Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,102 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota RAV4 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Sep 092016

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Good day please: Appraise unsafety defects. Thankful.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #37

Aug 112016

RAV4

  • 91,500 miles
On August 11, 2016, Toyota announced a recall for rear suspension NHTSA 16V596 to again replace rear suspension arms and then epoxy them to prevent corrosion. This denies the owner to align the rear wheels in the future. Toyota and other manufacturers have been building cars for years that have not required epoxying of parts to prevent corrosion so what is the problem here. Has Toyota used inferior materials" isn't there some way for Toyota to make the repair and still allow for proper alignment even if it costs a small amount more? improper alignment will result in increased tire wear and decreased fuel economy and possibly decreased contro while driving. My car now has 91,500 mile on it and I intend to keep it for many years. Why should I be denied the ability to properly maintain the car"

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #36

Jan 072013

RAV4

  • 225,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact experienced excessive wear on the rear tires. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension). Prior to the recall, the vehicle operated normally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that once the vehicle fell out of alignment, the tires could not be adjusted due to the epoxy. The rear suspension arm needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 225,000.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #35

Feb 112016

RAV4

  • 101,383 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

R/R sway bar end link is broken in motion on city street

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #34

Feb 032016

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
Good afternoon, Toyota defects and malfunctions. Please, improve safety performance. Thank you for helping.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #33

Jan 132014

RAV4 4WD 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
1/30/14 recall part - rear lower suspension arm repaired by handy. Shortly after (1-3 months) I noticed swerve/sway during hard right turns. I suspected bad or underinflated tire on drivers side rear. Checked all tire inflation and lug nut tightness but the swerve/sway continued. On 10/16/14 I had (4) new snow tires installed at sumner tire in newport/derby, vt. I thought it would eliminate the problem but the swerve/sway continued. On 10/21/14 I had local mechanic perform a four wheel alignment. The mechanic could not make the adjust but confirmed drivers side rear was out of alignment. On 1/16/15 I made an appointment at handy to resolve this and other issues. Handy offered free labor if I paid $309.43 for parts to replace the failed recall. Within a few days I contacted national Toyota customer service and spoke to [xxx]. ref #can't be entered as it flags as a ss number. [xxx] called back to state that handy should be contacting me by end of the week concerning this issue. Received a on-line survey only in which I made clear that I should not have to pay for a failed recall item that was not fixed properly. I called national C.S. again two weeks later to report that I have not received any contact from handy. After that call, still no contact was received. I called handy (3) times asking to speak to the service manager, [xxx], who was always busy. I finally received a call back from a service technician, [xxx], with a lower offer for the cost of the parts to fix the recall of $226.03. I called handy back stating that I felt their offer was not acceptable and that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB for assistance. My point in all of this is that Toyota issued a recall for this part and the recall failed and should not be repaired at the consumer's cost. This is a safety concern of mine as well and limits the use of my vehicle for long trips. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Troy, VT, USA

problem #32

Mar 282014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The rear suspension arm on my Toyota Rav4 failed, causing the wheel to drop off the car as I entered I-95. When I reported it to Toyota, they said the recall had been fixed in abq, nm. I live in va; the recall had never been fixed, and the car has never been in abq. Turns out abq dealer had reported the wrong VIN # on fixing multiple recalls on another rav. I have double checked the vehicle and my va dmv registration to ensure my VIN is correct. I have been contacting corporate Toyota for over a week, getting the run around. I cannot get my rav fixed because they say their records are in error. Toyota is refusing to fix the recall, and their customer response on this is horrible.

- Church Road, VA, USA

problem #31

Mar 122015

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 139,239 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, a loud banging noise emitted from the rear of the vehicle. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the rear tie rod fractured. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was previously serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 12V373000 (suspension) and NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension). However, both remedies failed to prevent the failure from occurring. The dealer stated that the tie rod fractured with the epoxy still attached. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 139,239. Updated 5/4/15 updated 05/26/15

- Ciales , PR, USA

problem #30

Jan 312014

RAV4 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,148 miles
1/30/14 recall part - rear lower suspension arm repaired by handy. Shortly after (1-3 months) I noticed swerve/sway during hard right turns. I suspected bad or underinflated tire on drivers side rear. Checked all tire inflation and lug nut tightness but the swerve/sway continued. On 10/16/14 I had (4) new snow tires installed at sumner tire in newport/derby, vt. I thought it would eliminate the problem but the swerve/sway continued. On 10/21/14 I had local mechanic perform a four wheel alignment. The mechanic could not make the adjust but confirmed drivers side rear was out of alignment. On 1/16/15 I made an appointment at handy to resolve this and other issues. Handy offered free labor if I paid $309.43 for parts to replace the failed recall. Within a few days I contacted national Toyota customer service and spoke to [xxx]. ref #can't be entered as it flags as a ss number. [xxx] called back to state that handy should be contacting me by end of the week concerning this issue. Received a on-line survey only in which I made clear that I should not have to pay for a failed recall item that was not fixed properly. I called national C.S. again two weeks later to report that I have not received any contact from handy. After that call, still no contact was received. I called handy (3) times asking to speak to the service manager, [xxx], who was always busy. I finally received a call back from a service technician, [xxx], with a lower offer for the cost of the parts to fix the recall of $226.03. I called handy back stating that I felt their offer was not acceptable and that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB for assistance. My point in all of this is that Toyota issued a recall for this part and the recall failed and should not be repaired at the consumer's cost. This is a safety concern of mine as well and limits the use of my vehicle for long trips.

- Troy, VT, USA

problem #29

Aug 122014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Charlstown, WV, USA

problem #28

Jan 212015

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota rav 4. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #27

Mar 052014

RAV4 4WD 4-cyl

  • 102,500 miles
Dealer fails to complete work on recall in a timely manner. Recall on 2006-2011 model year Rav4 vehicles; rear lower suspension arm. "safety recall C0J" March 2014 - receive notice from Toyota "urgent safety recall". made an appointment June 2014. Told on arrival parts not available. Was put on wait list. Called dealer several times on the phone to check about wait list. Told parts still not available. 9/19/2014 - received follow up notice from Toyota. Called dealer. Told still on wait list, parts not available.

- Gouldsboro, PA, USA

problem #26

Mar 192014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 93,058 miles
I took the car in for the recall on the rear suspension and was led to believe the repairs had been made by the dealership - dick dyer Toyota in columbia, SC on January 13, 2014. Two months later the left rear tire almost came off of the car as my wife and children pulled into the driveway. I spoke with [xxx] (service manager) and he said that he knew about my car. At the time of my initial visit in January, they had noticed rusty bolts on my suspension starting to sheer. At the time, he had called Toyota motor service to see, if the situation warranted getting us a rental car and to see, if they felt the car was safe to drive. They came to the conclusion that the car was safe to drive without visually inspecting (tms). He also admitted that no repairs had been made to my car. So they knew there was a problem and did nothing. I was not informed of the condition of the suspension, or the fact that they called tms to discuss. I was led to believe the recall had been completed. I would never of driven the car, if I knew of it's condition. We left for disney the next day and drove 2,400 miles, before the suspension arm gave way. Luckily, we were pulling into the driveway and not on the interstate or we could of been killed. Yes, they made the repairs to my car, but they let me drive off of the lot knowing that I was driving a ticking time bomb. There wasn't a question of if the suspension would give way....it was when. Obviously, Toyota doesn't give a [xxx] about their loyal customers and their safety. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #25

Apr 192014

RAV4

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated after a recall repair had been performed, there was a strong vibration in the rear of the vehicle. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000 (suspension) and 12V373000 (suspension). The vehicle was not inspected after the recall repair was performed and the contact took the vehicle back to the dealer for inspection. The dealer did notice the vibration upon inspecting the vehicle and stated that the steering shaft may need to be replaced. The dealer did not mention that there was a defect with the steering shaft prior to the recall repair. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #24

May 012014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V168000 (air bags) and NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was also made aware of the delay in the recall being repair. There were no failures at this time.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #23

Feb 062014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact received three recall notifications related to NHTSA campaign id number 13V383000 (suspension), however the part needed was currently unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was not able to provide an expected date for the recall part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Landrum, SC, USA

problem #22

Aug 302013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was alerted of the failure however, declined to provide part availability information. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure described in the recall.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #21

Dec 182013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000(suspension) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available. The manufacture was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #20

Aug 142013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact took the vehicle to be serviced and the dealer stated that they did not have the lubrication available to perform the repair. The manufacturer was alerted about the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Payson, AZ, USA

problem #19

Jan 152013

RAV4

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the rear of the vehicle began to shake intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 12V373000 (suspension). The failure persisted after the repair was performed. There was a second recall related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 13V383000 (suspension) however, the vehicle was not repaired because the manufacturer informed the contact that there was not a remedy yet available. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Seattle, WA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?