If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,061 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

Mar 042014

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V383000 (suspension); however, the contact was unable to have the vehicle serviced because the part was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to be available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. There are no failures at this time.

- Dalton, PA, USA

problem #43

Aug 072013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota rav 4. the contact received two recall notifications for NHTSA campaign id numbers: 12V373000 (suspension) and 13V383000 (suspension). The vehicle was not been repaired because the necessary parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #42

Feb 142014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 30,304 miles
Reference Toyota recall: Tis designation C2J found at: Https://techinfo.Toyota.com/techinfoportal/staticcontent/en/techinfo/html/prelogin/docs/cp/C2jtofaq.pdf reference question Q1A and answer A1A: "....alignment will be set and the arms will be sealed with epoxy." Reference question qua and answer A1C: "if the rear wheel alignment shifts out of specification, rear suspension arms or other components may need to be replaced." Reference my phone conversation with Toyota @ 888-270-9371 on 11 February 2014 @ 0800 and their assigned case # 1402110228: My question to Toyota to the answer A1C above: Who pays for the required replacement of suspension arms or other components? their answer was: The owner. My complaint deals with fairness. Due to a Toyota design defect, rear control arms must be encased in epoxy thus rendering rear wheel alignments impossible. If an owner hits a pothole, and rear wheel(s) are knocked out of alignment, the control arm and/or associates components might need to be replace - at considerable expense to the owner. This could generate large profits to Toyota due to a remedy for one of their design defects. Without the (epoxy encapsulation), a mere rear wheel alignment might rectify the misalignment. A possible $50 versus $500 repair. Additionally, if the control arms must be replaced to align the back wheel(s), Toyota is the only entity that has the know how and parts to re-encapsulate the new control arm(s): More profits for Toyota. Owners need to be made aware of the consequences this remedy will have on their vehicle so they can decide if they want a vehicle in which the rear wheels cannot be aligned without considerable expense. My question to nhsta: Why should the owner pay for repairs to one of their remedies" is this fair"

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #41

Dec 132013

RAV4

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recieved this notice for safety recall in Nov 2013 for reapir of the rear lower suspension arm. At that time I was told parts were not available and call back. I called in Dec 2013 same response; Jan 2014 same response Feb 2014 same response and was now told to call back in March. I am worried that this will be a potential hazzard and they are still not reapiring it. What can be done?

- St James City, FL, USA

problem #40

Sep 022013

RAV4

  • miles
About 4-5 months ago I received a letter from Toyota regarding problem with the rear lower suspension arm no. 1. the problem could "result in the loss of vehicle control and a crash." Each time I check with them they say they are not ready to remedy the problem and just continue to drive the vehicle I believe that it is very negligent of them to suggest that I continue to drive a vehicle that according to them could "result in the loss of vehicle control and a crash." Does the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration have any power to require Toyota to fix the problem at once or find another remedy for me driving an unsafe car?

- Central Point, OR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #39

Feb 202014

RAV4

  • 90,000 miles
Received a recall notice for tie rod/suspension back in September 2013. Today I called local Toyota dealer and asked about the fix. They told me that there was no fix yet available....obviously very disappointed and worried about how long I have been driving with potentially dangerous part/defect that could cause loss of control and wreck. I think NHTSA should force the issue with Toyota now it has been too long!. local dealer advised me what sound, loud rattling in back of vehicle to listen for....really unbelievable the delay

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #38

Feb 062014

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact also stated that since the failure was reported in August of 2013, there should be a remedy available before February of 2014 and that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. There are no failures at this time.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #37

Feb 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to rear lower suspension rattle. The consumer stated she received a letter over 2 months ago, and she is still waiting for the official recall letter, so she can get the vehicle fixed..

- Hesperia, CA, USA

problem #36

Feb 032014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in August of 2013, there should be a remedy available before February of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Logan , WV, USA

problem #35

Jun 152013

RAV4

  • 99,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, she noticed a vibration under the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 99,000.

- Peabody, MA, USA

problem #34

Dec 162013

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number 13V383000 (suspension) but was informed by the dealer and the manufacturer that the part was not available. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #33

Nov 152013

RAV4

  • 99,400 miles
Rear sway bar links rusted off on both sides.

- Clifton Park, NY, USA

problem #32

Nov 092013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
I have had the first recall done for the lower suspension arm recall C0J and received an interim notification for a revised recall csj saying it is not yet available in my area. This past weekend I had work done on my vehicle and was told the pin in my lower suspension arm is broke and I should have it fixed asap. I called my Toyota dealer who told me the recall is not being done in my area as of yet. I called Toyota corporate who informed me the recall is not being done in my area and to have it inspected at the dealer and they may or may not be able to do the recall and fix the problem. I feel unsafe driving this vehicle and feel that Toyota is not working fast enough to remedy. I have been very unhappy with the number of recalls that have occurred with this vehicle and very unhappy with the amount of time off of work this has caused me.

- Berea, OH, USA

problem #31

Oct 062013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 29,500 miles
While driving car on highway, I heard a low noise from the passenger side rear of the car that sounded like something in the right rear suspension broke. Since this time, the car sounds like something is loose and makes a knocking sound from the passenger side rear of the vehicle when driving between 10 mph and 30 mph when you go over small bumps. It sounds like a broken spring or shock absorber or some other component of the rear suspension system is loose or broken. I am concerned about driving the vehicle, or letting other family members drive the vehicle, especially at high way speeds.

- Amawalk, NY, USA

problem #30

Oct 202013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 50,500 miles
Rear sway bar linkage broke. Very corroded. $240 fix.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #29

Sep 032013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
Hit a car in front of me and wreck the front right corner of the Rav4 and no air bags went off. And my ins company total the Rav4 and don't know what happen to the other car.

- Turlock, CA, USA

problem #28

Mar 012012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 25,650 miles
Knock and sudden shift of steering wheel. Noise appeared to come from front of vehicle and along the steering column or suspension system. Has grown worse with use, but vehicle only has 30,250 miles. We would like to know if it's safe to drive; danger of loss of steering. We do not feel safe, especially at highway speeds.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #27

Aug 242013

RAV4

  • 141,000 miles
Turning from one street onto another at <5mph a pop occurred in the rear of vehicle and immediately I felt a drag and stopped. On the street, exiting vehicle I observed rear driver's wheel tilted significantly from the vertical. Had vehicle removed to my garage where rear suspension support was replaced. Now jumping hoops to get reimbursement from Toyota. I never received any notice of recall only to find after local repair that Toyota was planning a recall and then receiving today (Sept. 7, 2013) from NHTSA the official recall notice (NHTSA campaign id number : 13V383) the issuance finally of such a recall. Given that Toyota, over a year ago ("Toyota is going to recall some 778,000 vehicles sold in the United States because of a rear-suspension failure. But not just yet. First, it has to figure out how to fix the problem." -by laurent belsie, business editor / August 2, 2012, christian science monitor) knew of the problem it is unconscionable that such a delay occurred. Had this malfunction occurred on a major, high-speed highway, more likely than not I would not be composing this message today.

- Champlain, NY, USA

problem #26

Jun 222013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
We were driving 55mph on highway 168 in North Carolina North towards Virginia coming home from vacation in the outer banks, nc. We were driving in left lane passing a Jeep, pulling a small trailer, in the right lane when we heard a pop and the car started to swerve to the right. Our car struck the Jeep on the driver's side turning the Jeep so it ended up in front of us. Both vehicles finally came to a stop after I applied the brakes. After checking on the passengers (my wife, two children and our dog) in our car and Jeep passengers, I went to move the car at the request of the police and the driver's side rear tire collapsed in at the top at about a 45 degree angle. Thankfully nobody was hurt. After having the car put onto the flat bed tow truck by aaa, the aaa employee and I could see under the car and noticed the rear tie rod was completely separate in two pieces. Received a preliminary recall from Toyota back in October/November about the tie rod. Took the car to our dealership, in November. They inspected it and said nothing was wrong so it didn't need to be replaced. The car is currently waiting to be fixed by my insurance company and I have filed a incident report with Toyota, who will be looking at the car.

- Glenside, PA, USA

problem #25

Jun 252013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact received three recall notices in the mail several months ago and stated the dealer did not have the parts for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Omaha, NE, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?