Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,292 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Sep 282014


  • 126,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. While driving approximately 55 mph, the engine burned oil excessively. The vehicle was taken to a dealer and a consumption test was performed. The vehicle was not diagnosed, but the mechanic placed less oil in the vehicle and advised the contact to come back after the vehicle had been driven 500 miles. The failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 126,000.

- Buffalo , NY, USA

problem #28

Aug 012012


  • 37,500 miles
After hearing about tsbs related to premature water pump failure, I noticed that my Rav4 was low on coolant. The dealer service department tested and found the pump was leaking, and replaced it under the power train warranty. Less than 15,000 miles and 2 years later I am noticing that the coolant level is beginning to run low again, and suspect the replacement water pump may again be defective.

- Orchard Park, NY, USA

problem #27

Nov 032013


  • 89,400 miles
After the check engine, vehicle stability control & 4WD warning lights displayed on my 2007 Toyota Rav4 with 89,400 miles, I went to my local Toyota dealer for a diagnosis of the problem. Upon inspection and testing, their service advisor stated, "the emissions system has malfunctioned since water has leaked into the emission system & its charcoal canister". the source of the water occurred since the fuel filler tube housing no longer was properly attached/secured to the vehicle. This allowed rwater coming down the side of the vehicle to enter through the fuel filler door by the fuel cap into the charcoal canister. To remedy the problem, the fuel filler assembly along with gaskets, some electronic and the charcoal canister required replacement for the emission system to properly function and to be in compliance with epa standards. The total cost of the repair $1,400 which Toyota would not cover since it was not under recall, nor would they consider paying under my extended 6 yr 100,000 mile warranty since that expired July 5, 2013. I find it incredible that Toyota would not pay for these repairs since they involve emissions as well as a safety issues. Based on my review of various blogs covering Rav4's, this is a common problem and Toyota admits no fault. As with all issues with Toyota they deny they have design/safety issues with any of their vehicles - sudden acceleration, steering suspension & braking. It took me repeated service visits to get them to replace the front steering rack under my extended warranty. I feel my fuel filler assembly and charcoal canister repair is a safety issue since gasoline could easily leak out down the tube on gasoline overfill and cause a fire if it reached the exhaust system. 20 yrs ago I had a similar issue with a Honda which was repaired under a recall at no charge. Your assistance is greatly appreciated. Thank you

- Mequon, WI, USA

problem #26

Jan 142014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles


2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to vehicle water pump failure. The #6 ignition coil was replaced, as it was shorting out and the steering wheel made an unusual noise, when it was turned.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #25

Nov 152013


  • 99,400 miles
Muffler rusted.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #24

Oct 202012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
This vehicle has not been in an accident. This is not what I am announcing at the moment, but merely to outline the problem of the oil burning on the rav 4. this problem is costing me additional monies that was not catered for that purpose. I am purchasing more than the usual amount of engine oil at the store than I would buy. I simply need Toyota to address the issue/problem and fix it. My vehicle is relatively new and there is no reason that I should need a new engine, not for a seven year old vehicle. I would appreciate if the authorities can ameliorate this situation for all Toyota owners that are faced with this problem, and fix the engine burning oil problem...updated 11-06-13

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #23

Sep 122012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles


There is a knocking noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. I can also feel something moving in sync with the knocking whenever it occurs. It feels as though some car parts are making contact and the knocking noise is the result of the impact.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #22

Jan 312013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 551,090 miles
I brought my Rav4 for service last Jan 31, 2013 at a Toyota dealer here in Hawaii. They told me that there is a sign of a leak on the water pump and charging me $602 just for parts. I declined for the repair. At home, I saw in the internet that this is a common problem for this vehicle. At a mileage of 55109, I don't think this should a problem. So maybe its a defective water pump.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #21

Nov 122012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to problems with recall notices for rear suspension and power window switch. The consumer stated did not believe the recall was performed, as he is still experiencing problems with the power window switch. Also, the water pump was replaced. The consumer stated there were still problems with the suspension, after the dealer it was fixed. Due to the ongoing suspension problems, it was affecting the steering shaft, rack and pinion and tie rod. Updated 03/12/13

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #20

Jan 022013


  • 57,000 miles
Check engine light, vsc light and 4WD light came on and stayed on. Took vehicle to dealer and they diagnosed problem as defective charcoal canister. Was told Toyota would not cover the repair or part under their emissions warranty. Toyota is attempting to blame this problem on consumer error when filling the gas tank. How is the charcoal canister not part of the emissions system when it's purpose is to serve as a filter of gas/exhaust fumes. Toyota is once again not standing by their warranties or products.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #19

May 162007


  • 3,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav 4. the contact noticed that whenever the vehicle was driven over 1,000 miles, the engine would consume one-half a quart of engine oil. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the issue was normal. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was 75,000 and the failure mileage was 3,000.

- Ossining, NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 252012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Within 4000 miles of oil & filter change the oil pressure warning light comes on. There has been no evidence of leakage (drops on ground or build up on engine components) and no evidence of burning up oil (smoke or smell). Online research reveals a Toyota technical bulletin SB0094-11 entitled excessive oil consumption which details an acceptable oil usage level of 1 quart every 1200 miles. This may have been acceptable in a car built in 1940, but it is not acceptable in a car designed to go 5000 miles between oil changes. Excessive oil consumption can lead to excessive engine heat and wear causing failure at high speed with the potential for catastrophic failure. As Toyota is aware of this issue yet not doing enough to remedy it, I am reporting it here to hopefully be investigated.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #17

Mar 212012

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact smelled a burning odor and maneuvered to the side of the road. The contact noticed that the rear passenger side floorboard carpet and rear passenger side seat was engulfed in flames. The fire department was called to extinguish the fire and a fire report was filed of the incident. There was no personal injury. The contact stated prior to the failure, a loud noise and a leak emitted from the exhaust pipe. The vehicle was completely destroyed and towed to a savage facility. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000. Updated 5/11/12 the consumer believed the muffler or the catalytic converter overheated and set the back runner mat on fire, as it was directly under the passenger seat. The vehicle became fully engulfed in flames in a matter of minutes. Updated 05/31/12

- Williamstown , NY, USA

problem #16

Feb 112009


  • 18,462 miles
I purchased a new 2007 Rav4 from Toyota of braintree in 2007. 1. in 2009 I could hear wind in the driver's window; I took the vehicle to be checked, Toyota service department said I was hearing things. 2.the driver's door caught fire (I had the keys with me) I had to spend $606.01 to fix it, Toyota said there was water intrusion (I thought, it probably was, because of the air leak previously reported in 2009) 3. the steering wheel felt strange when I drove, I took it back for service, the diagnosis was steering shaft internal failure which needed to be replaced; I fought to get that fixed out of warranty. 5. on November 25, 2011 I was driving, the window fell in on me and on November 26, 2011, I had to have the driver's side window regulator replaced for $338.30 7. now, oil is leaking into the muffler. (I purchase oil frequently) this vehicle is only 4.5 years old and should not have any of these major problems, when I purchased this Rav4, it was going to be my last vehicle purchase because Toyota advertises longevity of their products. I also know people who drive 1990 and 1995 Toyota products who have never had any of these problems. I was also treated very poorly during some of my repair visits. After the door caught on fire, I had a meeting with the owner of Toyota of braintree, [xxx] but his resolution was giving me $13,000 for my vehicle (which I own) and me purchasing a brand new vehicle, which meant I would have a monthly payment. I did contact Toyota headquarters in California and filed a complaint and never received any resolution. Since then I received a letter from the national center for dispute settlement stating they can't help me. Thank you for any assistance, sincerely, Toyota Rav4 owner. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brookline, MA, USA

problem #15

Jan 012009

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Transmission developed an annoying whine from 40 to 60 mph. Very distracting while driving because of the high pitch noise it makes inside the cabin. Big disappointment!

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #14

Dec 022011

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 59,923 miles
Vehicle was bought new and had 148miles on it when delivered as it was delivered to me from another dealership. For the past 20,000 miles it has been using 3-4 quarts of oil between oil changes. Toyota knows this is a problem with these vehicles and has a tsb 0094-11 to fix the design flaw. This "fix" basically rebuilds the engine with new pistons, rings and cranks. Called the dealer when I saw this tsb and told them I had 59923 miles on vehicle so I'll be over the warranty by the time I bring it in and was told it was no problem. Dropped off vehicle with 60114 miles on it and they started an oil consumption test by first filling the oil. It took 3 1/2 quarts just to top it off. Need to go back in 1200 miles to confirm that it is using oil but they told me the warranty will not be valid and I would need to pay for any repairs out of pocket. Toyota uses this engine in many different vehicles and a search online finds that there are quite a few people with this problem but Toyota will do nothing about it.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #13

Dec 012011


  • miles
2007 rav 4 had 3 lights turned on (check engine light, stability control light and 4 wheel drive light), shortly after the lights came on, the brakes failed. Rav4 was taken to Toyota delearship for repair and after the technicians being confused by the lights, they determined that the brake booster had failed. This issue is similar to the recent highlinder recall and I feel people's safety is at stake with the brakes failing.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #12

Aug 112009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav-4. the contact stated that excessive amounts of smoke was released from the tail pipe when first started. The vehicle was burning 1.1 quarts of oil every 2,300 miles. The contact believed the failure was contributed to a manufacturing defect because the vehicle was recommended to have an oil change performed every 5,000 miles and the contact was concerned that the failure would destroy the engine. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the oil consumption was normal and that the vehicle was designed to burn 1 quart of oil every 1,200 miles. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 40,000.

- Monson, MA, USA

problem #11

Sep 072011

RAV4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav 4. the contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the posterior oxygen sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. Two days later, the check engine light was illuminated again and the contact experienced brake failure. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who diagnosed that the brake booster needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 27,000. Updated 11/03/11 updated 05/12/2012

- Dorchester , MA, USA

problem #10

Aug 282010


  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. While driving 65 mph the instrumental panel lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the engine control module might have caused the failure, but they will further diagnose the failure. The manufacturer took report 1008300034 and will check with the dealership. The current and the failure mileages were 44,000.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?