Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,242 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota RAV4 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #76

Jun 012016

RAV4

  • 149,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At 149,000 miles my 2008 Toyota Rav4 started to consume oil. It is currently consuming a little over 3 quarts of oil in 3000 miles. This has caused a noticeable increase in noise in the valve train which I presume is due to oil starvation. I suspect that my vehicle will need total engine replacement at 230,000 miles. This is beyond unacceptable for an auto manufacturer not to recall.

- Jefferson, WI, USA

problem #75

Jun 102016

RAV4

  • 1,006,000 miles
2008 Toyota Rav4. 1006,000 mileage. Suddenly stalls while driving at any speed. Taken to newark Toyota dealership several times since June this year unable to fix the problem. Stalled several times while driving on highway and on a city street.

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #74

Sep 142016

RAV4

  • 148,000 miles
ZE7 repair oil consumption - I failed this test and the car was repaired. This was after months of having to add oil (after the light would come on). 2 months after the repair the bearings on the balance shafts flew apart rendering the car undriveable. The repair specifically states that the lower block is not to be opened even though it would be on an engine that has had oil problems. This should have been part of the repair (at no cost to me) which would have alleviated this issue. The failure of Toyota Corp to notify owner of Rav4's of this issue, fixing the issue before it becomes a problem and then not inspecting the entire engine for low oil generated problems has now left me with a $6500 dollar repair which more than the kelley blue price of the car. I am hoping to have this covered but so far have not been successful. I am now down one vehicle which has further complicated things.

- Waynesboro, PA, USA

problem #73

Feb 112015

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive engine oil consumption @ 57851 miles.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #72

Apr 012016

RAV4

  • miles
There are have been 6 recalls to date since we purchased 2008 Rav4. Most recently, seatbelts were deemed unsafe in the rear, where we harness our children's carseats. This was in April 2016, and we have yet to be contacted about a remedy. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to push for a fix to this situation. We are frustrated that this car is a lemon, but not according to law, since the recalls are rolled out over the course of the last 6-8 years.

- Pompton Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #71

Jun 202014

RAV4

  • 75,000 miles
Have taken my car in 2 times to get the oil consumption test done and both times the dealer says it's within Toyota's guidelines. The third time I called to have it done they told me I would have to pay so I just continue to add oil every 600 miles. I took to another mechanic they said this is not normal to burn this much oil and it's not leaking oil, they said they could pull the engine apart to tell me why it's leaking for $500, but I wish Toyota would fix the issue knowing there is one, and they have an enhancement warranty for the problem good until 10/2016, however, they say I'm not within Toyota guidelines, the first time I even noticed this issue was after I had car serviced at the dealer prior to a trip I was making, my oil light came on my stick had burnt oil on it as it was bone dry. I added thinking the dealer just didn't do a good job, well come to find out, I have been checking and adding ever since. In between oil changes less than 3,000 miles oil light has come on and completely dry no oil registering on the dip stick.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #70

May 012015

RAV4

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive oil consumption.

- Odessa, FL, USA

problem #69

Feb 082016

RAV4

  • 165,570 miles
My oil pressure warning light comes on less than 1600 miles after an oil change. I have had the "oil consumption" test three times. Each time, I have been told my car has "passed" the test because it is "normal" for a car to be a quart low on oil after 1000 miles.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #68

Nov 302015

RAV4

  • 98,302 miles
My vehicle was checked for excessive oil consumption in November 2015. The dealership ststed my vehicle did not have an oil problem. I am still adding oil to my vehicle less than 1,000 miles.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #67

Feb 022016

RAV4

  • 125,000 miles
My vehicle is currently consuming 4 quarts approximately every 1,000 miles. The Toyota district parts and service manager declined my request for a loaner vehicle, however, Toyota has approved to reimburse me for any extra oil purchased. They do not have an estimated time of delivery for your part at this time as it is on national backorder with Toyota.

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #66

Feb 242016

RAV4

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car started making loud noise, coming from the engine, when driving. The noise occurs at any speed once the car is running. I brought it into an auto mechanic and was told that it was a defective water pump and bearing. The car only has 47,093 miles.

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #65

Jan 202016

RAV4

  • miles
Prior to 2015, 2 different service companies on 2 separate scheduled oil change informed me that the car had no oil. In 2015, received a warranty enhancement program related to excessive engine oil consumption from Toyota. Since being told on 2 separate occasions that the car had no oil during oil change service, I contacted Toyota to schedule for the consumption test. Brought the car on 7/7/15 then returned on 9/2/15 between 1100-1300 miles as instructed and was told it passed. However, on 1/20/16 brought car to another service company for scheduled oil change (first oil change after it supposedly passed test) and was told there was no oil marking on dip stick. Therefore, was advised to bring it back to Toyota. No oil change was performed but service company added oil (approx 3.5 quarts)per my request. Spoke with a lady manager at Toyota via phone to report the findings and was advised to schedule appointment for re-test. I brought car to Toyota on 1/29/16 as scheduled and was told by service advisor that a re-test will not be performed because it already passed the test in Sept. 2015 despite the latest finding of a dry dip stick in Jan. 2016. Toyota suggested to change the oil at my expense and to check if there was a leak. I declined it because I expected the appointment to be a re-test for oil consumption as indicated by a Toyota manager. I eventually had an oil change on 2/17/16 performed by a non-Toyota service company and was told the oil drained was 2.5 quarts which is 2 quarts below factory standards.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #64

Dec 202015

RAV4

  • miles
The car is loosing about 1 quart of oil in 1100 miles and it started about 100,000 miles on the car. Apparently this is a common problem, but the Toyota dealer claims this is industry standard.

- Mill Valley,, CA, USA

problem #63

Dec 012015

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to vehicle excessive oil consumption problems. The consumer stated the vehicle has consumer 15 quarts of oil in 36,000 miles. Also, there was a noise coming from the front brake. The dealer informed the consumer, there was some rust in the drum area that probably caused the noise.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #62

Oct 012014

RAV4

  • miles
This vehicle has required about 3-4 quarts of oil to be added in between oil changes. The oil consumption test has been performed at 2 separate Toyota dealerships, and both have stated that the vehicle is not using an excessive amount of oil and therefore does not require repairs. However, the vehicle continues to need 3-4 quarts of oil between oil changes.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #61

Oct 232015

RAV4

  • miles
My car burns more oil than it should.when I took it in for the recall, they recomended, I let them put new oil stem valve gaskets in for $530. Now maybe I need them but, everytime, I take my car in for a recall the dealers want me to pay to get some thing fixed.enough is enouhg

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #60

Jul 062015

RAV4

  • miles
I am having oil burning issues with my Rav4 also. It is a 2008, 4 cylinder. I have had my oil changed religiously in this car as it was my first new car. Every 3000 miles and I have the all the paperwork. About 4-5 months ago, every time I press break and noticed the oil flicker on and off. Stopped at a station and it was completely empty of oil. I had had an oil change about 2500 before this happened. I thought may be Toyota dealership did not put enough engine oil as recommended. Next time I took my car to Firestone service and again today I found out that there is no engine oil left, the engine oil stick is completely dry. I was reading on online forums that a lot of consumer had same problem with their Rav4. There is no recall from Toyota and local dealer don't want to fix it.

- Rodeo, CA, USA

problem #59

May 202014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
My oil warning light kept coming on when I was braking. I had approximately 2300 miles since my last oil change but took the car in to get checked. The mechanic found there was virtually no oil left in the engine. Since then I have to put oil in my engine around every 500-700 miles. My car is experiencing excessive oil consumption. I just took my car into my closest Toyota dealer and they said in 20 years they have never seen this problem. I feel like they are lying to me and just want the faulty part fixed. I don't know what my rights are and what I can do to get help. -thank you

- Goleta, CA, USA

problem #58

Mar 152014

RAV4

  • 70,000 miles
I've had my 08 Toyota Rav4 for over 4 years now. I get the oil changed on it every 5,000 miles regularly. I got it with about 25,000 miles on it and right around 70,000 miles I noticed that the oil light would come on before I reached my next oil change. It holds about 5 quarts and with being changed every 5,000 miles that means it is burning more then 1 quart every 1,000 miles! my brother-in-law did some research and found out that this is becoming a problem with many Rav4's with the pistons in the 2az fe motor. I love this car so much and it breaks my heart to know that there is something wrong that I can't fix. I don't want to get a different car but now I have to!

- Lawai, HI, USA

problem #57

Jun 262015

RAV4

  • 64,000 miles
The hose connecting the canister filter to the canister broke off driving in the rain and I didn't see until next day while 8 hrs away from home. Called the local dealer they didn't have the part. No check engine light shown.I got home and have the canister filter replaced with the dealer and next day check engine, vsc and 4WD light came on, dealer says it cost $1800 to fix it. I researched online and lot of 2006 and up rav 4 owner have same issue. Cannister hose broken or filter dropped and water getting into the system. I got Toyota service bulletin T-sb-0098-09 which was updated to T-SB0161-11 on October 20,2011 for this issue. Toyota had covered warranty for 2gr-fe engine from 2006-2011 sold on ca, ct, me, md, MA, NJ, nm, vt, wa, ri under California long term emission warranty of 64 months or 70,000 miles which ever occurs first. Toyota knew the issue and even added a new cover (part no 77641-0R020) the protect the canister filter and the hoses but they didn't issue the recall. A lot of people have same issue. The filter and hose are unprotected underneath the chassis and it can break or fall driving under normal driving in a rain or snow. I called Toyota and they review my case and gave me case # but they won't fix it because my vehicle was not driven and sold on the aforementioned states. Toyota has covered the warranty on the states with heavy snow and rain only. But these things are true for the state I am in too. Remaining state standard 36 months 36,000 warranty. But this thing can happen to anyone at any mileage. Toyota knew it and had a fix by putting the new cover but didn't issue a recall. The service bulletin even states the vehicles manufactured before certain VIN number and mine does fall under it. I paid $220 to replace filter and $62.5 to diagnose. Now they want another $1800 to fix it. I wish I could attached the service bulletin. Updated 09/15/15

- Overland Park, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?