Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,242 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota RAV4 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Jun 162014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Water pump starting making incredible diesel / mechanical grinding sounds. Coolant leaking from water pump. Water pump bearing overheating - odor clearly discernible from inside vehicle. Checked internet - this is a very common complaint among Rav4 V6 owners - many owners having replaced water pump on this year vehicle at 25,000K miles! dealers charging anywhere from us $325 - $900.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #35

Feb 102014

RAV4

  • 78,950 miles
The car is burning oil. I was told that it was burning 1/2 quart every 1200 miles & to keep adding oil. That this usage was wnl. After an online search I find this is a common problem that Toyota has not been dealing with. I have an extended warranty that will be running out soon. I feel the car should be recalled and they should do the right thing. I have filled a complaint with the usa cooperate office.

- Croton On Hudson, NY, USA

problem #34

Mar 252014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 68,111 miles
I began to notice a burnt oil smell when I would return home from school in the evening, I checked my oil, the dip stick showed not a trace of oil! the vehicle was half way between oil changes at the time, my husband added 4 quarts of oil (so we know for certain it was empty) and brought it to Toyota. They "checked it", changed the oil, and sent us on our way telling us to monitor the oil level. This was at 68K miles. It was next due for an oil change at 73,000miles I checked the oil level yesterday at 71,000 miles and it was nearly empty. Called the dealer again, was told they couldn't get me in for 10 days!! I called another Toyota dealer who told me to bring it in. The service mgr acknowledged there was a problem with "certain rav 4 engines" and that a service bulletin had been issued to repair the issue (not a recall-he made that clear). He explained that I would have to follow their procedure before it can be repaired though by doing two oil consumption tests (that I have to pay $24.95 for, and drive 1200 miles each) then I would have to authorize them to do an engine removal and disassembly for $575 to determine it is not something I had done to the car. I have babied this vehicle from day one! I never go beyond 4000 miles for an oil change, ever. Now I have to drive my family around in a potentially hazardous vehicle while they decide whether or not to repair the engine that they have known there was a problem with for years!! unacceptable! this is terrifying knowing that my engine could seize at any moment while I am on the highway driving with my child. It is equally as frightening to realize that I may end up having to pay $6000+ for a new engine for this piece of defective merchandise I am still paying for because Toyota believes they are above the law. Please hold them accountable.

- West Milford, NJ, USA

problem #33

Mar 052014

RAV4

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that the vehicle was consuming an abnormal amount of engine oil and would smell of burning oil. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000 and the current mileage was 95,000.

- Ventura , CA, USA

problem #32

Sep 022013

RAV4

  • 95,000 miles
At around 80K miles my mechanic noticed the engine was burning up oil too quickly and advised I bring it in more often for him to check the oil and to add if needed. He did this for me until one day all the dashboard lights came on and he told me my engine was shot. I purchased a 100K warranty and when I took it into Toyota they said they would run a test and to come back in 1200 miles. The parts manager even admitted that this was a very common problem with the 2008 fleet of 4 cylinder engines! as soon as I left the engine cut out while I was on the freeway. Towed the car back to Toyota, they kept it there a month waiting for the warranty tech to come inspect the engine. He claimed I did not maintain my engine and that the warranty would not cover any costs. I ended up selling the car to a mechanic at the shop for 800$ this covered the bill Toyota sent me for having the vehicles engine taken apart, they were going to charge me to put it back together but was offered the money from an employee to take it off my hands. I bought this car brand new in 2008 with the 100K warranty, I hate Toyota and will never purchase a vehicle from them ever again and I tell everyone I know to stay clear from these jerks.

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #31

Jan 022012

RAV4

  • 45,000 miles
Engine is consuming oil. I bought the Rav4 2.4 engine 2008 brand new. Very well maintained by the dealer's records. At the beginning of 2010, I start noticing that the oil level is getting lower every time before the oil change. I thought it was due to some leak. The dealer said there are no leaks in the engine oil and the oil consumption rate is acceptable. I don't understand how it would be, but they argued that it is stated in the owner manual. It got worse by time, now I have to add a full quart or more between oil changes just to avoid engine damage. I owned many cars before, older models, none of them required adding oil before the next oil change. After researching the matter, I found that it is not only my car. Toyota knows about the issue but does not want to fix it. I even found a document with VIN's of the cars affected by the issue tsb-0094-11 (piston ring?) consuming that much oil is not normal, and I believe will shorten the engine's life and is really bad for the environment. I bought the car because of it's reputation of being dependable and it has a big name behind it. I hope someone ask Toyota to step up and fix this problem.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #30

Feb 202014

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine burning oil forums.edmunds.com/discussion/9562/Toyota/Rav4/Toyota-Rav4-burns-oil/P8 www.google.com/url?sa=T&rct=J&Q=&esrc=S&source=web&cd=2&ved=0cckqfjab&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.newscionxb.com%2fattachments%2F2nd-gen-Scion-xb-talk%2F278D1322767463-will-Scion-follow-Toyota-tsb-release-oil-consumption-T-sb-0094-11.pdf&ei=jmrxto2gmugaial09pyudg&usg=afqjcnenao8ytdvzlwclj6sjnz8R0llcnq.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #29

Feb 022013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Excessive engine oil consumption. Adding 1quart every 700 miles and getting worse.

- Kingsburg, CA, USA

problem #28

Dec 182013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
On 12/18/2013 started car in the morning and and engine started knocking(4 cylinder). Checked oil and added 2 quarts. Then on Friday 12/20 drove 4 mile engine and valves started knocking and rattling. From other complaints it seems that the engine in blown. I bought the car new and have served it religiously. How can an engine with 75000 miles on it lose that much oil? I have had cars with over 125000 miles on them and they didn't lose that much! apparently there has been multiple complaints about this engine and so far Toyota has done nothing about.

- Bloomsburg, PA, USA

problem #27

Feb 282012

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 68,105 miles
Was driving on highway when loud sound and vehicle started to reduce speed. Got off at closest off ramp and fortunately made it to Firestone. Had to have Rav4 towed to the Toyota dealership I purchased the vehicle from. They checked it over and informed me that the engine was cracked. There was no oil in it. I purchased the vehicle brand new from haley Toyota. Service manager recommended that I contact Toyota corporate. Made the call. They were able to learn from all my service records that I have made sure to always have my car serviced on time. Corporate informed me that they would pay for the engine (a short block), but I would be responsible for the labor and rental car (at a discount) - but still paid out $1,505.67. On Saturday Dec. 7, 2013 - drove my car less than 2 miles to my job and chugging sound started. No lights or warning came on. Drove home that night - no sounds. Sunday Dec. 8, 2013 drove to work again (less than 2 miles) and this time chugging starts again and this time engine light, vsc light come on. Parked and turned off car. Drove home later that night - no lights this time, but chugging started entering my garage. Monday Dec. 9, 2013 Monday morning had aaa tow vehicle to haley Toyota. Btw - my Rav4 was at 90,200 miles. After an hour plus waiting I was informed (written) "that number 2 coil and spark plug saturated with coolant. Also found oil mixed with coolant. Cylinder head is cracked and needs to be replaced. Aftermarket cylinder head and labor - $2,700" called tues. 12/10/13 to Toyota Corp. Called again 12/11/13 to follow up. Was informed "upper management will not approve any assistance". called and spoke with a Toyota supervisor on Friday - again - was told that Toyota could not do anything to assist me. Was told "its not our problem. There is nothing we can do."

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #26

Dec 132013

RAV4

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchase my 2008 Toyota rav 4 in 2012 with 39,739 miles, currently it has about 56,000 miles. The engine is burning oil. I noticed that over the last 6 months that the oil light will suddenly go on (car is not due for an oil change, under mileage and under date range needed) and I will pull into a gas station and I am told that there is barely any oil in the engine. This is shocking...as the warning light only went on when it was practically empty. This is also concerning as the car is usually way under the need for an oil change. It is not leaking oil, it is burning it. I plan on bringing it to the dealership on 12/21. Hopefully I will have some answers; however, this is very concerning and very dangerous.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #25

Aug 012013

RAV4

  • 58,600 miles
In August, oil light flashes when I make a hard stop; took it to dealer and they put a monitor on it and told me to return at 1200 miles. I forgot and only remembered when I started to see the oil light blink on again when I came to a stop. I came back in to dealer in November, they read the monitor and told me I needed to have my engine rebuilt; the service tech. Met with a mgr, rechecked readings and since the mileage was 4000 on the monitor, they thought the readings were skewed. So, they reset the monitor, added oil to the car and I will ensure that I come back at 1200 miles to find out the status. I was told that the car is safe to drive (going on a long drive for the holidays). I am seeing many comments online similar to mine and they relate that there is a problem with the Rav4 engine. I called Toyota usa and reported the issue to them earlier this month. They told me to wait to hear what the dealer says. I now drive with 2 quarts of oil in my car and will monitor my oil levels throughout my trip to and from NY. I am very concerned about this and based on what I seen written online so far, I expect that the dealer is going to tell me that I will have to pay for engine repairs because right now they are saying they are not aware of this issue occurring with the vehicles they service.

- College Park, MD, USA

problem #24

Nov 222013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 69,520 miles
Engine burns oil. No oil light warning comes on when there is very very little oil in the pan. Terrible rattle noise coming from engine. Tsb 0094 for 2az-fe engine.

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #23

Nov 062013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Change oil every 3000 miles. In Sept changed oil and was told oil was low. Today had car inspected only 1500 miles into oil change and my engine light was on I was told the dip stick was clean. Seems the engine is burning oil. I see many other people complaining of the same issue. I have not taken it to Toyota dealer but plan to have them check this out, but I am sensing from the other same complaints something is not right. Hope this gets investigated.

- Phoenixville , PA, USA

problem #22

Aug 272013

RAV4

  • 60,006 miles
My family and I went on a trip to Georgia and before I made the trip I changed the oil I always check the oil before I change it and it was down 1/2 a quart. When I got home after putting 1800 miles on the car it was down 1/2 a quart again. I called the dealer where I bought the car, and explained the problem, they told me it was normal for that engine. I then research on the internet and found that people were having the same complaints with the Toyota 4.5 engine. As mileage gets higher the problem gets worse, I am afraid that my extended warranty may run out before it gets repaired, as a lot of Toyota car customers have reported. I am a 100% disabled veteran the va gave me a grant to help pay for this car and a trailer hitch to carry my scooter with me. In the years past I have worked on cars and have spoken to many mechanics and they say this is not normal. I feel this car has to be recalled for this issue. My vehicle is now in the oil consumption test stage, we have to go 2 1/2 hours to the dealer just to have the oil checked. Other people say this is to prolong until extended warranty runs out.

- Coudersport, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 012013

RAV4

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that upon inspection, the vehicle was consuming an abnormal amount of oil and the oil pressure warning light was illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the mechanic stated that the problem was normal. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Beacon, NY, USA

problem #20

Sep 032013

RAV4

  • 78,000 miles
Check engine oil light came on; went O dealer to have checked; lost 3 quarts of oil since last schedules oil change. Dealer says it was within their acceptable range. Today called and said I need new engine which they say will cost me thousands

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #19

Mar 012011

RAV4

  • 60,000 miles
Similar to several other complaints on this model, my vehicle is also exhibiting excessive oil consumption, 1 qt. Within 1K miles. Perhaps even more.( im currently doing the oil consumption test), based on my own consumption tests. The dealer has changed the oil since I purchased this vehicle. The car begin to burn oil at around 60K miles. Many times I have complained of this - dealer claims this is "normal" consumption and within specifications. However, Toyota has issued a technical service bulletin (T-sb-0094-11) which acknowledges a consumption issue on my model as well as several others which I never received notice of this. I found doing my own research due to being frustrated. I have read online message boards of other Toyota owners with the exact same issue. There is a known problem with the piston assembly that is causing this, however, Toyota refuses to remedy the problem if the vehicle is out of warranty.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #18

Aug 152012

RAV4

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota rav 4. the contact stated that the vehicle was experiencing excessive oil consumption. The contact stated the vehicle was burning oil to empty every three thousand miles. The manufacturer recommended that the oil be changed every five thousand miles. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for a oil consumption test. The dealer stated the vehicle was burning oil at a normal rate. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Hamden, CT, USA

problem #17

May 212013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
My alternator went in my vehicle but was discovered was disturbing. I had just had my oil changed 4 weeks prior and the vehicle was almost empty of oil. If the alternator had not failed my engine would have blown due to the lack of oil. The lack of oil is due to the piston assembly in my 2008 Toyota Rav4. This is a known problem with Toyota since they issued a technical service bulletin on Aug. 11 known as SB002411 and SB009411. Toyota said the problem was traced to the piston assembly, yet I have not received any notification from Toyota regarding this issue. There isn't any recall. This repair is only covered for 60 months or 60,000 miles, whichever occurs first. In my situation, the financial burden of this repair is on myself ($4-$5K). This is the second issue with Toyota rav 4 where it should be a recall. My prior issue was the steering intermediate shaft which was making a clucking sound and if not addressed the I could lose control of the vehicle, that financial burden was $800. Both should be a recall by Toyota.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?