Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,976 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota RAV4 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments

problem #17

Aug 032016


  • 117,500 miles


On July 31st, 2015, the Toyota dealership performed a suspension recall work to replace both "rear #1 lower suspension arms". that work included a 4 wheel alignment and a permanent sealant that prevented future rear alignment of the rear wheels. On August 3rd, 2016, (approx. 13K miles later) the vehicle was taken to a les schwab tire center to have the brakes inspected. During the brake inspection, the technician noted severe abnormal tire tread wear on the inside shoulders of both rear tires. The inside shoulder of the right rear tire was so severe that it was showing steel belts and was near failure (immanent tire blowout condition). Les schwab noted that the front tires had normal even wear. Note: The 4 wheel alignment performed on 7/31/2015 was the only alignment performed prior to 8/3/2016, the alignment check on 8/3/2016 indicated the front wheel alignment was very close and within tolerant range of the 7/31/2015 alignment, and the vehicle has not involved in any accidents since before 7/31/2015. I believe the safety recall work performed by Toyota on 7/31/2015 did not fix the stated problem in the safety recall (Toyota recall ¿operation 77toz-csj¿ ref: NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000). Either the recall work was not performed correctly or the parts or method of the recall failed to correct the issue leaving my car with an unsafe wheel alignment causing severe abnormal wear on the inside shoulders of the rear tires leaving my car at risk of rear tire blow out. The les schwab tire center replaced the tires and the rear #1 control arms with ¿approved after-market parts¿ to allow for a safe rear alignment of the vehicle.

- Walnut Creek, CA, USA

problem #16

Mar 092016


  • miles
The metal rims which hold the tires get rusted due to design. This is a great safety concern. The rims are design such way that they hold water, rainwater, and salty ice/snow inside the rims and never drain out; which causes the wheels to rust, and could cause a safety concern. The rims/wheels should have been rust proof in first place. These rims/wheels are not, and on the contrary hold water inside along the outer edge.

- Ventnor City, NJ, USA

problem #15

Jan 252016


  • miles
Driving 50 mpg around curve in heavy traffic steering locked up hardly able to side of road. Happened again today 2 times and happened at least 5 times before in the past 3 months.steering froze had to get of to the side and restart then it was able to steer but battery.light flickers. Three other lights on the left of the dashboard stayed on after restarting the vehicle. Went to pep-boys and I was asked to replace the battery due to low voltage. Battery was replaced and one day later same thing happened again.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 262014


  • 125,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 38 mph, the rear back wheels locked up and the vehicle swerved from side to side. Also, the contact stated that the downward hill assist warning light illuminated when the wheels locked up. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension). However, the part to do the repair was not available. The manufacturer had been notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- St Charles, MO, USA

problem #13

Jul 262014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
Right rear lower suspension arm snapped causing the right rear tire to turn to the side, causing us to lose control of the vehicle. I was able to gain control and stop the car due to the low rate of speed. We had a recall for this problem. Toyota installed a temporary fix, however when we received an updated recall, we continually called to have the permanent fix only to be told that the part was not available we asked them to call us when the part arrived and they would not agree to this. We have called them continuously but they never had the part. Called Toyota today and they cannot help me today. They will not approve towing, rental car, or repair as of this date. I cannot get to work, I am handicapped and I do not have access to public transportation. The police did come to the scene of this incident we have photos and the broken part in our possession. Toyota opened a case #[xxx]. they said they are not sure they can help us. We need immediate help with this. Please help us. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Havertown, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Apr 152011


  • 10,567 miles
2007 Toyota Rav4 rear speed sensors can abruptly fail during poor climate, causing failure to the vehicle stability control, ABS, and traction control systems. Toyota has refused to acknowledge that failure of this part is common, which is especially dangerous when driving conditions are poor.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #11

Jun 222013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles


We were driving 55mph on highway 168 in North Carolina North towards Virginia coming home from vacation in the outer banks, nc. We were driving in left lane passing a Jeep, pulling a small trailer, in the right lane when we heard a pop and the car started to swerve to the right. Our car struck the Jeep on the driver's side turning the Jeep so it ended up in front of us. Both vehicles finally came to a stop after I applied the brakes. After checking on the passengers (my wife, two children and our dog) in our car and Jeep passengers, I went to move the car at the request of the police and the driver's side rear tire collapsed in at the top at about a 45 degree angle. Thankfully nobody was hurt. After having the car put onto the flat bed tow truck by aaa, the aaa employee and I could see under the car and noticed the rear tie rod was completely separate in two pieces. Received a preliminary recall from Toyota back in October/November about the tie rod. Took the car to our dealership, in November. They inspected it and said nothing was wrong so it didn't need to be replaced. The car is currently waiting to be fixed by my insurance company and I have filed a incident report with Toyota, who will be looking at the car.

- Glenside, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 012013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Failure # 1 one of the steel rims on my rav 4 developed a crack causing a sudden loss of pressure. I had the rim replaced with a new one. Since then I have had to replace 2 additional rims with the same (broken weld) symptoms, one with a break over 21" long. Toyota has failed to address this issue of unintended consequences. Failure # 2 the air bag sensing light came on in my rav 4 so I had it checked out at my local dealer. I was told not to worry about it. I'm an emt and I have a tendency to worry about "life safety" issues. I took it to another dealer and was told that there might be unintended consequences and that I should have it fixed. It turned out the "spiral cable" in the steering column was faulty and needed to be replaced. It's important to know that an air bag works when it should and doesn't work when it should not. I wasn't aware that things as critical as these have a shelf life.

- Cable, WI, USA

problem #9

Jan 132013


  • 74,000 miles
Steel wheels are badly corroded to the extent that I am concerned about their integrity. Rusted steel is flaking off in strips.

- N. Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #8

May 272011


  • 49,600 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Rav4. The contact was traveling 60 mph when the brakes were depressed after a gun shot like noise emitted from the rear of the vehicle. Another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle and something from the passenger's side of the vehicle detached along with part of the passenger side rear wheel. The vehicle was not destroyed. The crash caused no injuries, but the police were contacted and a report was filed. The manufacturer was contacted but the vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 49,600 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Pepperell, MA, USA

problem #7

Mar 102012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles


Driver side steel wheel partially separated from hub due to shearing of 4 of 5 wheel lugs. Tested an additional wheel lug/nut on passenger rear wheel with torque wrench set at 85 lb-ft and it sheared off. Just prior to wheel separation, loud "pops" were heard which caused vehicle driver to reduce speed and shoulder the vehicle. No body damage, just shaken driver. All wheel nuts were properly torqued to factory specification of 85 lb-ft less than 3 months ago.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #6

Feb 222012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 74,417 miles
My 2007 Toyota Rav4 had a rear right wheel tie rod break while I was driving with my wife and our one year old child in the vehicle. We were on our way to see my wife's doctor for her medical condition at the time. Thankfully we had just made a turn on to the on-ramp of the garden state parkway and were moving at a relatively slow speed. I can't imagine what would have happened if we were traveling at highway speed when the tie rod broke, I might have lost control of the vehicle and had a terrible crash with serious injury (or worse) to our family and possibly other drivers on the road. After searching on the internet about Toyota Rav4 tie rod incidents, it seems that it has happened to other Rav4 drivers many times on all different model years of the vehicle. Just like us they all say they did not hit any pot holes or other objects to have caused the tie rod to break. This failing of tie rods on Rav4S seems like a manufacturing or design defect. Some action needs to be taken to address this issue before someone is killed or seriously injured from this tie rod failures on Toyota Rav4 vehicles.

- Sayreville, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 262010


  • miles
Alloy rims are rusted on 2007 Toyota rav 4.

- Hurley, WI, USA

problem #4

Apr 092011


  • 43,500 miles
Driver owns a 2007 Toyota rav 4. while driving approximately 35 mph, car began to skid and intermittent warning beep came on. Driver pulled over, and upon exiting and inspecting the vehicle, driver saw that the rear drivers side tire was slanted inward approximately 45 degrees. Car was towed to dealership and driver was informed that the tie rod had rusted through and broken. All other tie rods appeared normal. Tie rod was replaced by dealership. Failure occurred at 43,500 mileage.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #3

May 152009


  • 30,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Rav4 sport rims oem are rusting a at fast pace. Some big chunks are falling off. I am afraid that the wheel will fall off while driving. I wrote to Toyota Corp they have not responded.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #2

Jan 022008


  • 10,000 miles
2007 Rav4 rims rusting starting the winter of 2008.

- Lake Park, MN, USA

problem #1

Apr 172008

RAV4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
New air monitor valve stems on Toyota vehicles are made of aluminum alloy material, not the standard brass metal used on most valve stems. The use of common metal caps to cover the valve stems in conjunction with common highway de-icer chemicals can result in accelerated corrosion and seizing of the valve caps to the stem. The result is that you cannot remove the valve cap to put air in the tire and if too much force is applied to try and remove the cap, the stem will fail and let the air out. This could result in potential stranded vehicle, etc. Long term effects of the highway chemicals on the aluminum valve stems is unknown, could be problematic. Plastic caps are advised to minimize the risk.

- Newman Lake, WA, USA

Not what you are looking for?