Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,466 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #63

Mar 062014


  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The air bag sensor illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who diagnosed that the spiral cable needed to be replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V168000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available and the remedy was not available. The manufacturer was also contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- Forest Park, IL, USA

problem #62

Jul 012014


  • 166,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V168000 (air bags); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 166,000.

- Storrs, CT, USA

problem #61

May 072014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
Air bag fault indicator light came on and is illuminated whenever the ignition is on. Vehicle was taken to dealer per owners manual and dealer informed us there is a Toyota recall about to be issued but no parts are available for a repair. We received a notice from Toyota that the recall notice is in process but parts and repair lead time is unknown. Calls to the local dealer and to Toyota regional office had each telling me to call the other due to a lack lead time information for the repair parts availability. We are still waiting and probably operating an unsafe vehicle..

- Webster, MN, USA

problem #60

Aug 292011

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 104,299 miles


On August 29, 2011, 19 year-old subject was traveling straight across an intersection when subject was struck on driver side by a 2010 Hyundai elantra. Subject was struck by a motorist that according to police officer report, ran a red light. Subject was proceeding straight with green light while driving a white 2007 Toyota Rav4 with approximately 104,299 miles. Subject purchased Rav4 vehicle from Toyota in April of 2011. Subject purchased 2007 Rav4 on account of the airbag safety features (head, side, front, passenger side airbags) to protect subject from injury. On August 29, 2011, subject 2007 Rav4 sustained damage from rocker panel to roof and from front left bumper to doors. Structural, suspension, wheel, and steering components were also damaged as per the appraiser's damage estimate following the August 29, 2011 accident. No airbags deployed. A letter was sent to Toyota. Calls were made to Toyota to assess the damage and Toyota denied claims of any wrongdoing or defect. Subject was injured in accident. Toyota declined to inspect vehicle. Recent notices of recalls received along with Toyota sending emails to subject to try to purchase subject Rav4 lends credibility to subject assertion that airbags should have deployed and protected subject from injury during the August 29, 2011 incident. The airbag features failed subject and failed to protect subject from injury on August 29, 2011. 2007 Rav4 was declared a total loss by geico and Liberty mutual. This accident totaled a Rav4 and no airbags deployed. Given inadequate attention was given to subject and investigation of this matter by Toyota, subject seeks investigation and remedy for injuries sustained.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #59

May 152014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Driving down community street. Airbag light came on. Has stayed on continuously. Car has never been in any kind of accident. Toyota says my vehicle is not affected by their recall and will not cover any repairs.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #58

Oct 192013


  • miles
After starting the car the air bag light did not off. It has continued to stay on when the car is running since Oct. 19 2013. We have tried trouble shooting the problem with no success. When having recall repairs done at lewis Toyota in Dodge city, ks on 3/21/14 the repair manager was asked about the problem and gave no indication that Toyota was aware of the issue or that a recall was being issued. Toyota has stated they will send letters informing owners by late April. It is mid may and we have still received nothing.

- Dodge City, KS, USA

problem #57

Nov 212013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 91,259 miles


I rear-ended another car, sustaining damage to both cars. My airbag failed even though I was going about 40 mph--did not deploy. My chest hit the steering wheel even though I was wearing my seat belt. Although, at first I did not realize the extent of my injuries, I received several fractures as revealed by mri and other scans as follows: 1. sternum fracture 2. rib fracture 3. spine compression fractures over time, condition has deteriorated to immobilization. Just recently looked up details of speed at which airbag should engage (after hearing about recalls) and now realize airbag should have gone off at much lower speed.

- Angelus Oaks, CA, USA

problem #56

Dec 102013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 40,240 miles
Airbag light came on 12/10/2013. Called dealer to make appointment. Dealer hooked up scan tool ($65 for diagnosis) B1801 open in D squib. Diagnosed open in spiral cable. I declined repair since I did not have $ $511 to spare. I know that Toyota recalled certain 2007 Rav4 units, but service tech said mine was not among them.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #55

Feb 182014


  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 87,000 and the current mileage was 88,000.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #54

Mar 202014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 119,816 miles
Took vehicle in for diagnostics as several lights were on. Was called by service advisor that the D squib circuit/spiral cable is faulty and therefore the air bag system is not operational. This is a huge safety issue as I was unaware of my airbags not functioning. Thank god, we did not get into an accident! the Toyota dealer whom we purchased our 2007 rav 4 from brand new of course wants to repair it for approx. $500. That is insane as this issue should never occur. After reading many postings on the internet, obviously this is a known issue and clearly there should be a recall to fix this.

- Columbus, WI, USA

problem #53

Mar 082013


  • miles


A R E call now on the clock spring stop acting stupid's.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #52

Oct 292013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 133,613 miles
Air bag light went on and after SRS diagnosis test found clock spring bad. Estimated repair $522.50.

- Great Meadows, NJ, USA

problem #51

Sep 032013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Hit a car in front of me and wreck the front right corner of the Rav4 and no air bags went off. And my ins company total the Rav4 and don't know what happen to the other car.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #50

Aug 212011


  • 60,840 miles
While driving, noticed that SRS airbag light on dash illuminated, which indicates that the vehicles driver airbag is inoperative. Took into Toyota dealer, and was told it had a bad spiral cable/clock spring, and airbag module actuator. Was quoted repair price of $ $1297. When I called them back asking for the 2 error codes read in diagnostics, a different service adviser informed it was only 1 code, B1801, which is for spiral cable, and not airbag actuator too. This should be a safety recall issue, and repaired by Toyota, since my driver's airbag is inoperative.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #49

Aug 122013


  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav-4. the contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the spiral cable was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 97,000 and the current mileage was 97,500.

- Morton , IL, USA

problem #48

Aug 142013


  • 130,000 miles
Upon starting the vehicle I noticed that on the instrument panel the airbag light was illuminated. This indicated that there was a problem with the safety system which allows the airbag to inflate during a frontal or side impact crash. I scheduled an appointment with the local Toyota dealership for further investigation. On the day of the appointment I was informed that there was a malfunction in the spiral clock cable which resides under the steering wheel and is an intricate part of the safety, driver side and other airbags within the vehicle. If this part was not replaced then I could be fatally hurt or killed if the airbag would not deploy. I was also informed that Toyota had done a recall on this exact part but only on the Toyota Tacoma, this effected over 700,000 vehicles recalled for this same problem. I contacted Toyota immediately after having the repairs done to my vehicle. I received a message back from them stating that they would reimburse me for the part plus the tax but not for the labor charges, they claim that the labor charges would not be reimbursed due to the number of miles on my vehicle, but if they had included the Rav4S in the recall the labor charges would have been included. I have had more than 4 recalls on my vehicle done in just the past couple of months. Although I am grateful that I am receiving the reimbursement for the part and tax I think that the labor should be included, due to the fact that the part was a major recall on other models.

- Manchester, TN, USA

problem #47

Aug 012013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to vehicle curtain shield air bag sensor recall notice. The consumer received a recall notice. However, according to her local dealer, they were unaware of any recall, and therefore, they charged her for the inspection. According to the invoice, the spiral cable needed to be replaced.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #46

Jun 162013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
My vehicle's airbag sensor light went on. Right about the same time, there was a recall from Toyota stating that there could be an issue with airbag sensor light turning on. When I checked with Toyota dealer, they said the recall was for something else related to airbag sensor and there is another issue with car's clock spring and it has to be replaced. Also, I was warned that airbags won't work in case of an accident. How could an internal part stop working all of a sudden which does not have any user interaction. And if it happened so due a manufacturing defect, Toyota should be prompt to offer a recall for such a safety intensive part.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #45

Jul 242013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 65,700 miles
The air bag warning light indicated a problem. I took it to a Toyota service center and they indicated that it coded B1801, a message to replace a spiral cable. Since this condition causes the airbags to be inoperable, I had them repair the problem cable. When I look online, this seems to be a widespread issue with other owners and is certainly a safety issue.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #44

Jul 192013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 127,251 miles
On July 25th I brought my car to the mechanic because the air bag light was on since last Friday. The mechanic told me there was a code on the air bag light was B1801. This is a common problem amongst Rav4's. I think this should be a recall on this because it is so common amongst Rav4S. I know it will cost me approximately $600 to fix this. Please inform me if there looks like there will be a recall on this. My email is [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Norwood, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?