Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,346 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota RAV4 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments

problem #6

Apr 212016

RAV4 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dear, NHTSA database: Toyota ? motor sales (tms), U.S.a. Inc.; motor credit corporation (tmcc); financial services securities usa corporation; Goodyear tire & rubber company (Goodyear.com) unsafe:Toyota 2006 Rav4 (VIN) [xxx]. defects unrepairable: 4.jpg; unrepairable recalls safety risk:1.pdf; protect safely & safeguard ? please. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- ., CT, USA

problem #5

Aug 302012

RAV4

  • miles
Consumer writes in regards to problem with vehicle tires the consumer stated he purchased four Bridgestone tires for $648.66 on October 26, 2010. On March 29, 2012 the tires were rotated and balanced. On August 30, 2012, the consumer went to another walmart to have the tires rotated and balanced. However, the service manager informed him, the tires were too bald on the inside to be rotated. The consumer stated no one mentioned to him back in may that two of the four tires were wearing abnormally.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #4

Oct 012010

RAV4 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Toyota Rav4. S10 appropriate handling- letter from regarding Toyota problems the consumer stated her make, model and year vehicle has a widely known defect in the steering column and the ECM computer is also defective and needs to be replaced. There is also an associated rattling sound. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer on two occasions regarding the problems. The consumer was given an estimate of close to two thousand dollars for the repairs. In addition, the mechanic stated the vehicle was unsafe to drive because the steering could fail at any time. Also, the tires were leaking air.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #3

Feb 172009

RAV4

  • 109,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased spector advanta SUV tires on 06/05/08. 235/65/17. Complained to dealer, ashland tire and auto care, ashland, ky. Dealer re-balanced tires without positive results. In the last several weeks, at interstate speeds tires vibrated enough to cause the check engine light to illuminate with traction control and vsc as well. Dealer said buy new tires. Tires currently have 25,000 miles. I replaced the tires today and the problem seems resolved. I see this as a safety issue as the engine tries to decelerate with this combination of dashboard lights. I am storing the tires pending results from this website.

- South Point, OH, USA

problem #2

Feb 032009

RAV4

  • 59,177 miles
On freeway, other motorist notified me my car was "on fire!" I saw excessive smoke in rearview mirror. I took the next exit which was dixon, ca off interstate 80 West in California. The side of the freeway there is grassy, did not think it was safe to stop...I stopped the car and smoke was everywhere, coming up through the hood & under the car. This was tues, 2/3/09. I has the car serviced the fri before, 1/30/09 at Toyota vallejo in vallejo, ca. I called the dealership after calling aaa for a tow. The service advisor, ryan said "it couldn't have been from anything they had done. But there is an 'oil hose' that had been coming off alot of the Rav4's." I was already upset & that made me livid!! if it were a known problem the dealership should have checked during the scheduled maint. My car was towed to lithia Toyota of vacaville #47 at 500 orange drive, vacaville, ca. Work order 394212. As of yesterday, 2/12/09, the assistant service manager, megan, told me there was no tsb she was aware of, yet the part that came off (vvti oil pipe) was not found at any other dealership or supplier in the United States, and was on order from Toyota in Japan. I am furious that it appears Toyota was well aware of this problem and has failed to initiate any steps to prevent risk to its consumers. I am asking for a full investigation which hopefully will lead to a recall of the 2006 Rav4's and any other year this affects. Megan, the assistant service manager at lithia Toyota confirmed with my insurance adjuster, jose lara (geico 707-688-3318) the cost is covered under the powertrain warranty....what about the cost of my life, and the lives of the other motorist surrounding me"?" the risk of fire is never to be taken lightly. Please investigate this matter to avoid any cost of life.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Mar 052008

RAV4 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles
My 2006 Toyota Rav4 sport only has about 20000 miles but I already changed 3 of 4 tires. First tire flattened on highway, they were unfixable so I bought new tires. The tire shop found an inch cut between thread. About one month later another tire flattened, they found the same kind of cut like the first tire. About another month later the third tire flattened, this time they found a pinhole but they did not find any nail. Three months in a row happened to three different tires ?

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?