Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,087 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Mar 022015

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 100,100 miles


Excessive oil consumption: Checking the oil on this 4 cylinder engine showed that it was down 1 1/2 quarts in only 1,500 miles. The local dealer found no oil leaks.

- Maynard, MA, USA

problem #69

Mar 032015

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
My vehicle has an oil consumption recall. The vehicle burns oil thus a recall to conduct testing. I took the car to a local Toyota dealership and they were to test the oil consumption. However, they screwed the test results by overfilling the oil to make it look like there was no oil burning once the test was completed. They wanted me to drive between 1200-1400 miles then look at the dip stick. But they overfilled the oil on purpose to effect the results.

- Washougal, WA, USA

problem #68

Nov 222014


  • 91,103 miles
Bought the car with 86,226 miles on it. Checked the oil at 91,103 and found only a half a quart of oil in the pan. Changed the oil at that time and then had to add another quart at 92328. Engine is burning way too much oil.

- Severna Park, MD, USA

problem #67

Dec 102013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles


We have noticed excessive oil useage. The vehicle is using appoximately 2 quarts of oil every 1,000 miles. The vehicle has approximately 142,000 miles on it.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #66

Sep 192014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
Was experiencing and intermittent check oil light so I called to make an appointment to have it checked out. The day before the service appointment and driving on the garden state parkway, my engine slowed way down and lost almost all power. The engine started making a very loud noise and would only go about 30 mph. The next day the auto repair shop calls and informs me that I need a new engine. I went with a jasper rebuilt engine which still cost me $6,100 installed.

- Little Egg Harbor Township, NJ, USA

problem #65

Jun 202014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 87,829 miles
Oil changed at Toyota dealership at 83036 miles. At 87750 miles, oil light started to flicker and engine started smoking due to low oil soon after. Added 3 quarts of oil and had oil changed at Toyota dealership on 6/30/14 at 87829. Continued to check and add oil-next routine oil change: 11/19/14 at 93035 miles at Toyota dealership. Within a few months, car was struggling up hills and sounding like it would stall. Emergency oil check-low oil at 94709 miles. Local mechanic had to assist to prevent further damage to vehicle. Received an "excessive oil consumption" notice from Toyota on 2/6/15. Protocol to address malfunctioning engines is to have Toyota verify "excessive oil consumption". customer must pay for oil change in order to begin process, regardless of past evidence to support claims of excessive oil consumption. Dangerous, faulty issues with engines should not be the drivers' responsibility to prove. Especially when the owner has maintained all records to demonstrate proper care of the vehicle.

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #64

Jan 022010

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles


1. my car uses an alarming amount of oil (1 quart before every 1500 miles). 2. in addition, the oil warning light never comes on. I discovered this defect when I first realized my car was burning an enormous amount of oil, and I was three quarts low just prior to my oil change.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #63

Sep 012014


  • 40,000 miles
I have been bringing my car to a local Toyota dealership for maintenance and repairs for more than a year. During this period my car was covered under manufacturer's warranty. I've had my brakes repaired, several recalls tended to, and many oil changes performed. There was one occasion when I brought my car to a chain auto service store to have an oil change performed. It was at this chain that I was informed that the oil level in my car was dangerously low. I called the local Toyota dealership that I usually bring my car to for maintenance and repairs and was told that they needed to perform an oil consumption test on my car. I brought my car to the dealership on three separate occasions so that they could perform the test. On the final test day I was told that my car was indeed losing abnormally excessive amounts of oil and that the first step to remedying the matter would require taking the engine apart. At this point my manufacturer's warranty has expired and I am now relying on my extended warranty. After researching the problem, I found that the excessive loss of oil in cars like mine is a issue that Toyota is very familiar with. In 2011, Toyota issued a technical service bulletin acknowledging the problem. The Toyota dealership which serviced my car never told me this even though they were aware of the problem. The dealership has told me that the extended warranty may decide not to cover the cost of repair after the engine has been removed and taken apart at which point I would be responsible for paying for the repairs. However, if the repair needed to be done when my car was under manufacturer's warranty, then why didn't the Toyota dealership repair it? the tsb was issued in 2011 and I began bringing my car to them in 2012. I should not have to pay to have my car repaired.

- Swampscott, MA, USA

problem #62

Jul 302014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
Just after oil change, about one week later and having driven about 500 miles, oil was already one quart low. Since then it varies, but it burns more oil than any car I've ever owned. On average I need to add 2-4 quarts of oil between oil changes, which I perform every 3000 miles. My concern is that the oil consumption will progressively get worse. An obvious defect here somewhere.

- New Holland, PA, USA

problem #61

Sep 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I was told that my Rav4 was very low on oil and that I should have it looked at. Though I usually have my oil changed at the Toyota dealership, they never mentioned anything to me about low levels of oil in my car. I learned about the low level of oil when I took my car to a chain to have the oil changed. However, the people at Toyota have been aware of this problem since 2011. I mentioned the issue to the Toyota dealership and they have me return on three separate occasions for oil consumption tests. Now my car has exceeded the manufacturer's warranty and Toyota has informed me that my extended warranty may not cover the cost of repairs even though the car was under manufacturer's warranty before the problem was pointed out to me. I was also informed today that it could cost me $1100-$1200 just to have to engine taken apart. The cost of repairing the vehicle will increase if they take it apart and the problem isn't covered by my extended warranty.

- Swampscott, MA, USA

problem #60

Nov 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles


My car is burning excessive oil. The dealership claims they have never heard of such a thing; however, when researched online there is a pending class action lawsuit against Toyota and there was also a service bulletin in 2011 advising the dealerships to remedy problem. At that time my car would have still been under warranty but since it is no longer under warranty the dealership refuses to cover it. They estimate cost between $4-6000.

- Middletown, CT, USA

problem #59

Jun 102013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 75,528 miles
Subject vehicle has burned excessive oil between oil changes - roughly every 3,500 to 4,000 miles, starting at approximately 45K miles. Between oil changes it is not unusual to put in two to three quarts of oil. Driver carries at least one quart of oil in vehicle at all times to hopefully preclude engine seizure. Oil pressure light flickered one time and driver pulled over to discover oil level was down nearly two full quarts less than 2,000 miles after an oil change.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #58

May 282013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 43,625 miles
The car is burning oil and at a rapid pace. My dealer states that it is not burning fast enough to warrant any factory repair. I have to carry oil and check frequently. 60,000 miles now. Two days ago, I thought I saw the oil light flash, it only is a quick flash. I decided to check the oil, it took 4 quarts. No warning except one extremely rapid flash so fast that you're not sure if you saw it. And the car was down four quarts! the oil was put in by a mechanic who couldn't believe it. I should not have to live in fear of the engine seizing up because it has run out of oil. I get my oil changed every 3000 miles as recommended but this car burns oil at an unusual rate. I should not have to check the oil every day but it seem I have no choice. A car with this low mileage should not be burning oil at this rate. Toyota insists that this is normal. If so, then at least have an indicator that shows oil level. Not when it is in dire need to oil.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #57

Jan 152014


  • 95,000 miles
92,564 miles 12/05/13 had oil change. Sometime after that oil change, but before next scheduled oil change oil light came on and took car to dealer to check. They topped off oil and instructed me to come back in 1000 mile intervals to do consumption tests. I followed their direction and came back for several consumption tests. They topped off oil I believe one time for quart one time for quart. They informed me this was "normal oil consumption per Toyota specs for this engine? and that I no longer needed to come in for tests. 96,546 miles 3/19/14 had oil change, there was no mention of oil levels. 99,434 miles 5/23/14 oil light came on, took car immediately to dealer, was told "vehicle had a quart of oil left: It has been 3,000 miles since last oil change. This is normal technician topped off oil. The oil light has not come back on since this time. 101,628 miles 7/23/14 went in for oil change. No mention of oil levels. Was told to top off oil half way through till next scheduled maintenance. After around 2500 miles checked oil and added 3 quarts of oil, checked again before going in for 5000 mile oil change and added 2 quarts. 106,232 miles 11/06/14 went in for oil change insisting that this can not be "normal" oil consumption need to have the engine checked out. Dealer recommending that we do consumption tests again. Being told that anything that needs to be done to address oil problems will not be covered under warranty.

- Media, PA, USA

problem #56

Aug 162012


  • 69,000 miles
I change my oil every 3,0000 miles even synthetic oil recommends that 5000 miles are dealers recommended and car can run even longer on a full synthetic oil. But no matter what they say I change mine every 3000 miles. For last many oil change I find my oil level to be very very low. I mean almost 1 and a half court down, in less then 30000 miles. Funny thing is I put half court of oil between the 3000 miles driven on oil changes. So theoretically it was 2 qt down from oil. This problem I started to notice around 60,000 miles on the engine. There is no leaks. I have good understanding of cars as I have worked on Honda Accord and Camry from older models. I have changed steering pump to gaskets to speed sensors and many more on cars. I can assure that this car does not have any leaks except for oil pan get slightly wet around the bolt area because of perhaps needs a seal or new bolt. In total that oil wont add up to more than 10-20 drops in total through out the time of oil change if that. This extreme amount of engine oil burnout seems like a common problem with this car. Too common to believe it was made by Toyota. Im very surprised as to why Toyota won't recognize as their fault. (well not really that surprised).

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #55

Nov 032014


  • 70,000 miles
My 07 rav 4 has hard/ rough idling issue. The car will (at times) has rough idling issue right at coming to a complete stop. This issue does not occur when ac/heat fan is on. But beside that at times engines feels like it is about to stop and idle falls below 400 RPM shaking or vibrating the whole car for good 3-5 second and then spikes back up just enough to slow down that vibration a bit. At this point my foot is still on brake. No check engine or any other lights on.

- Rowlett , TX, USA

problem #54

Jun 182014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 68,500 miles
We returned from a trip to reno/California in my Toyota rav 4. I had decided to wait until I returned to change oil since there was only about 3000 or less on the last change, . when we returned and nearing our destination, the oil light came on. In checking the oil, no oil showed on the dipstick. I took the car in for service including changing the transmission oil (about $600 ). a couple of weeks later, I checked the oil and it was down 1 1/2 quarts. I now still have about 2000 miles to go before my car needs another oil change and it was again low and another quart was added. Per my research I find that Toyota has known about this problem and sent out info to dealers in 2011 to fix the problem if it is still under warranty. According to what I've read, it requires a piston to be replaced. Toyota has totally ignored this problem and I find that it seems to be common on Rav4's.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #53

Jul 312014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 97,500 miles
My 2007 Toyota Rav4 started to consume copious amounts of oil. There are no signs of oil leakage and no smoke from the exhaust pipe. I always have the oil changed at a Toyota dealer since I purchased the car new. After my recent oil change, I drove approximately 1,500 miles and had to put in 2 quarts of oil. I assumed this was a fluke and Toyota did not fill the oil up. But now again, I drove another 1,500 miles and this time it was bone dry on the dip stick. I did not receive a low oil light. I added another 2 quarts of oil to bring it up to the bottom line.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #52

Aug 192014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that the oil warning indicator illuminated and oil was leaking from the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was not due for an oil change until another 600 miles. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure and placed the vehicle under a 1,000 mile oil consumption test. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 10/30/14 updated 7/9/2015

- Southington, CT, USA

problem #51

Jul 262014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The external oil pressure line to the rear cylinder head busted while driving on the interstate. This caused the engine to completely dump all 6 quarts of motor oil onto the highway. Fortunate for me I was only 0.8 miles from an exit with a safe parking lot. I do not know if the oil from my vehicle caused any wrecks on the interstate, however the potential for a motorcycle wreck or any vehicle that had to make a sudden slow down or quick maneuver would be at a high risk of an accident. Not only did this put my engine at risk for catastrophic failure, but it could have been completely avoided. Toyota is not only aware of this problem but have procedures in place to fix the hose when it ruptures. Its not a matter of if the hose will rupture, but when will the oil hose rupture. If I had been informed of the need to replace the hose I would have gladly have had the hose replaced. The least Toyota should do is send every owner of this type of engine with this typed of hose a letter explaining what could possibly happen and what they need to do to prevent this very preventable problem.

- Harrodsburg, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?