Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,206 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota RAV4 miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Dec 122015

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealer unable to remedy recall within reasonable time. Recalls #15V689, and 15V-577

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #24

Sep 152016

RAV4

  • 49,250 miles
I was coasting up to a red light at an intersection. I was going approximately 10 mph when I applied the brakes. When I applied the brakes I heard the engine roar and I was propelled into the intersection. I continued to apply the brakes but the car was not stopping. I shifted into neutral and the car stopped. Three days later I was parked in my driveway (the car in park) and I went to start the car. My foot was on the brake and I pushed the start button. The car immediately started and the engine raced to 4000 RPM plus. When I took my foot off the brake the RPM immediately dropped to a normal RPM. The car was taken to the Toyota dealership and was there two days. They were unable to find anything wrong.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #23

Jul 022016

RAV4

  • 45,300 miles
While in bumper/bumper traffic - foot on brake - car rapidly accelerated to over 3K RPM's. almost hit car in front. Had to turn off ignition to stop. Then restarted car without incident.

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #22

Jun 252016

RAV4

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Your web site shows only one open recall concerning the rear seat belts. There are at least two/three other recalls that I received letters from the manufacturer and have been told that there are no parts to effect repair, should they not be listed as open in your web site" do you think that Toyota has the parts to effect repair"

- Mountain Top, PA, USA

problem #21

May 182016

RAV4

  • miles
Vehicle engine can be shut off without transmission into "park" causing the vehicle to roll away when on a slope/incline causing potential serieous bodely/property damage. Such unexpected vehicle movement disregards basic safety principles: 1st: Eliminate potential hazard; 2nd: Guard against hazards and 3rd: Warn against hazards. Unlike Toyota, other vehicle makes with "smart-key system" address this hazard by either eliminating, guarding and/or warning safety provisions. Vehicles with conventional key start sytem require driver to shift trransmission into "park" before shutting off the engine. Fyi, I have contacted people in the NHTSA rulemaking devision - FMVSS no. 114 who confirmed that this is a "safety hazard" and numerous complains have been filed by consumers.I alsdo contacted the local toyta dealer and Toyota usa corporate to file a complain (#10870836) which neither did respond to.

- Dubuque, IA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Sep 132015

RAV4

  • 64,000 miles
Toyota Rav4's paint is peeling on the roof in the area located between the top of the windshield and the moon roof. The paint color is blizzard pearl white. I have personally observed the same issue on other Rav4S having noticeable missing paint patches in the same area of the roof. The paint also chips very easily over the entire surface of the vehicle.

- Rapid City, SD, USA

problem #19

Aug 072015

RAV4

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When my vehicle was stopped I was rear ended at about 15 mph. Airbags did not deploy but all bag lights illuminated.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #18

Jun 262015

RAV4

  • 49,200 miles
A/C stopped working and the dealer said the compressor need to be replaced. For a less than 5 year car to have a failed compressor is strange. When we are talking, they mentioned this is a known problem for Toyota with this model. When I asked about possible of recall, they said they don't think there will be a recall because it is not a safety issue. Why is it not a safety issue? there could be harmful air and metal particle blow into car cabin. Now I remembered that before the A/C stopped working, there was an very short episode of "burn smell" and there was some tiny particle blown into my face. However, I didn't think too much about it back then because the A/C didn't stop working right away.

- Mays Landing, NJ, USA

problem #17

Jul 242015

RAV4

  • 74,108 miles
I was driving on the beltline at 7:45am. It was about 74 degrees outside, and I was traveling at about 62mph. Suddenly I heard a loud pop that startled me, causing me to pull the steering wheel to the left and the car to veer toward the ditch. I was able to gain control of the car and continue on the road. Initially I thought the car was on fire as there was a loud crackling sound that I couldn't locate. Soon I realized that the sun roof had shattered, and hundreds of minute slivers of glass were raining in to the car--covering half my head and body, the center console, and the passengers seat. I shut the roof panel under the sunroof and drove home. Although the sun roof shattered, it stayed pretty much intact.

- Middleton, WI, USA

problem #16

Jun 012012

RAV4

  • 12,000 miles
Radio display shows odd symbols and often shuts down. No audio problems.

- Elmendorf, TX, USA

problem #15

Mar 142013

RAV4

  • 34,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Usually after a rain storm or if I go through a deep puddle the idiot lights for "check engine, slip indicator and 4 wheel drive" lights come on and stay on for about 30 miles. Wednesday they came on and stayed on even though it hasn't rained in weeks. I've talked with several dealers and they tell me either there is no fix for it or Toyota is investigating the problem. I've also talked to others with older Rav4's and they tell me that they have the same situation going on. Does Toyota need a little nudge from the gov't?

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #14

May 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
Recall ~ no parts will be available for weeks hello, I received notice of a recall from Toyota two weeks ago. When attempting to get it fixed within a 51 mile radius on June 13, I was told by three dealers that Toyota does not have the parts available. None of the establishments are able to repair the vehicles because Toyota is very slow in supplying the parts. I would imagine that they are still making new cars and would actually have the parts available. Can this please be addressed. This is my only vehicle and it needs to safe to drive. Thank you for all that you do to assist consumers. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 1/6/2014

- Bradford, PA, USA

problem #13

Jun 072014

RAV4

  • miles
We have received 3 recall notices for issue(s) with our 2010 rav 4 going back to at least October 2012 all pertaining to the same issue. Several weeks ago we received the last one. Called our local Toyota dealer and set an appointment to have it fixed. Appt. Was set for July 2, 2014 as they indicated they had a number to fix and that was the earliest date. At that time I was assured that the parts were all in and there would be no problems except that it was an all day issue and would have to leave the vehicle. On sat. June 7, 2014 I was called by the dealer and they indicated that they would have to cancel that portion of the appt. As they had no more parts and could not seem to be able to get any more and were not sure if / when they would be getting more. This is unacceptable>.

- Sun City West, AZ, USA

problem #12

Jan 152011

RAV4

  • 5,508 miles
Accelerated problem: I was on my way home from having maintance work completed on car. My first thought was that Toyota had done some thing that created this problem. I was coasting and braking coming up to stop light, which was red, I was going about 1-2 miles per hour, when RPM's went very high. Could not stop car with one foot on brake, needed to use both feet on brake peddle to get control of car, almost hit car in front of me. I was able to stop car apprx 1-2 feet from car in front of me. Brakes or tires were making very loud noise. My wife said that tact was straight up, which is in the area of 7-8 thousand RPM's. motor was very loud. Once I had control of car I put the car in neutral and car was still roaring, I turned the motor of. When light turned green and cars in front of me pulled away, I again started my car up and appeared to running normal. The only thing that I saw was different was a symbol came on dash board, in bottom right side. It was in yellow with a car and wavy tire tracks which I was told was the ABS system. This light stayed on for several minutes and went out. On 01/17/2011, I took the car back to Toyota of lake city and they said that everything checked out and could not find any problem with car and could not get to duplicate again. I was told that I could take car home, but found out later that according to Toyota rules, I should not have been able to drive car home. Tech was trying to get a hold of Toyota head qtrs, but I found out later, Toyota head qtrs was closed. Not happy with this and asked for further tests. I brought the car back again on 01/26/2011 and was told that field technician ran further tests on car, Toyota had the car for 2 days. I was told that everything checked out and nothing further could be done. They needed the car to accelerate again, while Toyota had the car to determine what went wrong.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #11

Jan 152011

RAV4

  • 5,508 miles
Accelerated problem: I was on my way home from having maintance work completed on car. My first thought was that Toyota had done some thing that created this problem. I was coasting and braking coming up to stop light, which was red, I was going about 1-2 miles per hour, when RPM's went very high. Could not stop car with one foot on brake, needed to use both feet on brake peddle to get control of car, almost hit car in front of me. I was able to stop car apprx 1-2 feet from car in front of me. Brakes or tires were making very loud noise. My wife said that tact was straight up, which is in the area of 7-8 thousand RPM's. motor was very loud. Once I had control of car I put the car in neutral and car was still roaring, I turned the motor of. When light turned green and cars in front of me pulled away, I again started my car up and appeared to running normal. The only thing that I saw was different was a symbol came on dash board, in bottom right side. It was in yellow with a car and wavy tire tracks which I was told was the ABS system. This light stayed on for several minutes and went out. On 01/17/2011, I took the car back to Toyota of lake city and they said that everything checked out and could not find any problem with car and could not get to duplicate again. I was told that I could take car home, but found out later that according to Toyota rules, I should not have been able to drive car home. Tech was trying to get a hold of Toyota head qtrs, but I found out later, Toyota head qtrs was closed. Not happy with this and asked for further tests. I brought the car back again on 01/26/2011 and was told that field technician ran further tests on car, Toyota had the car for 2 days. I was told that everything checked out and nothing further could be done. They needed the car to accelerate again, while Toyota had the car to determine what went wrong.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #10

Jan 152011

RAV4

  • 5,508 miles
Accelerated problem: I was on my way home from having maintance work completed on car. My first thought was that Toyota had done some thing that created this problem. I was coasting and braking coming up to stop light, which was red, I was going about 1-2 miles per hour, when RPM's went very high. Could not stop car with one foot on brake, needed to use both feet on brake peddle to get control of car, almost hit car in front of me. I was able to stop car apprx 1-2 feet from car in front of me. Brakes or tires were making very loud noise. My wife said that tact was straight up, which is in the area of 7-8 thousand RPM's. motor was very loud. Once I had control of car I put the car in neutral and car was still roaring, I turned the motor of. When light turned green and cars in front of me pulled away, I again started my car up and appeared to running normal. The only thing that I saw was different was a symbol came on dash board, in bottom right side. It was in yellow with a car and wavy tire tracks which I was told was the ABS system. This light stayed on for several minutes and went out. On 01/17/2011, I took the car back to Toyota of lake city and they said that everything checked out and could not find any problem with car and could not get to duplicate again. I was told that I could take car home, but found out later that according to Toyota rules, I should not have been able to drive car home. Tech was trying to get a hold of Toyota head qtrs, but I found out later, Toyota head qtrs was closed. Not happy with this and asked for further tests. I brought the car back again on 01/26/2011 and was told that field technician ran further tests on car, Toyota had the car for 2 days. I was told that everything checked out and nothing further could be done. They needed the car to accelerate again, while Toyota had the car to determine what went wrong.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #9

Apr 102010

RAV4

  • 10,500 miles
The 2010 Rav4 rolls backwards while in drive. I first noticed this while stopped a red light in traffic. I took my foot off the brake and the car proceeded to roll backwards and did not stop until I applied brake pressure. I've also experienced this while stopped to remove my mail from my mail box and the car rolled backwards into the roadway while in drive. It happened again when I was in my driveway the car while in drive rolls backwards, freely, with no sign of stopping until I apply brake pressure. This is extremely dangerous and unexpected when it happens. My Toyota dealership claims this is normal for this car. Frankly, I don't feel safe in the car. Thankfully, no one has been injured when this happens. I'm not sure if the failed component is the drive train, the transmission or the hydraulics. This really needs to be looked into by someone before anyone is killed or injured.

- Warwick, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 012010

RAV4

  • miles
2010 Toyota Rav4. Consumer writes in regards to his ongoing problem with vehicle related to unintended acceleration note: Letter from senator jack reed but was not received in the form of a controlled congressional the consumer did not experience any failure. He would like to return his vehicle due to the recent news reports regarding the sudden acceleration in which he does not feel safe driving the vehicle. Updated 08/30/11.8jb

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #7

May 072010

(reported on)

RAV4

  • miles
Letter from senator lieberman on behalf of constituent re event data recorder in his 2010 Toyota rav-4 (dot/I#2020-1101 the consumer stated he would like the event data recorder removed from his vehicle.

- Harwinton, CT, USA

problem #6

Jan 212010

RAV4

  • miles
2010 Toyota Rav4. Consumer requests mediation. Consumer has not had a favorable response from Toyota. The consumer stated he purchased the vehicle hours before a recall was announced to the public. The consumer stated he purchased the vehicle without being informed of material information that was solely in Toyota's possession which they failed to disclose. The consumer was informed his vehicle was not included in the recall. The consumer learned that there were problems with the make and model of his vehicle. Updated 06/01/10.

- Tarrytown, NY, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?