speed that is intended. I have checked, ignition system, found nothing, my personal experience. In heavy rain fall have water inside the car at front passenger side coming from air blower area. Dealer says they don't know anything about both issues. These issues are not a onetime issue and happens all time.

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #10

Feb 022010

RAV4

  • 54,797 miles
Toyota Rav4 2006 limited, 4cy, on 2/2/2010, gas started dripping from underneath of the vehicle. It was a heavy flow. Taken to the dealer immediately. The dealer said that the fuel tank needs to replaced. It is going to be replaced on 2/4/2010 at the cost of $715.

- Northville, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Dec 182009

RAV4

  • 18,305 miles
We have a 2006 Toyota rav 4. on Dec.18, my wife, pulled out of a parking lot and the vehicle started accelerating faster than she wanted to go. She pushed on the foot brake but could not slow or stop the vehicle. When she let up on the brake, it sped up more, and even applying the brake as hard as she could, it did not stop. She bumped into the back of another SUV and then a little further on jumped the curb and smashed into a concrete filled steel pole which did major damage to the right front. She then managed to turn into a parking lot and got it stopped using the hand brake. My insurance company opted to repair the vehicle. At my request, the body shop took it to the Toyota dealer who checked it out mechanically and electrically and, of course, declared all systems within "factory specifications" in thinking back, my wife can recall other times when the rav 4 seemed to accelerate more than she expected, but she was able to control it. She has been driving over 50 years and is a cautious driver. During this wild ride she conscientiously checked to see that she was pressing on the brake pedal and not the accelerator. The floor mat is secured by little hooks so it cannot slide up under the accelerator or brake pedals. (in the idle position, the accelerator pedal is almost 2 inches above the floor).

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #8

May 282009

RAV4

  • 38,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car was displaying error warnings and required me to go to Toyota to get a better understanding of the problem. After the diagnostic of the car, they stated I need a new charcoal cannister. This occurred just outside my 3 year/36000 miles warranty. The tech explained to me that this is a common issue and I wasn't the first he seen of this. He stated that this would have been covered if it occurred in the warranty period. The original piece should have been protected by a shield which 2007 and later are. It was only a matter time before other 2006 models would have this problem. Cost of repair was $2,000. I find this outrages that Toyota knows of this problem, but will not be proactive on this issue.

- Jamaica, NY, USA

problem #7

May 312009

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
Sluggish throttle response in 2006 4 cyl Rav4. Since we owned our new 2006 Rav4 we have notice a very sluggish throttle response when stepping on the gas to accelerate either from a stop or when we try to increase speeds. The delay can be up to a couple seconds before the engine revs up and accelerates. This appears to be a dangerous issue when pulling out into traffic and may cause us getting hit because the car cannot get out of its own way. I had thought it may have been a carburetor thing or clogged filter but there are many message boards online where similar complaints are being expressed. This appears to be an issue either with this engine and/or this model. I hope your Agency would look into it.

- Sandy Hook, CT, USA

problem #6

Mar 032009

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
This is the second complaint I have had on my 2006 Rav4 V6 2wd emission system causing my vehicle stability, traction control, and speed control systems to fail. The first event is ODI number 10268422. The second event was due to a mile of driving slowly in light snow causing a fuel evaporation filter to break a tube fitting off. Water entered the broken tube and failed the fuel evap charcoal canister which in turn failed the vehicle stability, traction control, and speed control systems (ODI number 10268424). I see no reason to tie emissions into safety systems such as these unless it is to "encourage" owners to bring their vehicles in for emissions service. After some wrangling, the dealer agreed to submit it to my extended warranty and it was covered in full. I was told the charcoal cannister would have cost me $700.

- Smithfield, VA, USA

problem #5

Mar 192009

RAV4

  • 66,000 miles
This is the third complaint I have had on my 2006 Rav4 V6 2wd emission system causing my vehicle stability, traction control, and speed control systems to fail. The first event is ODI number 10268422. The second event was submitted also, but I did not get an email- hopefully is submitted. This third event was due to a mile of driving slowly in light snow causing a fuel evaporation filter to break a tube fitting off (second event). Water entered the broken tube and failed the fuel evap charcoal canister which in turn failed the other systems listed in this third event. After some wrangling, the dealer agreed to submit it to my extended warranty and it was covered in full.

- Smiithfield, VA, USA

problem #4

Feb 252008

RAV4

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2/25/08 instance #1: I have had three instances of emissions components on my 2006 2wd Rav4 V6 being damaged in the 65000 miles I have driven it. The first instance manifested itself when the vehicle stability control, traction control and cruise control systems shut-off and lights in the instrument cluster came on. A damaged "charcoal canister" was replaced at the dealer under my extended warranty on 2/25/08. (this occurred a second time on 3/19/09 after an evaporation filter was damaged on 3/3/09 after driving a mile in less than an inch of wet snow. Each event shut off the vehicle stability control, traction control and cruise control systems and the associated system lights in the instrument cluster came on. The dealer felt the damage was due to my operation of the vehicle and at first denied submitting it to my extended warranty. I insisted the part was defective to fail in these circumstances and they eventually covered all repairs.)

- Smithfield, VA, USA

problem #3

Feb 032009

RAV4

  • 59,177 miles
On freeway, other motorist notified me my car was "on fire!" I saw excessive smoke in rearview mirror. I took the next exit which was dixon, ca off interstate 80 West in California. The side of the freeway there is grassy, did not think it was safe to stop...I stopped the car and smoke was everywhere, coming up through the hood & under the car. This was tues, 2/3/09. I has the car serviced the fri before, 1/30/09 at Toyota vallejo in vallejo, ca. I called the dealership after calling aaa for a tow. The service advisor, ryan said "it couldn't have been from anything they had done. But there is an 'oil hose' that had been coming off alot of the Rav4's." I was already upset & that made me livid!! if it were a known problem the dealership should have checked during the scheduled maint. My car was towed to lithia Toyota of vacaville #47 at 500 orange drive, vacaville, ca. Work order 394212. As of yesterday, 2/12/09, the assistant service manager, megan, told me there was no tsb she was aware of, yet the part that came off (vvti oil pipe) was not found at any other dealership or supplier in the United States, and was on order from Toyota in Japan. I am furious that it appears Toyota was well aware of this problem and has failed to initiate any steps to prevent risk to its consumers. I am asking for a full investigation which hopefully will lead to a recall of the 2006 Rav4's and any other year this affects. Megan, the assistant service manager at lithia Toyota confirmed with my insurance adjuster, jose lara (geico 707-688-3318) the cost is covered under the powertrain warranty....what about the cost of my life, and the lives of the other motorist surrounding me"?" the risk of fire is never to be taken lightly. Please investigate this matter to avoid any cost of life.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 242006

RAV4

  • miles
Engine hesitates upon acceleration from standing start, creating an unsafe situation.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #1

Nov 302006

(reported on)

RAV4

  • miles
2006 rav 4 caught on fire while passengers were still inside. The vehicle was involved in a crash then caught on fire. The two occupant were killed.

- Unknown, DC, USA

Not what you are looking for?