If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,334 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Dec 052014

RAV4

  • 77,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Toyota Rav4 has a "clunking/popping" noise coming from what appears to be the steering linkage somewhere between the intermediate shaft and rack-and-pinion assembly.in early 2014, a Toyota dealership in Indiana recommended servicing the intermediate shaft assembly via an issued Toyota service bulletin. The intermediate shaft was replaced replaced in the spring of 2014 (cost=$1000, car mileage ~65K).I have since job relocated to New Jersey and the problem has resurfaced (car mileage ~75K).a dealership here told me that the rack-and-pinion assembly needs to be replace (est. Cost= $2000).general signs of rack-and-pinion failure as stated by the dealership and general research are not observed in my car (signs including "play/slop" in the steering wheel, loose steering, stiff steering, etc.).further research of this issue has show multiple hundreds-of-thousands of Rav4 owners inquiring about this issue either via Rav4/Toyota forums, or through the NHTSA and other third party auto safety agencies.the dealerships seem to be guessing at what the problem is, and they issue repair guidelines based only on service bulletins without fully investigating the issue.there is a serious safety concern with a "clunking/popping" noise with the steering assembly of these automobiles.owners of this (highly rated, abundantly sold) Rav4 model should be issued a recall by Toyota to have the rack-and-pinion and the intermediate shaft assembly fixed without consumer purchase.Toyota is aware of the problems, as they have issued multiple service bulletins, but have yet to deem the issue a safety concern leaving their loyal owners with repair cost in upwards of $3000 for cars that are well under 100,000 miles, but outside of Toyota's warranty period. Protecting the safety of drivers and their precious passengers, should be the number one concern of Toyota and the NHTSA.

- Raritan, NJ, USA

problem #55

Dec 012014

RAV4

  • miles
2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer received a recall notice for the rear lower suspension arms, but has not been able to get the vehicle repaired. The dealer gave the consumer, different excuses, as to why they couldn't repair the vehicle.

- Florence, WI, USA

problem #54

Dec 242011

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 62,422 miles
While traveling on a highway, the rear tie rod (suspension arm) on the driver side of our Rav4 suddenly failed, causing the car to swerve wildly out of control and crash into a concrete divider. After the car came to a stop, the affected wheel was found to be tilted on an angle. There was no indication of a mechanical problem prior to the failure. The Rav4 had 62,422 miles at the time. The accident occurred on December 24, 2011 - prior to the related recalls 12V373000 (C0J) and 13V383000 (csj). I wrote to Toyota executives in January 2012. My letter described our incident, and I included three similar reports from other drivers from the NHTSA website and an internet search. I was put in contact with a representative from Toyota executive offices. I mailed the failed part to Toyota U.S.a. headquarters in February 2012 after taking photos to document the problem. Corrosion was hidden within the tube of the suspension arm. The threads on the tie rod end had corroded, so one piece could be pulled straight out from the other part without having to unscrew it. The lower part of the bolt or tie rod end was also fractured due to the corrosion. After following up with Toyota executive offices, I was informed that this issue was already known to them, and resulted from improper torque applied during a wheel alignment. My car previously had a wheel alignment at an authorized Toyota service center. Toyota officially started the recall process with the NHTSA about a half year later. Toyota should have taken steps much earlier to notify owners of this very dangerous issue! a document on the NHTSA website indicates Toyota started an initial investigation in 2008. Based on other recall-related documents, it is scary that there appear to be hundreds of thousands of involved vehicles that have yet to be inspected. Updated 12/03/14.

- Richboro, PA, USA

problem #53

Sep 182014

RAV4

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on the highway during my recent vacation I heard a loud bang from under the rear of the vehicle. Immediately after while still driving, pieces of metal fell off the bottom of my car hitting the vehicle behind me. We both pulled over, my rear stabilizer / sway bar had busted and fallen from the car. Now I have to pay several hundred dollars for repairs, my wife and I could of been severely hurt or worse, and now possibly pay for a cracked windshield from the car behind me. I have read several other complaints from Toyota owners that experienced this same problem. This should of not happened at only 54000 miles. This is a dangerous situation. (this vehicle has never towed anything)

- Middlebury, CT, USA

problem #52

Sep 252014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V168000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Jan 282014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Spaulding, IL, USA

problem #50

Aug 262014

RAV4

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 38 mph, the rear back wheels locked up and the vehicle swerved from side to side. Also, the contact stated that the downward hill assist warning light illuminated when the wheels locked up. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension). However, the part to do the repair was not available. The manufacturer had been notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #49

Apr 092014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V168000 (suspension); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Poulsbo, WA, USA

problem #48

Jul 032014

RAV4

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle and steering wheel would shake violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the intermediate shaft was defective and had to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000. Updated 10/7/14

- Manson, WA, USA

problem #47

Aug 292011

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 104,299 miles
On August 29, 2011, 19 year-old subject was traveling straight across an intersection when subject was struck on driver side by a 2010 Hyundai elantra. Subject was struck by a motorist that according to police officer report, ran a red light. Subject was proceeding straight with green light while driving a white 2007 Toyota Rav4 with approximately 104,299 miles. Subject purchased Rav4 vehicle from Toyota in April of 2011. Subject purchased 2007 Rav4 on account of the airbag safety features (head, side, front, passenger side airbags) to protect subject from injury. On August 29, 2011, subject 2007 Rav4 sustained damage from rocker panel to roof and from front left bumper to doors. Structural, suspension, wheel, and steering components were also damaged as per the appraiser's damage estimate following the August 29, 2011 accident. No airbags deployed. A letter was sent to Toyota. Calls were made to Toyota to assess the damage and Toyota denied claims of any wrongdoing or defect. Subject was injured in accident. Toyota declined to inspect vehicle. Recent notices of recalls received along with Toyota sending emails to subject to try to purchase subject Rav4 lends credibility to subject assertion that airbags should have deployed and protected subject from injury during the August 29, 2011 incident. The airbag features failed subject and failed to protect subject from injury on August 29, 2011. 2007 Rav4 was declared a total loss by geico and Liberty mutual. This accident totaled a Rav4 and no airbags deployed. Given inadequate attention was given to subject and investigation of this matter by Toyota, subject seeks investigation and remedy for injuries sustained.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #46

Nov 012013

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a letter last summer/early fall regarding a recall of my 2007 Toyota Rav4 due to a problem with the rear suspension arm. I've been in contact with my local Toyota dealer since November 2013 and have been trying to set up an appointment. They claim they are unable to get the parts from Toyota and they keep putting me off. I believe that the dealer and/or Toyota has failed or is unable to remedy the defect within a reasonable time, therefore I'm filing a complaint. The recall states that the consequence of this problem going uncorrected could be "failure of the rear tie rod could cause a loss of vehicle control, increasing the risk of a crash". I drive a lot of miles in the fall and winter, transporting my 13 year old son and friends to soccer games. I'd really like to know that I'm driving a safe vehicle! I want this looked at asap!!

- Norway, ME, USA

problem #45

May 162014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall letter for the "rear lower suspension arms (no. 1).when I went to the Toyota dealer ([xxx]),they told me that this recall does not apply to puerto rico as per Toyota general offices instructions. The letter said this an urgent safety recall in read letters for it importance. For this situation we can implied that Toyota is discriminating to the puerto rico Toyota owners.if any accident occur for this situation I made responsible to Toyota de puerto rico, [xxx] (dealer) and Toyota general offices. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #44

Mar 042014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V383000 (suspension); however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced because the part was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Dalton, PA, USA

problem #43

Aug 072013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav 4. the contact received two recall notifications for NHTSA campaign id numbers: 12V373000 (suspension) and 13V383000 (suspension). The vehicle was not been repaired because the necessary parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #42

Feb 142014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 30,304 miles
Reference Toyota recall: Tis designation C2J found at: Https://techinfo.Toyota.com/techinfoportal/staticcontent/en/techinfo/html/prelogin/docs/cp/C2jtofaq.pdf reference question Q1A and answer A1A: "....alignment will be set and the arms will be sealed with epoxy." Reference question qua and answer A1C: "if the rear wheel alignment shifts out of specification, rear suspension arms or other components may need to be replaced." Reference my phone conversation with Toyota @ 888-270-9371 on 11 February 2014 @ 0800 and their assigned case # 1402110228: My question to Toyota to the answer A1C above: Who pays for the required replacement of suspension arms or other components? their answer was: The owner. My complaint deals with fairness. Due to a Toyota design defect, rear control arms must be encased in epoxy thus rendering rear wheel alignments impossible. If an owner hits a pothole, and rear wheel(s) are knocked out of alignment, the control arm and/or associates components might need to be replace - at considerable expense to the owner. This could generate large profits to Toyota due to a remedy for one of their design defects. Without the (epoxy encapsulation), a mere rear wheel alignment might rectify the misalignment. A possible $50 versus $500 repair. Additionally, if the control arms must be replaced to align the back wheel(s), Toyota is the only entity that has the know how and parts to re-encapsulate the new control arm(s): More profits for Toyota. Owners need to be made aware of the consequences this remedy will have on their vehicle so they can decide if they want a vehicle in which the rear wheels cannot be aligned without considerable expense. My question to nhsta: Why should the owner pay for repairs to one of their remedies" is this fair"

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #41

Dec 132013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I received this notice for safety recall in Nov 2013 for repair of the rear lower suspension arm. At that time I was told parts were not available and call back. I called in Dec 2013 same response; Jan 2014 same response Feb 2014 same response and was now told to call back in March. I am worried that this will be a potential hazard and they are still not repairing it. What can be done?

- St James City, FL, USA

problem #40

Sep 022013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
About 4-5 months ago I received a letter from Toyota regarding problem with the rear lower suspension arm no. 1. the problem could "result in the loss of vehicle control and a crash." Each time I check with them they say they are not ready to remedy the problem and just continue to drive the vehicle I believe that it is very negligent of them to suggest that I continue to drive a vehicle that according to them could "result in the loss of vehicle control and a crash." Does the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration have any power to require Toyota to fix the problem at once or find another remedy for me driving an unsafe car?

- Central Point, OR, USA

problem #39

Feb 202014

RAV4

  • 90,000 miles
Received a recall notice for tie rod/suspension back in September 2013. Today I called local Toyota dealer and asked about the fix. They told me that there was no fix yet available....obviously very disappointed and worried about how long I have been driving with potentially dangerous part/defect that could cause loss of control and wreck. I think NHTSA should force the issue with Toyota now it has been too long!. local dealer advised me what sound, loud rattling in back of vehicle to listen for....really unbelievable the delay.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #38

Feb 062014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact also stated that since the failure was reported in August of 2013, there should be a remedy available before February of 2014 and that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. There are no failures at this time.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #37

Feb 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to rear lower suspension rattle. The consumer stated she received a letter over 2 months ago, and she is still waiting for the official recall letter, so she can get the vehicle fixed..

- Hesperia, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?