Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,393 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments

problem #19

Jun 012015


  • 115,000 miles


The driver side visor has begun to droop when placed in the up (touching the roof) position or in the down (blocking the sun). I noticed this in June 2015 and has significantly gotten worse. There was no one incident that caused the visor to fall and this seems to be more than just a normal wear and tear issue. There is no way to manually tighten the visor and it now falls down whenever I brake, turn or stop the vehicle. I have been hit in the head when leaning forward to look in my blind spot when merging and high speeds and the visor falling scared me. Toyota knows that this is an design flaw with 2006-12 Rav4S, as per the dealerships I spoke with and with customer care. Because the vehicle is out of warranty, they will not replace the part. I have contacted Toyota and they stated the only way they will do a recall is if enough customers complain to nhsta about the problem. This is a safety issue and defective visors should be replaced by Toyota.

- Makawao, HI, USA

problem #18

Jul 302015


  • 62,808 miles
Engine is consuming 1 qt. Of oil every 1000 miles.john elway Toyota Ontario ca. Performed oil consumption test. My vehicle failed the test.I called Toyota corporate at 18003314331 per anna statton. I was given case #1505111408. I was told that thrre are no parts avaible to fix the issue. I was told to drive to john elway Toyota dealership every 1000 moles to add 1 qt. Of oil to the engine. I have done this twice. Now I need to have the vehicle smog checked this month. My concern is that since the car is consuming 1 qt. Of oil. It will fail the smog test required by the state of California and will be tagged as a "gross polluter". then the state requires that I repair the car. By doing the repairs it would interfere with the recall and void the repairs that john elway Toyota and Toyota corporate has said has stated that are required to fix the high oil consumption cause by defective engine parts and the recall Toyota issued. If I don't have the car smog tested the state wont issue license plate tags and registration as required by law. Please reply with instruction as to what I should do. Thank you. Mike zavala

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #17

May 012015


  • 75,000 miles
Driver's side visor hangs loosely down in front of driver. Have had two close calls with staying on road while trying to deal with defective driver's side visor.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #16

Jun 032013


  • 90,000 miles


The driver side sun visor continuously falls down blocking the drivers view out the front window. O one instance aas I was driving at 60 plus miles per hour at freeway speeds and my vision was blocked as I was trying to change lanes while turrning my head at the same time holding up the visor and trying to look behind to be sure the lanes were clear to safely change lanes. This has almost caused a serious accident on the freeway on many occasions!. in addition, the passenger side visor also falls fown ( I am the sole owner of this car and very seldom even have passengers so the passenger side visor is not even used very often. This is a critical safety issue and a major design flaw that makes it unsafe to drive! I believe this is a serious safety issue as it's only a matter of time before it causes a serious accident. Toyota should fix this faulty design!

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 012014


  • miles
Air bag issue.

- Wheeler, IL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Jun 152009


  • 25,000 miles
Since the vehicle was only about 2 years old, the driver's side sun visor would fall down and block the driver's forward view- very annoying and unsafe. Should be covered by Toyota warranty, but they won't touch it. Very disappointed in Toyota.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #13

May 112015


  • 43,000 miles


On multiple occasions, I was coming to a stop when my foot both the gas pedal and the brake at the same time. The vehicle moved forward a few feet, but could of lunged me into the middle of the intersection. I've been driving for over 40 years numerous vehicles, but this is only car that I have had this problem. Could you please address it before someone gets injured?

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 222013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
On July 30, 2014 I took my Toyota rav 4 into autonation Toyota on arapahoe road in centennial, my preferred dealer for service, great customer service. I asked the service advisor, [xxx], to check and make sure I had all the recalls taken care of. He informed me that there was one fix there was not a solution at this time, spiral cable. I told him I had taken my car to groove Toyota on broadway in englewood July 22, 2013, because my car was making a noise and they fixed the spiral cable to the tune of $608.84. [xxx] advised me to go back to groove and ask for a refund. I called them (303-761-3222) on July 29 and was told to contact corporate. I called corporate (800-331-4331) and was told that I should receive a letter regarding the recall by the end of August and if I didn"?T receive the letter to call back. I was also told when I receive the letter to take my care to a dealer and have them write off that the recall was fixed. Then I should send in proof that it was fixed, copy of proof of payment and copy of the title. I called back August 29, and was told the letters had not gone out yet and it may be the middle of September. I told the woman I talked to, [xxx], that I was planning on doing some traveling in October and she invited me to check on line to see if the letters had gone out. It's my understanding that some service advisors receive commissions on work done. Why should I have to pay for a recall and if he did receive a commissions, why" I have the required paper work except for the letter. I feel like I was taken advantage of and thats wrong. Thanks, sent from windows mail information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #11

Nov 032013


  • 89,400 miles
After the check engine, vehicle stability control & 4WD warning lights displayed on my 2007 Toyota Rav4 with 89,400 miles, I went to my local Toyota dealer for a diagnosis of the problem. Upon inspection and testing, their service advisor stated, "the emissions system has malfunctioned since water has leaked into the emission system & its charcoal canister". the source of the water occurred since the fuel filler tube housing no longer was properly attached/secured to the vehicle. This allowed rwater coming down the side of the vehicle to enter through the fuel filler door by the fuel cap into the charcoal canister. To remedy the problem, the fuel filler assembly along with gaskets, some electronic and the charcoal canister required replacement for the emission system to properly function and to be in compliance with epa standards. The total cost of the repair $1,400 which Toyota would not cover since it was not under recall, nor would they consider paying under my extended 6 yr 100,000 mile warranty since that expired July 5, 2013. I find it incredible that Toyota would not pay for these repairs since they involve emissions as well as a safety issues. Based on my review of various blogs covering Rav4's, this is a common problem and Toyota admits no fault. As with all issues with Toyota they deny they have design/safety issues with any of their vehicles - sudden acceleration, steering suspension & braking. It took me repeated service visits to get them to replace the front steering rack under my extended warranty. I feel my fuel filler assembly and charcoal canister repair is a safety issue since gasoline could easily leak out down the tube on gasoline overfill and cause a fire if it reached the exhaust system. 20 yrs ago I had a similar issue with a Honda which was repaired under a recall at no charge. Your assistance is greatly appreciated. Thank you

- Mequon, WI, USA

problem #10

Dec 182012


  • 86,521 miles
Both struts gave out while Toyota Rav4 parked at fred haas Toyota country dealership in houston. Service director indicates this is known Toyota problem. Executive offices of Toyota usa confirms both struts can give out at same time for older vehicles. They say this is not a Toyota issue because is outside warranty period. People could be seriously injured or killed if both give out at same time and vehicle is moving; no matter the age.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #9

May 012012


  • miles


2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer states problem with vehicle keys the consumer stated the plastic casing on the ignition key separated from the metal part of the primary key. She then started using the spare key and within a year, the same thing happened to that key. The dealer informed the consumer it would cost $200 to replace the key. The consumer stated it is a challenge to hold the parts together when starting the vehicle.

- Topsfield, MA, USA

problem #8

Jan 192012

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 48,037 miles
I was driving home from work last January 19 at 5pm I saw my window that it looks like so hot outside and when I tried to open it, I saw a flame coming out from the left power switch. I was so scared because it looks like it was getting big so I stop my car, turn off my engine, get out of the car and call 911. When police and fire department arrived, the fire or flames gone. It was so strange and scary. Good thing I never got hurt and I turned off the engine right away. I file this complaint because I just want you to be aware so that you guys can do any solution for this matter and I don't want anybody to experience what happen to me. Police report # 12-024482.

- Pearl City, HI, USA

problem #7

Jul 012011


  • 60,000 miles
At around 60,000 miles, my 2007 Rav4 began making a very loud thumping, knocking noise from the steering column and shafts every time I turned the wheel left or right. The issue was noticeably worse at low speeds and the impact could be felt as a tremor through the steering wheel. By 70,000 miles, I feared for my safety driving at speeds higher than 35mph. The problem was addressed by two independent mechanics and the local Toyota dealership. All three advised that the issue should be repaired urgently as it is an immediate driver safety concern. Further research confirms that this is a recurring problem with 2006-2008 year Rav4S. Toyota recognizes that the intermediate steering shaft failures are serious enough to warrant the issue of two technical service bulletins. This flaw is covered by warranty for vehicles under 3 years of 36,000 miles, but costs over $1,000 to repair (at the owner┐'s cost) out of warranty. This issue obviously relates to a design/material of construction deficiency with this model. Over 100 complaints already listed on NHTSA site. Any problems with the steering mechanism clearly affect the ability to safely drive the vehicle and thus need to be addressed immediately. Toyota is knowingly imposing risk on its drivers until this issue is dealt with, by a mandatory recall or extended warranty.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 292011

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Master window power switch caught a fire in August 2011. It had been giving me problems since July 2009. Toyota would not fix it because to many miles. How does a power window stop working on a 2007 Rav4 when it only two years old. Faulty master power switch. It had a burn hole the size of a dime. I'm glad I took a picture of it. The first time I saw smoke was June 2011. I was so afraid to drive the fire trap I traded it in for a new car. The Rav4 was paid off now I have a car loan at 19.9%.

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #5

Aug 162010


  • 50,000 miles
Car started rumbling and mis-firing while driving down the road with approximately 50,000 miles in August 2010. Repair consisted of replacing the #5 ignition coil for $225. Happened again 06/13/11 and #6 ignition coil needed to be replaced for the cost of $308. Part number fp#90919-A2007.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #4

Dec 102010


  • 43,695 miles
Clunking noise when turning steering wheel left or right while driving, Toyota dealer check tsb and found T-sb-0318-08. Advise to replace intermediate steering shaft which cost me total of $834.86 including four wheel alignment. I have researched the problem with 2007 Toyota Rav4 in the internet and it seems like all the problem for this car is all the same. A recall should be implemented to correct the problem, do you have to wait until something really bad happend.

- Pacifica, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 282010

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. While driving approximately 50 mph with the vehicle on cruise control he pushed the cruise lever up to increase the speed and the rmps increased excessively. He stated that the rmps increased excessively for a few seconds and then decreased. He refused to use the cruise control again. The vehicle was not taken to an authorized dealer or local mechanic. The approximate failure and current mileages were 32,000. Updated 12/7/10 updated 12/22/10 the consumer stated the excessive increase in speed was due to operator error. Update 12/30/10

- Norfolk, AR, USA

problem #2

Dec 292009


  • miles
Have had two accidents with Toyota Rav4 2007 before recall. In both incidents thought I was pressing brake with no response.

- Lafayette Hill, PA, USA

problem #1

Nov 162009

(reported on)


  • miles
2007 Toyota Rav4. Consumer wants to know will the vehicle have the same acceleration issues like the other Toyota's.

- Unknown, DC, USA

Not what you are looking for?