Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

5.8

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,257 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota RAV4 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Oct 242016

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V596000 (suspension); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer stated that the parts were on back order and there was no estimated time frame for their availability. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #33

Aug 222016

RAV4

  • miles
We have taken it to the Toyota dealer twice and had them replace the tie rods twice and it won't stay in alignment. I have called the dealer multiple times to schedule it to be fixed and called corporate and they won't do much and it won't stay in alignment and they won't fix it right. The car is very scary to drive with it being out of alignment and no other mechanic will touch it because they have a sticker saying it can only be adjusted by Toyota because they glue the tie rods in place. Toyota said if we have replaced by an outside source because the dealer won't call us back they will not help cover it. They won't allow us to go to another dealer as well.

- Alturas, CA, USA

problem #32

Feb 152016

RAV4

  • 65 miles
I have had several issue with the RV4, all related to the rear suspension. The recal for toyoa with part of the suspension leaksunbolted from the car while traveling at about 30 mph. The right rear tire went up in to the wheel well. Only because of the slow speed did I not get in to an accident. Vehicle had to be towed to the dealer. At 65K miles, I took the car in again to the shop. Both rear linkages to the anti-sway bar were broken and had to be replaced. Again another issue with the rear suspension.

- Billerica, MA, USA

problem #31

Jul 172014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 45,365 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear suspension arms were replaced due to a recall. It was found a year later, that the rear tires were out of alignment. During this time, the handling of the car on turns and in wet weather were impaired. Also, the tires wore unevenly and were bald on the inside. I found out, that the recall fix replaced the original adjustable arms with non-adjustable arms and the car could not be aligned. Toyota wanted $830 to replace the arms again in order to align it. This would mean every time the car needed an alignment of the rear wheels, new rear arms would have to be purchased. That car has been altered from the original design to the advantage of Toyota...updated 03/10/16

- Newberry, FL, USA

problem #30

Aug 042015

RAV4

  • 65,730 miles
It appears that a sound, suspension of the rav 4 need some repair.

- Hartford, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Mar 102015

RAV4

  • 54,700 miles
Driving in to work in the morning, speed was 25 mph on a Suburban road, South street in tewksbury MA, as I went over rough area in the road, I heard a thump from under the car. I pulled over and found the right rear suspension struts let go. I pulled in to a parking lot to examine what happened. Part of the strut was hanging down scraping on the ground. The right rear tire was skewed in the wheel well rubbing on the inside of the wheel well. The strut has an eye with a bushing in it, where a bolt is used to bolt it to the car's main frame, the bolt was missing allowing the suspension to fall apart. If this had occurred at highway speeds, loss of control of the vehicle would have occurred. There was a recall on this vehicle, I have had it in twice at the dealership, once to have it repaired, a second time to ensure it was ok. A month ago it was taken in for an oil change and tire rotation, all done at the dealership. Car has been towed back to the dealership, I was informed by the dealer that the "bolt" let go, apparently the one holding the strut to the main frame of the car. When this occurs, the wheel cannot be held in place and rides up in to the wheel well.

- Billerica, MA, USA

problem #28

Sep 012014

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000(suspension) was received in September of 2014. After contacting the dealer on several occasions, the contact was informed that parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Weatherford, TX, USA

problem #27

Oct 092014

RAV4

  • 89,406 miles
Urgent safety recall issued (no date) by Toyota for rear lower suspension arms (no. 1). "important recall follow-up notice" I received today via usps, October 9th, 2014. I have contacted the dealer, [xxx] in dubuque, Iowa today, and on multiple occasions (over the past year) to have this repaired, and in an attempt to have the recall completed. Each time I was informed that they did not have the necessary part and I would be called when available. Today I was told that they are only receiving 5 parts per week when they need 300 parts. I have received multiple notices from Toyota to have this part repaired, yet after a year has passed, Toyota continues to send urgent notifications, yet cannot supply enough parts to repair my vehicle. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hazel Green, WI, USA

problem #26

Apr 262012

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
Safety recall issued May 1, 2014 by Toyota for rear lower suspension arms (no. 1). I have contacted the dealer Toyota darcars on cherry hill road in silver spring, md 301 622 0300 on May 5, June 6, August 4 and Sept 29, 2014 in an attempt to have the recall completed. Each time I was informed that they did not have the parts and I will be put on a waiting list for service once available. I get the same answer on every call and was told to contact Toyota customer service. I contacted customer service twice and they as of today transferred me to Toyota corporate to register a complaint. Corporate advised that the parts were on national backorder and there was nothing they could do. After five months and follow up notices from corporate reminding me that I had not completed the service work when they can't even get me in to have repairs completed is absurd and poor customer service. Need Focus on this to correct parts shortage.

- Berwyn Heights, MD, USA

problem #25

May 282014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Colorado Springs , CO, USA

problem #24

Jul 142014

RAV4

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota rav 4. the contact stated while driving at 65 mph, the vehicle started to make popping noises and started to spin out of control. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the rear lower arm tie rod had fractured. The contact had received a recall notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension). However, the part was not available to do the repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Havertown, PA, USA

problem #23

May 192014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
I received urgent safety recall notice for rear lower suspension arms (no. 1) on May 19, 2014. When I called the Toyota dealership for an appointment to have this safety recall taken care of I was told that the parts are on national back order and would be 1-2 more weeks. I was placed on a list to be called when the parts come in. Since then I have called a couple of more times to the dealership just to check on the status of the parts. Now I am being told that they do not know when the parts will be in. There is a shortage of parts to fix this urgent safety recall. I believe this is untimely for the type of safety recall this is. Toyota needs to do more and get these parts in to fix this problem now! I would buy a new car if I could just to get rid of this one. I believe my life (and everyone else who owns a car under the recall) depends on this safety recall being done immediately. Looking through the paperwork on line it shows only 3.9% completion rate with a recall that started well over a year ago....

- Bath, ME, USA

problem #22

Jan 072014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number 13V383000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 122013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension); however, the dealer stated that the parts for the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the repair was not performed in a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Arlington , TX, USA

problem #20

Nov 062013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota rav 4. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V373000 (suspension) and the vehicle was repaired. The contact received a second notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000 (suspension) which stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The contact had been waiting for months to receive the second recall repair. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the parts would become available. There were no failures.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #19

Mar 192014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that it was taking too long to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number 13V383000 (suspension). The dealer stated that the part would be unavailable until the middle of July. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The vehicle had not experienced a failure.

- Windsor , CA, USA

problem #18

May 302014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V383000 (suspension). The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. Both the dealer and manufacturer did not know when the parts would arrive. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Scranton, PA, USA

problem #17

Jun 062014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
Safety recall #csj: I received a letter 2 weeks ago, stating that my car has to be brought a dealership to re-inspect the rear lower suspension arms. I did this today, and was informed after 3 hrs that my suspension arms have developed rust and thus need to be replaced, as outlined in the recall letter. However, I was also told that the arms are currently unavailable and it may take a month or longer before they can be exchanged. Toyota had set as completion date for this procedure for my region March 2014, I.e. over 2 months ago. I find it unreasonable that I need to return my car again for another 3hr procedure. It is inconvenient and I will miss work again. Also, I have not received any definite assurance that my car is safe to drive for another 1 or longer without the repair.

- Carrboro, NC, USA

problem #16

Sep 092013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V383000 (suspension ). the contact stated that the recall repair was not performed in a reasonable amount of time. The dealer indicated parts were not available. There were no failures. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #15

Jun 022014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 8,529 miles
I received a recall notice for "rear lower suspension arm no. 1. I called servco Toyota leaward to make an appointment and they said the earliest available was March 30, 2015. Next year!!! really?

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?