Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
119,766 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Sequoia body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Nov 262014

Sequoia

  • 260,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from underneath of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the mechanic diagnosed that the frame failed to support vehicle properly. As a result, the Cadillac converter was replaced but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 260,000.

- Blackburg, VA, USA

problem #24

Dec 092011

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the entire frame of the vehicle was rotted. The contact's mechanic and the dealer inspected the vehicle and confirmed that the frame was rotted from front to rear. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told there was nothing that could be done regarding the frame. The failure and the current mileages were 155,000. Updated 02/03/12

- New Britain, CT, USA

problem #23

Nov 162011

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 186,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a mechanic to be inspected and the contact was advised that the entire frame was rusted, but mostly at the rear axle. The contact was told that the vehicle was no longer safe to drive. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the frame was only guaranteed for three years, and offered no assistance. The failure and the current mileage was 186,000. Updated 01/10/12

- Hopkinton, MA, USA

problem #22

Nov 212011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 157,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon inspection, my mechanic notified me of excessive rusthrough on the rear frame of my 2001 Toyota sequioa. This rustthrough has perforated the rear frame and the truck can no longer be driven. The rearend may separate from the body due to this excessive corrosion. This excessive corrosion is the same as seen on Toyota Tundra and Tacoma where these vehicles have been recalled and replaced and or repaired. This is a dangerous situation and many other Sequoia owners have filed complaints here at NHTSA and have posted on the internet. Toyota is not helpful and will not replace the frames for Sequoia owners. My Sequoia's body is in great shape and runs great. Now I cannot drive it and its worthless. This is a severe safety issue, and should be recalled for safety. I could have lost my rear axle and had a serious accident, especially, if I was towing my boat.

- Uxbridge, MA, USA

problem #21

Jun 032010

Sequoia

  • 100,000 miles
Excessive frame rust/rot this was an issue with the Tundra and Tacoma for the same model year. I have contacted Toyota on several occasions to report this issue and have them evaluate the vehicle to determine if it is subject to the same defect as the other models to which they have refused??!! I believe certain Sequoia's share the same issue however Toyota is not forthcoming on admitting this nor are they even willing to evaluate the vehicle. The rest of the vehicle, body, interior etc, is in great shape and the vehicle has been meticulously maintained. I am not entering this complaint as I stumbled over several other 2001 Sequoia owner who are reporting the same issue on the internet. This, in my opinion, confirms my original suspicion that it is related to the Tundra/Tacoma recall and Toyota is not willing to take responsibility for their issue.

- Townsend, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Jul 082011

Sequoia

  • 149,800 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that while having the vehicle examined by an independent mechanic, the mechanic stated that the subframe was corroded due to defective metal. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 149,800.

- Greensburg , PA, USA

problem #19

May 192011

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the frame was completely rusted and corroded. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic shop for inspection and they confirmed the corrosion of the frame near the rear tires. The dealer was contacted and informed the contact to call the manufacturer. The manufacturer was contacted who stated there were no recalls and offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 10/13/11 updated 11/02/11

- Morrisville, VT, USA

problem #18

May 092011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 134,912 miles
I have a 2001 Toyota Sequoia that has excessive corrosion in the front swaybar mount and rear crossmember in the frame. This failure is identical to the failures seen in 2000-2003 Toyota Tundra that resulted in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V444000. As a result of this, Toyota recalled model year 2000-2003 Tundra vehicles due to excessive corrosion of the rear cross member that may cause the separation of the spare tire. The 2000-2003 Toyota Sequoia vehicles share identical frame cross member and spare tire mounting arrangements in which excessive corrosion in the rear cross member and spare tire mounting location can cause separation of the spare tire stowed under the rear cargo load floor which would result in a road hazard. This separation of the spare tire or mounting bracket could cause a crash. Also, corrosion of the rear cross member could affect the rear brake lines and the proportioning valve, resulting in diminished braking capability. Any separation of the spare tire and/or diminished braking capability could increase the risk of crash to affected vehicle and/or a road hazard to those traveling nearby. My vehicle has failed state inspection and is unclear whether it is repairable.

- Norwich, VT, USA

problem #17

Apr 122011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 146,600 miles
Vehicle was making a noise and vibration in the undercarriage. Took the car to Toyota dealer in greenfield, MA. Tech test drove and inspected car. Excessive rust was found in the rear left suspension attachment to the frame. It was separated by 1 1/2 inches. Service manager advised car is unsafe for driving. Could have had a catastrophic failure while driving. Excessive rust was found on the rest of the frame. Vehicle is at dealer waiting for response from Toyota. Toyota says car is out of warranty and there is no recall for this auto.

- Granby, MA, USA

problem #16

Apr 012011

Sequoia

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that after taking the vehicle in for routine maintenance, the mechanic advised him that there was a large amount of rust on the sub-frame. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer for a diagnosis and they also advised him that there was rust on the sub-frame, but his vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 131,000. Updated 11/23/11 the consumer was informed the corrosion was a 100% consistent with the same corrosion areas of the Toyota Tundra. Updated 03/13/12

- Sterling, MA, USA

problem #15

Mar 242011

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 167,913 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the vehicle was covered with rust on the rear end of the frame and spreading to the front. The contact was informed of the rust problem when the vehicle failed inspection. The contact spoke with the manufacturer and was told that there was nothing they could do since there were no related recalls. The contact was not aware of the rust, because the vehicle did show any signs nor did it malfunction. The failure and current mileage was 167,913. Updated evoq 04/12/11.

- Pembrooke, NH, USA

problem #14

Dec 282010

Sequoia

  • 144,000 miles
Took the Sequoia to the body shop for minor repair - the body of the car looks almost new - no rust - a vehicle to be proud of... but... the repair man called me and sounded very concerned. Just like Tacoma and Tundra, this vehicle has some of the worst frame rusting he has seen on a vehicle its age - especially for the lack of rust elsewhere. Told me he hoped it was all paid for because I should junk it. 10K for a new frame and the car is worth less than 9K. I told him I still owed 8 thousand on it. He said to call Toyota. Said he works on 20 year old trucks all the time with nowhere near this type of frame rust. Kept remarking how he couldn't believe it... said it just flakes apart when you touch it. He stressed that I should not have my children in that vehicle. My family vehicle. I called Toyota complaints dept. The rep told me he was the senior rep there and that he had never heard of such a thing on a Sequoia. Told me that lots of trucks of all makes have frame rust problems. He explained that he doesn't know what the previous owner did to the vehicle - whether he did any underbody maintenance (he suggested that car owners generally rinse the undercarriage after driving in the snow). He even suggested that "..for all we know, this vehicle could have been in a flood." Does a flood cause aggressive frame rust but leave the rest of the vehicle in mint shape" said there were no "programs" for me at this time and suggested I call NHTSA. II had to ask - will NHTSA will help me buy a vehicle to drive my kids to their functions without risking their lives" because right now, I cant afford anything else. I have a loan on this car. Calling Toyota was 100 percent pointless.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #13

Nov 292007

Sequoia

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed rust under it towards the rear. A few years later, while having the vehicle serviced, the contact was informed that the undercarriage was severely rusted. She was also told that the parking brake lever fractured and there was an unknown pipe leaking from under the vehicle. The leaking pipe was repaired but the severe rusting and fractured hand brake were not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000 and the current mileage was approximately 75,000.

- Middlefield, OH, USA

problem #12

Sep 142010

Sequoia

  • 75,000 miles
I bought my Toyota Sequoia in 2001 when it first came out. I drive the SUV in the North East (ct, NY, NJ) area generally and it now has about 75,000 miles on it. After about 4 years I noticed rust under it and every time I took it for any service they reported rust. Last week the differential housing leaked and I took it to Toyota to get a repair estimate. They commented that the vehicle was very heavily corroded (rusted) to the point that even if the differential housing was replaced that the SUV would be very unsafe to drive as the rust was everywhere underneath. Therefore I decided not to have the vehicle repaired since the cost to make it safe enough to drive was significantly more than replacing the differential housing that had completely rusted out with holes in it. There was significant other damage attributed to rust. The vehicle is still drivable but it is not being driven since it would damage the differential since it has less lubrication which is continually leaking. So far nothing has been done to correct the failure and several options are being looked into.

- Brookfield, CT, USA

problem #11

Aug 032010

Sequoia

  • 60,000 miles
I own a '01 toy Sequoia with 60,000 miles. During a routine oil change appt my mechanic discovered a massive rust problem that extended from the front to the rear of the frame of my vehicle. He has explained that it is a dangerous situation and that there is nothing he can do to repair or prevent the problem. The problem is so bad that he was able to flick off pieces of rusted frame using only his small finger. I am very worried and don't know what to do. I called Toyota customer care, and they said there are not current recalls on the Sequoia and there is nothing they can do about the problem. Please help me.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #10

Jun 052010

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the steering was becoming increasingly difficult to maneuver. The under carriage frame and steering rack were rusted caused the steering rack to fracture from the vehicle. The dealer replaced two front sway bar links and the power steering rack and pinion at the contacts expense. The manufacturer stated a recall did not exist for the vehicle and would not provide any assistance. The failure and current mileages were 155,000. Updated 10/27/10 updated 01/13/11 updated 04/01/11

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #9

May 162010

Sequoia

  • 145,000 miles
I have a 2001 Toyota Sequoia (SUV). I took it to a mechanic over the weekend to have the brakes fixed. The mechanic warned me that the car frame was rusted out and not structurally safe to drive. This car was built on a Tundra frame which had a structural recall (NHTSA action number: PE09049) for frames built in 2000 and 2001. I have a daughter and pregnant wife and this car is no longer safe. I spoke with Toyota (corporate customer service) and they told me there was nothing they could do for me. This is unacceptable and I don't want other people to be at risk of danger. My number is [xxx] if you have any questions. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bedford, NY, USA

problem #8

Jun 012003

Sequoia

  • 45,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. While examining the under carriage of the vehicle the contact noticed excessive corrosion. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but the vehicle was not serviced because it was out of warranty. The contact also stated that the latch for the lift-gate has corroded and been replaced three times. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 135,000. Sm.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #7

Nov 052009

Sequoia

  • 125,000 miles
Took vehicle in for state inspection, was told that frame will probably not pass next year. Severe frame rust in (documented by dealer) leaves me concerned that the vehicle is no longer safe to tow with. All frame coating has failed and is keeping water against the metal. Impossible to remove from inside of boxed frame. Very concerned since frame was built at the same time as defective Tundra and Tacoma frames and it is based on the Tacoma frame.

- Dunbarton, NH, USA

problem #6

Oct 152009

Sequoia

  • miles
In NHTSA campaign id number: 09V444000, Toyota recalled model year 2000-2003 Tundra vehicles due to excessive corrosion of the rear cross member that may cause the separation of the spare tire. The 2000-2003 Toyota Sequoia vehicles share identical frame cross member and spare tire mounting arrangements in which excessive corrosion in the rear frame cross member and spare tire mounting location can cause separation of the spare tire stowed under the rear cargo load floor which would result in a road hazard. This separation of the spare tire or mounting bracket could cause a crash. Also, corrosion of the rear cross member could affect the rear brake lines and the proportioning valve, resulting in diminished braking capability. Any separation of the spare tire and/or diminished brake capacity could increase the risk of a crash to affected vehicle and/or a road hazard to those traveling nearby.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?