Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,119 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota RAV4 suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota RAV4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota RAV4 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Nov 082014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 45,120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving at about 45-50 mph lost control as vehicle starting shaking up and had a near miss crash on I 5 N driving to la. Decided to pull over and exit out and took an internal road driving at 30 mph and returned home. Upon investigation found that last safety call repair for rear suspension repair was performed adding some epoxy to tighten up and did not fix the issue. Looks like free of charge repair done by dealer is not working. I hope thorough investigation is performed as the fix seem to not work and still can cause crash. Looks like the problem still persists: Background the original problem involved a wobbling rear suspension arm that could, over time, rust out. That could lead to a suspension failure and, in a worst-case scenario, a crash. The maker has since discovered that the nuts it used to adjust the alignment of the rear wheels on the two vehicles during the August 2012 recall were not tightened properly. The maker has notified the NHTSA it will now have to recall the same 780,000 vehicles to inspect for damage. The nuts will now be properly tightened and Toyota will take the additional step of sealing the rear lower suspension arms with an epoxy coating designed to prevent corrosion.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #39

Oct 012014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) that supersedes recall NHTSA campaign number: 12V373000 (suspension). However, the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mechnicsburg, PA, USA

problem #38

Sep 252014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota rav 4. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000 (suspension), however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

problem #37

Sep 012014

RAV4 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Letter from congressman forbes on behalf of constituent regarding a recall by Toyota on the Toyota rav 4 (mail reply to chesterfield, va office - attn: Joan fallon). Toyota received reports from dealers indicating that some consumers experienced symptoms of the recall issue after being inspected or repaired. Upon investigation, it was discovered that some inspections were not adequate and portions of the repair procedure may not have been performed correctly. Toyota developed a revised inspection and remedy procedure. The consumer stated he had issues with the tires, that required several wheel alignments.

- Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #36

Jun 022014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000 (suspension) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Aug 062014

RAV4

  • 40,000 miles
I received an urgent safety recall notice from Toyota in December 2013, (safety recall #coj), affecting the rear lower suspension arms (no. 1) on January 2, 2014 I had an appointment to replace tires, and made an appointment for the next available date to do the recall on June 6, 2014. On arrival for the appointment on June 6, greentree Toyota in danbury, ct told me they did not have parts for the recall and would let me know when the parts came in (should be a few weeks according to the service tech) to do the recall repairs. Since then I have not received any information as of today August 6 2014. I want to file this complaint because I believe that Toyota has failed or is unable to remedy the defect within a reasonable time.

- Southbury, CT, USA

problem #34

Aug 052014

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact received recall notices for NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V373000 (suspension) and 13V383000 (suspension); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The dealer placed the contact on a waiting list behind hundreds of other consumers. The dealer did not know when the parts would arrive. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #33

Jul 012014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to the rear lower suspension arms recall notice. The consumer was informed, the parts were on national back order.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #32

May 012014

RAV4 6-cyl

  • miles
Many months ago, Toyota had a safety recall related to the rear lower suspension arms... supposedly, Toyota repaired the problem, when in actually the problem was not repaired so there was a second safety recall. That was months ago. I have repetitively contacted the dealership and I am not receiving any type of communication from Toyota... how can I get this fixed because I'm concerned about this problem especially since I have a one year old son. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jessup, MD, USA

problem #31

Jul 032014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
Received a recall notice in April 2014 stating problem with rear lower suspension arm. Trying to get it fixed but local dealers having trouble getting part and epoxy sealant. Recall notice indicates possibility of loss of vehicle control and a crash if the arm separates. Is it safe to continue to drive the car?

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #30

Feb 102014

RAV4

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000 (suspension). The contact stated that she had contacted the dealer and the manufacturer numerous times and there was no date available for when the parts will be available for the repairs. The contact felt that the repair had exceeded a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue.

- Plymoth, MA, USA

problem #29

May 062014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- S .Burlington, VT, USA

problem #28

Jun 262014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
We recently received the rear lower suspension arms 2nd recall. I purchased the car used in April 2013, and was not told of a recall. I would like to understand if the first one had already been issued. Since purchasing the car it has not felt stable in the rear, ever. We brought it in once previously and they said the problem was fixed. This time I was told by one dealership the part to repair the recall was not available, and then took to a dealership 2 weeks later where they informed us we did have the rust problem. They "remedied" with epoxy, but said bring back if a "problem". the car still does not drive right or feel stable. I bought this car to drive our grandchildren and now feel extremely unsafe in this vehicle. What can be done to correct this situation, so I can feel secure in the car I am driving. I feel this is a lemon issue, as every time we drive it we are still at risk.

- Greenwich, CT, USA

problem #27

Jan 072014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated that she was very concerned for her safety since the parts were still not available in order to repair recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension). The dealer was contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The vehicle had not experience the failure. The vehicle current mileage was 103,000.

- Hudson, NY, USA

problem #26

Jun 022014

RAV4

  • miles
2010 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to rear lower suspension arms recall notice. The consumer was informed, the parts was not available, and was placed on a waiting list.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #25

Jun 022014

RAV4

  • miles
2010 Toyota rav 4. consumer writes in regards to the rear lower suspension arm recall notice problems. The dealer informed the consumer, the part was not available, and she was placed on a waiting list.

- West Dennis, MA, USA

problem #24

Apr 062014

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of a manufacturer's recall pertaining to the suspension. The authorized dealer stated that the parts were not available after the contact had already scheduled an appointment for the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #23

May 152014

RAV4 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V383000 (suspension) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time in order to perform the repairs. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer had also been made aware of the delay and would not provide a time frame when the part would become available. The contact had not experience the failure. Updated 8/12/14

- Bel Air , MD, USA

problem #22

Nov 072013

RAV4 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Toyota has sent out two recalls (#coj and csj). I have called the dealership twice for the latest recall, #csj, and twice the dealer has said they are out of parts. When I called Toyota directly, they stated there were not enough replacement parts made and are waiting for more. How can this happen? this is absolutely terrible how Toyota has handled this situation. First, they couldn't properly repair the first recall. Secondly, they don't make enough parts to cover the recall.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #21

Dec 062013

RAV4

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Rav4. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V383000 (suspension) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Worchester, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?