Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,646 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota RAV4 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Aug 012014

RAV4

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the rear of the vehicle would become uncontrollable and the steering wheel would become unstable. The contact stated that the vehicle was recently repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V37000 (suspension) however, the recall repairs failed to remedy the failure. The dealer was not able to determine how to remedy the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #28

Jul 172014

RAV4

  • miles
About 2 months ago I received a second urgent recall letter from Toyota regarding the rear lower suspension arm, meaning they didn't fix it the first time about a year ago. Have been trying to fix the problem but local dealers and Toyota usa say they don't have the parts and don't know when the parts will be available.

- Superior, CO, USA

problem #27

Jul 012014

RAV4

  • miles
I received an "urgent safety recall" from Toyota sometime Jan - April 2014, regarding "rear lower suspension arms (no 1), one of several recall notices I've received since owning this vehicle. However, this is the first time where I cannot get this problem fixed at the local dealership, because the affected parts are not available when I called in late may and again today. And the dealership cannot tell me when they will get the part and advised to call back at end of the summer. What is the point of sending out these urgent safety recall notices if the dealerships do not have the parts to fix them for such a long time? it shouldn't be titled "urgent" if no remedy can be done to fix the car. If it is truly an urgent safety issue, Toyota should be working harder to have the parts ready.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #26

Apr 092014

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota rav-4. the contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V383000 (suspension); however, the part was not available to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the parts delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Davidson, NC, USA

problem #25

Apr 072014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
Regarding NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 Toyota notified me of this recall in April, 2014, as I was in the last group notified. Since then, repeated contacts to my dealer resulted in being told the parts were not available. Today, June 16, they stated they could inspect the car later this month, and if parts are needed [parts have been needed in nearly all cases], I would then be placed on a waiting list, and it could be many months, if ever, the parts would actually arrive. Today, customer service at Toyota hq told me that parts can only be ordered at the rate of 1 per week. A check of your records indicates that less than 10% of the affected vehicles had been repaired in the first 6 months of the recall. Is this good performance, or just a Dodge by the manufacturer to limit the cost of actually performing the recall, by moving so slowly that few vehicles are in fact repaired" is there anything I can do, short of garaging the car for the next year; or driving a possibly unsafe vehicle"

- Casper, WY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

Oct 142013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000(suspension). The contact stated that the repair had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated that parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #23

May 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota rav 4 (2)- consumer writes in regards to rear suspension arm recalls. 2008 Toyota rav 4. the consumer stated the vehicle was taken to dealer after receiving a recall notice regarding the suspension. The consumer stated she was astonished that both vehicles needed to have the same part replaced. Especially on the 2008 model, which was 2 years newer than her other vehicle.

- Waymart, PA, USA

problem #22

Nov 162013

RAV4

  • 141,448 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, the rear end of the vehicle pulled into a different direction in which the vehicle was traveling and the steering wheel would vibrate excessively. The failure did not occur until after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000 (suspension) however, the alignment was adjusted after epoxy was added. Additionally, the tires became worn prematurely and damaged within five weeks. The mechanic was unable to perform an alignment because the epoxy had to be removed prior to making the repair. The contact was offered a goodwill repair by the manufacturer, who stated that they would only replace the rear arms however, she would assume the repair cost of the alignment and the epoxy kit. The contact was not able to drive the vehicle until four new tires were purchased. Also, no repairs could be made to the vehicle until the epoxy was removed. A second recall service was performed on the vehicle and the rear arms were replaced as well as epoxy being added to the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 141,448.

- Hopatose, NJ, USA

problem #21

Apr 112014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 88,200 miles
Rear differential started making a whirring noise while driving down the road. The noise increased in pitch and volume with speed. Dealer informed me that it was a bad magnetic coupling between the transmission and the rear differential and replaced it.

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #20

Jun 142012

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
After my car received the first recall service (early 2014) for the rear suspension, about 5000 miles later I began to hear noises at freeway speeds from the passenger rear tire area. Not long after this noise started, I received the (mailed from Toyota) second recall notice regarding the back suspension. This was in Sept 2013. Each month I call Toyota for the second recall service and they never "have the parts necessary" for the second recall service. Each time there is no "idea" when these parts will be in. The noise is continually getting worse and now appears at much lower speeds. For the first service, I was told by Toyota my car was totally rusted (even tho the car was from the South us) and had been "dangerous". I see this safecar site mentions these second stage recall are to be completed between Sept 2013 and April 2014. Today is 4/9/2014 and the Toyota dealers in this area still claim they do not have the parts. Also today there now are new recalls for this same car how long will we wait for those parts?

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #19

Mar 102014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have had more than one instance when our 2008 Toyota Rav4 has failed to maintain stabilization when having to decrease speed in emergency circumstances. (usually at higher speeds than 45 mpg) our vehicle's rear suspension makes the drive feel unsafe under these circumstances. Atlanta Toyota has been notified of these instances yet no solution has been offered as of today.

- Duluth , GA, USA

problem #18

Dec 312013

RAV4

  • 72,372 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the rear driver's side suspension fractured. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic, who diagnosed that the rear driver's side tire and the rear driver's side suspension needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 72,372.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #17

Feb 202014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
Complaint because this is 3rd time I have got a nomination! don't have the parts! rear lower suspension arms (no.1).

- Gowen, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 232013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
Before the start of a 2000 mile road trip, I had an oil change and complained to the Toyota dealer about a knocking coming from the right rear suspension. I was informed the vehicle was safe. While driving along a highway, I lost total control of the vehicle, swerving in all lanes of traffic, and ended up driving off the road - luckily there were no cars around or I would have caused a major accident. I had the vehicle towed to the nearest Toyota dealer, who informed me a right rear suspension pin had broken, and this was part of a Toyota safety recall. To date (2/12/14) Toyota has not taken steps to correct this serious issue.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #15

Dec 302013

RAV4

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota rav 4. the contact was driving 40 mph and heard a loud banging from the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle then began to shake excessively, causing the contact to momentarily lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer were it was diagnosed that the passenger's rear suspension arm was fractured. Manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Skillman, NJ, USA

problem #14

Oct 202013

RAV4

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota rav-4. the contact stated that while driving 40 mph, he heard a loud noise and immediately lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle was recently taken to the dealer for service under NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) however, the vehicle could not be repaired because the parts needed were not available. The vehicle was towed to the dealer after the failure where the technician diagnosed that the rear suspension arm was corroded and fractured. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 95,000.

- Douglas, MA, USA

problem #13

Sep 112013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota rav 4. the contact stated she received NHTSA recall campaign number: 12V373000 (suspension) performed on her vehicle in 2012. The contact stated she was advised about NHTSA recall campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension ) on the news. She was not satisfied with the fact that Toyota failed to fulfill the first recall repair and that she had to have the vehicle repaired a second time due to a manufacturers error. The contact also was not satisfied with the recall repair being drawn out over a six month period. The VIN was unavailable.

- Timonium, MD, USA

problem #12

May 232013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 64,504 miles
Rear suspension arm broken while traveling approx. 70 mph. There was a high probability of a rollover with this incident. Three separate times the vehicle made a very sharp jerks toward the ditch/median. The only reason we did not rollover was the driver at the time was very experienced and had to fight to gain control of the vehicle.

- Ooltewah, TN, USA

problem #11

Jun 292013

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph, she noticed that the rear passenger's side tire had buckled inward. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The technician stated that one of the tie rod bolts was missing and had caused the tie rod to become bent. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 12V373000 (suspension) but was advised by the manufacturer that the VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 172013

RAV4

  • 140,000 miles
While turning left, the rear stabilizer link assembly (rh) bolt disconnected from the rear suspension arm assembly due to excessive corrosion of the bolt.

- Platteville, CO, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?