Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,796 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Oct 032016

RAV4

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Transmission slips or jerks after vehicle slows down and speeds up. This is unsafe in traffic due to vehicles following behind and stops which could cause a rear end collision due to hesitation when vehicle should be excelerated but it slows then jerks back which can be felt when driving. Even felt during excelaration in normal driving conditions. This happens during pressing down on gas petal when the transmission gears should change smoother, it slips or jerks into place, then slows back down again after acceleration.

- Rockingham, NC, USA

problem #30

Nov 012016

RAV4

  • 141,000 miles
When I back up on any kind of an incline, the car jerks and the steering wheel shakes. It feels like I have "hit" something it jerks so badly. If I let off the gas pedal, it stops the jerking but the minute I press the gas pedal again, it jerks again and makes a terrible noise. I can still back up but it feels like the underside of my car is falling out. It's been going on since I purchased it used 2 years ago. I kept thinking it was me until I googled it today and saw several other people have the same issue. I feel it's unsafe and Toyota needs to take care of it. My vehicle already qualified for the oil consumption issue and was repaired earlier this year. Needs to be a national recall and fixed properly.

- Greenwood, MO, USA

problem #29

Jul 182016

RAV4

  • 109,000 miles
I was driving to fredericksburg on I-95 around midnight last Monday. All of a sudden all my warning lights came on. My engine made a loud noise, stalled and then died while I was driving. I was able to get my car to the right shoulder luckily or I would have been dead probably. Got the car towed to the nearest shop. They said I only had 1 quart of oil, and I told them I that is impossible because I change my oil on a regular basis. My oil sticker is in the right side of my windshield. They said due to the lack of oil, I blew a piston and a bearing and they had to take my engine apart. So now my warranty apparently won't cover this so I'm stuck with a car with no engine.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #28

Jan 252015

RAV4

  • 49,446 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oil burning recall. My car Rav4 burns oil at least one quart per 1200 miles. The dealership refused to replace any part due to the 1200 miles test driving. Toyota sent me an enhancement warranty notice about the problem of oil burning. This is unacceptable to me. We paid so much yet what we get is a defect engine in a new Rav4. This should be a recall and Toyota is responsible to fix the rings and other parts that are required to replace in order to stop the problem.

- Alamedaalameda, CA, USA

problem #27

Nov 182015

RAV4

  • 1 miles
Oil pan leaking they replaced and charge me $ 470. Pan sub assy oil fipg oil pan plug w/head straigh gasket all the oil it was coming out and it was almost empty

- Whittier, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

May 172014

RAV4

  • miles
Excessive engine oil consumptions. 1st noticed around May 2014 at 95000 miles. Need to add 1 to 1.5 quart every 1000 miles of driving.

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #25

Sep 052015

RAV4

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

From parked, as the vehicle accelerated, vehicle response resembled having parking brake on, and a grinding noise emanated from the rear axle, center. Drove under 20 mph to Toyota dealer, which diagnosed the problem as the driveshaft/differential coupler, with metal shavings around the driveshaft where it enters the differential coupler. Told the vehicle is unsafe to drive, as the rear wheels could lock up, and cause an accident. Repair costs: Parts $1,300 plus tax; labor - 3 hours ($400). Toyota issued service bulleting tbs 0080-13, and special policy adjustment wab 2190.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #24

Jun 102015

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
I was making a left hand turn on side street and I heard a loud thump (almost like I went over something) my car stopped going forward or backwards. I could not use the gears. I had no warning. The car just stopped moving in the middle of the street. This is a major safety complaint. I don't know if Toyota did not service the car correctly. I am not told the price will be anywhere between 2,500-4,500 car was towed and I was told it needs a new transmission. I have taken care of the car and serviced it mostly at the Toyota dealer.

- Bala Cynwyd, PA, USA

problem #23

Mar 132015

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 93,246 miles
Transmission started to whine, . bearings.

- Auburn, NY, USA

problem #22

Mar 012014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I have a whining noise and vibration felt in my gas pedal which my mechanic has determined to be from the transaxle assembly. My research has shown that on August 8, 2012 Toyota sent out a service bulletin # T-sb-0130-12 which directly addresses this problem. I have been to my Toyota dealer since that time addressing other recall issues however they never mentioned this service bulletin nor did they check if this was an issue. It seems the remedy is to replace the entire transaxle assembly which I am sure they don't want to do because of the expense. Their warranty is for 60 months or 60,000 miles but since their service bulletin wasn't addressed until August of 2012, it would be unlikely under normal driving mileage that a vehicle that was 5 years old at the time would be included under this warranty and they never addressed this problem when they had my vehicle after this date. I think they should be held accountable at this time for neglecting to address this problem.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #21

May 142012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle lunged forward while in second gear. The failure recurred continuously over a period of nine months. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who could not diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 99,000. Updated 05/28/14

- North Smithfield, RI, USA

problem #20

Aug 012012

RAV4

  • 37,500 miles
After hearing about tsbs related to premature water pump failure, I noticed that my Rav4 was low on coolant. The dealer service department tested and found the pump was leaking, and replaced it under the power train warranty. Less than 15,000 miles and 2 years later I am noticing that the coolant level is beginning to run low again, and suspect the replacement water pump may again be defective.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #19

Apr 052014

RAV4

  • 30,000 miles
The car unexpectedly accelerated as I was approaching a red traffic light. My foot was on the brake to slow down when the car's engine revved up and the car kept moving forward with my foot on the brake pedal as far as it could go. The car finally stopped about 6 feet into the intersection. The next morning the car repeated the unexpected acceleration while I was trying to slow down prior to stopping for a stop sign. The driver's side floor mat was removed two or three years ago and was not present that evening or the next morning. I reported this episode to the Toyota dealer and I told him I was afraid to drive the car. The dealer told me the car was out of warranty, but if I wanted have to car towed to the dealership, he would have to technicians check it for historical record of the episode. I was also told I was responsible for towing charges and the cost of the diagnostic analysis. The computerized diagnostic check showed nothing had happened and nothing was wrong with the car. I told the dealer the I was not impressed with the diagnostic test device, as the acceleration did happen and the test set was obviously not checking the source of the problem. I called Toyota customer service telephone number is torrance California, told them my story and asked if Toyota had received any other such complaints. I was told that Toyota could not release that information. I asked what Toyota did with my report of the problem. I was told it went into a Toyota data base. I asked for a copy of Rav4 episodes in the data base. I was told Toyota could not furnish that to me. I then asked for a copy of my report that Toyota entered into the data base. Toyota told me it could not furnish that to me. Toyota seems to discredit reports of this acceleration/safety issue as if it could not possibly happen.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #18

Oct 082011

RAV4

  • 118,564 miles
In the fall of 2011, the vsc and 4WD lights came on in my 2007 Rav4. At the same time my cruise control and 4WD stopped working. I took my car to teton Toyota in Idaho falls, id and was told that the charcoal canister was cracked and needed to be replaced at a cost of $1775. I could not afford to fix the car and eventually I purchased a used charcoal canister and had it installed by an independent mechanic. Then in Feb. 2012, the lights came on again so I took my car to stones Toyota in rexburg, id. The mechanic there confirmed that the charcoal canister was cracked again. I told him that I had replaced it with a used part and he stated that Toyota had redesigned the part so that it wouldn't crack, so if I wanted to fix the problem for good, I'd have to purchase the new part. I have not yet replaced the unit at this time. If Toyota knew that the original part was defective and have now redesigned it, why are they charging their customers over $1500 to replace it? besides not having any 4WD in rural Idaho in the winter, the emissions system is no longer working due to this defective part.

- Driggs, ID, USA

problem #17

Feb 132014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that the vehicle was secured in park and the emergency brake was applied however, the vehicle rolled away after the contact had exited. The contact's foot became trapped under the wheel and caused injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Marblehead, MA, USA

problem #16

Aug 142013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
My wife noticed oil lite came on and went off in a split second. After that the car shut off car was checked no oil. Motor blew up. Called Toyota and refused to do anything. Had to put a jasper engine in. Cost out of pocket $4990 and $1000 to install new engine. I believe with all the other reveiws with the same problem and poor engine design Toyota needs to pay for the engine that customers had to pay out of pocket. I have my paper work for proof and mechanic also. If any info on this please email me asap [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Keedysville , MD, USA

problem #15

Sep 302010

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 136,993 miles
9/30/2013 I backed out my car out of a parking spot, after putting it in drive and started driving when suddenly the car leaped forward, too fast for the intended speed and then came to a grinding halt, I could not put it in reverse and I shut it off. I restarted the car because of its location I could not stay. I was able to drive it a block to one of my clients. After an hour I started the car and attempted to drive away, car did not want to shift gears when picking up speed and I felt the care was unsafe as well as unable to drive on a freeway. Aaa was called and towed to Toyota.10/1/2013 the cause for surge and no reverse was suspected to be caused by low fluid level in transmission. The beaverton Toyota service rep ([xxx]) told me that low levels of fluid would cause the car to eventually stop and unable to shift. One quart of transmission fluid was added, no leaks were detected and my car was taken on a road test and return car was recommended by tas, whatever that means. I felt that the car did drive different, the sound of the gear shifting and the way the car reacted was different, however if the professionals from beaverton Toyota did a test drive they would have noticed too, it?S their job. ON10/6/2013 late afternoon, my car came to a grinding halt right in the driving lane I was traveling at a speed of approximately 20 to 30 mph. It felt I hit a wall how the car stopped abruptly and sound of lots of grinding metal. I called aaa and had it towed back to Toyota again.10/9/2013 received notice that transmission is out, I was told that the transmission was totally shredded. If this last sudden stop had happened on the freeway or crossing a busy intersection, myself and others could have been seriously hurt. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #14

Jan 022013

RAV4

  • 57,000 miles
Check engine light, vsc light and 4WD light came on and stayed on. Took vehicle to dealer and they diagnosed problem as defective charcoal canister. Was told Toyota would not cover the repair or part under their emissions warranty. Toyota is attempting to blame this problem on consumer error when filling the gas tank. How is the charcoal canister not part of the emissions system when it's purpose is to serve as a filter of gas/exhaust fumes. Toyota is once again not standing by their warranties or products.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #13

Feb 202012

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Steering has play and clunk at times causing car to swerve do mechanical defect and/or over correction of the driver do to sensation of loss of steering control. After reading user forms on this vehicle it is common to the vehicle and should be recalled by Toyota to prevent fatal accidents. Recall items should include middle shaft and rack and pinion. Websites below tell people to complain to Toyota but this should be mandated by the NHTSA www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2007/Toyota/Rav4/steering www.rav4world.com/forums/99-4-3-mechanical/82616-steering-intermediate-shaft-clunk-solution.html.

- El Granada, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 102011

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 47,500 miles
Neutral start switch hidden within the confines of the engine management system can fail to work and thus not send a signal to start the engine. According to the head mechanic, the defect is uncertain why it happens other than the standard response that it is normal aspect of wear. I don't agree, since the component is under no stress like for example a spark plug. Thank you for looking in the matter.

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?